Complete Newbies - Camper Trailer advice please.

Submitted: Monday, Nov 05, 2018 at 13:17
ThreadID: 137436 Views:4908 Replies:7 FollowUps:4
This Thread has been Archived
We want to get our family camping (daughters 3,5,7) and think a camper trailer is the way to go.
We are in Perth, WA
While we are introducing our family to camping we will keep it super soft sticking to proper roads. We do not want to upgrade our 2wd Hilux to a 4x4 at this stage so don't think an off-road camper is necessary. Yet...
We would like a decent-quality second-hand unit. We can't afford the best money can buy. We wonder if there is such a thing as upper mid-range that might hold its value to some degree.
We were thinking - soft floor for more space and lighter weight, possibly cheaper price point?
Is under $5k realistic for a worthy second-hand camper trailer starting out?
We have read a convincing review by a touring camper, and been recommended by a neighbour, an Erde Daxara 198 6x4 Trailer. French and German manufactured, WA assembled. Apparently it is a quality built, and light - barely noticeable when towing. Nearly-new second-hand (trailer only) going for around $2,500. Can anyone speak for or against this trailer? However, compared to other trailers these are pretty scarce on the ground. I get that there is quality, and then there is quality. No idea of this fits into either category of “quality.”
I assume we can buy the tent separately, (or can we??) What would be recommended here to fit the 5 of us and keep us dry?
I have seen an OzTrail 7 for sale without the trailer for $1600 including the annex, floors and few extra bits and pieces. Although this seems to be a very common brand we have absolutely no idea if this represents good value, or if this will keep us dry. It is big enough I daresay.