Apostrophes

Submitted: Sunday, Jul 25, 2004 at 20:52
ThreadID: 15008 Views:2394 Replies:26 FollowUps:26
Does any else notice that many people incorrectly use an apostrophe in the plural form of a noun? An apostrophe is used when letters are omitted as in can't and to show ownership as in the man's four wheel drive. An apostrophe is NEVER used in plurals!!!!! Please get it right!

Reply By: Allan Mac (VIC) - Sunday, Jul 25, 2004 at 20:56

Sunday, Jul 25, 2004 at 20:56
Why?? are we being examined on our english or should that be Englis'h.
AnswerID: 69605

Follow Up By: Aandy(WA) - Sunday, Jul 25, 2004 at 21:43

Sunday, Jul 25, 2004 at 21:43
Allan it just seems to me that we should be at least able to use our own language correctly.
FollowupID: 329881

Follow Up By: Waynepd (NSW) - Sunday, Jul 25, 2004 at 21:44

Sunday, Jul 25, 2004 at 21:44
It's that extra a that is the clue. It stands for ANAL
FollowupID: 329882

Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Sunday, Jul 25, 2004 at 20:57

Sunday, Jul 25, 2004 at 20:57
Oh dear Andy with two A's.........this is a 4x4 and camping forum not an English lesson. No offence but please.....................
AnswerID: 69606

Follow Up By: Aandy(WA) - Sunday, Jul 25, 2004 at 21:46

Sunday, Jul 25, 2004 at 21:46
Brew, isn't it important to be able to use the language correctly? I think it is. You may even find happIness in doing so.
FollowupID: 329883

Follow Up By: Waltzing Matilda - Sunday, Jul 25, 2004 at 23:54

Sunday, Jul 25, 2004 at 23:54
Agree
FollowupID: 329902

Reply By: Member - Ed. C.- Sunday, Jul 25, 2004 at 21:09

Sunday, Jul 25, 2004 at 21:09
Ahem....
ummm Aandy, you may wish to practice what you preach!!!!...
Your placement of the apostrophe in "the man's four wheel drive" is quite incorrect... Please get it right!

Regards, Ed. C.
Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

AnswerID: 69609

Follow Up By: Aandy(WA) - Sunday, Jul 25, 2004 at 21:42

Sunday, Jul 25, 2004 at 21:42
Ed that is the correct position for the apostrophe. It indicates that the 4wd is owned by the man. Similarly it would be the boy's bicycle or the bicycle owned by the boy. I do practise what I preach as opposed to practice what I preach as you incorrectly said. Practise is the verb, practice is the noun.
You have also misspelled Confuscious. I hope you can use a vehicle better than you can use our own language. Forgive me if you are a foreigner and if that should be the case you would have reason for such a poor command of the language.
FollowupID: 329880

Follow Up By: Gajm (VIC) - Sunday, Jul 25, 2004 at 21:47

Sunday, Jul 25, 2004 at 21:47
Aaaandy who obviously has a real problem with grammar because of what his parents have done with his name, you are ableep!
FollowupID: 329884

Follow Up By: Aandy(WA) - Sunday, Jul 25, 2004 at 21:55

Sunday, Jul 25, 2004 at 21:55
I don't think a person called Gajm should be poking fun at the name of anyone. I've always thought of myself as "double A" which I regard as similar to the more common expression of excellence A+.
FollowupID: 329887

Follow Up By: Gajm (VIC) - Sunday, Jul 25, 2004 at 21:58

Sunday, Jul 25, 2004 at 21:58
Aaaandy, a bit of a clue for you, it's a nickname...like "duh" would be a great one for you.
FollowupID: 329888

Follow Up By: Mungo Explorer - Sunday, Jul 25, 2004 at 23:48

Sunday, Jul 25, 2004 at 23:48
It's a wind-up. The Confucius thing gives it away - nothing wrong with Ed's spelling of the Chinese sage's name.
FollowupID: 329901

Follow Up By: Member - Ed. C.- Monday, Jul 26, 2004 at 00:02

Monday, Jul 26, 2004 at 00:02
Uh-Oh!! .. I stuffed up!!
Aandy, you are correct on my inappropriate use of he noun "practice" where the verb "practise" should have been used.. I acknowledge the error, and thank you for pointing it out... (must be more careful in future...)

However, on the use of the apostrophe.. When I went to school (admittedly, more years ago than I care to remember), we were taught that a "possessive" has the apostrophe placed after the "s".. as in "the mans' 4wd"..
Before the "s", it indicates the ommission of a letter or letters... as in "The man's (man is) going to the pub".. I still believe this to be correct...
Your example would read "the man is four wheel drive"... Bit illogical, don't you think??

