Hobart International Airport

Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 15, 2023 at 01:23
ThreadID: 146522 Views:1977 Replies:15 FollowUps:23
Had a short trip to Tassie this last weekend for a birding trip; saw impressive birds - Eaglehawkneck Pelagic Birding Trip . Was gobsmacked at how 'third world' HIAP actually is. Embarkation Sunday arvo to return to Perth took 25 minutes to complete from AP buildings over exposed tarmac. Fortunately it was reasonable weather and I didn't see anyone with a prod but that was probably because the cattle remained orderly throughout the processing...

Reply By: Member - Mark (Tamworth NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2023 at 06:07

Wednesday, Nov 15, 2023 at 06:07
Now John you weren't using your phone (to take the photos) whilst on the tarmac which is prohibited?
AnswerID: 644722

Follow Up By: John Baas - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2023 at 12:27

Wednesday, Nov 15, 2023 at 12:27
No, definitely not Mark. I'm fortunate to have photographic memory capabilities.
FollowupID: 924866

Reply By: RMD - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2023 at 08:41

Wednesday, Nov 15, 2023 at 08:41
Now I know what people mean when they say they are going to "ramp it up", looks more like sheep though, with the readiness to follow in a line.
AnswerID: 644724

Reply By: PeterInSa - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2023 at 10:31

Wednesday, Nov 15, 2023 at 10:31
Tassie cannot afford an Airport remodel and a new uncover AFL Oval as well.

Every Tasmanian I spoke to in our 4 week stay, about the undercover oval was against it. Either on Cost, Should be in Launceston, need more hospitals, will cause major traffic problems for people coming/leaving the oval as well as the rest of the Hobart CBD, the firms that build it will be from Vic so will not benefit Tassie tradies,

Coming back on the Spirit, the ute on front of us, had a Vic Rego plate and had building gear in the tray. ie a Vic Tradie helping Tassie out.
AnswerID: 644725

Reply By: Member - Jim S1 - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2023 at 13:13

Wednesday, Nov 15, 2023 at 13:13
Strewth , the steps are even covered…… what more do you want!!
Now back when I was a lad ……….

Jim
"Sometimes I sits and thinks, and sometimes I just sits." A fisherman.

"No road is long with good company." Traditional

AnswerID: 644726

Reply By: Member - rocco2010 - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2023 at 13:28

Wednesday, Nov 15, 2023 at 13:28
Third world? Covered ramps?
In a real third world country you'd get crammed on a bus for the ride to the plane then climb steps.
Often in 40C heat.

AnswerID: 644727

Reply By: Member - Happy Explorer - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2023 at 13:53

Wednesday, Nov 15, 2023 at 13:53
Hi John
I guess that is why some of us just keep going back, to enjoy the somewhat simpler things in life. We have been there six times over the past twenty years and plan on spending another six months there towards the end of next year. Pitty though they felt they needed to be political correct and get rid of the portable steps and use that complicated ramp arrangement. I guess it it is so Joe Biden doesn't fall up them should he ever visit.
I feel you are spot on with that stadium nonsense though. All that just so a handful of people can kick a ball around the paddock for a bit. The money could definitely be better spent. And of course there will be those that say it should be in Launceston, there has always been a bit of rivalry between the north and south halves of the island.
Roy G.
AnswerID: 644728

Follow Up By: Member - Happy Explorer - Thursday, Nov 16, 2023 at 08:28

Thursday, Nov 16, 2023 at 08:28
Apologies to JohnBass and Peter in SA.
I wrongly attributed the stadium statement to John when it was in fact Peter who added that bit. I have just come out of hospital after surgery and perhaps not thinking clearly enough.
Roy G.
Toowoomba
FollowupID: 924869

Reply By: Allan B (Sunshine Coast) - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2023 at 20:52

Wednesday, Nov 15, 2023 at 20:52
Well John, last time I flew to Tassie the luggage arrived at the terminal building on a tractor-towed trolley and passengers descended on it like seagulls on a potato chip.
Things seem to have improved a bit.

AnswerID: 644729

Follow Up By: John Baas - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2023 at 21:34

Wednesday, Nov 15, 2023 at 21:34
Only a bit Allan. On the inward leg the luggage took half an hour to hit the carousel... But yes, it was indeed a carousel...
FollowupID: 924867

Follow Up By: Allan B (Sunshine Coast) - Thursday, Nov 16, 2023 at 08:21

Thursday, Nov 16, 2023 at 08:21
Ah, they probably took the scenic route John.

FollowupID: 924868

Reply By: Member - Boobook - Thursday, Nov 16, 2023 at 06:43

Thursday, Nov 16, 2023 at 06:43
Ladies and Gentlemen. This is your captain speaking, thank you for flying with Virgin Airlines and welcome to Hobart International airport.

The local time is 1968.

