Submitted: Tuesday, Mar 19, 2019 at 19:36
ThreadID: 137982 Views:6096 Replies:5 FollowUps:38
Good day do you guys know much about theses utes
thanks chris

Reply By: ExplorOz Team - Michelle - Tuesday, Mar 19, 2019 at 20:12

Tuesday, Mar 19, 2019 at 20:12
Chris can you please elaborate on your query to ensure anyone considering giving you a response can be of most help. What year model are you looking at what is your intended use etc? Do you have a particular concern or query?
Michelle Martin
Marketing & Customer Support
I.T. Beyond Pty Ltd / ExplorOz

AnswerID: 624499

Reply By: TerraFirma - Tuesday, Mar 19, 2019 at 20:14

Tuesday, Mar 19, 2019 at 20:14
Hi Chris, My only comments will be related to price vs re-sale value. From what I can see they don't hold their value in comparison to say a Toyota Hilux which is a market leader in re-sale value. If your leasing a car and buying new you would need to be careful on on your payout and -resale price of the vehicle. My advise is to many people who want to buy a cheaper ute with say $20-25k is buy a second hand Hilux, a well looked after Hilux even with 150,000 KM's is still a good buy but not if your leasing as that doesn't apply to used cars. The Great Wall is being sold with 3 years warranty and most of the big brands have gone to 5 years now. If you want to buy new and only have $20k cash then the Great Wall is your only option unless you spend $28k on the LDV which is by far the better finished product and more features etc. I have nothing bad to say just do your maths on what you spend vs what you return will be when the time comes to sell.

Here's a comparison link which should answer a lot of your questions:

Great Wall Steed vs LDV
AnswerID: 624500

Reply By: Michael H9 - Tuesday, Mar 19, 2019 at 21:16

Tuesday, Mar 19, 2019 at 21:16
I might be wrong, but the newer model Steeds don't seem to advertise low range box.
AnswerID: 624502

Reply By: Member - Bigfish - Wednesday, Mar 20, 2019 at 09:24

Wednesday, Mar 20, 2019 at 09:24
Mate has had over 8 years. Been absolute faultless. He lives in remote NT and was always buying land cruisers/hilux. It was a try and see what happens purchase. He sold his first one at 120,oooklms and bought another. He said he had no faults at all in the 120,000klm and willing bought another. 99% of time on dirt roads with corrugations. Often drives from Gove to Katherine/Darwin. Plenty were doubtful butI must admit the car did everything he asked of it at half the price of a roll-lux. Resale isnt as good as Toyota but then again you pay for the resale at purchase of toyota. More and more parts for vehicles are made in China and in years to come there will be less manufacturers and more chinese cars on the road. Read up on reviews and test ride one for a weekend.
AnswerID: 624511

Follow Up By: David I1 - Wednesday, Mar 20, 2019 at 09:58

Wednesday, Mar 20, 2019 at 09:58
I did not have the Ute but rather the X240 wagon. Cost at the time was $22900. Had it for 7 years and did many off road tracks ie Simpson both ways, Gibb, OTT (no chicken tracks) Canning (twice), Balfour (Tas). Traded in in 2016 as it cannot tow any load really. (No power). Got $5000 trade in. It did everything any other "normal" FWD did except it had now power to tow anything. It was far more economical than any other 4WD doing the same tracks. That also included diesels. (Mine was a 2.4Ltr petrol). I think a car that does all that and only lost $18,000 over the time, was a cheap investment. Most people who rubbish GW or Haval, have never owned one or driven one and rely on the adage its from China so it must be rubbish, or its built on outdated technology and left over parts bin from major manufacturers. However I can remember when anything out of Japan was called Japanese Junk and look where they are now....
FollowupID: 898007

Follow Up By: Gramps - Wednesday, Mar 20, 2019 at 12:36

Wednesday, Mar 20, 2019 at 12:36
"or its built on outdated technology"

They've obviously never owned a 70 Series LOL

FollowupID: 898009

Follow Up By: Allan B (Sunshine Coast) - Wednesday, Mar 20, 2019 at 13:19

Wednesday, Mar 20, 2019 at 13:19
Yep, love that "outdated technology".

