1hz engine issues

Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 13, 2019 at 22:57
ThreadID: 139319 Views:12011 Replies:5 FollowUps:6
Hey guys new to the forum
I have just bought a 75 series 1hz na cruiser from the auctions. Bought it cause of the excellent condition of the vehicle and also the low kms the engine appears to have( 170xxx). Apparently was involved in an accident where the car rolled onto the driver's side. Can't verify anything else because they don't disclose the original owner which is kinda annoying. Also don't know wether the engine was left running or immediately switched off or what. There's actually not much damage other than a snorkel and a windscreen. Think the tray saved it!! Anyway!! Got it back to my grandad's this arvo. First thing we did was disconnect all the glow plugs so we could tick over the engine with out it starting. Flicked the starter a couple times, and did sound like she was pretty full of oil. Wound it over a bit and a lot of oil came out ( all over the engine bay now). Vehicle is down to about half full of oil now. Plugs back in and fired her up and shut her down a few times. She started but ran real rough for a couple of minutes and very smokey out the exhaust. Let her idle for a good while than revved it up a bit then took it for a drive around the paddock. Also cracked the injectors for air in the lines. Air cleaner is good and clean..... But. Issues we have as of now : Little bit down on power. Under load we have missing. Still smokes on idle. Lots of smoke under load. I should mention that there was oil in the engine bay when we bought it. Also oil up the intake presumably from when it went over. So what does it sound like to you guys? Bent con rod? Buggered valve? I don't reckon its pistons at this stage cause when every injector was cracked open, the engine ran worse. Don't know enough about them to know for sure. Will do some more diagnosis tomorrow but Any help would be greatly appreciated!!
KJ

Reply By: qldcamper - Thursday, Nov 14, 2019 at 06:51

Thursday, Nov 14, 2019 at 06:51
Get hold of a compression gauge.
Does the fuel seem ok or does it smell a bit like petrol?
AnswerID: 628653

Follow Up By: Keith S11 - Thursday, Nov 14, 2019 at 08:08

Thursday, Nov 14, 2019 at 08:08
Was thinking of getting one of those. Just this morning again we cracked all injectors again but this time number 1 didnt really get infected. However there is no blowby (which you would have thought there would be with a buggered cylinder) and when we took the glow plug out of the cylinder alot of air came out indicating a reasonable amount of compression. Maybe injector? Or bent rod not getting to tdc after she hydrolocked? I'll try and find one??
FollowupID: 903101

Reply By: Keith S11 - Thursday, Nov 14, 2019 at 08:09

Thursday, Nov 14, 2019 at 08:09
Update this morning. Should have mentioned it before but we have no blowby. Cleaned all intake lines out. Decided to crack all injector lines again. This time nothing really changed on number 1. Guessing an injector or bent rod (not getting to tdc after hydrolock). Any ideas?
AnswerID: 628655

Reply By: Malcom M - Thursday, Nov 14, 2019 at 10:04

Thursday, Nov 14, 2019 at 10:04
Suggest you post the question on the Aussie Landcruiser forums
lcool.org
AnswerID: 628657

Reply By: RMD - Thursday, Nov 14, 2019 at 11:30

Thursday, Nov 14, 2019 at 11:30
Keith
There is absolutely no point in cracking injector lines to find a faulty injector as all injectors cracked will cause the next one in sequence to get no injection amount because it is a rotary pump. Ok on in-line pump but not rotary pump. There has to be blowby, ALL engines have it. A compression test as mentioned is a good thing to do to investigate compression pressures. If the valve clearances are all over the place or almost nothing, that will affect comp pressures. Removing a glowplug to expel compression means nothing. If it smokes at idle when hot it may have a broken or damaged injector tip. Cracking the injectors after a run around the paddock means nothing as they would already be full of fuel if it has run for a period of time. A stuffed injector will cause a miss all the time.