AnswerID: 644731

Reply By: Member - Bigfish - Thursday, Nov 16, 2023 at 10:11

Thursday, Nov 16, 2023 at 10:11
Cairns is no better. So what? You,d hate the dozens of community airstrips and sheds I,ve had the pleasure of boarding from. !st world problem...Your on holidays...just chill out.
AnswerID: 644732

Follow Up By: John Baas - Thursday, Nov 16, 2023 at 12:32

Thursday, Nov 16, 2023 at 12:32
It escapes you; Cairns isn't a state gateway. I have traveled to Cairns 3 times over the last two years and the AP has better facilities, as a regional AP, than does HIAP.
FollowupID: 924870

Follow Up By: RMD - Thursday, Nov 16, 2023 at 13:02

Thursday, Nov 16, 2023 at 13:02
Gateway? There are no fences let alone a gate.
I like the Mohawk Indian with the Mickey Mouse ears in the pics above, just in front of the camera, obviously an overseas traveller.
FollowupID: 924871

Follow Up By: Member - Bigfish - Friday, Nov 17, 2023 at 06:10

Friday, Nov 17, 2023 at 06:10
Cairns is an international airport . It feeds the gateway of North Queensland which is an area 4 times (at least) larger than the whole state of Tasmania. Tas airport sees around 2.5 millions visitors a year. Cairns is around 4 million, both domestic and international.
FollowupID: 924873

Reply By: Member - McLaren3030 - Friday, Nov 17, 2023 at 06:20

Friday, Nov 17, 2023 at 06:20
Terminal 4 at Melbourne Airport Tullamarine does not have “Fly bridges”, you walk from the terminal building following between the yellow lines on the tarmac to walk up the steps onto the aircraft.

Macca.
Macca.

AnswerID: 644735

Reply By: Kenell - Friday, Nov 17, 2023 at 07:55

Friday, Nov 17, 2023 at 07:55
Hobart has retained its status as an international airport because of the 2 flights each week to Auckland. Hardly comparable to most international airports around the world. I suspect a cost / benefit analysis wouldn't support any substantial upgrade ie would more passengers / flights eventuate from having airbridges installed? The other aspect to consider is that HIAP is, for all intents and purposes, privately owned (like many others). No doubt there are provisions for the government to make improvements but why spend money on a house you only rent?

Comparisons to Melbourne and terminal 4 are a bit unfair. The weather in Melbourne is so settled and predictable that there is rarely a need for a flybridge !!!!!
AnswerID: 644736

Follow Up By: Member - McLaren3030 - Saturday, Nov 18, 2023 at 07:20

Saturday, Nov 18, 2023 at 07:20
Hi Kenell,

No offence intended, but you live in Melbourne?

There is a saying about Melbourne weather, “if you don’t like the current weather, just wait a few minutes it will change”. Or this one, “Melbourne has four seasons in one day”. I would certainly not call that “settled” or even “predictable”.

Macca.
Macca.

FollowupID: 924877

Follow Up By: Kenell - Saturday, Nov 18, 2023 at 08:01

Saturday, Nov 18, 2023 at 08:01
Macca,

What are you trying to say?

We both know there are only 2 types of people in this world. Those who DO live in Melbourne and those who WANT to live in Melbourne.

For the record I have lived in both Hobart and Melbourne. In fact it is 52 years today since I first stepped off the plane at Hobart (then domestic) airport. We moved to Hobart from Cairns. Needless to say I am well versed in weather variances.

Kenell

FollowupID: 924878

Follow Up By: Nomadic Navara - Saturday, Nov 18, 2023 at 23:51

Saturday, Nov 18, 2023 at 23:51
Looks like Macca did not catch onto the irony!!!

Kenell, there are actually three types of people, the third type is the majority, they do not want to be included in either or your two types.

FollowupID: 924880

Follow Up By: Member - McLaren3030 - Sunday, Nov 19, 2023 at 07:38

Sunday, Nov 19, 2023 at 07:38
You guys obviously haven’t heard of the great exodus out of Victoria but in particular Melbourne during the “Covid Years”. People left in droves trying to escape from “Dictator Dan” :-)

Macca.
Macca.

FollowupID: 924881

Follow Up By: Kenell - Sunday, Nov 19, 2023 at 07:54

Sunday, Nov 19, 2023 at 07:54
Macca, oh dear Macca, I appreciate that none of us is getting any younger but one really should try to stay informed of current events. In spite of Chairman Dan and Covid, Melbourne is now officially the largest city in Oz - at least in population terms. One can assume that the defectors you referred to have either returned or been replaced now that Covid and our "beloved" Chairman have gone. Of course the more likely and dare I say most obvious attraction for the growth is the weather (see previous post).

Kenell
FollowupID: 924883

Follow Up By: Member - silkwood - Sunday, Nov 19, 2023 at 09:45

Sunday, Nov 19, 2023 at 09:45
Well, Kennel, we are seeing an increase in psychiatric disorders, particularly dementia with our increasingly aged population. Maybe accounts for the bounce? Also may explain the "interesting" take on the weather?

(speaking as one of the increasingly aged)??

