35l King's fridge or similar?

Wheels have quite literally fallen off my 15yr old Esky and am looking to move into the portable compressor based fridge age. We have a 95l fridge in our caravan, so just need something to keep drinks cool and perhaps as a freezer as the freezer section in our caravan fridge is tiny. Also wanting something fairly lightweight.

Was thinking of just jumping on the King's 35l fridge which seems like it'd do everything we need. Any other makes or models I should be looking at?

Reply By: Kazza055 - Saturday, Dec 31, 2022 at 20:40

Saturday, Dec 31, 2022 at 20:40
I have a 50L and 60L Brass Monkey, small as fridge, large as freezer. Paid less than $1,000 for the pair for the 2. They are sold all over Australia at Jaycar and RTM and come with 3 year warranty.
AnswerID: 642444

Follow Up By: Nicoloks - Sunday, Jan 01, 2023 at 11:48

Sunday, Jan 01, 2023 at 11:48
Thanks for the tip, will definately check those out.
FollowupID: 922002

Follow Up By: Kazza055 - Monday, Jan 02, 2023 at 13:25

Monday, Jan 02, 2023 at 13:25
I forgot to say that the Brass Monkey fridges use the LG compressor and if you want to read a review you can do it here - A Review Of The Popular Brass Monkey Fridge
FollowupID: 922029

Follow Up By: Batt's - Monday, Jan 02, 2023 at 21:50

Monday, Jan 02, 2023 at 21:50
I had a brass monkey console fridge worked good standing still the day I bought it. Then faulted while driving I tried different outlets in the car different plug got my money back in the end.
FollowupID: 922038

Follow Up By: Member - DOZER - Thursday, Jan 12, 2023 at 20:06

Thursday, Jan 12, 2023 at 20:06
Get a brass monkey, me and a mate have the 45 and 60 litre, both been going a few years now.
FollowupID: 922178

Reply By: Member - McLaren3030 - Sunday, Jan 01, 2023 at 10:32

Sunday, Jan 01, 2023 at 10:32
Hi Nicoloks,

Firstly, compressor fridge and light weight really do not go together if you want quality.

Secondly, where are you going to locate this second fridge, in the car, or in the caravan?

Thirdly, how are you going to supply power to this second fridge, auxiliary battery in the car, or from the caravan house battery?

Do you have enough battery and charging capacity to support the extra fridge?

From my perspective, a 35 Ltr Weaco or Engle would be a better choice. There are more Engle & Weaco fridges out there that have been going for more than 20 years, some as long as 40 years.

Macca.
Macca.

AnswerID: 642448

Follow Up By: Nicoloks - Sunday, Jan 01, 2023 at 12:34

Sunday, Jan 01, 2023 at 12:34
Thanks Macca,

Points taken. Lightweight I'd be considering anything under 20kg.

Location will be back of my ute while travelling (powered via cig socket). While camping will be powered via AC, or Anderson via 2x100Ah lithium or seperate 100Ah lithium in a battery box. Between van and solar blankets, have a total of 1.1kw of panels.

The Engel and Waeco at full RRP are out of our price range. Also notice their units seem to be a bit heavier than options from cheaper competing brands. Is this extra weight due to quality of insulation?

FollowupID: 922004

Follow Up By: Phil G - Sunday, Jan 01, 2023 at 12:44

Sunday, Jan 01, 2023 at 12:44
The extra weight is steel construction.
I also wanted the lightest fridge for my rebuilt setup.
Everything is plastic on a lightweight fridge - cabinet, hinges, lids etc and they don't have swinging handles.
In my case replaced a 24kg 40L Engel with a 20kg 75L dual zone Kings.
However there were other 75L fridges that weighed 34kgs - they had metal casing, metal handles, metal hinges and latches and metal frame around the compressor. Given mine is mounted in the back of a vehicle where it has a hatch and is shielded from the sun, I didn't mind it being plastic.
Out of interest we also have 3 other Kings fridges with Secop compressors - a 15L in my wife's Vitara, a 110L in the caravan and a 60L that is spare - the latter is now 4 years old. Not had an issue with any of them and they all use very little power.
Insulation weighs next to nothing.
FollowupID: 922005

