Nissan on the way out?

Submitted: Monday, Jun 01, 2020 at 00:06
ThreadID: 140094 Views:9700 Replies:9 FollowUps:13
G'day All - I was just reading a news item about Nissan and I was staggered at how much they've faltered.

This is now a car manufacturer in seriously deep trouble. They are shutting down factories permanently in two countries - Spain and Indonesia.

They are moving the Indonesian manufacturing to Thailand - but overall, they're reducing vehicle output by 20%.

They lost AUD$9.2B last FY (to March 2020). This was a year largely unaffected by the coronavirus. Things have only got a lot worse, since the virus hit.

Their vehicle production, globally, was down 62% in April 2020!! Their global sales were down 42% for the same month.

Perhaps some of their poor attitude to their customers is coming back to bite them?

A lot of Nissans problems can be shunted right into Carlos Ghosn's court. I reckon this bloke was poison to Nissan.
He went for a huge surge in sales targets, but put all his dealers, and many of his customers offside.

Nissans customer service became poorer and poorer, and it seems obvious now, this was because Ghosn wouldn't let the Nissan dealers make any money.

The very fact that Ghosn escaped from custody in Japan via the most devious means possible, indicates he has little by way of morals or ethics.
I think it's a good thing he's gone - but it's going to be a while before Nissan even looks like sailing on an even keel.

Nissans 3000 workers at the Spanish factory are currently rioting and burning tyres, after getting news of the Nissan factory shutdown.
Not the best company image Nissan would be wanting on the news.

There's certainly going to be a major shakeout in the company over the next year. Look towards a number of Nissan models disappearing (69 models brought down to 55), and possibly a lot more Nissan parts and components being manufactured in cheap-manufacturing countries.

Nissan to shut manufacturing down in Spain and Indonesia

Carlos Ghosns strategy sees Nissan dealers sell out in the U.S.

New Nissan alliance plan is a mish-mash

The other shoe has dropped for Nissan

Reply By: Gbc.. - Monday, Jun 01, 2020 at 05:54

Monday, Jun 01, 2020 at 05:54
GFC hit them hard. Honda also in the same boat. No money for product development.
AnswerID: 631900

Reply By: Member - Patto (SA) - Monday, Jun 01, 2020 at 10:36

Monday, Jun 01, 2020 at 10:36
Not only did Nissan have poor customer service but for some reason they dropped their good selling vehicles ( especially in Aust - the lack of an updated diesel patrol )and produced vehicles nobody wants
AnswerID: 631906

Follow Up By: axle - Monday, Jun 01, 2020 at 10:44

Monday, Jun 01, 2020 at 10:44
True Patto, and left Toyota with very limited competition in the larger 4wd market in OZ.

FollowupID: 908270

Follow Up By: Hoyks - Monday, Jun 01, 2020 at 18:17

Monday, Jun 01, 2020 at 18:17
The Australian market is bugger all in the overall scheme of things. The diesel Patrol even less so. The R&D $$ would hardly make it viable with emissions restrictions making everything harder they would never get the $$ back.

The Arabs are big on the Patrol, but they can afford to feed the petrol versions and there are a few options for large capacity motors from the car factories to use as options there. Meeting the emissions is easier with a petrol too.
FollowupID: 908286

Reply By: RMD - Monday, Jun 01, 2020 at 10:39

Monday, Jun 01, 2020 at 10:39
Spain was where all the D40's with malformed chassis were made. Hundreds of them sold in Australia. Our wide open spaces meant plenty of room between dealers and customers to pour the faulty ones into and sell them. Strategy was, salt a few here and salt a few there, no one will notice and many unsuspecting customers haven't either, so it works! They had problems quite a while ago, and YES, Nissans attitude to warranty of vehicles hasn't worked well for them.
AnswerID: 631907

Reply By: Ron N - Monday, Jun 01, 2020 at 11:44

Monday, Jun 01, 2020 at 11:44
Nissans plan for survival is called "Nissan Next". It involves concentrating on the new Nissan 400Z sports coupe, EV's, and small-to-medium size vehicles.

Nissan are even downsizing Nissan van manufacturing in the U.S., which indicates how much trouble they're in.
They are leaving South Korea as a market, signs that Nissan is not making any impression there.

The Nissan Titan ute, despite being Cummins powered, appears to be a bit of a dog, with a 37% slump in sales last in the U.S. (land of the big hairy-chested utes) - not helped by the fact that the Cummins V8 has had a number of teething troubles.

It is becoming obvious that the Patrol and Navara are quite likely to disappear. The Patrol effectively started to die a slow death, about 3 to 4 years ago, when the Patrol diesel and ute was dropped.

If Nissan survive, I can see they will become non-existent in the serious 4WD arena.