I can fix anything on the Troopy with fence-wire or gaffer tape. LOL

FollowupID: 898010

Follow Up By: TerraFirma - Wednesday, Mar 20, 2019 at 14:21

Wednesday, Mar 20, 2019 at 14:21
The 70 series is built like a tank. Selling like hotcakes and it's manual only. And the Rollux is Australia's number one selling car.! I don't get it. Why is it so..? LOL

Oh what a feeling. That's what you get when you build reliable, unbreakable vehicles with Australia's best resale value. Ask the 200 series owners who are getting around 80% of their purchase price 3-4 years later when they roll them over.

Love that outdated technology.
FollowupID: 898011

Follow Up By: Gramps - Wednesday, Mar 20, 2019 at 14:34

Wednesday, Mar 20, 2019 at 14:34
Exactly why I bought one.

FollowupID: 898012

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Wednesday, Mar 20, 2019 at 17:55

Wednesday, Mar 20, 2019 at 17:55
What ? No one mentions the recalls on the Hilux or the 200 series ? Or the problems Ford has with its Ranger ? Toyota 'unbreakable' ? Why is it that every Tojo owner will tell you spare parts are available 'every where' ....If unbreakable why are the needed ??? [ oops , my unbreakable Tojo just broke ].....[insert sarcasm , and yes I own an unbreakable FJ Cruiser and the wife has a 05 Jeep that has NEVER needed a spanner put to it in anger ]....
FollowupID: 898014

Follow Up By: TerraFirma - Wednesday, Mar 20, 2019 at 18:12

Wednesday, Mar 20, 2019 at 18:12
Oh come on a re-call.! Big deal. Get it done with your next service. A Jeep that's never had a spanner put to it? Yes and pigs fly.

Man Destroys His Lemon

The facts are what they are, the Toyo's have incredible re-sale value. Now moving on.....

FollowupID: 898015

Follow Up By: Member - shane r1 - Wednesday, Mar 20, 2019 at 18:58

Wednesday, Mar 20, 2019 at 18:58
Settle down guys
Everyone can have an opinion .
FollowupID: 898016

Follow Up By: Member - Bigfish - Wednesday, Mar 20, 2019 at 19:55

Wednesday, Mar 20, 2019 at 19:55
I have a mate who runs his own diesel shop. He is very grateful to toyota as he makes an excellent living from fixing them. The v8,s and hilux are always in the shop. Once upon a time they were considered the premier 4wd but I,m afraid that tag disappeared some years ago. The toyota tax doesnt help either. You get a nice feeling at resale time but only because you were ripped off at the intial purchase time.
FollowupID: 898017

Follow Up By: TerraFirma - Wednesday, Mar 20, 2019 at 20:13

Wednesday, Mar 20, 2019 at 20:13
Wow that must be a lot of people getting ripped off.! Toyota should be investigated then for doing that. The Toyota Tax makes it even worse for all those people that buy them. Makes you wonder why everyone buys them?
FollowupID: 898019

Follow Up By: Griffin - Wednesday, Mar 20, 2019 at 23:19

Wednesday, Mar 20, 2019 at 23:19
Yeah lots of opinions but the OP was asking about the Great Wall.
FollowupID: 898020

Follow Up By: Michael H9 - Thursday, Mar 21, 2019 at 00:09

Thursday, Mar 21, 2019 at 00:09
Our family has had 2 Jeeps for over 400k kms in 8 years and found them both to be nice cars that are very capable. The vast majority of Jeep bashers have never owned one and I'd say it's true for Great Walls as well. I've read horror stories for every brand.
FollowupID: 898022

Follow Up By: David I1 - Thursday, Mar 21, 2019 at 08:07

Thursday, Mar 21, 2019 at 08:07
Refer to my original post here. On my GW I lost $18K after 6 years. A LC 200 looses 20% or lets say $20,000 after 3 0r 4. What would it be after 6? Maybe $25K? So with the GW I am already in front. diff in purchase price is invested and gets a return, and on trade in I have not lost as much either. Win both ways!. Thats what a Toyo tax is. Not to mention my GW got about 10 ltrs per 100! And cheap to service as it was a Mitsub motor on a GM chassis (Rodeo), with a Toyota rear end! Only thing GW unique was the gearbox!
I would have owned a new one in a heartbeat IF they could tow a decent amount of payload. Bang for buck however they leave just about every other similar type vehicle for dead. In 2010 mine had std features that only were available on the top spec models of SOME 4WD's. Some things were not even options on others. From my experience thay are a great car and very reliable. If they suit your needs just go and get it!!
FollowupID: 898023

