Generators

Submitted: Tuesday, Dec 24, 2019 at 20:21
ThreadID: 139453 Views:12307 Replies:7 FollowUps:20
Merry xmas to all.

Looking at generators, the Cromtech CTG2500i has caught my attention have read some good reviews some people who have had one up to 3yrs most around 1yr, a few disapointed customers 1or 2 sound like they expect to be able to power a football stadium a couple had invertor failures does anyone have any experence with these gennies.

Living in a cyclone area so main use at this stage would be back up power for house fridge/freezer then for a van when we buy one maybe in a few yrs to run a/c and top up batteries when needed. Some extra info we have owned a van before a 16'6" pop top so will be getting something similar and this time I am going to fit an energy efficient compressor upright fridge, will have plenty of solar, batteres set up as well and decent 12v lighting, a couple of 12v fans so I will be using battery power most of the time, won't need a massive genny thanks.

Reply By: Member - Bigfish - Wednesday, Dec 25, 2019 at 06:58

Wednesday, Dec 25, 2019 at 06:58
Sorry mate , know nothing about them. Personally I wouldn't but anything else than a Honda or Yamaha. I just sold a Honda 2 stroke generator that was 30 years old and ran sweet! Proven track record and that gives one confidence when taking the generator out to use it. I have a virtually brand new Yamaha 1kva now and it is perfect for camping. I actually swapped it for a 2kva Honda that was 10 years old. Only got rid of Honda because of weight savings. Saw many hundreds of 2 kva Honda's given hell in Aboriginal communities and they were really bullet proof. Even the community mechanics said they were bullet proof and apart from dirty fuel they gave very little trouble. Maybe the new 2.2 kva Honda? Like everything in life...you get what you pay for.
AnswerID: 629212

Follow Up By: eaglefree - Thursday, Dec 26, 2019 at 06:05

Thursday, Dec 26, 2019 at 06:05
“Like everything in life...you get what you pay for.”. Rather- you get what you can afford.
FollowupID: 903937

Follow Up By: Member - Bigfish - Thursday, Dec 26, 2019 at 07:05

Thursday, Dec 26, 2019 at 07:05
Nah mate.....I,ve seen many people who can afford better quality but still buy the cheapest item hoping to save a bob or two. I used to do it many years ago but learnt my lesson!
FollowupID: 903939

Follow Up By: Batt's - Thursday, Dec 26, 2019 at 08:24

Thursday, Dec 26, 2019 at 08:24
Money is not the issue and not trying to skimp on price just finding people still have more issues than I expected and quite often poor back up service from Honda. You could argue, say they sell more but I'm wondering like most big manufacturers when are they going to get it right. Yamaha seem to have less complaints I have been looking at lots of brands the company that imports Cromtech is not new to the industry unless any of you have personally had issues with that brand or any others to be genuinely wary of thanks.

FollowupID: 903940

Follow Up By: Batt's - Thursday, Dec 26, 2019 at 08:35

Thursday, Dec 26, 2019 at 08:35
Have read that people quite often had very little issues with the older Honda's but that is trending to sway in the other direction a little wth todays 4 strokes having issues with the more electrical components they are fitted with.
FollowupID: 903941

Follow Up By: Jarse - Thursday, Dec 26, 2019 at 12:00

Thursday, Dec 26, 2019 at 12:00
I have owned a Honda, and now a Yamaha genny. Both have given years of trouble free service. I just make sure to keep the services up on them.
FollowupID: 903944

Follow Up By: AlbyNSW - Thursday, Dec 26, 2019 at 12:29

Thursday, Dec 26, 2019 at 12:29
The new Honda’s are not in the same league as the old ones that everyone loves.
I know a rep who wholesales petrol generators and fire pumps and he said that the hire companies want the Subaru motor over the Honda as the Subaru one is made in Japan the Honda in China
He supplies both but the Subaru is much more trouble free He has found
FollowupID: 903945

Follow Up By: Member - Bigfish - Thursday, Dec 26, 2019 at 13:12

Thursday, Dec 26, 2019 at 13:12
Alby...Subaru stopped making small engine equipment several years ago. Yamaha took over Subaru and most gear is made in China....like nearly every other bloody thing in the world!! Some good..some notso..
FollowupID: 903947

Follow Up By: AlbyNSW - Thursday, Dec 26, 2019 at 15:09

Thursday, Dec 26, 2019 at 15:09
Bugger
I bought a Orange fire pump 3 or 4 years ago and had the option of Subaru or Honda motor so went the Subaru as was still Jap made and the preferred option for those in the know.
FollowupID: 903948

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Thursday, Dec 26, 2019 at 15:21

Thursday, Dec 26, 2019 at 15:21
Alby,

I can not speak regarding the generators, but I can tell you from my experience when I was working for my previous employer.