On the spelling of "Confucius" (Chinese teacher, philosopher, and political theorist, b. 551BC, d. 479BC), my spelling is taken from the Encyclopaedia Britannica... Are you telling me they got it wrong??
From whence do you derive your information??

I think I have a fair command of the English language (4th generation Australian, of English/Scottish descent), and I'm "quietly confident" of my ability to handle a vehicle, but I don't make a habit of criticising those who are "less perfect" than I... (Unless they ask for it, of course!)...

"Let He who is without sin cast the first stone"....

Regards, Ed. C.
Confucius say.....

FollowupID: 329903

Follow Up By: Julian - Monday, Jul 26, 2004 at 16:03

Monday, Jul 26, 2004 at 16:03
Ed.C
Sorry wrong again - the possessive apostrophy is used before the s for singular nouns and after the s for plural nouns. e.g.: my wife's underwear or our wives' underwear.
Incorrect use of the apostrophy is as serious a crime as incorrect use of fog/driving lights - don't get me on that one!!
FollowupID: 329959

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Sunday, Jul 25, 2004 at 21:10

Sunday, Jul 25, 2004 at 21:10
Get a life, are you going to start being critical on people''''''s spelling.
Good grief you must live in a boring world.

AnswerID: 69610

Follow Up By: Aandy(WA) - Sunday, Jul 25, 2004 at 21:58

Sunday, Jul 25, 2004 at 21:58
There are times when people need to be corrected John. You must be a skilled driver to get THAT vehicle to the top of Big Red.
FollowupID: 329889

Reply By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Sunday, Jul 25, 2004 at 21:12

Sunday, Jul 25, 2004 at 21:12
Yeah, who gives a STUFF.
AnswerID: 69611

Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Sunday, Jul 25, 2004 at 21:15

Sunday, Jul 25, 2004 at 21:15
Hang on here guys and gals.....i think this AAndy might be having a lend of us here. No-one could be that hung up on punctuation.
AnswerID: 69612

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Sunday, Jul 25, 2004 at 21:16

Sunday, Jul 25, 2004 at 21:16
Just another wanker who's full of $hit.
Sorry to say.

FollowupID: 329874

Follow Up By: Gajm (VIC) - Sunday, Jul 25, 2004 at 21:37

Sunday, Jul 25, 2004 at 21:37
Sad to say Brewman but he's not, I had a run in with him a while ago when I typed something my daughter wrote, and I made a spelling mistake, since then I have hung my head in shame.

Just one other thing....should wanker have a capital W? nothing to do with what you wrote John, I just want to make sure I have it right when I use it for AAAAndy
FollowupID: 329879

Reply By: Lone Wolf - Sunday, Jul 25, 2004 at 21:39

Sunday, Jul 25, 2004 at 21:39
Aandy, good post.

Thing is, if you try to correct while on the fly, then you'll lose the flow.
I am one of the worst spellers and my grammer, well......... it sucks....... But, I'm havin' fun.
I think if I was doing something important, I would perhaps worry, but in the big picture here, doesn't matter........

I do agree that it's good to perhaps hone your skills, especially whilst writing, but unless we know right from wrong, then we're buggered.

Perhaps some examples of wrong usage would be good?

I am always willing to learn.......... always

Pupil Wolflet!
AnswerID: 69618

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Sunday, Jul 25, 2004 at 21:49

Sunday, Jul 25, 2004 at 21:49
Wolf man ......you almost had be believing you for a spit second.
FollowupID: 329885

Reply By: GOB & denny vic member - Sunday, Jul 25, 2004 at 21:40

Sunday, Jul 25, 2004 at 21:40
DO WE REALLY CARE NO'''''''''''''''

STEVE
AnswerID: 69619

Reply By: Nomad - Sunday, Jul 25, 2004 at 21:40

Sunday, Jul 25, 2004 at 21:40
Duh???

Is that something to do with the Apostle bloke Peter, Paul and Mary????

Im a bit backward's mate. Had a poor's upbringing. Im a little bit ignorant's.
AnswerID: 69620

Follow Up By: Aandy(WA) - Sunday, Jul 25, 2004 at 21:51

Sunday, Jul 25, 2004 at 21:51
Nomad, that's sad that you were never taught the language correctly. I too come from a poor background but I have always had the attitude that if something was worth doing it was worth doing to the very best of my ability. Hence, I made a point of being able to speak and write correctly. It has paid off as people form opinions according to how well you can express yourself.
FollowupID: 329886

Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Sunday, Jul 25, 2004 at 23:40

Sunday, Jul 25, 2004 at 23:40
Andy I agree, if a job is worth doing its worth doing properly, to the best of our ability, trouble is that not all of us have that ability, too much of this stuff was force fed to us in school and so we forgot half of it when we left and if you dont use it daily then you forget it, and so my posts will be typed and I will skip back through and make some adjustments for spelling, and hitting wrong keys etc. as I go with Wolfies flow, and when I am finished it will be to the best of my ability and if that is not good enough TUFF.
FollowupID: 329899

