Success Stories

Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 21, 2004 at 19:59
ThreadID: 14887 Views:1716 Replies:9 FollowUps:9
Putting the Yota, Trol, debate aside for a minute, lets have a post on forby and other long term vehicle success stories. Im sure there are plenty out there. Last night I went to the Clare c/park to help the Al's entourage, murder a few reds and as I pulled up the cruiser's speedo read 500,000.4 K's and along with its 15th birthday this month, is still capable of driving anywhere most any other normal 4by would go in this great land, economically and comfortably. Some quick calculations: it has consumed approx. 80,000 litres of deisel, about 800 litres of engine oil, and each road wheel has revolved about 205 million times.
( The back ones a few more times from the power of the 2H LOLOL)

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Jul 21, 2004 at 20:16

Wednesday, Jul 21, 2004 at 20:16
Jeez Pesty,
You must've worn out a few sets of batteries on the old calculator to work all that out. If she's "used" 800 litres of oil, I reckon i'd be getting the rings changed too...LOLOLOL
Now listen, mate, if Seashells sees this post, I hope for your sake you've already had your digit doing what he wanted you to do.....otherwise he'll be up you like a rat up a rafter!!!!
He expects to perform for him on demand don't forget.
Congrats on reaching the half mill........
Now lets see.....my truck is 3.5 years old and done 140,000 klicks so by the time it's 15 years of age it should have done around 600,000 and will nearly be run in.
Cya mate.
AnswerID: 68884

Reply By: Muddy 'doe (SA) - Wednesday, Jul 21, 2004 at 20:29

Wednesday, Jul 21, 2004 at 20:29
Half a million kays!

Makes my 6,500 kms look a bit light on but the 'cruiser has been at it a hell of a lot longer.

I am SURE that mine will make it that far in good nick. It may not have ME behind the wheel at the time though! I'll have probably upgraded to a 'cruiser myself by then....

Muddy
AnswerID: 68887

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Wednesday, Jul 21, 2004 at 21:53

Wednesday, Jul 21, 2004 at 21:53
Hey Muddy, you should claim the kilometres you did while you waited for it to arrive. I remember the pics you had of the one in the brochure mate.
FollowupID: 329380

Follow Up By: GOB & denny vic member - Wednesday, Jul 21, 2004 at 22:54

Wednesday, Jul 21, 2004 at 22:54
goodday muddy and john
i reckon you should take it out of the garage occasionally my gu 12mths old 45000 and about to head north again so add another 12000

lol
FollowupID: 329391

Follow Up By: Muddy 'doe (SA) - Wednesday, Jul 21, 2004 at 23:03

Wednesday, Jul 21, 2004 at 23:03
Hi Steve,

The 6,500 kms is since May 10 so I'm not doing too bad! Have a great trip away. 45,000 kays in 12 mths! Lucky Buggers.

John,
It was 4 months wait and I managed to put another 13,000 kms on the honda trade in after we agreed the trade in price so I didn't do too bad!

Steven
FollowupID: 329392

Reply By: Billy - Wednesday, Jul 21, 2004 at 20:45

Wednesday, Jul 21, 2004 at 20:45
My missus just brought 3,300 up on the Kluger with this morning's school run. Does every player win a prize?
AnswerID: 68892

Reply By: Member Eric - Wednesday, Jul 21, 2004 at 21:16

Wednesday, Jul 21, 2004 at 21:16
Lucky Willem isnt in town , his bus has done more kms than this forum put together lol
AnswerID: 68902

Follow Up By: Muddy 'doe (SA) - Wednesday, Jul 21, 2004 at 23:04

Wednesday, Jul 21, 2004 at 23:04
You need to look to NASA to find vehicles with higher mileage than Rosie!

Muddy
FollowupID: 329394

Follow Up By: uppy - Thursday, Jul 22, 2004 at 11:00

Thursday, Jul 22, 2004 at 11:00
Isnt it funny that the truck that has done the most milage and travelled the more remore places is a petrol wagon,But thats me ,Im petrol bias.
regards uppy
...the school bus,still gets us there

FollowupID: 329428

Reply By: Nudenut - Thursday, Jul 22, 2004 at 07:46

Thursday, Jul 22, 2004 at 07:46
.5mK?
what a feat!
Could you please post your calculations so we check if your calculus is corrrect for tyre rotations.
AnswerID: 68959

Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Thursday, Jul 22, 2004 at 23:14

Thursday, Jul 22, 2004 at 23:14
No cant do that, I might have it wrong LOL Laid a tape on the ground and rolled a spare wheel over it and got the measurement for 1 revolution and worked from there.
FollowupID: 329529

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Friday, Jul 23, 2004 at 07:41

Friday, Jul 23, 2004 at 07:41
was that measured with a certified measuring stick? fingertip to chin + 100mm equals 1 metre... it works for me
FollowupID: 329545

Reply By: Baz (NSW) - Thursday, Jul 22, 2004 at 08:18

Thursday, Jul 22, 2004 at 08:18
I reckon i've done that many Ks in 15yrs maybe even more, does it count if it wasn't in the same vehicle.

AnswerID: 68967

Reply By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen) - Thursday, Jul 22, 2004 at 10:04

Thursday, Jul 22, 2004 at 10:04
It is a bloody long way really - but the speed of light travels at 300,000 kilometres per second, so your cruiser has travelled as far as light travels in 1.66 seconds. It makes a light year seem like a bloody long way. Lets see - 300,000 kilometres in a second, 60 seconds in a minute, 60 minutes in an hour, 24 hours in a day, 366 days this year.... Makes 9486720000000 kilometres in a year. Why the hell did I work that out??
AnswerID: 68991

Follow Up By: Muddy 'doe (SA) - Thursday, Jul 22, 2004 at 23:25

Thursday, Jul 22, 2004 at 23:25
That's typical for Toyotas. You need to compare them to the speed of light to be able to talk in relativistic terms. Damn they're good!

Still, it make you feel pretty small when you talk about 15 years of toyota travels being only equivalent to about 1 and a half light seconds!!!

Muddy
FollowupID: 329531

Reply By: Bros - Thursday, Jul 22, 2004 at 10:23

Thursday, Jul 22, 2004 at 10:23
Pesty,
My 2H has only done 330,000. A long way behind yours. Hope i get 1/2 Mill up. Mines an 85 model, the first of that shape i'm told. Change all fluids and filters at 5,000 k's.
Bros.
Work is the curse of the down and out bludger.

AnswerID: 68995

Reply By: Member- Rox - Friday, Jul 23, 2004 at 00:20

Friday, Jul 23, 2004 at 00:20
Your forgeting the real facts..... How many hamburgers were comsumed in that 4wd over 15 years????????
AnswerID: 69159

Follow Up By: Wazza (Vic) - Saturday, Jul 24, 2004 at 16:57

Saturday, Jul 24, 2004 at 16:57
And kids conceived !!
FollowupID: 329738