Lift spare wheel onto carrier with air jack?

Submitted: Saturday, May 27, 2023 at 19:14
ThreadID: 145684 Views:1794 Replies:14 FollowUps:3
Seeking experience please how I safely lift spare wheel onto carrier (LandCruiser wheel 41kg) carrier centre hub 1.2m.

Would an air jack work to lift it the first couple feet?

Michael

Reply By: Member - bungarra (WA) - Saturday, May 27, 2023 at 19:37

Saturday, May 27, 2023 at 19:37
If you had a roof rack fitted then a simple block and tackle out on an extended arm (removable) with enough pully ratio to make it an easy lift and hold whilst you juggle in to locate the studs on the bracket might be worth considering.

The extended arm might need a brace to the ground. Cheap, light and packs away with little room

OR if you have room to take a ~2m steel post on board then secure it to that at the height that when you lift it using the fulcrum of the post being taller than the tyre you can balance it sufficiently to juggle/ transfer it to the wheel carrier..that way your not actually lifting it a s a dead weight..but the post acts as a lever to lift up....if that makes sense?
Life is a journey, it is not how we fall down, it is how we get up.
VKS 1341

AnswerID: 643681

Reply By: Michael D34 - Saturday, May 27, 2023 at 20:08

Saturday, May 27, 2023 at 20:08
Thanks a folding gantry arm off the roof rack would be ideal (with a pin to lock it in place). And pulley/Rachet winch/spring balancer.
But as I want to buy an air jack anyway, I'm wondering if anyone has tried it? as it would be a dual purpose item. I already have a good quality air compressor.

Yes. The mechanical advantage of the long pole would work too. Good idea. I wonder about a long bit of thick PVC with a T joiner at the bottom to keep it stable on the ground? Would need some kind of wheel mount at 1.2m.
AnswerID: 643682

Reply By: Rusty Iron - Saturday, May 27, 2023 at 22:09

Saturday, May 27, 2023 at 22:09
Interested to see solutions or what others are doing about this type of problem...

I'm actually looking at selling my lovely 200 Series because this is one of the problems for me now - the car is too big. Can't get stuff on/off the roof rack. The weight of the underslung spare wheel is a problem. If I had a flat, I'd be struggling to change it.
Nil Illegitimus Carborundum

AnswerID: 643685

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Sunday, May 28, 2023 at 07:23

Sunday, May 28, 2023 at 07:23
https://www.liftandlock.com.au/
AnswerID: 643691

Follow Up By: Member - McLaren3030 - Sunday, May 28, 2023 at 07:39

Sunday, May 28, 2023 at 07:39
Hi Hairy,

Looks like a good bit of kit. Would just need a bar of some sort attached to the roof rack and extending out beyond the end of the roof rack to secure it too.

Macca.
Macca.

FollowupID: 923406

Follow Up By: Member - 2208mate - Thursday, Jun 01, 2023 at 00:42

Thursday, Jun 01, 2023 at 00:42
Tojo 100 series, I use the lift and lock with the Kaymar spare in the rack.
The Kaymar wheel rack has a fitting for a light behind the tyre, this is just the spot to fit a removable vertical with attached bar for the lift and lock.
My rims are steel so a fair wack to lift.
Prior to getting the lift and lock it was necessary to lift up to a chair then another lift to the securing studs.
Such are the things you do when age related stuff happens.
FollowupID: 923453

Reply By: AlanTH - Sunday, May 28, 2023 at 08:25

Sunday, May 28, 2023 at 08:25
I have the same prob now as I age.... so made up a lifting 'crane' and it's solved the problem for me. Round tube fitted behind the RWC and a square tube goes down inside it. This tube has a right angled part at the top with another support underneath and on top of that is a small boat winch.
The square tube can be allowed to turn in the round tube and is ideal for lifting the tyre up and down and I have also modified the spare carrier on the van to take it.
There's also a bolt goes through the round and square tubes as an anti theft device which also serves to set the square winch tube at the right height to use.
I've searched for the pics I took some time ago but couldn't find them due to my chaotic filing system. :)
If anyone's interested I'll take some more and post them here.
Alan TH.
AnswerID: 643693

Reply By: Bob Y. - Qld - Sunday, May 28, 2023 at 08:43

Sunday, May 28, 2023 at 08:43
These may not help the OP but might be a solution for others? Telstra has been using them for over 30 years, to my knowledge, so they must tick some boxes.