FollowupID: 924886

Follow Up By: Allan B (Sunshine Coast) - Sunday, Nov 19, 2023 at 13:46

Sunday, Nov 19, 2023 at 13:46
I live on the delightful Queensland Sunshine Coast and something that often puzzled me was the number of cars with plates proclaiming "Victoria - the place to be".
If Victoria really was the 'Place to Be'……. then why were they on the Sunshine Coast?
But in later times their message changed to. ….."Victoria - on the move".
So that seemed to explain it……. they were just sussing out a place to escape to!

The Vic rego plate slogans have variously been… "The Garden State', "On the Move". "The Place To Be"' Stay Alert - Stay Alive", The Education State". They really cannot settle on their objective.
Whilst Tassie has since 2008 stuck with "Explore the Possibilities". Seems they are still exploring!
NSW could do little more than the egotistical "Premier State".
Queensland stuck with "The Sunshine State" for 15 years before going clever with "The Smart State".
WA proclaimed "State of Excitement", "Home of the America's Cup" and "The Golden State" and then couldn't think of anything better so dumped the whole idea in 1990.
SA made a good start with "The Festival State", ran through a few less-than scintillating expressions and now is issuing "The Defence State" whatever that may convey to the world.
The Northern Territory ran some boringly appropriate slogans but it was rather pointless as many of their vehicles did not even display plates!

FollowupID: 924888

Follow Up By: Member - Outback Gazz - Sunday, Nov 19, 2023 at 13:59

Sunday, Nov 19, 2023 at 13:59

South Australia's plates should have the logo

" State of Confusion "

Gazz

FollowupID: 924889

Follow Up By: Allan B (Sunshine Coast) - Sunday, Nov 19, 2023 at 14:09

Sunday, Nov 19, 2023 at 14:09
Is that how you are feeling Gazz?
I quit while I still could determine which way to head!

FollowupID: 924891

Follow Up By: Member - Outback Gazz - Sunday, Nov 19, 2023 at 14:31

Sunday, Nov 19, 2023 at 14:31
Howdy Allan

South Australia is a great place to live !

It's just that "management" doesn't have a clue on how to run it !!

Gazz
FollowupID: 924892

Follow Up By: Allan B (Sunshine Coast) - Sunday, Nov 19, 2023 at 15:23

Sunday, Nov 19, 2023 at 15:23

And who put that "Management" in the Job Gazz?

FollowupID: 924893

Follow Up By: Member - Outback Gazz - Sunday, Nov 19, 2023 at 18:37

Sunday, Nov 19, 2023 at 18:37
Allan, a lot of people who now regret they did !

Gazz
FollowupID: 924895

Follow Up By: Allan B (Sunshine Coast) - Sunday, Nov 19, 2023 at 19:02

Sunday, Nov 19, 2023 at 19:02
To John Baas,
Sorry John, I have been hijacking your Tassie thread. But please forgive me. A bit of Forum State Rivalry is as good as State of Origin night. (Actually it's better but don't tell anyone I said so)

FollowupID: 924896

Follow Up By: Bricky - Sunday, Nov 19, 2023 at 20:08

Sunday, Nov 19, 2023 at 20:08
As a Vic originally I can't remember as a kid anyone holidaying in SA.....was a place you drove through to go somewhere.
Have been here since 2005, Coffin Bay for a while, now Fleurieu. Great place to live.
Sorry Allan B, our daughter lives on the Sunshine Coast and neither my wife or I could live there. But each to their own??
FollowupID: 924898

Follow Up By: Allan B (Sunshine Coast) - Monday, Nov 20, 2023 at 09:44

Monday, Nov 20, 2023 at 09:44
Bricky, it can depend just where on the Sunshine Coast. It does stretch for 60km along beautiful beaches and hinterland.
The weather varies a little….. it goes from wonderful to glorious.

FollowupID: 924902

Follow Up By: Member - McLaren3030 - Tuesday, Nov 21, 2023 at 06:52

Tuesday, Nov 21, 2023 at 06:52
Yes Allan, beautiful one day, monsoonal the next. :-)

Macca.
Macca.

FollowupID: 924906

Reply By: Member - David & Kerry W - Monday, Nov 20, 2023 at 09:40

Monday, Nov 20, 2023 at 09:40
To John Bass

Good birding too I noticed.
Cheers David
AnswerID: 644750

Reply By: Graeme - Saturday, Nov 25, 2023 at 11:00

Saturday, Nov 25, 2023 at 11:00
I am currently atHIAP and is a dog’s breakfast. Tis pouring rain and no covered walkways from the car park. One security lane open and the queue backed up to the check in.
Then the walk, in the rain, out to the cattle loading ramp.
Hobart is a disgusting airport.
AnswerID: 644795

Reply By: Jarse - Tuesday, Nov 28, 2023 at 05:23

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2023 at 05:23
Hobart moved into the 60's recently. We used to have to drive the aircraft in and out of the freestanding parking bays. Now we have newfangled tug pushbacks :D I think the only reason they bought them in was because of the pavement damage caused by the tight turns outbound.
Hobart terminal is like a rabbit warren trying to find one's way around the joint.

I had to look twice. That's an A320 from Perth...
AnswerID: 644810