Reply By: Bushranger1 - Sunday, Jan 01, 2023 at 11:25

Sunday, Jan 01, 2023 at 11:25
G'day Nic,
Have had an Engel & Evacool that have been running for years.
They run 24/7 for months at a time.
Read Macca's reply regarding batteries to power the fridge.
I setup my own battery system & it runs my fridges for days. You need to budget for a good battery system which will cost more than the purchase of the fridge.
Things to consider regarding battery capacity, setup & charging.

1. Do you drive every few days or stay in one place?
2. Do you have access to regular 240v for charging
3. The surrounding temp which make the fridge run more often.
4. Do you open the fridge a lot & put warm items in? Again compressor will run longer.
5. Do you need to run a CPAP machine at night?

I just worked on a system that was totally under rated & the rather large upright 12v fridge had flattened the batteries by the morning!
Get someone that knows battery systems & asks lots of questions about your needs & type of travel to get it right!
Lastly if you consider a 3 way (not great option) then the all the power requirements completely change.

Stu
AnswerID: 642449

Reply By: Bob Y. - Qld - Sunday, Jan 01, 2023 at 11:37

Sunday, Jan 01, 2023 at 11:37
Most fridges around 30-40L are going to be 20-25kg, Nico. Fill it with drinks & food & you’ll need to suck in the abs if you’re lifting it out of your vehicle.

We’ve got a 40L Engel & a 30L Ironman, which appears to be a re-badged Waeco. The Engel is good on power, but noisy if you’re within 3M of it. The Ironman is silent, but a little heavier on power so we only use it now on trips on the bitumen. It also has an ECO mode that would reduce power use. Both fridges can run as freezers easily but you would be using at least 50% more power than on the fridge setting.

In selecting a fridge you need to ask why most other fridges are 2-3 times the price of the Kings?

AnswerID: 642450

Follow Up By: Phil G - Sunday, Jan 01, 2023 at 12:59

Sunday, Jan 01, 2023 at 12:59
"In selecting a fridge you need to ask why most other fridges are 2-3 times the price of the Kings?"

Gday Bob,
Yes that is a very good question and the answer is not always quality.
When you consider many of the Kings run the Secop BD35 compressor (and those which don't have a Huayi compressor) and come with a 5 year warranty. Their upright fridges look to have come out of the same factory as Bushmans.
FollowupID: 922006

Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Monday, Jan 02, 2023 at 09:14

Monday, Jan 02, 2023 at 09:14
Hello Phil,

While checking on a few points before writing the above, I was surprised to see Kings 30L units for $318! At that price one could buy a brace & be set up for weekend trips or more remote journeys, for less than the cost of a similar sized Ironman or Engel?

FollowupID: 922019

Follow Up By: Phil G - Monday, Jan 02, 2023 at 09:56

Monday, Jan 02, 2023 at 09:56
They are an amazing price when on special. The 75L plastic dual zone is often $399 and my 15L console Kings fridge is currently $189. I'll probably use the console fridge as a second freezer for the caravan as well as a drinks fridge in my wife's car.
FollowupID: 922022

Reply By: qldcamper - Sunday, Jan 01, 2023 at 13:18

Sunday, Jan 01, 2023 at 13:18
There is a lot more to a fridge that can break down other than the compressor.
I have had a CFX for 9 years and never missed a beat until the last 12 months where it has had a thermistor fail then one of the buttons on the controll panel, luckily I was not travelling when the thermister failed and I was capable of repairing both, would have been costly to have them repaired professionally.
The cheap brands with the secop compressors, who makes their control and mother boards?
Waeco make spare parts readily available.
AnswerID: 642452

Follow Up By: Allan B (Sunshine Coast) - Sunday, Jan 01, 2023 at 14:02

Sunday, Jan 01, 2023 at 14:02
I can not understand why so many thermistor temperature sensors are reported as failed on portable fridges. They are simple and reasonably robust devices, used extensively in industrial applications where they rarely fail.
What is it with fridges and thermistors? Are they poorly positioned on the fridge?

