Rodent deterrence for engine bay etc
Submitted: Thursday, Jul 17, 2025 at 12:19
Member - John
G'day, after your thoughts, experiences etc on under bonnet rodent deterrence devices, sprays, baits etc etc, what have you found that works best? TIA
Reply By: Kazza055 - Thursday, Jul 17, 2025 at 12:48
Thursday, Jul 17, 2025 at 12:48
Have you tried installing a cat? ;=))
Follow Up By: Member - John - Thursday, Jul 17, 2025 at 12:50
Thursday, Jul 17, 2025 at 12:50
Had to have a chuckle at that answer. I am a Cat's member, but hate the bloody things.
Follow Up By: greybeard - Thursday, Jul 17, 2025 at 13:16
Thursday, Jul 17, 2025 at 13:16
Have you ever seen a cat that was 'installed' in the engine bay after it has passed through the fan?
Follow Up By: RMD - Thursday, Jul 17, 2025 at 15:33
Thursday, Jul 17, 2025 at 15:33
Greybeard.
They do look different after entering a MBC MINI engine bay and trying to EXIT quickly through the Fan blowing from inside to outside/ LH wheel arch. Slightly messy.
Reply By: Bricky - Thursday, Jul 17, 2025 at 13:11
Thursday, Jul 17, 2025 at 13:11
We zip tie a couple of rat blocks in the engine bay of each vehicle. Seems to get rid of them. Also, if I remember I leave the bonnet open. Bloody things can do some damage
Follow Up By: Member - John - Thursday, Jul 17, 2025 at 13:30
Thursday, Jul 17, 2025 at 13:30
Thanks, that is what I have done at present, looking for any other ideas.
Follow Up By: Stephen L (Clare) SA - Thursday, Jul 17, 2025 at 14:09
Thursday, Jul 17, 2025 at 14:09
The rat blocks are not a deterrent, actually attracts them in for a free feed.
Follow Up By: Member - McLaren3030 - Friday, Jul 18, 2025 at 08:23
Friday, Jul 18, 2025 at 08:23
As Stephen has suggested, baits are not a deterrent, they are actually an attractant, they will encourage rats. You just have to hope that they are more of an attraction than the wiring. Whilst I do not have any personal experience, many people have said that
bright lights in the engine bay seem to be effective.
Macca.
Follow Up By: Member - Gordon B5 - Saturday, Jul 19, 2025 at 21:49
Saturday, Jul 19, 2025 at 21:49
I’m here to dispute
bright lights under the bonnet work. Almost $900 spent that says it doesn’t work.
Follow Up By: Allan B (Sunshine Coast) - Sunday, Jul 20, 2025 at 08:25
Sunday, Jul 20, 2025 at 08:25
Gordon, your expression noted, but tell us more. I am interested and concerned.
Follow Up By: Member - Gordon B5 - Sunday, Jul 20, 2025 at 23:45
Sunday, Jul 20, 2025 at 23:45
Left bonnet up on wife’s VW with 2 lights across the engine bay. Lights left on 24/7 while we were away for almost 4 weeks. Had bait stations around the shed as
well. At the time we were living rural, nearest neighbour 2 km away & 350-400 mts from the coast. Bottom of
Yorke peninsula. When we got
home car started ok but was in limp mode. Took us nearly all day to drive it to the Barossa, nearest dealer at the time.They got into the wiring between back of engine & firewall.That was the 2nd time, same location on the wiring.
The 1st time we left the car outside thinking it would be colder & they wouldn’t go near it that didn’t work either. Had them chew out the wiring on 14 month old freezer in the shed, think they were in there because it was warm from the motor. Had a neighbour pull in one day & he jumped to the back of his Ute & grabbed a shovel, said what going on ? He’d spotted a large brown snake & couldn’t believe it when I told him to leave it be. They eat mice & probably rats so natures way of keeping the numbers down. He still reminds me when we catch up.
Follow Up By: tim_c - Friday, Sep 12, 2025 at 10:24
Friday, Sep 12, 2025 at 10:24
I wouldn't use baits in the engine bay - not only do they potentially attract rodents, they also take several days to kill the rodent after eating the bait... they can chew through a lot of wiring in that time!
You can get 12v ultrasonic deterrents which might be a better option, but I'm not sure how effective these are.
Reply By: Kenell - Thursday, Jul 17, 2025 at 13:33
Thursday, Jul 17, 2025 at 13:33
I probably have a solution but since you are a
Geelong supporter my Hawthorn supporting family have said you can work it out for yourself !!
Can't leave you hanging :-
If you are concerned about the vehicle while it is in a shed I have several bait stations that seem to keep them out. As someone else has suggested perhaps cable tieing a few blocks around the engine bay will probably be effective. I live on a rural property so they are part of life. In the house I am experimenting with the sonic devices and all good so far.
Oh and for the record I am an ABC supporter :-
Anyone But Collingwood.
Follow Up By: Member - John - Thursday, Jul 17, 2025 at 16:16
Thursday, Jul 17, 2025 at 16:16
ABC supporter myself, LOL
Reply By: Stephen L (Clare) SA - Thursday, Jul 17, 2025 at 14:14
Thursday, Jul 17, 2025 at 14:14
A good deterrent is cotton wall balls soaked in peppermint oil, or make up a mixture of
water and peppermint oil in spray bottle and spray inside your engine bay and over your motor.
