air tank

Submitted: Saturday, Jul 17, 2004 at 17:58
ThreadID: 14734 Views:1733 Replies:8 FollowUps:1
has any one used there roo bar tubing as an air tank??????
any other ideas for compressed air storage

Reply By: Shaker - Saturday, Jul 17, 2004 at 18:14

Saturday, Jul 17, 2004 at 18:14
Yes a friend of mine uses his quite successfully.
AnswerID: 68165

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Jul 17, 2004 at 18:17

Saturday, Jul 17, 2004 at 18:17
G'day Rex
Yes, I've heard of this being done b4. Also the square tubing on the Hayman Reece towbar unit. Fire extinguisher/s. Piece of tubular steel with ends suitably welded can be attched to chassis underbody etc.
I use a 3 ltr tank that came as part of the air horns I bought several years ago.
It is okay for the air horns and air locker/s, but doesn't have enough capacity for giving a huge blast of air required for a rattle gun or inflating a few tyres etc without the Maxair cutting it fairly quickly.
I reckon one of those 9 litre fire extinguisher would be the go and I've got my eye out for one.
Cya
AnswerID: 68167

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, Jul 17, 2004 at 18:24

Saturday, Jul 17, 2004 at 18:24
Any other ideas?
How about a truck airtank? Pressure tested, Legal, insurance wont wave bye bye to you in an accident if the bar is deemed to have caused damage (a bullbar as an airtank will cause some damage on its own).. Truck air tank also comes with a dump/pressure relief valve.

Truck airtanks anythign from $20-100 from a wrecker.

YMMV...
AnswerID: 68169

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Monday, Jul 19, 2004 at 16:38

Monday, Jul 19, 2004 at 16:38
Yeah, Trucksters on the money, I know a guy who's got an old truck air tank under his bullbar, tucked in the hollow on the bottom. Very neat.
FollowupID: 329038

Reply By: Lone Wolf - Saturday, Jul 17, 2004 at 21:43

Saturday, Jul 17, 2004 at 21:43
Yes, it can be done.

If you go ahead, make sure you have a relief valve ( drain ) to clear excess moisture.

I would go with Trucksters idea....... truck air tank.

Ian BEE
AnswerID: 68195

Reply By: Snatchem - Sunday, Jul 18, 2004 at 12:05

Sunday, Jul 18, 2004 at 12:05
Hi Rex, I know it's bulky but when I going somewhere I'd be letting down tires I take my old scuba tank (I no longer dive scared of sharks) . I have a fitting that
attaches to the regulator and pumps up the tires heaps and heaps of times.

Snatchem
AnswerID: 68250

Reply By: fourplayfull - Sunday, Jul 18, 2004 at 21:43

Sunday, Jul 18, 2004 at 21:43
Hi Rex,

AnswerID: 68333

Reply By: fourplayfull - Sunday, Jul 18, 2004 at 21:53

Sunday, Jul 18, 2004 at 21:53
I,ll have another go - yes , I went the 22 litre approved air tank from Pirahna - just welded on brackets to suit & mounted up in front of towbar . Big Red compressor fills it in 5 mins and is ideal for big air jobs .
AnswerID: 68337

Reply By: REX.....(Adelaide) - Monday, Jul 19, 2004 at 15:40

Monday, Jul 19, 2004 at 15:40
thank you ffor all your help i think ill go with trucksters idea thanks again
AnswerID: 68447