cooper tyres

Submitted: Thursday, Jun 24, 2004 at 13:25
ThreadID: 14090 Views:3573 Replies:17 FollowUps:12
is the question to hard, or is it that no one runs thse tyres?(re post 14085) surly not.....

Reply By: The Banjo - Thursday, Jun 24, 2004 at 13:41

Thursday, Jun 24, 2004 at 13:41
Give em a break Haysie....I work full time with my nose in front of a monitor - some of the Cooper users might be hard at work.
AnswerID: 64842

Follow Up By: Pluto - Thursday, Jun 24, 2004 at 14:35

Thursday, Jun 24, 2004 at 14:35
I'll second that.
FollowupID: 325856

Reply By: slydog - Thursday, Jun 24, 2004 at 13:42

Thursday, Jun 24, 2004 at 13:42
who knows mate i am not familiar with the size but have used coopers and now changed to bfg the coopers were ok but nothing special. hope you get a response regards slydog
AnswerID: 64844

Reply By: Moose - Thursday, Jun 24, 2004 at 13:53

Thursday, Jun 24, 2004 at 13:53
STs - depends on what type of driving you do, whether you have lockers and whether they have upgraded the design in recent times. If mostly on road then OK. The set I had suffered from unbelievable chipping around the edges. Actually chipping is the wrong word - that indicates small bits falling off - I was down to the metal in many spots with big chuncks coming off. Know of others with same problem. None of those I know who had problems had lockers which apparantly helps prevent the chipping due to less wheel spin. I've read plenty of posts where others have been happy with them.
AnswerID: 64849

Reply By: Member - Ken - Thursday, Jun 24, 2004 at 13:58

Thursday, Jun 24, 2004 at 13:58
Afternoon Haysie.

Its like this mate, everyone is sh$t scared to answer your question the way it is 'framed' because if they did it will attract every BFG V COOPER 'feral' out there who hasn't taken their pill/s for the day.

In fact you will wish you had never asked the question.

You are much better off asking

"oh my ! I have just crossed the Simpson and then done the CSR on BFG'S at 30psi and now they are buggered. Can't think why, however I am thinking of changing to COOPERS as I have been told they are a much stronger tyre. What do you boys think"

Maaaaate! you will illicit more 'opinions' than those given by a tax lawyer on tax schemes.

Have a good one

Ken Robinson
AnswerID: 64850

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie- Thursday, Jun 24, 2004 at 14:37

Thursday, Jun 24, 2004 at 14:37
G'day Ken

RAOFLMAO.....hahahaha

Got it in one, mate.

Just for the recors Haysie, I now run Cooper S/Ts after having previously had BFG Muddies and before that their A/Ts.

All were good tyres considering the weight of my rig (see stats...it weighs over 3T B4 I load it up for a trip).

I changed to Coopers (USA made 10 ply, 265/75R16) simply cos they were about $20- each cheaper than the BFGs at this time.

FollowupID: 325857

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Thursday, Jun 24, 2004 at 22:54

Thursday, Jun 24, 2004 at 22:54
Ken may I humbly suggest that the question should more correctly be framed as such:

My mate in his TOYOTA with BFG's had all sorts of trouble with his last Simpson Crossing, whilst I myself, following in my NISSAN with COOPER tyres had no trouble, do you think it was the Uniden UHF I had that made the difference, my mate has a GME?

Please advise urgently as I am about to purchase a new suspension.

You could substitute LAND ROVER for NISSAN but no-one would believe you.

FollowupID: 325972

Follow Up By: Member - Ken - Thursday, Jun 24, 2004 at 23:00

Thursday, Jun 24, 2004 at 23:00
Bonz

Your perception is immaculate.

Ken Robinson
FollowupID: 325976

Reply By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Thursday, Jun 24, 2004 at 13:59

Thursday, Jun 24, 2004 at 13:59
There has been a lot of discussion just recently on the pros and cons of BFG vs Cooper, it may not be about your specific size, but I don't think that really matters much. Try a search.
AnswerID: 64851

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Thursday, Jun 24, 2004 at 22:56

Thursday, Jun 24, 2004 at 22:56
Jeff don't you mean a SURF? Try a (TOYOTA) SURF, you spelt it "search". Not picking on you just pointing out simple grammatical and spellamatical imperfections.