AnswerID: 643694

Follow Up By: Member - Bigfish - Sunday, May 28, 2023 at 10:53

Sunday, May 28, 2023 at 10:53
I had this setup when I was remote area tech with Telstra. They work quite well..
FollowupID: 923410

Reply By: Michael D34 - Sunday, May 28, 2023 at 09:56

Sunday, May 28, 2023 at 09:56
Thanks for the tips a lot of good experience and ingenuity there.
Those fold down types look a brilliant option assuming they can be bought for a wagon rather than a ute canopy. The hoists look good too but it's extra fiddling about, standing in hot sun after already hot and bothered changing flat tire.
Edit: I wonder how far off the ground is the bottom of fold down bit after you fold it? down? Can the wheel be rolled on or is it still got to be lifted?
AnswerID: 643695

Reply By: Member - LeighW - Sunday, May 28, 2023 at 10:27

Sunday, May 28, 2023 at 10:27
Is an interesting problem, one of the reasons I reverted back to using alloys.

My partner and myself work as a team, I lift the wheel up onto the campers plastic step unit placed in front of the spare carrier on the back door. We both then lift it onto the carrier. I can lift it from the steps upto the carrier myself but two sets of hands make it easier.

AnswerID: 643696

Reply By: Member - Warren H - Sunday, May 28, 2023 at 11:12

Sunday, May 28, 2023 at 11:12
Check this Pajero forum thread. The best one I reckon is the modified shovel by poster 'pushbike' on page 2. Your spare wheel mount has to be central for these solutions.
NT Pajero
2007 Goldstream Crown

AnswerID: 643697

Reply By: Member - Lloyd M - Sunday, May 28, 2023 at 11:29

Sunday, May 28, 2023 at 11:29
I have my spare tyre on a roof rack, too heavy & bulky to lift so made up a small hoist with light RHS and a small 12V electric winch. All of which I had in the shed. Works great even use it to lift our electric bikes onto the tray.
Lloyd Mac

AnswerID: 643698

Reply By: Member - Jim S1 - Sunday, May 28, 2023 at 19:53

Sunday, May 28, 2023 at 19:53
I have old steel Patrol wheels. I roll the wheel up the camper stairs, then juggle it across to the spare wheel hanger.
Not sure if I can still do it !!!!

Jim
"Sometimes I sits and thinks, and sometimes I just sits." A fisherman.

"No road is long with good company." Traditional

AnswerID: 643702

Reply By: Peter_n_Margaret - Thursday, Jun 01, 2023 at 17:25

Thursday, Jun 01, 2023 at 17:25

Been in operation for 18 years. Spares weigh 80kg each.
Originally powered by a 5:1 clutch winch driven by a battery drill. Replaced with an electric winch when the winch died.
OKA196 motorhome
AnswerID: 643731

Reply By: Batt's - Sunday, Jun 04, 2023 at 13:02

Sunday, Jun 04, 2023 at 13:02
Look up MiRack you might get some ideas on how to set one up with gas struts just need to mount the wheel on the inside of the frame. There are several other types Bull Motor Bodies. Avan have a simple one but again redesign it to mount the wheel on the inside and you could make a telescopic handle for leverage or fit gas struts to help as well. Simple ideas are best so you not relying on air or electric winches that may fail when you need it. If a gas strut fails you have a telescopic handle to compensate for example and it tucks away neatly when not in use. Something like a suit case luggage bag has with a push button lock would be great but it would have to be strong enough.
AnswerID: 643761

Reply By: Phil G - Tuesday, Jun 06, 2023 at 16:48

Tuesday, Jun 06, 2023 at 16:48
My Troopy has the skinny tubeless tyres on 6" steel rims. They only weigh 29kgs each, so for me, still OK to lift.
AnswerID: 643777