Gate etiquette

Submitted: Saturday, May 31, 2025 at 07:30
ThreadID: 150506 Views:1804 Replies:6 FollowUps:23
https://www.facebook.com/groups/ContactSAABR/permalink/4923870357838557/?
It’s not hard is it?
I liken it to if you are in someone else’s home, you leave things as you find them
Or isn’t that common behaviour either.
People that do this stuff probably make the most noise about not being able to go into place that get locked up
For those that are not on FB
Copy and paste from mount Ive station
A disappointing post to have to make but here we are. PLEASE, if you are visiting us here at Mt Ive, remember that we are a working sheep station. While we are lucky enough to be able to allow access to a number of tracks throughout the property so our guests can get a really good look around, these tracks take you through our work area and at times you will pass through gates that are used to contain our stock. It is so very important that you please leave all gates as you find them - if they are open great, leave them that way, but if they are closed then it is imperative that you shut them (properly, the same way we have them latched) after yourself. If you are travelling in convoy we suggest the easiest way to ensure this rule is followed is by having the lead vehicle, the one who opens the gate, pull to the side and let the rest of the convoy pass through so the same person who opened the gate can then shut it afterwards.
Unfortunately we have had an incident this week where several gates have been left open resulting in stock that had been mustered ready for shearing now being loose in paddocks they shouldn't be. This will mean precious time for our station hands attempting to locate several hundred animals they had been lucky enough to locate once already and then further time and effort in trying to re-muster this stock back to the areas they should be in, all within a limited time frame because shearing must go ahead on the scheduled dates. This is obviously a situation we find very disappointing, and we appreciate the assistance of all our guests in helping ensure a similar incident does not occur again (i'm not sure our head stockman could take that, he doesn't have much hair left as it is ??)
Back Expand Un-Read 4 Moderator

Reply By: Member - Jim S1 - Saturday, May 31, 2025 at 08:03

Saturday, May 31, 2025 at 08:03
Mt Ive is a special place and that is so disappointing. In this age of everyone knowing everything , who doesn't know to leave gates as you find them on private property ???

Jim
"Sometimes I sits and thinks, and sometimes I just sits." A fisherman.

"No road is long with good company." Traditional

AnswerID: 648033

Follow Up By: axle - Saturday, May 31, 2025 at 10:19

Saturday, May 31, 2025 at 10:19
G/ Day Jim.

Just the mentality These Days," Stuff you I'm alright"!

FollowupID: 929190

Reply By: Stephen L (Clare) SA - Saturday, May 31, 2025 at 14:22

Saturday, May 31, 2025 at 14:22
Reading this I would say gates left open by city people that have no idea of bush etiquette.

Raised in the country always know the gate rule, always as you found it.

AnswerID: 648035

Follow Up By: qldcamper - Saturday, May 31, 2025 at 15:01

Saturday, May 31, 2025 at 15:01
It's common sense, another severely lacking commodity these days.
FollowupID: 929192

Follow Up By: Batt's - Sunday, Jun 01, 2025 at 08:39

Sunday, Jun 01, 2025 at 08:39
Good to see you narrowed it down nothing biased about that hey.
FollowupID: 929193

Follow Up By: Stephen L (Clare) SA - Sunday, Jun 01, 2025 at 09:21

Sunday, Jun 01, 2025 at 09:21
Nothing biased at all, it’s a fact.

How many city people would know how to open a Cockys Gate, or even know what it is.

FollowupID: 929194

Follow Up By: Member - shane r1 - Sunday, Jun 01, 2025 at 12:03

Sunday, Jun 01, 2025 at 12:03
Gday Stephen,
You are right about cocky gates. But some I reckon struggle with the simple chain on a swing gate. But also most places I’ve found , that are commonly publicly accessible don’t have cocky gates to deal with.
It’s the not leaving things as you find them generally that’s bad. Gates, rubbish etc.
FollowupID: 929195

Follow Up By: Batt's - Sunday, Jun 01, 2025 at 12:50

Sunday, Jun 01, 2025 at 12:50
Where's the facts you based this particular situation on ignorance ?
My parents both grew up on their parents farms in northern nsw then moved to Newcastle my dads father treated us like city kids not capable of learning and taught us absolutely nothing for the 20yrs I knew him but his wife our granmother taught us everything she could from hand milking cows cutting cane rounding up cattle gardening even cooking etc. So my wonderful grandfather had a problem with city kids seems like 40yrs later the disease is still in the communities and hasn't stopped spreading.
FollowupID: 929199

Reply By: Batt's - Sunday, Jun 01, 2025 at 08:38

Sunday, Jun 01, 2025 at 08:38
Before you decided to post it here did you take the time to contact recent visitors about the issue so they are aware of it then maybe it can be solved in-house just asking as there was mention in the post.
You let people onto your property thinking your doing a good thing there will always be one person that will let you down and stuff things up for the rest.
AnswerID: 648036

Follow Up By: Member - shane r1 - Sunday, Jun 01, 2025 at 12:05

Sunday, Jun 01, 2025 at 12:05
I’m not from mount Ive.
I just saw the mount Ive post on FB and shared it to SAABR and here , because it’s never going to hurt trying to educate people.
Cheers Robbo
FollowupID: 929196

Follow Up By: Batt's - Sunday, Jun 01, 2025 at 12:52

Sunday, Jun 01, 2025 at 12:52
OK so you were bored
FollowupID: 929200

Follow Up By: Member - shane r1 - Sunday, Jun 01, 2025 at 18:48

Sunday, Jun 01, 2025 at 18:48
No not bored! Why do you think that?
This is a subject that comes up from time to time . And if you’re a land owner/operator it’s very important.
FollowupID: 929204

