The next Landrover Defender should be good...Providing!!??.

Submitted: Wednesday, Mar 27, 2019 at 09:03
ThreadID: 138057 Views:4737 Replies:5 FollowUps:10
They get it right!..lol.

After owning a 1996 model trayback for 19yrs, I'm wondering how many more head spins can be produced with the Deefers?....Whats on the way should be a good unit if they have put some thought into it.

Reply By: RMD - Wednesday, Mar 27, 2019 at 09:37

Wednesday, Mar 27, 2019 at 09:37
G'day Axle
Gee, is it an electric Landrover you are meaning?
AnswerID: 624656

Follow Up By: axle - Wednesday, Mar 27, 2019 at 21:58

Wednesday, Mar 27, 2019 at 21:58
Now that would be something different,...no more oil leaks.

FollowupID: 898156

Follow Up By: Zippo - Saturday, Mar 30, 2019 at 12:39

Saturday, Mar 30, 2019 at 12:39
No more scenes like this?

FollowupID: 898200

Reply By: Michael H9 - Wednesday, Mar 27, 2019 at 18:48

Wednesday, Mar 27, 2019 at 18:48
If it comes with 19" rims it's a fail. The test mules they've shown driving around don't give me much optimism.
AnswerID: 624666

Follow Up By: axle - Wednesday, Mar 27, 2019 at 21:54

Wednesday, Mar 27, 2019 at 21:54
I think there is going to be to many models looking the same,

And agree with the 19'' rims caper.

But you never know it might be the best off roader ever built!!….)))

FollowupID: 898154

Follow Up By: mike39 - Thursday, Mar 28, 2019 at 08:22

Thursday, Mar 28, 2019 at 08:22
I reckon a 1996 Defender trayback would equate to a 1996 Landcruiser trayback.

Way ahead of todays offerings in terms of durability and user maintenance.
mike
FollowupID: 898161

Reply By: Member - John L43 - Saturday, Mar 30, 2019 at 09:46

Saturday, Mar 30, 2019 at 09:46
Happy with my 110 Puma though. Should hold its value no matter what the new ones look and go like.
AnswerID: 624704

Reply By: mountainman - Saturday, Mar 30, 2019 at 18:44

Saturday, Mar 30, 2019 at 18:44
Soo 19years of ownership.
I looked into getting a defender once
A trayback.
A mate had a defender extreme in a wagon
I fell in love with it.
As interior wise its pretty much same as my hj47 84 model ute.
Obviously better on fuel and coils all round.
But every time he took it offroad it was huge cost in repairs and constantly electrical issues going anywhere near mud or water.
Let alone after 5 years of ownership from new , you lose over 80% in the vehicles value turned me completely off.
Lucky for me the old 40has never really left me stranded as i have always been able to problem solve an issue in almost 20years of ownership.
Obviously the years do more damage than kms.
Soo Axle what is your 19years of ownership been like.
Ive been told you need a specialist LR mechanic to fix the unreliable issues and a few upgrades to make them reliable

I know of one guy who still has his dual cab
And has replaced the fuel pump ? in the fuel tank that many times his cut a whole in the tub to get easier access
AnswerID: 624718

Follow Up By: axle - Sunday, Mar 31, 2019 at 10:52

Sunday, Mar 31, 2019 at 10:52
Hi Mountainman, I think you might be refering to the Td5, which where a lot more electrical and had a few issues in the earlier days. than the tdi300 engine.

When theTdi 300 was released there where mechanical issues first up that sort of put a bit of a stigma out there as far as reliability goes.

The timing belt run off was one of the worst issues at the start , and took Landrover way to long to rectify the problem. Rear oil seals,, Tseals under the sump, leather oil seal on the rear diff pinion where just a few things that gave trouble within the first 100,000ks,But as time went on and after market parts became more available you could build them up to be reliable as any. The internal construction of that motor was as good as any, and there was very few that just blew up!, unlike some.

Mine has given me grief at times, but overall has been pretty good.

Depending what you do with them makes a difference as well, they where never

a real hwy cruiser, but where good at towing for the size of the motor and had good load carrying capacity.

Could go on for hrs about Landrover but as the old adage goes you had to luv them and hate them at the same time.

