Triton ball weight
Submitted: Sunday, Jul 18, 2004 at 21:02
Stu.
There seems to be a lot of people, Triton owners who are unaware of the legal tow limits emplaced on their vehicle.
I searched various forums as I was unaware of the Triton 100kg ball weight and found many of you with the same issue.
Although Mitsubishi has rated these vehicles at 1500 and 2200kg the ball weight is not as many are lead to believe 10% rated capacity but 100kg max.
Camper and caravan dealers have overlooked this fact as
well. Due to the legal ramifications involved I hope the dealers overlooked it, not ignored it.
If anyone has been able to achieve any resolve on this subject let us know.
I was told also the ball weight calc. for a camper or van is dry ball weight plus 30kg which puts most vans and some campers out of reach legally for any Triton owner.
Reply By: Bluegeorge - Sunday, Jul 18, 2004 at 21:14
Sunday, Jul 18, 2004 at 21:14
G'day Stu
mate I have run myself ragged trying to have
mine amended to around the 150kg mark. Vicroads told me it was legal to increase it with engineers cert stating that increase did not destabilise the vehicle. Got alot of useful advice from this
forum but no one will touch it. Engineers seem more than happy to put their name to massive
suspension upgrades and the fitment of enormous tyres, but 50kg extra on the ball is TOO big a legal undertaking. I'm still working on it, If I succeed I'll post info on who, where and how much.
Blue
Follow Up By: Bluegeorge - Sunday, Jul 18, 2004 at 21:20
Sunday, Jul 18, 2004 at 21:20
Last night I visited a UK Mitsu
forum and they're all confused about the lack of info over there re: campers/vans etc and the 100kg ball weight. I can't vouch for it but they reckon the current model L200(triton locally) has the same chassis as a previous model LWB Paj, which had a ball weight of 200kg. More than happy to stand corrected if anyone else knows better.
Blue