FollowupID: 325973

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Friday, Jun 25, 2004 at 10:51

Friday, Jun 25, 2004 at 10:51
Nah, I meant "try a search" A search of the forum for the previous discussions on BFG vs Cooper.
FollowupID: 326007

Reply By: gonebush - Thursday, Jun 24, 2004 at 14:04

Thursday, Jun 24, 2004 at 14:04
I have 305/70/16 Cooper STs. Just did 30,000 km rotate and balance today (for free every 10,000k). Wear is excellent.

I have heard of, and seen photos, of the problems that Moose describes. I have some minor chipping on a few lugs, and no wonder with what they have done, but nothing of concern . I have lockers so that maybe the reason. I know others with the STs and no lockers and they have had no problems.

They are very good in the mud/clay (not as good as muddies of course) and wet roads.

I wouldn't go back to BFG ATs now.

Larry
AnswerID: 64852

Reply By: Member - DickyBeach - Thursday, Jun 24, 2004 at 14:44

Thursday, Jun 24, 2004 at 14:44
Haysie,
I bought 10 ply 265/75/16 Cooper Discoverers for my LC80 last year when we did the CSR and the WA deserts, a 20000km round trip, and had zero problems with them, although there was a bit of chipping due to running at 16F 24R on the rocky bits of the Canning. The tyres are surprisingly quiet on the bitumen.
DickyBeach
AnswerID: 64862

Reply By: Peter O - Thursday, Jun 24, 2004 at 14:49

Thursday, Jun 24, 2004 at 14:49
Hi haysie,
I'm currently running Cooper ST 285/75/16 on my Gu Patrol and I find them very good in mud and they hold very well on wet roads to date. I used to run Falken Landair TA Muddys(may have had a name change since) on my '89 Hilux 2.8 diesel with rear locker and I find that the coopers are every bit as good on the Patrol as the Falkens were on the Hilux, though I'm the first to admit that you can't compare the two vehicles it is just to demonstrate how I found the two to perform.

Having said that I used to get about 50,000Kms from the Falkens 31/10.5R15 80% highway driving running only 20psi(25psi loaded) on the rear and 25-28psi on the front. I know they sound like low pressures and probably are but I ran these tyres on the Hilux for 9 years and always got even wear that way.

Now for the coopers, I have only had these on the GU for about 15,000 and they have worn about 3mm from new tread depth all around running at about 38psi

I can't comment from personal experience on the BFG tyres but have known people who ran these for years of trouble free service.

So IMHO the two brands would be very similar and would come down to personal preference(Just like Cruiser Vs Patrol), one seems to be just as capable as the other.

Hope that helps

AnswerID: 64864

Reply By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Thursday, Jun 24, 2004 at 14:50

Thursday, Jun 24, 2004 at 14:50
haysie,

I know a couple of guys who run them and they are relatively happy with them. Depends on use etc. The do alot of trips and haven't been excited about the wear or handling.

Personally, I've had a set of Goodyear Wranglers MTR's for 18 months and have done 60,000 k's on them. Great in the wet, great in the sand and mud and I have around 45% tread left. Around 70/30 on/offroad use. Only gripe: Bloody noisy once worn down to 70%. But I like the noise and the trucks pretty sound proof so with the windows up and the air on, you can hardly hear them.

Chris.
AnswerID: 64865

Follow Up By: Peter O - Thursday, Jun 24, 2004 at 15:02

Thursday, Jun 24, 2004 at 15:02
Sound like my Falkens on the Hilux, very noisy after 70% wear but then again so was the Hilux any way.
With the coopers they make more noise than Highway tyres but who would Highway tyres? I'm glad the GU has a lot less cabin noise(you can hear the Cd player on a comfortable volume.