Follow Up By: Michael H9 - Thursday, Mar 21, 2019 at 08:12

Thursday, Mar 21, 2019 at 08:12
For me the only thing wrong with Chinese or Indian cars is the low safety ratings they generally have. They need to up the number of airbags.
FollowupID: 898024

Follow Up By: Member - Bigfish - Thursday, Mar 21, 2019 at 08:25

Thursday, Mar 21, 2019 at 08:25
Michael H9...Number of air bags doesn't always help. Look at the disastrous Takata air bag debacle effecting many makes and models of vehicles.
FollowupID: 898025

Follow Up By: David I1 - Thursday, Mar 21, 2019 at 08:37

Thursday, Mar 21, 2019 at 08:37
Michael H9. When I bought my GW it had 3 stars. The Toyota Camry had 2! The Ford Mustang had 1! (still has I think) Does that make my car more safe than those? I dont buy a car based on safety stars alone. I buy for suitability to requirements, looks, service backup. I know people do look at safety stars, but not everybody clearly does. In any case the stars are done when the new model comes out and so are hardly relevant some years down the track. For example the car I now have was 4 stars I think when purchased but now it would be lucky if it would attract 2, let alone possibly 3 when I purchased the last of the model and vehicle imported into Aus!!
FollowupID: 898026

Follow Up By: Michael H9 - Thursday, Mar 21, 2019 at 09:53

Thursday, Mar 21, 2019 at 09:53
Well fellas, I did say it was a factor for me. I don't care if there are other cars that are less safe, I won't buy them either. And the possibility of faulty airbags is not really an issue that you can factor in, otherwise you'd never buy any car because it might be built from faulty parts.
On that note, the LDV utes are well equipped and well priced with a great safety rating, but the customer satisfaction with them is not great if you read productreview.com.au. Bits and pieces on them appear not to work, especially electrical bits. You'd have to wonder if the safety features would reliably activate when needed? On the other hand, the Great Wall's I've read about on different forums get good comments. However, less features mean less that can go wrong, but I'd still prefer more safety features.
Did anybody find out if the new Steed has low range? Their pamphlet just says 4wd.
FollowupID: 898028

Follow Up By: TerraFirma - Thursday, Mar 21, 2019 at 10:22

Thursday, Mar 21, 2019 at 10:22
Yes it's an interesting conundrum. What price do you put on safety? The website howsafeisyourcar gets a lot of traffic for a reason. What price do you put on reliability? The Great Wall's rate between 3 and 4 stars via howsafeisyourcar. There's a lot to be said for no thrills vehicles in certain environments. The reality is money is always a factor. You buy what you can afford and Toyota were late in getting their safety ratings up too. I believe in airbags, traction control and intelligent braking but nowadays we think we need radar, lane departure and a myriad of other new so called safety features whereas safe driving should be paramount not bells and whistles. Sadly drivers nowadays are often killed by other drivers and if it were your children you'd prefer to put them in safer vehicles if you can afford to do so.
FollowupID: 898029

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Thursday, Mar 21, 2019 at 10:34

Thursday, Mar 21, 2019 at 10:34
As David l1 figures show 6 years ownership cost 18k , ergo $2,00 per year , where a 200 series loses on average $20k in 3-4 years , ergo that's $5,000 per year + higher insurance , rego , servicing costs etc etc etc ....and the biggest joke of all is that 90% of 4x4 Tojos [ apart from the antiquated 70 series ] require modification prior to being suitable for ' off-road ' work.....
FollowupID: 898030

Follow Up By: TerraFirma - Thursday, Mar 21, 2019 at 11:08

Thursday, Mar 21, 2019 at 11:08
Alloy in all due respect that's a silly analogy to compare a Great Wall vs a 200 series. The GVM laws aren't the fault of Toyota either although I share your frustrations. You will never convince 200 series owners to buy a Great Wall. The funny thing is you rarely hear 200 series owners whinge about their own vehicle, after all you have a choice and they made theirs. Let's not forget that the 200 series has the best re-sale value for the money spent. If you only spend $20k it's pretty obvious the potential to lose on resale is reduced substantially.
FollowupID: 898032