FollowupID: 922009

Follow Up By: qldcamper - Sunday, Jan 01, 2023 at 14:26

Sunday, Jan 01, 2023 at 14:26
I think they suffer from moisture ingression. There is a lot of condensation inside the insulation cavity due to the outer casing not being sealed, however in the CFX the thermister is located inside a tube and did not seem to have moisture present.
My CF on the other hand was saturated.
It had the fault when I aquired it and have replaced the thermister with that of a digital controller that is remote mounted.
FollowupID: 922010

Follow Up By: Allan B (Sunshine Coast) - Sunday, Jan 01, 2023 at 15:57

Sunday, Jan 01, 2023 at 15:57
That makes sense QC. It can be difficult to prevent moisture ingress. Even components such as integrated circuits can suffer and attempts to reverse it with heat are rarely effective.

FollowupID: 922011

Reply By: AlbyNSW - Sunday, Jan 01, 2023 at 18:51

Sunday, Jan 01, 2023 at 18:51
BCF carry the old superseded Waeco 40 litre model which carries a decent warranty and often sells around the $409 to $500 mark which might be a better buy as it has been around for years and doesn’t have all the fancy electronic gadgetry

I actually spoke to a Waeco fridge technician about them to see if it was a knockoff or the same as the old model and it has the same internals as their higher range models
AnswerID: 642454

Reply By: Batt's - Sunday, Jan 01, 2023 at 21:24

Sunday, Jan 01, 2023 at 21:24
I bought a 15ltr Kings console fridge/freezer August 2021 it's a bit power hungry for it's size so check power consumption figures before purchasing Kings brand. Other than that it works well no other problems. As far as fridge weight goes my Evakool 2004 model RF47 is 18kg so lighter than some other models and better on power than the 15ltr kings.
AnswerID: 642457

Follow Up By: Phil G - Monday, Jan 02, 2023 at 08:46

Monday, Jan 02, 2023 at 08:46
I have a 15L Kings console fridge (bought 4 months ago) with the Secop compressor - but ours is not power hungry - maybe they have changed since when you bought yours?? We run ours off the small cranking battery on my wife's Vitara and after running overnight the lowest voltage I see in the morning is 12.4V.
FollowupID: 922015

Follow Up By: Member - McLaren3030 - Monday, Jan 02, 2023 at 09:13

Monday, Jan 02, 2023 at 09:13
Hi Phil G,

No offence intended, but you need to clarify your statement. What were the ambient conditions at the time? Was the fridge “full”, or not much in it? There are a few variables that will alter how a fridge performs.

Macca.
Macca.

FollowupID: 922018

Follow Up By: Phil G - Monday, Jan 02, 2023 at 09:51

Monday, Jan 02, 2023 at 09:51
No worries Macca. I guess you need to ask Batts the same question!
Yes I've been using portable fridges for 40 years. Yes there are always variables with fridges and its pretty much impossible to give you a straight answer.
The fridge pulls 3.14Amp when the compressor is running. I measured the consumption using a watt meter before using it but can't remember what the reading was - may have been something like 10Ah overnight.
The fridge was set on two degrees and a wireless thermometer in the cabinet read around 4 degrees.
It was not used as a freezer.
The 12.4V was measured when the compressor was not running to ensure an accurate voltage reading and taken every morning. Overnight usually means 4pm to 8am the following morning.
When we pulled up for a few days I ran the fridge off 240V.
Ambient temp was between 20-25 degrees
Fridge was mostly 3/4 full - thats life with a 15L fridge and the fridge was restocked with drinks in the morning.
Hope that helps
FollowupID: 922021