Reply By: Gajm (VIC) - Sunday, Jul 25, 2004 at 22:07

Sunday, Jul 25, 2004 at 22:07
Aaaandy, why haven't you joined EO? The forms aren't really that hard to fill out, and we are willing to give you a hand with them.
AnswerID: 69633

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Jul 25, 2004 at 22:22

Sunday, Jul 25, 2004 at 22:22
Gee, look at them all biting like fish... flammin hell... cant you all see its a troll?
AnswerID: 69639

Follow Up By: Allan Mac (VIC) - Sunday, Jul 25, 2004 at 22:28

Sunday, Jul 25, 2004 at 22:28
Trucky cause, it is but being a sunday night andbleepe on TV gotta do sumthing.. struth me thinks I have a few spellin'g errors' here or is that hear
FollowupID: 329893

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Sunday, Jul 25, 2004 at 23:00

Sunday, Jul 25, 2004 at 23:00
He's just another drop kick. Ignore!
FollowupID: 329894

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Sunday, Jul 25, 2004 at 22:52

Sunday, Jul 25, 2004 at 22:52
Hi Aandy,

You will have fun with this site and spelling too. I failed English all the way up to 5th form but like to think I get my apostrophes right. I do get occasional typos too though.

Just a point though. Isn't one exclaimation mark enough to end a sentence? I gather some like to draw attention to things though..
AnswerID: 69642

Reply By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Sunday, Jul 25, 2004 at 23:06

Sunday, Jul 25, 2004 at 23:06
Andy, It should be quite obvious that preaching on this subject is not welcome here. I'm sure there are other forums that deal with the English language where you can discuss the correct use of English.
AnswerID: 69644

Reply By: Waltzing Matilda - Monday, Jul 26, 2004 at 00:02

Monday, Jul 26, 2004 at 00:02
Do we have to be like uppty like "JASON & KIRSTEN" (Sydney) from THE BLOCK & speak really well here. We all make typing mistakes mate. We may speak proper but U CANNOT hear us speak. ARE U serious? BE FREE people & TYPE as you like is my motto. Love & learn is also a good one. :)
AnswerID: 69655

Reply By: Member - Royce- Monday, Jul 26, 2004 at 00:13

Monday, Jul 26, 2004 at 00:13
And......... then there's the misuse of the inverted commas: "see?" Our neighbour [actually over the hill and across the road] has for sale, according to the sign on his gate stud "bulls". That should probably mean that they are called bulls but aren't.
AnswerID: 69657

Follow Up By: Member - Ed. C.- Monday, Jul 26, 2004 at 00:18

Monday, Jul 26, 2004 at 00:18
Sure they're not bull's ???
>
>
>
(Sorry, couldn't resist)....
Confucius say.....

FollowupID: 329905

Reply By: A Digger - Monday, Jul 26, 2004 at 01:00

Monday, Jul 26, 2004 at 01:00
Hey Aandy...........

If you want to come in here and give people a lecture on their use of the English language, at least make sure you aren't in the glass house when you start throwing stones.

In post 15002 you couldn't even spell hierarchy properly.

The best part is that I don't have to try to insult or belittle you, as you have done to others here. You have belittled yourself far better than anyone else could.

Digger

Oh, and by the way................ an apostrophe IS used in the plural possessive e.g. the girls' dresses. So please get it right!
AnswerID: 69660

Reply By: Nudenut - Monday, Jul 26, 2004 at 07:51

Monday, Jul 26, 2004 at 07:51
now all we need is a maths' teacher cos wolfies calcualtions are flawed
AnswerID: 69672

Reply By: Nudenut - Monday, Jul 26, 2004 at 07:59

Monday, Jul 26, 2004 at 07:59
picked this up form one of Aandys' replies:

"My thoughts on the hierachy of 4wds"

shouldn't that be 4wd's or more correctly "four wheel drive" or "drives" or is that "drive's" ...please get it right!!!
AnswerID: 69674

Follow Up By: Mungo Explorer - Monday, Jul 26, 2004 at 16:29

Monday, Jul 26, 2004 at 16:29
Strictly speaking "four-wheel drives", I think.
FollowupID: 329966

Reply By: Brian B (QLD) - Monday, Jul 26, 2004 at 09:18

Monday, Jul 26, 2004 at 09:18
Hey Everyone,

I agree with Truckster but I thought I should get this right so I consulted the trusty dictionary and looked up the word Aandy. The description was pretty brief and can be summed up by the slang word WANKER. I think that summs things up quite well.

