Glind Hot Water Showers

Submitted: Tuesday, Jun 22, 2004 at 18:31
ThreadID: 14021 Views:11355 Replies:13 FollowUps:13
OK....now trust me I have done a search for these and nothing came up.

So......does anyone have one of these and honestly what do they think of them.

Looking to put one in the 80 series Cruiser, we have solar showers but what the heck,,not to good in chilly weather.

Shaz

Reply By: old baz - Tuesday, Jun 22, 2004 at 18:43

Tuesday, Jun 22, 2004 at 18:43
Not as Robust as Twine i feel,have had both but an now firm on twine. have got in in my series 2 disco,took a fair bit of effort but works great now.you wont have any problem fitting either in your Tojo,plemty of room. They are quite easy to fit. We Find the heat exchanger on the twine is superior and generates really hot water.any further help just give us aline.cheers//
AnswerID: 64463

Follow Up By: Member - Ivan (ACT) - Tuesday, Jun 22, 2004 at 19:04

Tuesday, Jun 22, 2004 at 19:04
Baz,

Do you have to run your engine at greater than idle to get warm water??

Ivan
2008 D4D Prado

FollowupID: 325506

Reply By: Member - Peter K (NSW) - Tuesday, Jun 22, 2004 at 19:04

We have them and they work great. Come with a bigger pump now which I have used to success up to betwwen 2-3ms. Gets regular use, showers for customers (tagalong tours).
If you would like any info send me a PM. or contact www.aussieoffroad.com.au (yep we sell em - but can give advise as well)
AnswerID: 64467

Follow Up By: cazshaz - Wednesday, Jun 23, 2004 at 17:00

Wednesday, Jun 23, 2004 at 17:00
Thanks Peter,

Do you use the Original or the Little Ripper, we are considering the Little Ripper, but not sure whether Original would be better because it is bigger unit.

Any advice would be appreciated.

Am going now to look at your website.

Ta

Shaz
FollowupID: 325673

Follow Up By: Member - Peter K (NSW) - Wednesday, Jun 23, 2004 at 18:17

Wednesday, Jun 23, 2004 at 18:17
We use the origional, I havnt used the little ripper.
FollowupID: 325686

Follow Up By: Tuco69 - Wednesday, Jun 23, 2004 at 21:47

Wednesday, Jun 23, 2004 at 21:47
Both use the same heat exchanger, however the original comes with a larger pump - capable of lifting futher and higher volume output.
FollowupID: 325755

Reply By: ExplorOz Team - David - Tuesday, Jun 22, 2004 at 19:04

And you can even get a Twine unit right here on this site in the Shop. Have a look at the Vechicle Showers section. We will also be soon adding the component parts also to allow people to purchase the parts and build your own system.

You may like to see what is on offer at Twine and Helton Heat Exchangers.

BTW: We use Twine also and have done so for many years.
David (DM) & Michelle (MM)
---------------------------------
Always working not enough travelling!

AnswerID: 64468

Reply By: old baz - Tuesday, Jun 22, 2004 at 19:37

Tuesday, Jun 22, 2004 at 19:37
Once we are at operating temperature it just keeps coming. i dont bother using my heater settings to adjust temp,i find that if it is too cold i just let it recycle in a bucket for a bit or adjust the spray from the shower head and if its too hot just ad water.you can run them for ever and shower heaps of bodies even get your hot water for washing up.the exchanger really does hold solid heat.Just make sure when you tap into your lines you have got connectors.
AnswerID: 64474

Reply By: ToyMotor - Tuesday, Jun 22, 2004 at 19:42

Tuesday, Jun 22, 2004 at 19:42
I've had a Glind for about 5 years, in two vehicles (60 series and 78 series) and had no trouble. Heater control needs to be set fairly cold otherwise the water gets a bit hot, idle speed maintains temp. easily.

AnswerID: 64476

Follow Up By: cazshaz - Wednesday, Jun 23, 2004 at 16:57

Wednesday, Jun 23, 2004 at 16:57
Hi ToyMotor,

thanks for responding.....Do you have the Original Glind or the Little Ripper? We are considering Little Ripper but wonder whether Original is better.

Any advice appreciated

Shaz
FollowupID: 325672

Reply By: Les Webb - Tuesday, Jun 22, 2004 at 20:29

Tuesday, Jun 22, 2004 at 20:29
I have a helton http://shop.helton.com.au/ ...very impressed cost $125 I think . Had to mount it within bumper cos no room around the Merc 2.7 CRD in the Jeep.!
AnswerID: 64484

Follow Up By: Goran - Tuesday, Jun 22, 2004 at 20:44

Tuesday, Jun 22, 2004 at 20:44
I run PVC water pipes on my roofrack (20L each). One air line from spare tyre to pvc pipe via acetilene regulator (10psi). Drop one billy of hot water in it and there is pressurised hot shower. Total cost 100.00. No mods to vehicle.
FollowupID: 325517

Reply By: AT4WD ADVENTURES - Tuesday, Jun 22, 2004 at 20:56

Tuesday, Jun 22, 2004 at 20:56
Okay Gang,

Here is my tips;

Use air hose and fittings for making up hoses and use the quick connects and disconnects that are available for air hoses.

Thes hoses double as not ony water hoses but extensions for the air compressor requirements.

I have female disconnects mounted on my 100 series and it really doesn't matter whether the unit is a Twine, Glind or Helton but pipe to these units to a mounted plate with these female disconnects mounted on the plate in a convienent spot under the bonnet or bull bar.