Reply By: Garry L - Sunday, Jun 01, 2025 at 10:57

Sunday, Jun 01, 2025 at 10:57
A few people on here might remember about 25 or so years ago the manager of Anna Creek Station got sacked for leaving a gate open resulting in a few thousand head of cattle getting out !
AnswerID: 648037

Follow Up By: Member - shane r1 - Sunday, Jun 01, 2025 at 12:06

Sunday, Jun 01, 2025 at 12:06
Wow , very tough employers, or maybe that was a last straw?
FollowupID: 929197

Follow Up By: Garry L - Sunday, Jun 01, 2025 at 12:13

Sunday, Jun 01, 2025 at 12:13
Shane

I don't know the full story but someone I knew at the time was working on Todmorden Station and told me about it !

Gazz
FollowupID: 929198

Follow Up By: Batt's - Sunday, Jun 01, 2025 at 12:54

Sunday, Jun 01, 2025 at 12:54
Was he city or country Stephen might be able to shed some non bias facts on this.
FollowupID: 929201

Follow Up By: Garry L - Sunday, Jun 01, 2025 at 15:18

Sunday, Jun 01, 2025 at 15:18
Somebody woke up cranky this morning !
FollowupID: 929202

Follow Up By: Sir Kev - Sunday, Jun 01, 2025 at 16:07

Sunday, Jun 01, 2025 at 16:07
Batt's

I wonder if it was one of Stephens flood gates that was left open?

FollowupID: 929203

Reply By: Batt's - Sunday, Jun 01, 2025 at 17:38

Sunday, Jun 01, 2025 at 17:38
Myself being born in Newcastle so classed as a city dweller if I was going to set up my farm for visitors sorting out the gate situation would be high on the list. They have evolved over the years with even very basic simple ideas for self open and closing so it helps eliminate human error or laziness. No big expense needed even I know that.
AnswerID: 648038

Follow Up By: Member - shane r1 - Sunday, Jun 01, 2025 at 18:52

Sunday, Jun 01, 2025 at 18:52
There are also gates on some public accessible roads that aren’t part of a property that’s involved in tourism. So people in general need to be educated on gate etiquette.
FollowupID: 929205

Follow Up By: Batt's - Sunday, Jun 01, 2025 at 19:53

Sunday, Jun 01, 2025 at 19:53
Very limited audience also lots of gates have signs on them and it's usually written down on web sites etc as part of entry conditions or whatever category they chose to put it under. Good luck with it maybe you can get onto round a bouts next there are a lot of them.
FollowupID: 929206

Follow Up By: qldcamper - Monday, Jun 02, 2025 at 07:29

Monday, Jun 02, 2025 at 07:29
Cameras are cheap these days.
FollowupID: 929207

Follow Up By: Member - shane r1 - Monday, Jun 02, 2025 at 07:56

Monday, Jun 02, 2025 at 07:56
Batts,
Yes I realise this forum has a limited audience. But putting it on here does reach some.
It’s an important issue.
Why are you being a wanker about this?
FollowupID: 929208

Follow Up By: Garry L - Monday, Jun 02, 2025 at 08:18

Monday, Jun 02, 2025 at 08:18
Shane

Some people just like to argue for the sake of it and think they are smarter than everyone else !

Glad I don't have to spend time out bush, camp or travel with these types of people !

Nothing wrong with posting your topic, good reminder for some and good advice to new outback travellers who might be new to this site !

Gazz
FollowupID: 929209

Follow Up By: Member - David M (SA) - Monday, Jun 02, 2025 at 10:46

Monday, Jun 02, 2025 at 10:46
Not to sure about the Wa--er description Shane. Much prefer " Owner Operator"
Dave.
FollowupID: 929211

Follow Up By: Batt's - Monday, Jun 02, 2025 at 14:41

Monday, Jun 02, 2025 at 14:41
Takes one to know one Shane if your still comfortable resorting to your school yard ways.
FollowupID: 929212

Follow Up By: Member - shane r1 - Monday, Jun 02, 2025 at 14:46

Monday, Jun 02, 2025 at 14:46
And I thought sharing this post on here would not have facebook type negativity
FollowupID: 929213

Reply By: Bob Y. - Qld - Monday, Jun 02, 2025 at 08:01

Monday, Jun 02, 2025 at 08:01
Well, I’d suggest a lot of parents are too blame. Sitting up in the front seats, comfortable & relaxed, so when a gate appears, they get the kids to open it. All good, drive through the gateway, but if this is done too quickly, and the vehicle rolls a couple of car lengths too far, the kid’s flight mode is activated, and all the gate opener wants to do is get back to the safety of the vehicle.
They may shut the gate, and perhaps latch it, but any decent gust of wind will test their latching skills, or lack thereof.

Any group of more than five vehicles, once they get spread out, can leave gates open without decent communication, or a system in place, ie: a rock, a stick or a lump of cow poo, on the gate post denotes “Close the bloody gate”!

AnswerID: 648039

Follow Up By: Allan B (Sunshine Coast) - Monday, Jun 02, 2025 at 10:34

Monday, Jun 02, 2025 at 10:34
Bob, I didn't know about the "rock, stick or cow poo" on the gate post.
But I do remember my father saying…. "If you get there first, put a rock on the post and if I get there first I'll knock it off."

FollowupID: 929210