Reply By: Rangiephil - Thursday, Jul 17, 2025 at 14:56
Thursday, Jul 17, 2025 at 14:56
I understand that placing a
bright light in the engine bay can keep them away. But I am no expert. They chewed on the wiring of my BMW many years ago. trouble is that wiring insulation is now vegetable based.
Follow Up By: RMD - Thursday, Jul 17, 2025 at 15:39
Thursday, Jul 17, 2025 at 15:39
I wonder which Vegetable thought of making insulation from plants. Probably doesn't make a difference,
On my Son In Laws Black OLDHEN commodore the 6 litre motor won't go. Across the bottom under radiator, the RATS chewed a 100mm long section of around 15 wires, completely GONE. All cut off like it was Sidecutters used.
Reply By: Member - LeighW - Thursday, Jul 17, 2025 at 15:36
Thursday, Jul 17, 2025 at 15:36
Camphor balls, and bait, hopefully they eat the bait and not the wiring
Reply By: Allan B (Sunshine Coast) - Thursday, Jul 17, 2025 at 15:51
Thursday, Jul 17, 2025 at 15:51
In the past I have seen recommendations for lights in the engine bay and, me being me, opted to try that.
However I added an extra touch. Instead of just steady LED lights I installed a pair of stroboscopic lights. My logic was that these can be very disorientating as they are a brief and strong assault on human vision so I hope that rodents have the same sensitivity. Also the strobing uses less
battery power.
So far, so good.
Reply By: Member - Bigfish - Thursday, Jul 17, 2025 at 18:32
Thursday, Jul 17, 2025 at 18:32
We have a big problem with the white tailed rat up on the
Atherton tablelands, chewing wiring when
camping. Led lights in the engine bay and under the body has stopped the bludgers. I know some use a strobe light in the engine bay as
well. The lights definitely work. Baits etc. do not work anywhere near as effectively and could lead to other animals ingesting and dying...
Follow Up By: Allan B (Sunshine Coast) - Thursday, Jul 17, 2025 at 20:09
Thursday, Jul 17, 2025 at 20:09
Good to hear of a confirmed case of effectivity of lights.
Reply By: IvanTheTerrible - Thursday, Jul 17, 2025 at 20:13
Thursday, Jul 17, 2025 at 20:13
Remove the engine cover and leave the bonnet open at night and dont leave any rat food near the vehicle. This is what we advise the local farmers and it's working so far. For bigger equipment we recommend Wurth Rodent Protection spray. The downside it is very sticky and collects dust, dirt and
debris.
Reply By: Max E - Friday, Jul 18, 2025 at 06:06
Friday, Jul 18, 2025 at 06:06
Set baits on a perimeter line out from what you want to protect.
Mine are in pvc pipe. You want to stop them getting in.
Sets traps at what you want to protect and lights do help. If they get in you need to catch them. They dont die instantly from baits.
Reply By: Garry L - Friday, Jul 18, 2025 at 10:21
Friday, Jul 18, 2025 at 10:21
I duct tape an eastern brown snake to the engine cover each night - haven't seen a mouse in ages :)
Reply By: Member - Rob S (NSW) - Monday, Jul 21, 2025 at 10:18
Monday, Jul 21, 2025 at 10:18
After trying a few things giving this ultra sonic device a try nothing to lose.
ebay
Used the bait blocks , they tend to melt and make a mess , if you leave them in and drive, even in the coolest place in the engine bay, plus lucky to find a few victims wedged down near the battery ,would have got rather smelly eventually.
Moth balls are just wrong , the smell they are even overpowering for me, will try the peppermint oil as someone suggested.
Cheers Rob
Follow Up By: Kenell - Monday, Jul 21, 2025 at 12:24
Monday, Jul 21, 2025 at 12:24
"Moth balls are just wrong , the smell they are even overpowering for me"
Blimey - how did you get your head between his legs?
Reply By: Member - Cuppa - Saturday, Aug 02, 2025 at 09:52
Saturday, Aug 02, 2025 at 09:52
Contrary to the experience of others here we found an open bonnet &
bright light suspended above worked
well.
Setting was a 12 month stint in the Iron Range rainforest,
Cape York, during which a number of visitors had wiring etc chewed on mainly by melomys'.
The Melomys' were a real nuisance, they would gnaw extensive holes in garden hoses, rubber mats & even the rubber sealing ring on the kitchen sink plugs.
Under bonnet car parts were an easy target for them. They got us once. Amazingly piercing a thick rubber coolant hose, but thankfully not any wiring. Following this we hooked up a 240v LED globe hung from the open bonnet every night & did not sustain any further damage over the following 8 months.
Thankfully damage from the 1kg+ White tailed rats was limited to a coaxial cable for satellite internet on the roof & and a wrecked bed blanket (multiple holes gnawed) from these shap toothed 'monster rats' which regularly gnaw holes into coconuts to eat the coconut 'meat'.
At another rainforest location we had Melomys' nest building on a regularly used doormat. Peppermint oil was used to good effect.
Someone we got to know swore by spraying everything under the bonnet with cheap hairspray when leaving his Toyota unused for a period of time. Never tried it myself.