Toyo Tyres

Submitted: Wednesday, Jun 16, 2004 at 23:03
ThreadID: 13847 Views:4226 Replies:4 FollowUps:8

U have a Nissan STR Dual Cab turbo diesel. I have a set of Toyo Opat tyres fitted. They have currently got about 27000KMS on them a probably only 5000kms left on them if lucky. I have rotated the tyres and they are all fairly even in wear.

I spend 90% on road, be it bitumen or gravel and 10% 4WDriving. Does anyone use these tyres and what sort of mileage are they getting out of a set.

Macca

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Jun 17, 2004 at 00:28

Thursday, Jun 17, 2004 at 00:28
Interesting...

I was lookin at a set the other week, and the are really only a road tire, not anything like an AT.. I would have expected 70,000-80,000klms at least!
AnswerID: 63527

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Thursday, Jun 17, 2004 at 18:47

Thursday, Jun 17, 2004 at 18:47
I put a set on my Terracan from new, only done 2000 km so far. They are far more agressive than a road tyre. They have a similar pattern to most A/T's which are a compromise tyre at best. I have been off road twice so far and find them very good in both greasy and rocky/graveely conditions. Advice I was given is that they should be good for at least 70,000. Bloody good value too.

Very quiet on road.

FollowupID: 324833

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Jun 17, 2004 at 20:04

Thursday, Jun 17, 2004 at 20:04
If this is them, then they in real life nothing like a BFG AT, or Coopers ST which I consider to be AT's.

http://www.toyo.com.au/OPAT%20Page.htm

http://www.bfgoodrichtires.com/images/catalog/tires/all_terrain_large.jpg
this is what I consider an AT..

YMMV.
FollowupID: 324839

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Thursday, Jun 17, 2004 at 20:51

Thursday, Jun 17, 2004 at 20:51
Yeah that's them. You need to see them in the flesh, the photos on that site do not do them justice. They are reasonably chunky and open treaded. I say reasonably as they are an A/T, as I said a compromise. They are as quiet as a road tyre whilst offering much better grip.

I never said they were M/T's. Would have loved Cooper ST's but they won't go on my car legally. The ST's are far more agressive than any A/T.

FollowupID: 324852

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Jun 17, 2004 at 22:42

Thursday, Jun 17, 2004 at 22:42
Thats the thing, we looked at them, Sime's, Bridgestones, and also the Yokos, and finally the BFG in the same morning.

I was a little disappointed with the aggressiveness in the Toyos, as they get such an excellent writeup on this aboard for lasting, and strength..

I also never said they were an MT, but to me they are not really an AT either.

When the Coopers bloke came to our club, he stated that the ST's are an AT. They arent an MT thats for sure!

They just werent what I expected.
FollowupID: 324862

Reply By: 75_Cruiser - Thursday, Jun 17, 2004 at 11:15

Thursday, Jun 17, 2004 at 11:15
G'day Macca

I have been running Toyo Mud Terrains for 25,000 kms now, and I am quite happy with the way they are wearing. I rotate them every 5000 kms and they are wearing evenly. I would say they are nearly half worn, so I am expecting to get at least 50,000. Not too bad considering they do a fair few miles around town during the week, and then get a hard life on the weekend.

For $180 (31" x 10.5") they are not an expensive tyre and I think I will buy another set when the time comes.

75_Cruiser
AnswerID: 63565

Reply By: Member - Rick (S.A.) - Thursday, Jun 17, 2004 at 19:37

Thursday, Jun 17, 2004 at 19:37
My Opats have done 30 K and done it tough. My 3.2 tonne GU patrol loves touring.
50:50 bitumen:dirt

Not just dirt dirt, but tough tracks, gibbers a-plenty, rocks. e.g. Fliders Ranges 4wd tracks (not just the dirt roads); station country west of Lake Eyre(no roads or tracks); Sandover highway; Camooweal to Marree; Oodna track heaps of times, etc; etc. If there is a dirt alternative route I use it in preference to the black top - it's the sights unseen that appeals.

Near vertical walls on the Opats, ala Cooper tyres. However, one staked & subsequently dead. It was the fault of terrain, not tyre. I thought I was lucky to only have that one flaty in that terrain.
Other 3 have about 50% to 60 % tread left. Wear is even - I'm constantly rotating them.

They appear to be at least as good as any other A/T tyre. maybe 8 plies helps.

IMHO getting pressures sorted is the key to tyre life, but I believe that most tyre joints have no bloody idea about the conditions I drive in & insisit that I run them far higher than I do. Even on the black top they say minimum 38psi. Thats the MAX i run. On sand I go as low as 14 psi often; "they " say 20 is the ABSOLUTE mininum for a very short distance. No fractures etc are evident, but I go slower as soon as the pressures are dropped.

AnswerID: 63635

Follow Up By: rickwagupatrol - Thursday, Jun 17, 2004 at 21:19

Thursday, Jun 17, 2004 at 21:19
hiya rick.
rick here :)
got them as well, but in the 275/70r16, which is actually a passenger construction.
so far they are about 60% worn, after 50k, not bad i thought.
i have found them to be an excllent tire for an a/t, and the only place they let me down was in some real glooppy mud. :)
for the price they are a very good tyre and am considering getting them again.

rick.
FollowupID: 324854

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Thursday, Jun 17, 2004 at 21:30

Thursday, Jun 17, 2004 at 21:30
Rick,

Mine have only done 2000 km so I can't comment on wear and are passenger construction as well. Good to hear the mileage you have got, that is about what I am banking on.

They're bloody good value.

I've also had some slip and slosh in mud, but I expected that.

FollowupID: 324855

Follow Up By: Member - Rick (S.A.) - Friday, Jun 18, 2004 at 14:50

Friday, Jun 18, 2004 at 14:50
I should point out that mine are LT construction.

Why buy anything else?

If you have issues about legal sizes, find a manufacturer with your size & get a LT in the size you want, don't comprimise by thnking that
"she'll be right" .

At anywhere from $ 200 to $ 300 a tyre, it's too late when you bugger a tyre to say: " I shoulda got LT's ....."

PS: any guesses as to how I know this stuff to be true?

HAHAhahahaha.....sob sob sob sob sob.........
FollowupID: 324917

Follow Up By: rickwagupatrol - Friday, Jun 18, 2004 at 20:12

Friday, Jun 18, 2004 at 20:12
gday again rick.
rick here.
got the 275/70r16 for one reason, and one reason only.
if i put the 285/75r16 on, the patrol won't fit in the bleedin carport.
:(:(:( sobsobsob.

rick.
FollowupID: 324961

Reply By: Macca1 - Thursday, Jun 17, 2004 at 22:27

Thursday, Jun 17, 2004 at 22:27
Mine wre the passenger construction but I would envisage that the main difference would be the wall construction rather than the tread wearing ability.

It's funny how there can be such a differnce in mileage, from mine at 30000kms to some at 60000kms. the fact that mine have worn fairly evenly would indicate the tyre pressures would have to have been fairly close to optimum.

Als some had the tyre cost as low as $180.00 whereas mine cost $240.00 and one company wanted $260.00.

I can't fault the tyre, they are great on road, very quiet and good off road but I'll have to re-consider based on the mileage I got out of them and the cost>

Macca
AnswerID: 63671