The smoke, is it Blue smoke, ie caused by engine oil presence in the airstream or blueish/black smoke caused by incomplete combustion, ie, broken / crook injector? Big difference there is beginning to diagnose the fault. One smells like burnt engine oil, the other smells like burnt diesel. Why do you ask about a buggered valve? If was ok before tipping it will not have changed. A bit of thinking and less stabbing in the dark may be beneficial. If you want to try the starter without starting, simply turn off the fuel supply by pulling fuel solenoid fuse or disconnect solenoid wire on inj pump. Disconnecting glow plugs dos not inhibit starting, especially if the is combustible oil in the intake stream or cylinders. Best to turn it over by hand if EVER IN DOUBT about possible damage, so no further damage is caused by you hitting START.
AnswerID: 628660

Follow Up By: Keith S11 - Friday, Nov 15, 2019 at 09:32

Friday, Nov 15, 2019 at 09:32
Ok good to know. Smoke is blue going on grey and Defs smells like diesel. The glow plug removal was to get rid of the oil out of it. It worked cause alot of oil came out. I reckon it was left running for a while on its side. I'm getting it shipped back to my home state and will diagnose it further. My local diesel guru thinks bent rod, possibly injector but like you said its not likely unless it was had it before the roll over. Gonna be a couple of weeks before its back home, but I'll report back with the findings
FollowupID: 903121

Reply By: Mineral - Friday, Nov 15, 2019 at 12:06

Friday, Nov 15, 2019 at 12:06
Kieth, couple of tips for you (I have had three 1HZ engine vehicles)
Blue smoke, = oil burn.
Black smoke, too much diesel to air ratio. I.E. crook injector, blocked intake, fuel system out of adjustment.
White smoke, cold running. I.E. glow plugs intermittent, one or two not working. Real cold start ups, or worst, cracked cylinder head letting coolant into combustion chamber. The cylinder heads are the achilleas heal with a tendency to develop cracks.
These engines are tough to kill, and will get out too five hundred thousand K's with ease.
If you are on FB, find the 100 series group in your state. Lots of info available and even better, you can pick up used engines rather cheap with members upgrading to factor turbo units.
Set of reman injectors from local diesel fuel injection shops normally inexpensive as the injectors are pre-combustion type nozzles.
Hope this helps your diagnostics.
Mineral
AnswerID: 628674

Follow Up By: RMD - Friday, Nov 15, 2019 at 19:49

Friday, Nov 15, 2019 at 19:49
Fuel system out of adjustment???? If a diesel is given more fuel it runs faster. If given less fuel it runs less power and slower. The injectors may be the issue of smoke is black.
FollowupID: 903143

Follow Up By: axle - Saturday, Nov 16, 2019 at 07:57

Saturday, Nov 16, 2019 at 07:57
If something is out or worn in the injector pump it will blow black smoke like no tomorrow !.

Big loss of power can be injectors ,or low compression,

The little mazda rb 22 diesels where a shocker for all of the above and more GRRR!.

FollowupID: 903147

Follow Up By: RMD - Saturday, Nov 16, 2019 at 15:26

Saturday, Nov 16, 2019 at 15:26
Axle
What inj pump wear or "out" causes the engine to blow black smoke, I am interested to know!
If injectors are OK then it won't blow black smoke unless it is maxed out with fuel and loaded and past the air supply flow.
If the injection ring is badly worn it retards injection and lessens the amount injected, ie, less smoke, but that is a long term thing.
FollowupID: 903151

Follow Up By: axle - Saturday, Nov 16, 2019 at 21:48

Saturday, Nov 16, 2019 at 21:48
RMD, I thought you would know???...……

Every diesel I have owned and theres been a few, that have had a excessive black smoke problem ,servicing the injectors alone has never solved the problem, Having the pump serviced as well has.

If you need more info I will give you the number of a diesel pump specialist, I'm sure he will explain it all to you

FollowupID: 903153