Halligan bay road

Submitted: Friday, Sep 06, 2019 at 22:31
ThreadID: 139039 Views:3948 Replies:6 FollowUps:0
My son is looking at going to halligan bay in a weeks time, does any one know what the track in is like and to time to get there from the Oodnadatta track.
Thanks in advance.
Lindsay

Reply By: Core420 - Saturday, Sep 07, 2019 at 09:35

Saturday, Sep 07, 2019 at 09:35
In May this year it took me over an hour one way as the road was badly corrugated in places. Don't forget to stop at the park's payment booth if you haven't paid for your payment yet.
AnswerID: 627603

Reply By: Life Member - Duncan W (WA) - Saturday, Sep 07, 2019 at 11:32

Saturday, Sep 07, 2019 at 11:32
Also Lake Eyre permits are no longer available at the William Creek pub even though signage within the pub still (June this year) said they did provide permits.

AnswerID: 627604

Reply By: MUZBRY- Life member(Vic) - Saturday, Sep 07, 2019 at 15:29

Saturday, Sep 07, 2019 at 15:29
Wont your desert parks pass cover Halligan bay?

AnswerID: 627608

Reply By: Michael H9 - Saturday, Sep 07, 2019 at 16:09

Saturday, Sep 07, 2019 at 16:09
It was graded a few months ago so shouldn't be as bad as it was. Desert parks pass covers that area.
AnswerID: 627609

Reply By: Ozhumvee - Sunday, Sep 08, 2019 at 07:20

Sunday, Sep 08, 2019 at 07:20
We went in at the end of May and it was pretty crook past where the grader had just started, extremely corrugated and sidetracks on sidetracks, even had to tow a vehicle back onto the track after momentary inattention saw them end up on their side in a ditch.
The second day we were camped at Halligans the grader arrived having completed grading the track and the trip out was bliss but with the sheer amount of traffic and lack of ground moisture I'd reckon it has gone back to being corrugated like it was before.
AnswerID: 627615

Reply By: Member - Rustygq - Monday, Sep 09, 2019 at 14:37

Monday, Sep 09, 2019 at 14:37
We did it end of June. Im surprised that someone on here said it had been graded. It was orrible, corrugations from one end to the other and spent a lot of time on the sidetrack which weren't any better. Heaps of traffic using it but take your time and should be ok

AnswerID: 627642