Blog Review: 4WD Toyota Coaster Build up

My Blog Rating: My Rating 5/5

Hi mate I'm.looking at having this done to my 1990 coaster would it be the same sort of setup

Reply By: Life Member TourBoy, Bundaberg - Sunday, Mar 22, 2020 at 21:02

Sunday, Mar 22, 2020 at 21:02
Yeah mate, but most of the older ones like yours have been fitted with dana 60 diff in the front and regeared. I think they use the np205 transfer case though. Isuzu nps300 diffs are also a possibility too. It all depends on your budget and weight limits. I last used an Isuzu FTS800 and converted that to a motorhome
2010 Isuzu FTS800 Expedition camper
2015 Fortuner
Had 72 cruisers in my time

AnswerID: 630659

Follow Up By: Ron N - Tuesday, Mar 24, 2020 at 18:00

Tuesday, Mar 24, 2020 at 18:00
There's a ripper of an Isuzu FTS 4x4 camper currently up for offer, on Graysonline Auctions, in Pooraka, S.A.

It's a 2006 model, but it's in good nick. You do need a sizeable bank balance to make a bid for it, though!

Just go to Graysonline.com and type in 2006 Isuzu FTS 4x4 Camper Truck.

FollowupID: 906186

Follow Up By: Life Member TourBoy, Bundaberg - Tuesday, Mar 24, 2020 at 20:34

Tuesday, Mar 24, 2020 at 20:34
That on on Gray's has had a hard life, mine was a 2010 and only had 140km on it when I sold it. The 2 on the odometer doesn’t line up so appears to have been wound back and it shows.

Cheers Dave
2015 Fortuner

FollowupID: 906197

Reply By: Batt's - Monday, Mar 23, 2020 at 13:23

Monday, Mar 23, 2020 at 13:23
If their anything like the 2008 model up they are useless in slippery, muddy conditions even with mud terrains that have had the pressure reduced several times experimenting to try and help traction. We have them on mine sites a traction aid like a Lokka diff might help they need something.
AnswerID: 630672

Reply By: GerryG - Monday, Mar 23, 2020 at 21:42

Monday, Mar 23, 2020 at 21:42
I'm not too sure what the original blog was but here's my two bobs worth.
A few of us tour operators in Alice Springs, had these HB30 Toyota Coasters converted to 4WD. We found the later HB50 units were not as good for a number of reasons.
There was a company in Melbourne doing the conversion but I believe they've gone out of business. Their first units weren't built very well but by the time they closed shop, they had a good machine.
My first one was a 1988 LWB which I spent many years rebuilding. I ended up with 9.00 x 16 singles and a Chev. V8 diesel. I used the original gearbox and ran a short drive shaft to a Rockwell transfer case. A noisy unit but unbreakable. The rear diff assembly was out of a F250 2WD as it was a bit wider to allow for single tyres to be fitted.
The fuel tank has to be recessed to allow for the original front torsion bar suspension to be replaced with leaf springs which was necessary to fit a banjo housing out of a Dodge Ram. The front and rear diffs were Dana units. Oh yeah, the steering box has to be replaced with one from a Mazda T3100. I ended up with a magic vehicle that would "walk" anywhere! (I'll post some photos later)

My other Coaster was a 1992 which was almost the last of the HB30s. The original rear back axle, diff and 6 stud wheels, were retained which didn't allow singles to be fitted. It was ok in the sand but nothing like the older vehicle with the large singles. Both vehicles needed the rear roof pillars strengthened because of the heavy air cond. units in the rear of the roof and the front drivers door pillar also needed attention.

I've seen a company in Qld that also convert Coasters and they bolt a different transfer case directly to the back of the original gear box. I seem to recall they also had a rather complicated front suspension using coil springs.

AnswerID: 630678

Follow Up By: mountainman - Tuesday, Mar 24, 2020 at 16:21

Tuesday, Mar 24, 2020 at 16:21
Id love to see a video of these coaster setups

Good in depth detail in the stuff you posted here too
FollowupID: 906183

Follow Up By: RMD - Tuesday, Mar 24, 2020 at 18:42

Tuesday, Mar 24, 2020 at 18:42
Gerry
Nice to read real life experiences from someone who has done the modifying work. It takes some investigating to try alternate drive line systems. Good stuff.
FollowupID: 906190

Follow Up By: Life Member TourBoy, Bundaberg - Tuesday, Mar 24, 2020 at 20:32

Tuesday, Mar 24, 2020 at 20:32
My one is doing tours on Cradle Mountain as far as I know, It was purchased by McDermott Coaches in Tassie.
2015 Fortuner

FollowupID: 906196

Follow Up By: Kurt P1 - Wednesday, Apr 01, 2020 at 21:01

Wednesday, Apr 01, 2020 at 21:01
Thanks mate , that great info
FollowupID: 906437

Follow Up By: Kurt P1 - Wednesday, Apr 01, 2020 at 21:04

Wednesday, Apr 01, 2020 at 21:04
Gerryg do you still build these ?
FollowupID: 906438

Follow Up By: GerryG - Saturday, Apr 04, 2020 at 21:55

Saturday, Apr 04, 2020 at 21:55
Hi Kurt
Sorry it's taken a while to get back to you but I don't check Emails very often.
I never actually "built" these units but I spent many years "rebuilding" them for our own use. (I operated 4WD safaris specialising in taking groups out into the various deserts.) But no, I'm retired now and keep vehicles as I get them.
I was always going to put a Coaster together, keeping it 2WD and using a diff lock in the rear, I'd have single wheels all round and keep them 16 inch so letting the tyres down would be the most beneficial. The front and rear wheels would need to track as close as possible to each other.
Tyres would need to be able to carry the weight especially on the rear. I've never been afraid to use the angle grinder to get the body to accommodate tyres!

Even though I've fitted different Chev. V8 diesels to Coasters, I think a good turbo 1HZ will do the job. (They don't sound as good though!)

It's amazing where a high clearance, 2WD , single, well tyred vehicle with the appropriate air pressures in the tyres will go. An electric winch and a decent air compressor would compliment the vehicle

I've learnt the hard way, that single wheels that track behind each other with the proper air pressures will give you the best chance to get to where you're going! It will never be as good as a 4WD with low/high range, but in the right hands it will produce the goods.

I'm going to try and post a photo.

FollowupID: 906563