We sold lots of Onga and Davey Firefighter pumps and the Honda motors in them where 100% Jananese made....period.

They had to have the small green sticker on the fuel tank cap that guaranteed this.

There were many knock off brands on the market, that claimed to have genuine Japanese Honda motors, they did not, and were quite simply known in the trade as Chondas....Chinese knock off Hondas.

I stand corrected, but as far as I am aware, only the true Japanese made Honda’s are still in the True genuine Honda generators that we still buy today.

FollowupID: 903949

Follow Up By: Batt's - Friday, Dec 27, 2019 at 01:02

Friday, Dec 27, 2019 at 01:02
Bigfish during my search I came across gennies with Subaru engines a few days ago the name caught my attention are these the one's your talking about. Subaru branded genny with Subaru engine starting at 2hp also Cromtech gennies with Subaru engines starting at 7hp. https://www.macfarlanegenerators.com.au/products/c448/All-Camping-Caravan-Gens
There are more in the tradie generator section.
FollowupID: 903960

Follow Up By: Member - Bigfish - Friday, Dec 27, 2019 at 08:07

Friday, Dec 27, 2019 at 08:07
Trouble is today's world of bullshit advertising, dodgy manufacture labels, suspect country of origin labels and manufacturers outsourcing parts and rebranding it is extremely difficult to know the origin of many parts of any piece of machinery (or anything for that matter). All we can do is ask around and read product reviews and hopefully whatever we decide on...it does thee job and does it reliably for many years.
FollowupID: 903963

Follow Up By: AlbyNSW - Friday, Dec 27, 2019 at 09:47

Friday, Dec 27, 2019 at 09:47
Stephen I just had a quick google and it says the Honda GX motor which I think is the main motor used is now made in Thailand
Maybe there are other model options I have no idea, I just went with the options I had at the time

FollowupID: 903965

Follow Up By: Ron N - Friday, Dec 27, 2019 at 10:59

Friday, Dec 27, 2019 at 10:59
I recently picked up an abused 4000psi pressure washer with a 13HP Briggs & Stratton engine on it.

It had a leak on the hose reel that had constantly dripped water onto the fuel tank filler cap.
As a result, the tank and entire fuel system was full of water and corrosion.

I stripped all the fuel system and cleaned it out and repaired it, and took the head off while I was at it.
The engine was in good condition, it looked like it had done only a small amount of work.
I ground the valves, and put it back together, and it runs a treat.

However, here's the funny part. The engine sports a huge Stars & Stripes decal alongside the name.

But when I stripped the engine down, I found a decal under the fan cowling that said the engine was MADE IN CHINA - and NOT FOR SALE IN ANY STATE OF AMERICA! LOL

But it was obviously good enough to sell to us dumb Aussies, with a big Yank flag plastered on it, to aid the sale!

Talk about Trump bullsXXt salesmanship!!

FollowupID: 903967

Reply By: Joe M8 - Wednesday, Dec 25, 2019 at 08:44

Wednesday, Dec 25, 2019 at 08:44
Hi, We have a Honda 2ui ,it will run a 3.2 heron a/c ,if all other items turned off.
We went through cyclone Yasi in Townsville, the Honda 2 powered Our house for around
9 days, ran a fridge a freezer and fans,. Economical ,yes , cannot recall the hours per tank of fuel. I recall it even ran on the economy cycle. 2.2 would be My Choice.
Cheers Joe.
AnswerID: 629214

Reply By: Batt's - Thursday, Dec 26, 2019 at 00:20

Thursday, Dec 26, 2019 at 00:20
Thanks for the info something to think about.
AnswerID: 629216

Reply By: eaglefree - Thursday, Dec 26, 2019 at 06:06

Thursday, Dec 26, 2019 at 06:06
I ran a lip or 2.0 for 8 years. Never missed a beat
Tony
AnswerID: 629217

Follow Up By: RMD - Thursday, Dec 26, 2019 at 10:16

Thursday, Dec 26, 2019 at 10:16
Some might ask what a "lip" is.
FollowupID: 903943

Follow Up By: Joe G2 - Thursday, Dec 26, 2019 at 21:07

Thursday, Dec 26, 2019 at 21:07
LIP ???????
FollowupID: 903954

Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Thursday, Dec 26, 2019 at 23:55

Thursday, Dec 26, 2019 at 23:55
Maybe a Kipor?

