new toyota ad

Submitted: Monday, Jul 12, 2004 at 13:01
ThreadID: 14591 Views:2232 Replies:3 FollowUps:12
has anyone seen the new ad for toyota servicing with steve irwin?
when he finishes his drive in a new prado turbo diesel(i think)a young kid points out the smoke coming from under his bonet.
yes looks like steve cooked his dinner on the intercooler.
now what would toyota say for a claim if we all went and blocked our intercoolers with some food in silver foil.
would you like fries with that?

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Jul 12, 2004 at 13:09

Monday, Jul 12, 2004 at 13:09
Hiya Jim
Like all these adds, it's truthfull and accurate in everyway.

I do this all the time and I have seen all the rest of the 4wd community do it also.
Thats why they put it in the add.
Same as that Prado on the seesaw thingy hanging over the edge of the cliff.
It's OK though the helicopter will catch it if the traction control thingy does not work as it's supposed to.
I carry a helicopter in my recovery kit for just these occasions.
Thats what Baz forgot to pack the other day, His helicopter or doesn't Ford recomend them as a recovery item ?

By the way haven't tried to cook fries on mine as yet.

AnswerID: 67439

Follow Up By: mr diamond - Monday, Jul 12, 2004 at 13:13

Monday, Jul 12, 2004 at 13:13
gday john.
so why didnt you take your hellicopter when you got stuck in wombat lol.
and why didnt you lend it to bazz.
cheers mate
FollowupID: 328142

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Jul 12, 2004 at 13:18

Monday, Jul 12, 2004 at 13:18
Didn't need it, I packed my Muddy Girl Bog Hole Recovery Unit (MGBHRU).
Read my equipment list under rig details.
Worked a treat and cost less to run than the helicopter.
I was away up north, If I had been aware of Baz's prediciment at the time I would have sent my MGBHRU up to help.

FollowupID: 328145

Follow Up By: mr diamond - Monday, Jul 12, 2004 at 13:20

Monday, Jul 12, 2004 at 13:20
great list john.
great to see you have 1 thing listed for work(radio)lol.
FollowupID: 328146

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Jul 12, 2004 at 13:23

Monday, Jul 12, 2004 at 13:23
Well Jim it is a company car you know, so I have to use it for work sometime.

Seem's a a bit funny having a Marine VHF in a vehicle on the Birdsville Track, can't understand why I can't raise habour control ????

FollowupID: 328147

Follow Up By: mr diamond - Monday, Jul 12, 2004 at 13:26

Monday, Jul 12, 2004 at 13:26
is there much call for diving lessons on the birdsville track??
lol
FollowupID: 328150

Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Monday, Jul 12, 2004 at 16:13

Monday, Jul 12, 2004 at 16:13
From your members page:

"I know I have forgotton something ?????"

yeah, the kids...................LOL
FollowupID: 328160

Follow Up By: mr diamond - Monday, Jul 12, 2004 at 18:17

Monday, Jul 12, 2004 at 18:17
gday gary.
have you been on hollidays mate??
FollowupID: 328180

Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Monday, Jul 12, 2004 at 21:48

Monday, Jul 12, 2004 at 21:48
Working mainly, when I haven't been IN hospital (pneumonia, from a patient I was looking after)
FollowupID: 328222

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Monday, Jul 12, 2004 at 18:50

Monday, Jul 12, 2004 at 18:50
Crikey James, you don't think he's pulling ya leg do ya, hes as fair dinkum as sauce on a scallop, or Baz on a hill.

AnswerID: 67501

Follow Up By: mr diamond - Monday, Jul 12, 2004 at 19:44

Monday, Jul 12, 2004 at 19:44
gday bonz.
well as john said .
if its on tv it must be true...
FollowupID: 328189

Reply By: Muddy 'doe (SA) - Monday, Jul 12, 2004 at 18:57

Monday, Jul 12, 2004 at 18:57
Can't say I've seen this one yet.

Does this mean I can leave the primus at home now?????

Jeez these Prado TD's are good!!! Soon there will be a button on the dash that you press and out comes a steaming hot coffee!

Muddy
AnswerID: 67502

Follow Up By: mr diamond - Monday, Jul 12, 2004 at 19:48

Monday, Jul 12, 2004 at 19:48
could you please do me a favour as your prado is still under waranty.
go buy a huge fish and wrap it in al foil.
stick it on your intercooler for half a day or untill the fish is cooked or your turbo is cooked.
if the turbo does die go to your local toyota dealer and see if they will coveer it under waranty.LOL
if it dosnt cook because of the cold air coming in please ask them how steve gets his piping hot.
FollowupID: 328191

Follow Up By: Muddy 'doe (SA) - Monday, Jul 12, 2004 at 20:00

Monday, Jul 12, 2004 at 20:00
If you are referring to that square part at the top of the engine just under the bonnet (I have not seen the ad remember) then you would be quite correct in wondering just how you could cook a foil wrapped fish as this is the INTAKE and sucks COOL air into the intercooler. This had occurred to me too. Think I'll pack the Prinus after all!

What happened to truth in advertising!!!

Muddy
FollowupID: 328194

Follow Up By: Member Eric - Monday, Jul 12, 2004 at 22:29

Monday, Jul 12, 2004 at 22:29
Sorry Jimmy my mate , but Muddy doe is right , Block it all you like , most that will happen in the the air intake temp will rise which will efect ponies and nothing else .

But guys I think he actually used it as a grill plate , the heat beads were underneath it lol
FollowupID: 328228