FollowupID: 325858

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Thursday, Jun 24, 2004 at 15:19

Thursday, Jun 24, 2004 at 15:19
Currently have a GQ but great with the CD Player and air on, hardly any tyre noise.

Don't mind the ol' tyre noise anyway, least you know your tyres are still inflated!

FollowupID: 325862

Reply By: Member - Captain (WA) - Thursday, Jun 24, 2004 at 15:22

Thursday, Jun 24, 2004 at 15:22
Hi Haysie,

If you had done a search, there is a HUGE amount on the BFG vs Coopers debate. But for your convinience, below is a copy of my previous response, I just happen to have run 33" BFG's and 285/75 (33") Cooper ST's.
----------------------------------------------------------------
I have 285/75 Cooper ST's on my Nissan and previously had 33x10.5 R15 BFG TA KO's on my 80 series. I ran BFG's exclusively on the 80 series for 10 years and they were great. However, the last 6 BFG KO's were non-USA made and I had several problems with them. Thats when I decided to try the Cooper ST's.

I have found the COOPERS to be as good, if not better, on-road and much better off-road. I have had then for 18K now and am very happy with the change. But they are noticeably noiser when the window is down on smooth bitumen (but don't really notice if window is up) I tow a 1.6T off-road van and add a fully loaded GU and I would also be very heavily loaded (too scared to put on weigbridge!!!).

I have monitored the wear at 5K intervals and at last rotation they were down to an average 13.5-14.0mm (started 15mm). They have worn very flat (less than 0.5mm variation across the face) and my typical tyre pressure is 35/40 when touring and 35/35 general driving.

I had one issue with the LR tyre when one complete lug tore off, but it was replaced under warranty (15,500kms) with a new tyre. The tyre also had bruising where the lug was torn and was most likely caused by a large rock that did not give. COOPERS said to run lower (~30 psi) when offorad as the carcass is very stiff and too high a pressure will not allow the tyre to "mould" around say a rock. Given the bruising on the carcass, I was suprised I got given a new tyre, but they said they stand by their product!!! Could not complain at all about that.

So, while others will have different stories about the great BFG vs COOPERS debate, I am happy that I changed camps (just like my Toyota to Nissan change - gotta try for yourself, otherwise its just an opinion!!!)

AnswerID: 64870

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Thursday, Jun 24, 2004 at 22:59

Thursday, Jun 24, 2004 at 22:59
didya notice much difference in the gearing with the 285's Capt'n?

FollowupID: 325975

Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Thursday, Jun 24, 2004 at 23:42

Thursday, Jun 24, 2004 at 23:42
Hi ya Bonz,

Gotta be honest, drove straight from the dealer to the tyre shop (only 30km drive) so don't have any real experience with the 265/70's. But I got a dtronic on it, so take -7% on the gearing, add +20% for the Dtronic and I'm way in front.

But having had the vehicle for 18,000kms now, the gearing feels spot on anyway. The only problem I have is the low range gearing. But thats a function of the 2.0:1 low range reduction, not the 285 tyres.

I wouldn't go back from the 285's, the off-road improvement is definetly worth any perceived gearing issues IMHO (not that I have any gearing issues).

FollowupID: 325982

Reply By: Member - Bob - Thursday, Jun 24, 2004 at 16:45

Thursday, Jun 24, 2004 at 16:45
Haysie
I've got Cooper STs on the Disco and BFG ATs on the LX470. Equally happy with both. STs look the goods to my eye though.
AnswerID: 64885

Reply By: haysie - Thursday, Jun 24, 2004 at 16:51

Thursday, Jun 24, 2004 at 16:51
thanks for all the input , advice , knowlage, experiance. the bfgs that i am running currently are usa stock have done the canning and many other trips around this great land of ours but the time has come to choose so thanks again and this is not intended to stir the pot but i reckon the coopers will get nod;
AnswerID: 64886

Follow Up By: ray91 - Thursday, Jun 24, 2004 at 22:32

Thursday, Jun 24, 2004 at 22:32
A lot depends a how and where you drive with the ST Coopers.They are fine on road and gravel tracks , nothing to extreme. If you go off road into deep ruts ect and the suspension is working to full extent ( one wheel up and the opposite wheel right down ) the tyres are running on the outer edge and the lugs get ripped off even driven carefully.I have had Cooper ST tyres and had them replaced because of this.
FollowupID: 325966

