VDJ78 2012 Troopcarrier towing

Submitted: Thursday, Feb 17, 2022 at 15:47
ThreadID: 143259 Views:5686 Replies:5 FollowUps:2
First time poster here. We have spent 3 years pre Covid touring OZ in our Troopy (www.thistroopylife.com) and now, having a large 40Kg Golden Retriever need to reconfigure the back of the Troopy to have him comfortable and also take the plunge and purchase an off road caravan.
The question is, how competent are the 4.5L V8’s towing? Engine isn’t standard as has Safari Snorkel, upgraded clutch and brakes, engine ECU remap but concern still remains on power, torque, fuel consumption etc.
Thoughts very welcome?
Falling down is a part of life, staying down is a choice!

Reply By: Kenell - Thursday, Feb 17, 2022 at 19:07

Thursday, Feb 17, 2022 at 19:07
I have a similar vintage 76 series - same car with more doors! I haven't had the re mapping done but clutch, snorkel and updated gearbox have been fitted. I only tow a hybrid - around 2t but it tows with ease. Average fuel economy not towing is consistently 12 l/100k. Towing is 14 but so much depends on headwinds, and hills. In an ideal world I would have an auto for towing but everything is a compromise eh? When I am cruising it sits comfortably at about 95 - 100kph and has the power to hold speed on hills without being a nuisance to others.

At the moment its a struggle to know what one would choose instead. The Y62 Patrol seems to be the go to but they are like rocking horse manure as are the 300 Toyos. The 3 litre utes and so on are popular but work pretty hard when towing.

Stick with Troopie mate & let Fido have his comfort.
AnswerID: 639509

Reply By: Phil G - Thursday, Feb 17, 2022 at 20:43

Thursday, Feb 17, 2022 at 20:43
I tow a 2.5T offroad single axle full time caravan with a 2019 Troopy.
The V8 is great - gets max torque at 1200rpm so pulls like a bull in springtime. And mine is stock standard.
I prefer a manual gearbox - so easy to just select the gear you want and the engine braking is a lot better than an auto. And don't have to worry about transmission overheating.

I previously towed the same van with a 200series - had more power but had too many annoying features. But it was a good tow vehicle. Troopy gets blown around a bit more by crosswinds and I probably tow about 5kph slower than I did with the 200.

And your 2012 Troopy has the previous gearbox which is actually a bit better than the newer one for towing because you'll have a bit more grunt in 5th gear because of the lower ratio.
AnswerID: 639511

Reply By: Member - McLaren3030 - Friday, Feb 18, 2022 at 07:55

Friday, Feb 18, 2022 at 07:55
Hi “Troopy”,

As per others, I had an MY 2010 76 Series, with heavy duty replacement clutch. Towed a Goldstream RV Wing III Wind Up camper, approx. 2.0 Tonne ATM. Averaged around 17 Ltrs/100 kms. towing at 100 kph. depending on ambient and road conditions. Worst was 22 Ltrs/100 kms very hilly and a head wind, best was 15 Ltrs/100 kms flat open country, no wind.

Installed a Steinbauer performance chip, and whilst the “get up and go” was markedly improved, there was only about a 10% improvement in economy.

Macca.
Macca.

AnswerID: 639518

Reply By: Bob Y. - Qld - Friday, Feb 18, 2022 at 14:34

Friday, Feb 18, 2022 at 14:34
Troopy,

Our 2015 s/c V8 ute, with alloy canopy, had had a heavy duty clutch & bigger exhaust fitted before we got a remap & more efficient(40%) intercooler added in Oct ‘21. Asked at the time if I wanted a “hoon tune” or tow tune, I opted for the former, not knowing then we would purchase a 2016 off road van in mid Dec.

Only towing I’ve done with this ute, is about 1300kms, from Ipswich to western Qld. A good test was the “new” Toowoomba range crossing, 4th gear on all the climbs, except for a change back to 3rd as the pyrometer indicated >450°C. Once on the flat, or slightly undulating Warrego & Landsborough H’ways, maintaining 90-100 clicks was effortless. Even more pleasing was the fuel economy, 19.3L/100, over 3 fills on the way home.

Only thing I may change is the remap tune, reverting to a tow tune.

AnswerID: 639525

Follow Up By: ian.g - Friday, Feb 18, 2022 at 16:23

Friday, Feb 18, 2022 at 16:23
Nice looking outfit Bob, hope you enjoy it, will beat camping on the stones in some of the places you go. Cheers Ian.
FollowupID: 918601

Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Saturday, Feb 19, 2022 at 08:39

Saturday, Feb 19, 2022 at 08:39
A lot flasher than the old Viscount we lived in for 6 years, Ian, doing earthworks on Barkly Tablelands during the ‘80’s.

This has been my usual camping style lately.

FollowupID: 918618

Reply By: Member - Thief - Friday, Feb 18, 2022 at 22:36

Friday, Feb 18, 2022 at 22:36
G'day mate,

We have a 2012 76 series towing an Explorex Numbat 17.7ft twin axle full offroad van. Tare 2.5t and around a tonne payload.

I think the worst I've had so far had been around 20l/100 kms (hilly and head wind) and the best is around 14L/100. Handles it no worries sitting around 90-95 on the highway. Towing offroad is also pretty good, just slower.

An upgraded clutch is on the cards and I do use a Ultimate 9 iDrive throttle controller. It works really well and I leave it set on Ultra 3.

I think the 70 series are built to tow on and offroad and I think you won't have to many problems.
AnswerID: 639535