Most IMPORTANT tip I could give everyone is pipe in a mixer valve between the incoming cold and the outgoing hot just prior to the female disconnects as when you get your engine temp right you can mix cold with hot via this mixing valve and never have a problem with to hot or to cold at the shower head.

Anyone need photos of this setup let me know.

Stuart
AnswerID: 64498

Follow Up By: AT4WD ADVENTURES - Tuesday, Jun 22, 2004 at 21:01

Tuesday, Jun 22, 2004 at 21:01
I should say male disconnects mounted in the car and female disconnects on the hoses......to many Wild Turkeys tonight.
FollowupID: 325523

Follow Up By: Member - Bear - Tuesday, Jun 22, 2004 at 23:12

Tuesday, Jun 22, 2004 at 23:12
Stuart

Just picked up my 100 today and having a Glind put in next week.

If you could pass on some photos i would much appreciate it.

FollowupID: 325581

Follow Up By: AT4WD ADVENTURES - Wednesday, Jun 23, 2004 at 22:01

Wednesday, Jun 23, 2004 at 22:01
Bear,

You will need to shoot me your email address.....so I can send you pictures.

Stuart
FollowupID: 325760

Follow Up By: Member - Bear - Thursday, Jun 24, 2004 at 00:52

Thursday, Jun 24, 2004 at 00:52
Stuart

outbackbeyond@optusnet.com.au

FollowupID: 325794

Reply By: Member - Roachie- Tuesday, Jun 22, 2004 at 20:56

Tuesday, Jun 22, 2004 at 20:56
Shaz,

I'm one who uses a Twine on the GU and find it works really good. If starting on a cold morning, I run the motor at around 1000 rpm using the hand throttle and have heater set on high. After a while it gets too hot and you need to add more cold water and/or turn the engine off.

Good luck.
AnswerID: 64499

Follow Up By: Michael - Wednesday, Jun 23, 2004 at 13:32

Wednesday, Jun 23, 2004 at 13:32
Hi Ya ,, How can you add more cold water???? isn't that what you are heating???/
FollowupID: 325631

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie- Wednesday, Jun 23, 2004 at 14:12

Wednesday, Jun 23, 2004 at 14:12
Michael,
Sorry I didn't explain that very well.
The way I operate our shower is that I put the cold water into a plastic container (eg bucket or a storage --type box). I start the shower running and leave it re-circulating the water back into the bucket. Eventually this heat the whole contents of the bucket; possible to a point where it is too hot to shower under. If you use the button on the shower rose to shut off the water flow while you lather up or shampoo your toenails etc, you have to be VERY careful when you re-start the water flow....Why? ...Cos the litre or so of water that has been sitting idle in the heat exchanger while you've been attending to business, comes out "super-heated". I found this out the hard way when I aimed the rose straight at my coight the first time I used it, after lathering up.....OUCH.
So, if the water going in gets too hot, shut the motor off (the pump should be wired to run without the motor running) and possibly add another few litres of water to the bucket from the jerry can you keep close by.

FollowupID: 325642

Reply By: Big Dog - Tuesday, Jun 22, 2004 at 21:04

Tuesday, Jun 22, 2004 at 21:04
Just finished yesterday instaaling a Helton and Shureflo pump in the GQ and it is working a treat. Just raised the idle slightly by the manual throttle

Regards Big Dog
AnswerID: 64504

Follow Up By: Les Webb - Tuesday, Jun 22, 2004 at 21:16

Tuesday, Jun 22, 2004 at 21:16
I plumped to two mail brass hose fittings on exterior of Roobar...use a length of heater hose as inlet hose..doubles as spare heater hose.
FollowupID: 325530

Reply By: Baz (NSW) - Tuesday, Jun 22, 2004 at 21:37

Tuesday, Jun 22, 2004 at 21:37
I have a Helton, my opinion the best value for money between the three that is why i chose it, works brilliant.

Baz. not old just older than some !!
AnswerID: 64515

Reply By: Bill Li - Wednesday, Jun 23, 2004 at 18:18

Wednesday, Jun 23, 2004 at 18:18
we buy the Coleman water heater at show and is good as you can carry to place where the water be.
we only use now 4 time but no more run engine or carry bucket water
Confucius say Coleman water heater best way
AnswerID: 64682

Reply By: Moose - Thursday, Jun 24, 2004 at 13:16

Thursday, Jun 24, 2004 at 13:16
Very happy with Glind. I have the bigger motor but I doubt I'll ever use it. I think perhaps the Little Ripper would have been OK. I have never yet sourced water other than from a bucket. Do you have a diesel or petrol as diesels seem to run cooler and need a few extra revs. I did originally get a crook pump but Glind's after sales service was nothing short of fantastic. Have a mate who's had a Glind for many many years and he's happy with it too. You will not regret buying one - makes showering so easy. You do need lots of water as the pump is fairly strong (maybe the Little Ripper pumps less?)
AnswerID: 64837

Reply By: ToyMotor - Thursday, Jun 24, 2004 at 17:41

Thursday, Jun 24, 2004 at 17:41
Shaz wrote:

>Do you have the Original Glind or the Little Ripper?

It's the smaller pump version - seems to pump more than enough for showering under. When not in use, the hose from the inlet filter tucks into the tube at the front of the chassis, and then it's quick and easy to pull it out and stick it into a 20l bucket sitting next to the front wheel, instant showers!

AnswerID: 64902