AnswerID: 69681

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Monday, Jul 26, 2004 at 14:42

Monday, Jul 26, 2004 at 14:42
Aww your not calling aandy a wanker are you Bob?
FollowupID: 329952

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Monday, Jul 26, 2004 at 20:34

Monday, Jul 26, 2004 at 20:34
Brilliant Brian LOL
FollowupID: 329996

Reply By: Michael - Monday, Jul 26, 2004 at 10:32

Monday, Jul 26, 2004 at 10:32
it '''' ain''''tt rite, ahhhh!!
AnswerID: 69691

Reply By: Nomad - Monday, Jul 26, 2004 at 12:23

Monday, Jul 26, 2004 at 12:23
Aandy, unless your pulling our collective legs then you being way to serious on a forum like this. My previous post on your subject was certainly pulling your leg.

For your information I have a very good knowledge of the English language. I frequently write articles and letters for publication in the local press. For many years I have written business correspondence, contracts, industrial awards and various other legal documents.

Aandy that doesn't ( is that correct?) mean I have to do this all the time, particularly when I'm relaxing and havinga bit of fun on various forums. Aandy I agree that the proper use of our language is very important when considered in a more serious concept than here. On this and other forums, lighten up mate and have some fun.
AnswerID: 69701

Reply By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Monday, Jul 26, 2004 at 15:03

Monday, Jul 26, 2004 at 15:03
Andy, you neglected to put "" around your example, personllally I would have said: such as in "can't". The lack of "such" in your sentance structure makes it very difficult and long winded to read.

or...

Perhaps none of us give ableep...
AnswerID: 69715

Reply By: Max - Sydney - Monday, Jul 26, 2004 at 16:50

Monday, Jul 26, 2004 at 16:50
Does it matter?

Ye's
AnswerID: 69724

Reply By: andysgu - Monday, Jul 26, 2004 at 17:02

Monday, Jul 26, 2004 at 17:02
AAAAAAAAAAANNNNNDDDDDYYYYYY
YOU DONT HAPPEN 2 B SCHOOL TEACHER OR A LECTURAR UNDER 2 MUCH STRESS MAYBE YOU SHOULD ADHERE 2 THIS SITES LOGGO AND GO EXPLORE OZ AND CHILL OUT.

andysgu
AnswerID: 69727

Reply By: Coops (Pilbara) - Monday, Jul 26, 2004 at 19:23

Monday, Jul 26, 2004 at 19:23
Trolling or not I'm gonna bite (some).

I'm no expert, having been asked to leave school as a 15 year old but this is what I think I was taught;
The ownership thing pointed out by Aandy is what I believe to be true ie. it is Aandy's 4WD
The apostrophe after the s is for instances like : it is Coops' 4WD (instead of writing Coops's 4WD
An apostrophe isn't to be used in a plural situation.

I will easily stand corrected on any of these and would like to know from some of the more scholastic types should I be incorrect.

However Aandy I don't think it right to cast aspersions on peoples grammatical skills. The bloke who can't spell or write to the letter of the law, may just well be the bloke coming around the corner who's gonna pull you out of the pooh or change your missus' tyre because you've never bothered to show her how or because she can't lift it off the wheel carrier.
We're all created equal and should treat each other as such. And really, how much does it matter ?
I've opened my home to several members from this site without even knowing a damned thing about them, but do you think I cared if they could spell or had good grammar.
Fair Dinkum mate - get a grip !

Just my thoughts
AnswerID: 69756

Follow Up By: Aandy(WA) - Wednesday, Jul 28, 2004 at 21:59

Wednesday, Jul 28, 2004 at 21:59
Coops, I would happily let an illiterate idiot pull out of a bog and I wouldn't pick on him until I was on the blacktop!
FollowupID: 330334

Reply By: Member - NewMan (VIC) - Monday, Jul 26, 2004 at 19:40

Monday, Jul 26, 2004 at 19:40
Aandy,

I would rather have problems getting a few unimportant punctuations wrong than have the total lack of people skills like you seem to display.

Get a Life..............................

Tony
AnswerID: 69761

Follow Up By: Lone Wolf - Monday, Jul 26, 2004 at 20:30

Monday, Jul 26, 2004 at 20:30
Tony, you SO MUCH need to do something about that rig pic mate!!

Every time I see your post, I go all funny, like hypnotic............ sort of want to go downstairs and dig holes and stuff.........

I've read about you blokes........... send out all these subliminal messages and then we end up joining your cult! LOL!!

Stoned Wolf........
FollowupID: 329995

Follow Up By: Member - NewMan (VIC) - Tuesday, Jul 27, 2004 at 07:18

Tuesday, Jul 27, 2004 at 07:18
Wolfie,

You have seen into my master plan LOL

Looks like I'll have to try another approach to rule the world.

But a few holes sound like a good idea.....somewhere to hide the cult.....Gofers Rule.......(opps too much info)......ALL HAIL THE GREAT STICKER GOD.

Tony
FollowupID: 330054