Parabolic springs

Submitted: Tuesday, May 20, 2025 at 06:24
ThreadID: 150434 Views:1542 Replies:7 FollowUps:8
I’ve recently purchased an Isuzu Dmax, and looking to upgrade the suspension.
The OE shocks are not great!
Aiming for more weight capability, and decent shockers.
I would like to hear anyone’s thoughts and experiences with parabolic rear leaf springs
Cheers Robbo

Reply By: Member - Duncan2H - Tuesday, May 20, 2025 at 13:45

Tuesday, May 20, 2025 at 13:45
I wrote a review of the Terrain Tamer parabolics I fitted to my HJ47..

Link: https://tinyurl.com/ttparabolics

I am very pleased with them.. they've totally changed the character of my 44 year old 4x4.. especially on corrugations.
AnswerID: 647946

Follow Up By: Member - shane r1 - Tuesday, May 20, 2025 at 16:26

Tuesday, May 20, 2025 at 16:26
Thanks Duncan.
Very good information! If the parabolic’s helped the old troopy they should do the job on the Dmax.
FollowupID: 929083

Reply By: Kenell - Tuesday, May 20, 2025 at 13:54

Tuesday, May 20, 2025 at 13:54
Hi Shane,
I have a 76 Series Landcruiser. I had parabolic springs fitted about 50,000ks ago. I was advised to put the heavy load option in as I have a long range tank and was towing a caravan with 200kg ball weight. I found them harsh and unforgiving when unladen and only fair under load. I called their help line a month or two back and was directed to a local service agent who explained that the heavy duty parabolics are only advisable when they are under constant load. He took a leaf out and they are now much better. Whether they are better than the OE is hard to say now but I am happy with the ride.

Kenell
AnswerID: 647947

Reply By: lkyphl - Tuesday, May 20, 2025 at 15:53

Tuesday, May 20, 2025 at 15:53
Robbo,
From new I had the Pedders GVM upgrade components fitted to my '23 space cab D-max, and I thought the ride worse than any skateboard.
I then swapped that suspension for Terrain Tamer rear parabolics, shocks and struts, and the ride was considerably improved and quite acceptable, especially when unladen. Unfortunately I didn't drive the vehicle with the standard suspension so am unable to offer a comparison.
If you go for the TT parabolics, make sure they have the newer between-leaves blocks ; my originals squeaked unremittingly, even greased.
AnswerID: 647948

Reply By: Batt's - Tuesday, May 20, 2025 at 16:38

Tuesday, May 20, 2025 at 16:38
Around 4 or 5yrs ago my neighbour bought a new BT50 dual cab which had parabolic springs it was a firm ride when empty but you get that with a ute. Once he fitted a new aluminium canopy and set it up with a fridge and battery etc maybe 200kg all up it was a smoother ride. Some better quality shocks would probably improve it even more but he left the factory ones in.
AnswerID: 647950

Reply By: RMD - Tuesday, May 20, 2025 at 17:14

Tuesday, May 20, 2025 at 17:14
Robbo/Shane
Isuzu don't fit very good shocks to their vehicles. Ok to drive away from the dealers after purchase but not much further. After a short while they will become far less effective. Especially if having to handle trailer mass as well. I replaced mine at 5000km from new, ie, older model.
For more weight carrying the springs have to have MORE Initial "SET" or thicker leaves or a combination of both.
Parabolic to me, is simply the shape of the leaves when viewed from above or below. Side on they are elliptical. It does allow more gradual load acceptance and therefore better ride in many cases. Expect a parabolic spring to be thicker in the leaves for same number of leaves because it isn't full width at it's ends.

If you want long lasting shocks, buy EXPENSIVE at the beginning and they SHOULD then last a long time if a reputable name brand. ie Bilstein or Koni for example.
With new properly operating and controlling shocks you may think you never had any shocks fitted prior to them!
AnswerID: 647951

Follow Up By: Member - shane r1 - Tuesday, May 20, 2025 at 22:30

Tuesday, May 20, 2025 at 22:30
Yep, the standard shocks are “average” well actually crap if I may say so!
I’ve always upgraded pretty quickly too on most of my vehicles. And I’ve just fitted bilsteins to my Suzuki jimmy, and it’s a different vehicle now! So probably being going with them for the Dmax.
FollowupID: 929084

Reply By: Bricky - Wednesday, May 21, 2025 at 06:15

Wednesday, May 21, 2025 at 06:15
All very interesting. I've just ordered a new single cab DMax with a 3650kg gvm, 600kg constant load upgrade. Will be keen to see how it rides with a camper on the back.
AnswerID: 647956

Follow Up By: Member - shane r1 - Wednesday, May 21, 2025 at 13:34

Wednesday, May 21, 2025 at 13:34
It won’t be bad loaded, but with nothing on the back you don’t wanna be on our lovely dirt roads.
FollowupID: 929090

Follow Up By: Bricky - Wednesday, May 21, 2025 at 13:52

Wednesday, May 21, 2025 at 13:52
Camper will be on full time, so should be ok.
Coming from a Fuso truck I reckon it will be luxury.
FollowupID: 929092

Follow Up By: Member - shane r1 - Wednesday, May 21, 2025 at 15:00

Wednesday, May 21, 2025 at 15:00
As RMD said upgrade the shockers, that’ll improve it for sure
FollowupID: 929094

Follow Up By: RMD - Wednesday, May 21, 2025 at 16:17

Wednesday, May 21, 2025 at 16:17
Bricky
With higher mass and centre of GRAVITY, unless the shocks are able to CONTROL that UNUSUAL mass way higher than designed, you WILL DEFINITELY NEED better shock absorbers to be abe to perform that degree of control required.
If relying in the ISUZU STD shocks you will have a vehicle which cannot brake well or handle well. If you are not discerning about shocker performance you might not realize how CORRECT application of shocks make a vehicle much better. I am not recommending any brand but did fit Bilsteins to my Isuzu and the DIFFERENCE was incredible. Handling, braking and road stability, which you will definitely need is NOT POSSIBLE with the OE TOKICO or what ever they are fitting this week!

Best to not find out your shocks are not suitable/worn, BY ACCIDENT! a MONROE PR statement!
FollowupID: 929096

Follow Up By: Bricky - Wednesday, May 21, 2025 at 16:27

Wednesday, May 21, 2025 at 16:27
Thanks. Hopefully the shocks supplied with the GVM upgrade will do the job.
FollowupID: 929097

Follow Up By: RMD - Wednesday, May 21, 2025 at 21:16

Wednesday, May 21, 2025 at 21:16
Bricky
Yes, they should tighten the system up quite a bit !
FollowupID: 929106

Reply By: Member - Andrew M63 - Wednesday, May 21, 2025 at 21:55

Wednesday, May 21, 2025 at 21:55
I have parabolic leaf springs in my 2020 hilux. I got a ARB BP51 GVM upgrade pre rego with 600kg constant rated leaf springs. I installed a canopy and found the leaf's were not up the task. ARB wanted to install another leaf in each pack which didn't sound right to me. Instead I took them out and installed Terrain Tamers parabolic 700kg constant rated leaf springs. I was the first Hilux in Oz to get the first 700kg pack. They are fantastic but they squeak like crazy. i have some plastic blocks I need to try.

Don't waste your time or money. Get parabolic leafs if you are considering a GVM upgrade.

AnswerID: 647961