Follow Up By: Members - Bow & Nan - Thursday, Mar 21, 2019 at 11:38

Thursday, Mar 21, 2019 at 11:38
I had a 200 series, it was the most unreliable car I have ever owned.
FollowupID: 898034

Follow Up By: TerraFirma - Thursday, Mar 21, 2019 at 11:42

Thursday, Mar 21, 2019 at 11:42
Well there you go Bow you can buy a Great Wall now. Or is it a 70 Series you drive now?
FollowupID: 898035

Follow Up By: TerraFirma - Thursday, Mar 21, 2019 at 11:46

Thursday, Mar 21, 2019 at 11:46
It's a shame Isuzu doesn't make more cars.! I think they make a great product and guess who just won the Customer Satisfaction Awards...

Isuzu win customer satisfaction awards
FollowupID: 898036

Follow Up By: Members - Bow & Nan - Thursday, Mar 21, 2019 at 11:58

Thursday, Mar 21, 2019 at 11:58
TerraFirma, I now drive a 2500 Ram??
FollowupID: 898037

Follow Up By: TerraFirma - Thursday, Mar 21, 2019 at 12:21

Thursday, Mar 21, 2019 at 12:21
Where do you park it Bow?
FollowupID: 898038

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Thursday, Mar 21, 2019 at 16:24

Thursday, Mar 21, 2019 at 16:24
The 'pissing' contest of mine is sooooo much better than yours continues it seems , I'm old enough to remember the days of "Ohh you bought Japanese / pure bloody rubbish , my daddy fought them in the war and you go and buy one ,your a bloody traitor you are ! But wow look at that its got a radio and what are those funny other levers ? AirConditioning ? No way ? Cant be as good as me Holden but ! Whats that ? You get how many miles to the gallon and its got disk brakes ! What'll they think of next ? Your still a bloody traitor but .." .... and now we say the same thing about Chinese vehicles .....
FollowupID: 898043

Follow Up By: RMD - Thursday, Mar 21, 2019 at 19:37

Thursday, Mar 21, 2019 at 19:37
I wonder about the comment of big fish. He said his mate earns a living repairing diesel Toyota’s. Maybe, BUT some balanced thinking should be applied to comments. There are more Toyota’s Hilux and LC too. Merely because of the number any repairs will be more if failure percentages are similar to their makes.
Also, if his mate, the repairer is a good operator, then he WILL GET most of any Toyota’s in his area because he does a good job. Therefore he WILL HAVE A MUCH HIGHER percentage of Toyota’s as reared vehicles in his shop. Also, because he is largely booked out there WILL NOTbe space in the booking sheet to fit in other makes, ie, Toyota’s channelled to him. So the figures will be very skewed like many debates are because people are emotive and not factual or realistic and representative.
No one has mentioned Navara diesel injection failures which are troubling. If the Chinese are picking the good bits, picking the eyes out of the world, then they may be ok. Not for me though.
FollowupID: 898051

Follow Up By: chris a - Thursday, Mar 21, 2019 at 19:56

Thursday, Mar 21, 2019 at 19:56
Thanks every one
FollowupID: 898056

Follow Up By: TerraFirma - Thursday, Mar 21, 2019 at 20:25

Thursday, Mar 21, 2019 at 20:25
Well said RMD. This is exactly the case. We all know Toyota make a reliable product. Ask the Uber drivers it's ridiculous how many Camry's they drive. It's also the reason Toyota are the out back product of choice. Each to their own but if your life depended on it we all know the product of choice. The Toyo bashers seem to hate the brand because they don't want to pay for the reliability. The Toyota so called Tax is what it takes to build a better product. Fleet sales is dominated by Toyota because of the low cost of ownership. Ranger is winning the high end sales.
FollowupID: 898057

Follow Up By: RMD - Thursday, Mar 21, 2019 at 21:45

Thursday, Mar 21, 2019 at 21:45
Since we are talking about production quality!
There are a few reasons why I wouldn't have a Ranger, just one is the top ball joint fixing method to the top arm. It is pressed in, seems to do the job but it uses technology the same as the 1970 HT Oldhen ute I had. Toyota gave away using that method at least 30 years ago. The ute was the only GM product I have ever owned or will own.
FollowupID: 898061

Follow Up By: Candace S. - Friday, Mar 22, 2019 at 03:33

Friday, Mar 22, 2019 at 03:33
"...05 Jeep that has NEVER needed a spanner put to it in anger "