Reply By: JR - Thursday, Jun 24, 2004 at 19:29

Thursday, Jun 24, 2004 at 19:29
Guys
Ive had three sets of 275/ ST coopers and am very happy. There is a new model only availiable in STD sizes ST-C (Chip resistant). Yes they dont chip nearly as much.
First set did 90,000km, second bit less, 80000km, third set 30000km and now 70%. Recommend them highly. 50% fast dirt, 40% Highway, 10% Mud
You will find them common in West NSW and west QLD, and NT
Next set will be 285, 10ply not new compound though unfortunately.

JR
AnswerID: 64924

Reply By: Member - Mark- Thursday, Jun 24, 2004 at 21:33

Thursday, Jun 24, 2004 at 21:33
My current set of STs which are 265/75/16 have done 57000km and are currently at 8mm. The STC that JR refers to are a softer compound compared to the STs and wear a lot quicker.

AnswerID: 64960

Reply By: PradoBoy - Thursday, Jun 24, 2004 at 23:06

Thursday, Jun 24, 2004 at 23:06
Haysie,

I have run 225/75R16 Cooper S/T's on my Prado RV and got nearly 100,000Km's out of them - a lot of it on dirt roads around Oz. I don't do much rock crawling or hard core stuff - but they have worked hard with a fair bit of weight in the vehicle on many trips away.

I have had a couple of tires throw belts recently - but both were over 90,000Km's old when that happened. I've also experienced the 'chipping' that others have mentioned - though not severe and not so as it adversely affects performance. I don't run lockers though - maybe that helps...

I'm going from the 6.50 16J Rims to 7.00 16JJ Rims and a new set of 10 ply 265/75R16's within the next couple of weeks - on the strength of the mileage I've got from the first set. Very much looking forward to another 100,000Km's from the new set too!

I find they are great in all conditions from soft sand, dirt roads, bitumen through to mud and clay. Not as good as muddies of course - but probably the next best thing. They have got me to places where people with similar equipment and BFG A/T's couldn't get to - but maybe that comes down to the drivers concerned too.

I did get stuck at Ngala Rocks on Fraser last year - but that was my own stupid fault - no fault of the tyres...

PradoBoy
AnswerID: 64981

Reply By: Member - Rohan K - Friday, Jun 25, 2004 at 12:06

Friday, Jun 25, 2004 at 12:06
Haysie, the last few comments above are important. Th ST is designed as a mud-tyre, not a rock-tyre. The lug damage suffered by STs and frequently reported occurs almost exclusively (based on the reports) during rock-hopping or exended work in places like the gibber deserts. However, if you run correct pressures in the ST, which is a bit lower than most owners realise, you will have a tyre that will handle everything but the "extreme".

Try these pressures:

fast, smooth dirt - 28 to 30 psi
rough dirt - 24 to 26 psi
rocky fire-trails - 18 to 20 psi
sand and/or rock climbing - 12 to 14 psi
AnswerID: 65025

Follow Up By: Waynepd (NSW) - Friday, Jun 25, 2004 at 21:29

Friday, Jun 25, 2004 at 21:29
Yep I agree with Rohan, you have to use the tyres according to the conditions....
I have put 80,000kms on my set of 265's, just starting to show signs of slight chipping. I will be using Cooper's again if they ever wear out, thinking of upping them to the 285's next time.

Mostly used onroad with some dirt road use and occasional sand,
Ran at about 25psi on the Darling River Run.
15-18 psi on sand.
38-40 psi onroad.
FollowupID: 326107

Reply By: Member - Toonfish - Saturday, Jun 26, 2004 at 17:05

Saturday, Jun 26, 2004 at 17:05
245/75/16 COOPER ST_C's
LUV EM
There famous too been in the OBC and are still good for many more clicks.

at $125 a tyre i was sold
AnswerID: 65226