FollowupID: 903959

Follow Up By: Frank P (NSW) - Friday, Dec 27, 2019 at 13:39

Friday, Dec 27, 2019 at 13:39
Crikey, that's as good as Monday's Pick This Place!

Well done Bob.

FollowupID: 903978

Reply By: Member - McLaren3030 - Thursday, Dec 26, 2019 at 07:02

Thursday, Dec 26, 2019 at 07:02
Hi Batts,

ITeckworld have a 5 KVA Generator for under $1,600:00. It is rated at 5KVA maximum short term output, with a 4 KVA steady state output. Not sure of their quality, but if you are looking for something with a large capacity that can keep a lot of high consumption electrical appliances running, it may be worth a look.

Macca.
Macca.

AnswerID: 629218

Follow Up By: Batt's - Thursday, Dec 26, 2019 at 08:41

Thursday, Dec 26, 2019 at 08:41
No worries I did look at their 2.2kva the other day seemed ok only been looking at smaller gennies no real need for a larger unit not powering lots of items thanks.
FollowupID: 903942

Reply By: Bushranger1 - Thursday, Dec 26, 2019 at 12:17

Thursday, Dec 26, 2019 at 12:17
G'day,
Make sure you don't leave fuel in the tank for more than 2 months.
Either run it dry or use fuel stabilizer.
I do small engine repair & at least 80% of failure to start is stale fuel! Just did a fire pump with gum right through the fuel system.

Cheers Stu.
AnswerID: 629219

Follow Up By: Member - shane r1 - Thursday, Dec 26, 2019 at 12:46

Thursday, Dec 26, 2019 at 12:46
Agree with you Stu,
I don’t empty tanks that often , but on my motorbike and pump and gen set’s I drain or run out the carbies. Had a Honda on an auger that wouldn’t have been started for at least 2 years, fresh fuel, and it fired first pull and ran second pull. Most won’t do that on fuel even only a few weeks old in the car by. Higher performance like my Ktm 525 are even fussier.

The OP hasn’t had much response with owners with the Cromtech, it’s hard to know with less known equipment, some could be brilliant and some will be lemon’s. But for the price worth a go probably.

Cheers all
FollowupID: 903946

Reply By: David I1 - Thursday, Dec 26, 2019 at 20:40

Thursday, Dec 26, 2019 at 20:40
I have a Cromtech Outback 2.4KVA. I have had it now for 3 years and use it quite regularly on my big trips at least once a year for about 15 - 20 days in total plus other short off the grid trips. It is enough to power my Aircon in the van plus a 800w microwave at the same time. (at its limit). It cost me $699 at the time and all Honda and Yamaha owners rubbished it. Cromtech has dealers Australia wide, just like H & Y and at 1/2 the price for in reality a max of say 20-30 days in a year it has worked perfectly. Each year I give it an oil change, and when I store it I run it completely dry of fuel. It starts on either 1st of 2nd pull every time, and I am more than happy with the unit. Sometimes, just sometimes, I think you pay more for a "brand" name or "logo" without any justifiction on performance or longetivity. Also despite contrary evidence we all will justify our financial outlay by rubbishing the cheaper options, with well known and often repeated phrases.
AnswerID: 629223

Follow Up By: Batt's - Friday, Dec 27, 2019 at 01:34

Friday, Dec 27, 2019 at 01:34
Thanks David I1 some good info about your experience, useage with one. I decided to buy one online $855 delivered I tried local dealer first but they wanted $200 more.

Was going to research a bit longer but we've had 2 storms here in the past couple of weeks and lost power twice already for a few hours each time so not a very good start to the season. Expect it may get some use when it arrives thinking of getting a price to get a switch wired into the meter box so I only have to run one power lead for the fridges see what eleco says.
FollowupID: 903961