Follow Up By: Batt's - Monday, Jan 02, 2023 at 12:30

Monday, Jan 02, 2023 at 12:30
Not sure how other peoples fridges work but mine draw the same amount of power regardless of the ambient temp but it does change the hourly/ daily total ah used. The Kings draws 3.25amps when on . Also the fridge full v's half or empty ah consumption is not worth worring about the very small difference it makes. I 've never had any noticable overwhelming extra power consumption due to that. I think that one gets snowballed out of control quite often maybe testing one's own fridge a few times will help people see what the difference is in their own brand of fridge.
FollowupID: 922027

Follow Up By: David I1 - Monday, Jan 02, 2023 at 15:24

Monday, Jan 02, 2023 at 15:24
Just before Christmas I bought the 43L fridge/freezer dual zone Black Rhino X which was on sale at Aldi in November for $499. Because it was in the clearance bin it was on sale for $244.50. Luckily I live in an area where many people drive expensive 4WD's but they never leave the black top. Worked fine as an extra drink fridge. Also its a back up just incase my 50yr old 40ltr Engel pack up.
FollowupID: 922031

Follow Up By: Allan B (Sunshine Coast) - Monday, Jan 02, 2023 at 15:45

Monday, Jan 02, 2023 at 15:45
Batt's, my engineering training and experience convinced me that there would be no measureable difference in power consumption of any given fridge in regard to how full it was. Several years ago I set out to demonstrate the truth of this and published the results of my testing on this forum.
Unsurprisingly of course, there were expressions of disbelief from those who were certain of me being in error although none had performed the assessment in any controlled manner. And they will possibly come out of the woodwork again now!

FollowupID: 922032

Follow Up By: qldcamper - Monday, Jan 02, 2023 at 17:23

Monday, Jan 02, 2023 at 17:23
Jeeessus Allan,
You must be bored.
Im sitting here looking at my CF50 in full sun and have tested the contents 4 times in the last hour and each time it was ice cold.
Its plugged in to 240 so I am very happy, but shall continue to take regular samples for a few more hours just to make sure.
FollowupID: 922033

Follow Up By: AlbyNSW - Monday, Jan 02, 2023 at 17:53

Monday, Jan 02, 2023 at 17:53
I recall previous discussions about the little Waeco being a bit power hungry as well
I assume people think it should be more efficient but isn’t it the same motor and compressor as the larger capacity fridges?
FollowupID: 922034

Follow Up By: Allan B (Sunshine Coast) - Monday, Jan 02, 2023 at 17:55

Monday, Jan 02, 2023 at 17:55
Yes QC, I am bored. Your research activity looks compelling. Those scientific ventures can be all-absorbing so keep up the good work. The sun here is getting low now so maybe I should check to see if that bottle of Cab Sav has matured enough to be evaluated.

FollowupID: 922035

Follow Up By: qldcamper - Monday, Jan 02, 2023 at 18:09

Monday, Jan 02, 2023 at 18:09
We can compare notes in the morning Allan, have a pleasent evening.
Alby, the power consumption is relivant to what speed the motor is set to run at, controlled by the value of a fixed resistor on the circuit board, thats why there is so much variation between brands.
FollowupID: 922036

Reply By: Nicoloks - Friday, Jan 13, 2023 at 13:52

Friday, Jan 13, 2023 at 13:52
Thanks all for the replies.

I ended up getting a 42l Brass Monkey fridge with a telescopic handle. Seemed to work well, however I returned it as soon as I realised the wheels along the long edge were going to be a PITA for getting it in and out of the back of my ute.

Ended up with a wheelbarrow style dual zone 45l Rovin for about the same price. From what I can tell these seem to be a Brass Monkey fridge with a different badge. Takes the same batteries and the Brass Monkey BT app even works with it. Ergonomics on this style are going to be a lot better I think.
AnswerID: 642598

Follow Up By: AlbyNSW - Saturday, Jan 14, 2023 at 05:17

Saturday, Jan 14, 2023 at 05:17
RTM is owned by the same guy that owns Jaycar . I hadn’t heard f Rovin before so had to look it up
FollowupID: 922186