Patrol & Navara absent in Nissan Next details

AnswerID: 631909

Reply By: Jackolux - Monday, Jun 01, 2020 at 12:53

Monday, Jun 01, 2020 at 12:53
It would be a pity to see the Patrol go , they seem to be able to sell everyone that comes into the country
I'm surprised how many come and go from my local dealer , still only a drop in the bucket compared to LC .
I have had a Y62 for 12 months now so far so good .
The patrol paint is really bad , my 62 had a few chips that were nowhere near as bad as some of the photos of others I have seen . I asked the dealer to inspect them at the last service
I got a full respray without any argument , to say I was surprised is a understatement .
I asked the Panel shop what it would of cost if I had to pay , 10K he said .
So maybe they are trying to lift their game as far a customer service / warranty .
AnswerID: 631913

Follow Up By: Gazza70 - Monday, Jun 01, 2020 at 14:20

Monday, Jun 01, 2020 at 14:20
Test drove the new Series 5 Y62 on the weekend. Just the Ti model. Nice rig for the money i thought not to mention the power that V8 puts to the ground.
FollowupID: 908278

Reply By: Peter_n_Margaret - Monday, Jun 01, 2020 at 15:21

Monday, Jun 01, 2020 at 15:21
In 1981, I and 5 other South Australians had a private half day tour and discussion with senior execs in their Zama Plant in Japan.
At that time they had ambitions of equalling Toyota's sales. :)
OKA196 motorhome
AnswerID: 631916

Follow Up By: Jackolux - Monday, Jun 01, 2020 at 15:36

Monday, Jun 01, 2020 at 15:36
Yeah well that never happened did it . I still will say the Y62 Patrol is better value than a LC 200 but most ppl can't get their head around it being a petrol .
FollowupID: 908281

Follow Up By: OzzieCruiser - Monday, Jun 01, 2020 at 16:09

Monday, Jun 01, 2020 at 16:09
But the Y62 is sold at a discounted price as no one wants them and no one would pay a Toyota equivalent price.
FollowupID: 908282

Follow Up By: Jackolux - Monday, Jun 01, 2020 at 16:24

Monday, Jun 01, 2020 at 16:24
I wouldn't say no one wants them , I did . I went shopping for a new Wagon test drove a couple of Toyota VX models , then test drove a S3 Ti Patrol and bought a S4 Ti .
Nissan seem to sell every one that comes in to the country .

FollowupID: 908283

Follow Up By: cruiser 3 - Monday, Jun 01, 2020 at 17:06

Monday, Jun 01, 2020 at 17:06
If I had to choose I would take the V8 petrol Patrol over the Diesel Landcruiser.
With all the dpf, common rail, etc with today’s diesels I would not have any of the diesels.
FollowupID: 908284

Follow Up By: axle - Wednesday, Jun 03, 2020 at 10:34

Wednesday, Jun 03, 2020 at 10:34
Its A beautiful vehicle, but unfortunately that stupid idea of a chain driven transfer case has let some down!

FollowupID: 908350

Follow Up By: OzzieCruiser - Wednesday, Jun 03, 2020 at 12:04

Wednesday, Jun 03, 2020 at 12:04
Many vehicles, including Land Rover have chain driven transfer cases and not had issues. Certainly no worse that gear drives.
FollowupID: 908355

Follow Up By: axle - Thursday, Jun 04, 2020 at 08:56

Thursday, Jun 04, 2020 at 08:56
I'm just going on a buggered chain drive, photo that a member put up here a while back

and he knew of another one.

Gear drive is superior when a load is applied as far as i'm concerned.

But everyone to their own!

FollowupID: 908384

Follow Up By: OzzieCruiser - Thursday, Jun 04, 2020 at 12:11

Thursday, Jun 04, 2020 at 12:11
So because you saw a pic of one broken chain - the whole system must be crap - if that were the case no one would be driving Toyotas.
FollowupID: 908398

Follow Up By: axle - Thursday, Jun 04, 2020 at 16:23

Thursday, Jun 04, 2020 at 16:23
Actually it was a stripped gear mate ,not a broken chain!, I'm just saying for a big horsepower vehicle the system is very light, .....The owner agreed as well and as i said he knew of another that did the same thing.

Personally i couldn't care less , i'm not in the market for one at the moment....lol,

Axle.
FollowupID: 908409

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Monday, Jun 01, 2020 at 17:53

Monday, Jun 01, 2020 at 17:53
I think Nissan have been on the decline since Renault got involved around 1998. Renault may have saved them at that time but bad management and decisions have led to the slow decline.

AnswerID: 631924

Reply By: Hoyks - Monday, Jun 01, 2020 at 18:24

Monday, Jun 01, 2020 at 18:24
Old JC is predicting that Ni$$an go the way of Holden in Australia.

I've owned a couple of Nissans over the years, they were good vehicles for the time, but nothing in their stable appeals these days.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ATMyjmWpR4o
AnswerID: 631925

Follow Up By: axle - Wednesday, Jun 03, 2020 at 10:38

Wednesday, Jun 03, 2020 at 10:38
We have had three Pulsars in the family over the years cheap and rough, but as run arounds served the purpose very well.

Axle.
FollowupID: 908351

Reply By: TerraFirma - Wednesday, Jun 03, 2020 at 15:11

Wednesday, Jun 03, 2020 at 15:11
I think the main problem is their car range. If we look at the Patrol and the very rare 4.2 it was a great vehicle in it's day. Replaced with a 3 litre? The Navara had a Renault engine in it as an option too, The older Navara's had issues. They have dropped some of their smaller cars which were main stay sellers. Their product reliability reputation is not in the top 10 when I last checked. Someone tell me which car of their range is the brand's hero? Can't count the GTR as they virtually sell none of these nowadays. Personally I think none of their vehicles are market leaders. The Xtrail is their biggest selling car and it ranked 11 in the top 30 cars and their next best the Navara ranked 24. Conversely Toyota had 3 cars in the top 10 and two in the 10-20 category. Their decision making with the design of their products needs radical change otherwise they are dead IMO.
AnswerID: 631966