If I could have said that about my 2015 Wrangler, I'd still be driving it. Instead I traded it in on a 2018 Toyota. ;)
FollowupID: 898064

Follow Up By: RMD - Friday, Mar 22, 2019 at 12:40

Friday, Mar 22, 2019 at 12:40
Candace S
That is great news, but rare I would imagine. What about a spanner applied in dismay?
A chippy in Shepparton had the whole steering box fall off the chassis as he turned into an angle park bay. Yes completely torn off, and only attached by the steering linkage. Rang his dealer and they immediately travelled from Shepp to Melbourne to pick it up so the word didn't get out. All fixed and then soon traded.
Steering is relatively important it seems. The recall was very quiet too, I wonder why?
FollowupID: 898071

Reply By: Ron N - Friday, Mar 22, 2019 at 18:53

Friday, Mar 22, 2019 at 18:53
A mate on Cocos-Keeling Islands has one. He's not impressed with it.

The dealers had three tries at supplying the brake master cylinder, because Great Wall changed the brakes design so often.

The metal protection and paint quality is abysmal, as you'd expect for something built to a price, not for a job.

Expect plenty of parts to fall off, because they do not have a reputation for quality, only for cheapness.

I might add, there's a bloke renting Hiluxes on Cocos Islands, these endure the same conditions as the Great Wall, and look at the difference (last pic).

AnswerID: 624567

Follow Up By: Michael H9 - Friday, Mar 22, 2019 at 19:40

Friday, Mar 22, 2019 at 19:40
Hey Ron, I think they only sell Ordinary Walls on the Cocos Islands, not Great ones like they sell here.....
FollowupID: 898076

Follow Up By: Ron N - Friday, Mar 22, 2019 at 21:44

Friday, Mar 22, 2019 at 21:44
Michael - Funnily enough, the only way you can get a vehicle to Cocos Islands is by transporting it by sea from Fremantle, W.A. - and a seacontainer costs $7000 to land there, from Freo. Monopoly, anyone??

This, despite the fact that Cocos Islands is only 900kms from Jakarta, while it's 2700kms from Perth.
Cocos Island is actually a West Australian Shire Council, believe it or not.

FollowupID: 898082

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Monday, Mar 25, 2019 at 12:12

Monday, Mar 25, 2019 at 12:12
Pics are not actually 'fair' in this are they , what's the age difference of the vehicles , whats the 'general use' of each vehicle ?
FollowupID: 898122

Follow Up By: Ron N - Monday, Mar 25, 2019 at 12:46

Monday, Mar 25, 2019 at 12:46
My mates Great Wall was delivered new in a sea container to Cocos Island around 2009, the photos were taken in 2013.

The Hilux is a 2003 model, I believe it was purchased secondhand by the hire operator on Cocos, but I believe it had been on Cocos Island, at least the same length of time as the Great Wall.

Hire equipment is noted for hirer abuse, although this is limited on Cocos, simply because of the island operating conditions.
The Great Wall is privately owned, but both vehicles do essentially the same type of work, just running people around the island. Neither would ever be fully loaded.

None of the vehicles on Cocos wear out, West island has only 15kms of roads, the island is only about 6 or 7 kms long. The speed limit on the island is 30kmh.

The constant tropical humidity and salt air is what destroys vehicles and equipment on Cocos.

There are vehicles built to a reliability standard, and there are vehicles built to a price point. Guess which one the GW falls into?

FollowupID: 898123

Follow Up By: 9900Eagle - Monday, Mar 25, 2019 at 14:51

Monday, Mar 25, 2019 at 14:51
Couple of things Ron, the great wall has an earlier number plate, it has a tub which can't be compared to a tray back and that wall has been running around in salt water.

Two friends have walls, they have had no trouble and some station owners around Cloncurry are have been using them without reliability problems.

FollowupID: 898125

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Monday, Mar 25, 2019 at 16:34

Monday, Mar 25, 2019 at 16:34
9900 Eagle , thats what I was alluding to as well , the rego plates show that there is at least 200 registrations between them , the Wall being the earlier rego # and an alloy tray on the hillux , in no way shape or form does a 2003 model Lux still have that gleaming paint job living all its life on a Island ... she's had a respray , after rust repair no doubt .....
FollowupID: 898126