FollowupID: 898205

Follow Up By: OzzieCruiser - Sunday, Mar 31, 2019 at 11:52

Sunday, Mar 31, 2019 at 11:52
80% loss of resale value on a Defender in 5 years - just does not happen. Other models possibly but resale on a Defender is better than just about any other vehicle.
FollowupID: 898206

Follow Up By: Member - cruza25 - Monday, Apr 01, 2019 at 16:19

Monday, Apr 01, 2019 at 16:19
If you look on carsales some of the last run of Defenders are advertised for $100k
That’s a lot more than they left the dealership for a couple of years ago
FollowupID: 898245

Follow Up By: mountainman - Monday, Apr 01, 2019 at 19:10

Monday, Apr 01, 2019 at 19:10
Mate had the td5 in the extreme wagon in red colour
Year might have been 2001-2003.
He sold it within a couple years or less
But he did lose alot of money

This is before the defender talk of no more production line

Soo the stopped production obviously helped those who bought later and kept hold of their vehicle.

He could just aim and dtive any hill he ever wanted
It was just the constant breakdown
And never ending repairs that made him sell
For a massive loss
FollowupID: 898251

Follow Up By: Michael H9 - Monday, Apr 01, 2019 at 19:27

Monday, Apr 01, 2019 at 19:27
Land Rover reliability improved massively when Ford bought them in 2006. They started to shared common parts with a whole range of cars in the Ford universe. I had a 2008 Land Rover for 10 years and over 300k and it never needed any fluids between services, plus it was never towed home. Reputations die hard, Landies are crucified off 20+ year old data. Similarly, Toyota are basking in a reliability reputation from 20 + years ago as well. I read about major problems with Toyotas every day now. All modern high powered cars with intricate electrics and complex emissions controls are going to have issues sooner or later no matter the brand. Drive what you think is nice.
FollowupID: 898254

Follow Up By: RobMac (QLD_Member) - Monday, Apr 15, 2019 at 22:07

Monday, Apr 15, 2019 at 22:07
I've had Toyotas all my life but back in 2014, a mate had to drive me home from
Warwick, where I had to leave my bush, battered little Zook with a broken axle. He picked me up in his 97 Discovery Tdi300... I couldn't believe how comfy it was, so it wasn't long before I bought a Disco Tdi300 myself, this turned out to be one of the most comfy and capable 4wd's in standard form that I've owned...
This then lead me to check out an old Defender to see how they would go as a possible old school tourer... Somehow I talked myself into buying one but it sat in my back yard for a couple of years before I made the decision to at least get it registered and sell it. This is where my life changed... a bloke from one of the LR forums took me under his wing and helped me repair it and get it to the point of a reliable tourer and I fell in love with it and ended up keeping it... Took it to the VHC last year with the family (5) and towed our CT and had a ball. It's certainly not a good tow vehicle as it was hard work, but it did it and with good fuel economy (better than the wife's 2010 Prado with it tows the CT).

5 years after buying my 1st LR, I now find myself owning 2 Defenders ('95 Tdi300 110wgn and a '09 Defender Puma 110 wgn which will be taking over the touring duties from the wife's Prado + my old Disco Tdi300. Will be selling the wife's Prado later this year...

The days of old school 4WD's (ie: Solid Front and rear Diffs, etc) is fading quickly with only Jeep, Suzuki and Toyota and I reckon it won't be long Toyota ends the 70's, leaving Jeep & Suzuki...

The new LR Defender will be 100% different from its heritage as there is no real market globally for that type of 4WD that was built for adventure/exploration.

WIll it be any good... who knows, but with tyres greater than 17/18", then that pretty much says it all... imo.
Just means I'll be keeping what I have now for quite some time until I no longer wish to tour offroad in those remote locations....
Cheers..... RobM
Defender PUMA 110 "New School Tourer"
Defender 110 Tdi300 "Old School Tourer for Solo Trips"
DiscoTDi for Work/Play

FollowupID: 898547

Reply By: Michael H9 - Sunday, Apr 14, 2019 at 07:31

Sunday, Apr 14, 2019 at 07:31
Looks like it has air suspension and 255/60/20 tyres. Land Rover is obsessed with traction and not concerned at all about tyre damage and availability for remote travel

AnswerID: 624934