New Ford Ranger prices, Landcruiser, Hilux, going through the roof,

Submitted: Friday, Feb 05, 2021 at 08:23
ThreadID: 141043 Views:6159 Replies:4 FollowUps:0
Where will it all end up?.. Remember when a years wages covered the cost of a new ford or Holden.

Reply By: Joe Fury - Friday, Feb 05, 2021 at 09:05

Friday, Feb 05, 2021 at 09:05
G'day Axle

Quote ~ 'Remember when a years wages covered the cost of a new ford or Holden' and I remember when these vehicle brands were actually made/assembled in Australia ~ history now!

Now many of us drive Toyota's, Rangers, Mitsubishi's even Chinese things and not one of these are made in Australia to my knowledge.

Yes I actually do remember those years, even bought a brand spanking new HG Holden Kingswood as an apprentice for GMH, sadly it took far longer than a year to pay the bugger off, but my weekly wage in those days would possibly pay for half a tank of diesel for my Land Cruiser today, though I would have to live in Perth and buy on the right day of the fuel price cycle.

The list of new vehicles shown are still affordable, you just have to work in the mining industry to do that.

Safe travels : Joe Fury
AnswerID: 634973

Reply By: OzzieCruiser - Friday, Feb 05, 2021 at 11:19

Friday, Feb 05, 2021 at 11:19
Axle you said "Remember when a years wages covered the cost of a new ford or Holden"

It still does and more - May 2020 Average Wage in Aust $89,000

Cost of a Ranger at the same time "The Ford Ranger 2020 prices range from $30,997 for the basic trim level Ute Ranger XL 2.2 Hi-Rider (4x2) to $86,990 for the top of the range Ute Ranger Raptor 2.0 (4X4).

Cost of a HiLux at the same time "The Toyota Hilux 2020 prices range from $24,888 for the basic trim level Ute HiLux Workmate to $79,995 for the top of the range Ute HiLux Rugged X (4X4).

So top of the range models are still easily covered by the cost of a years wages.
AnswerID: 634975

Reply By: CSeaJay - Sunday, Feb 07, 2021 at 11:14

Sunday, Feb 07, 2021 at 11:14
I reckon cars are very affordable for what you get. Cars these days are crammed with technology and safety features. If you look at the cost of a particular model and the cost over say the last decade, it has not gone up nearly as much as other cost of living items.
AnswerID: 634989

Reply By: Nifty1 - Monday, Feb 08, 2021 at 13:23

Monday, Feb 08, 2021 at 13:23
Not only cheap, but reliable too. Back in the day I always seemed to be doing a decoke, filing points or resetting plugs...
AnswerID: 635003