ThreadID: 138460 Views:5411 Replies:11 FollowUps:7
G'day all, what is this & how do you use it? thanks

"the only thing constant in my life is change"

Reply By: Allan B (Sunshine Coast) - Tuesday, Jun 04, 2019 at 08:50

Tuesday, Jun 04, 2019 at 08:50
It's the spring out of my laser printer that I lost whilst repairing it a while back.
Where did you find it?

AnswerID: 625965

Reply By: Alloy c/t - Tuesday, Jun 04, 2019 at 09:43

Tuesday, Jun 04, 2019 at 09:43
Its a broken zippedydoodah that was used to hold Bill Shorten's backstabbers knife under his suit coat , he's getting a new one made so don't tell Albo ...Ok ?
AnswerID: 625966

Reply By: Ron N - Tuesday, Jun 04, 2019 at 10:32

Tuesday, Jun 04, 2019 at 10:32
It's almost certainly a main chassis rail reinforcement bar, from a Great Wall ute.

They are known to fall off on regular occasions - to the great dismay of any Toyota vehicle owner who may be following behind, who may run over it with their ute, causing severe vehicle damage.

It's best disposed of quickly to your nearest scrap metal dealer - but don't mention it's off a GW ute, they may refuse to buy it, due to metal quality concerns. [;-)

AnswerID: 625968

Reply By: RMD - Tuesday, Jun 04, 2019 at 11:01

Tuesday, Jun 04, 2019 at 11:01
If it is around 20mm dia and hollow tube then it is part of the rack of a quadbike. Have a look at an older quad bike and you will see very similar/same bars.
AnswerID: 625970

Follow Up By: Mick O - Tuesday, Jun 04, 2019 at 12:55

Tuesday, Jun 04, 2019 at 12:55
RMD, it's a solid piece of bar about 28cm long if the tile underneath it is a standard size 300mm.

Mick

FollowupID: 899633

Reply By: aussiedingo (River Rina) - Tuesday, Jun 04, 2019 at 11:08

Tuesday, Jun 04, 2019 at 11:08
it's for use with a tow ball or bar somehow - that's what I am trying to find out....
"the only thing constant in my life is change"

AnswerID: 625971

Follow Up By: RMD - Tuesday, Jun 04, 2019 at 12:17

Tuesday, Jun 04, 2019 at 12:17
Are you convinced it has something to do with a towball and towbar? What makes you think that?

I used 7 old quadbike racks to make protection bars for some motorcycles. That shape is very familiar to me after holding cutting reforming and welding the tubes.
FollowupID: 899631

Reply By: Mick O - Tuesday, Jun 04, 2019 at 12:59

Tuesday, Jun 04, 2019 at 12:59
Is it part of a weight distribution hitch? Perhaps a very old one?

AnswerID: 625974

Follow Up By: Shaker - Tuesday, Jun 04, 2019 at 13:32

Tuesday, Jun 04, 2019 at 13:32
Yes, looks like some type of torsion bar.
FollowupID: 899634

Follow Up By: OBJ - Tuesday, Jun 04, 2019 at 13:49

Tuesday, Jun 04, 2019 at 13:49
Yeah, right!!! Trust MickO to come up with a sensible suggestion.

What's wrong with a wigwam for a goose's bridle?????

OBJ
FollowupID: 899635

Reply By: braincell - Tuesday, Jun 04, 2019 at 14:43

Tuesday, Jun 04, 2019 at 14:43
the handle for Thors hammer ?
AnswerID: 625976

Reply By: Rangiephil - Tuesday, Jun 04, 2019 at 16:31

Tuesday, Jun 04, 2019 at 16:31
To me it looks broken at the LH end and was once symmetrical.

If so it could be a clip similar to say a Pandrol clip used to hold railway lines in place.
Regards Philip A
AnswerID: 625982

Follow Up By: RMD - Tuesday, Jun 04, 2019 at 20:41

Tuesday, Jun 04, 2019 at 20:41
Unfortunately the poster didn't provide a size reference or clear photo of the broken looking ends. I wonder if Mick O has similar on his outback 4wheeler.
FollowupID: 899637

Follow Up By: Mick O - Tuesday, Jun 04, 2019 at 22:51

Tuesday, Jun 04, 2019 at 22:51
Negative RMD, never needed a anything remotely like it. My Quad has nothing similar either (that I'm aware of). It just has a torsion look to it;-an end that plugs in and the other end that looks like it would hook over a bar or similar to hold something in place under tension.

Who knows. Hopefully Dingo has the answer and will put us all out of our misery.

FollowupID: 899639

Reply By: MUZBRY- Life member(Vic) - Wednesday, Jun 05, 2019 at 10:47

Wednesday, Jun 05, 2019 at 10:47
I recon its a sway bar off a motor bike , but one end is broken off.

AnswerID: 625997

Reply By: Member - Andrew - Wednesday, Jun 05, 2019 at 15:44

Wednesday, Jun 05, 2019 at 15:44
Looks like a broken spring that may have helped lift up a tailgate on a trailer or horse float.

A
AnswerID: 626009

Follow Up By: Ron N - Wednesday, Jun 05, 2019 at 23:42

Wednesday, Jun 05, 2019 at 23:42
I reckon Andrews nailed it. The LHS of the spring, as pictured, would have had a coil spring attached to it (and displaying vertically, if it was still attached).

The spring has broken right at the point where the coils start, this is common with the spring-assist arrangement on tailgates and ramps.

FollowupID: 899670

Reply By: Bazooka - Tuesday, Jun 18, 2019 at 20:17

Tuesday, Jun 18, 2019 at 20:17
Can't help Aussie but it does remind me of some early medical implements we saw at theOld Operating Theatre Museum & Herb Garret. A fascinating place to visit for anyone who gets to London.
AnswerID: 626277