Will a 7 stage 10amp charger work with 120AH AGM battery

Submitted: Saturday, Feb 08, 2020 at 11:47
ThreadID: 139653 Views:32481 Replies:14 FollowUps:21
This Thread has been Archived
Hi

Went to Super Cheap today as they have a 7 Stage 10 amp charger on special. The salesman told me I would need the 15 amp charger to charge my 120AH battery, think he might just be trying to sell me a dearer unit. Do we have any experts that can advise me if this would be correct?

https://www.supercheapauto.com.au/p/sca ... 44706.html

Myles
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Member - Core420 - Saturday, Feb 08, 2020 at 11:59

Saturday, Feb 08, 2020 at 11:59
I use a 5 amp charger on my 100 amp battery without problems. It only takes longer.
AnswerID: 629952

Reply By: Batt's - Saturday, Feb 08, 2020 at 12:16

Saturday, Feb 08, 2020 at 12:16
I'm no expert but I would say he is correct the minimum recommendations I have read is to have 10amps of charge per 100ah. The bigger the charger the faster it will recharge the battery which is good for short trips and if you run the battery down low you can get the power back into it faster which is better for it. That's the basics you can get into the technical reasons why but that bores me. Also they say a 100ah battery will take approx 30amps of power so you are limmiting it with a 10 amp charger bigger is better. In my 4wd I have a 40amp charger looking after 2 x 105ah batteries it works well I don't have a 240v charger I have no need for one.

I tried your link came up error is it a 12v car charger or house 240v
AnswerID: 629953

Follow Up By: mynance - Saturday, Feb 08, 2020 at 12:25

Saturday, Feb 08, 2020 at 12:25
240 volt want it for back up as I have a Ctek DC - DC charger hooked up while driving it works well, thought I might get the 240 volt to keep it charged when we are not mobile. The battery only runs my Engel.

Thanks
Myles
FollowupID: 905101

Follow Up By: Frank P (NSW) - Saturday, Feb 08, 2020 at 14:06