PX1 Ranger antenna issue

Submitted: Sunday, Apr 19, 2026 at 10:29
ThreadID: 152390 Views:180 Replies:2 FollowUps:5
G'day All

I fitted a new android auto head unit to my trusty old PX1 Ranger work ute over the easter weekend and despite some minor hiccups and hurdles have it working well and very happy with it. Only issue I have is I can only pick up my local radio station here in Murray Bridge so figured it's an aerial problem. When removing the old unit I broke a small connector on a small coaxial cable which was part of the factory loom. The new unit came with an adaptor cable/plug to join into the connector I broke. I bought a new aerial and figured that would solve my problem so removed everything on the B pillar, the overhead console and half the roof lining to remove factory antenna. The factory antenna had a small wire/connector alongside the coaxial cable which joined into a small cable that went to what appears to be another antenna inside the B pillar - the new antenna I bought does not have this small cable and after all my effort with the new antenna I still can only get my local radio station.

So would anyone know what that extra little cable is for and what it plugs into and if I source another antenna whether factory or aftermarket with the extra little cable/connector would that solve my one radio station issue ?

Look forward to all replies and advice

Gazz
Back Reply Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Rangiephil - Sunday, Apr 19, 2026 at 11:29

Sunday, Apr 19, 2026 at 11:29
Probably a signal amplifier.
New cars with stubby antennas mostly have signal amplifiers.
AnswerID: 649138

Follow Up By: Kazza055 - Sunday, Apr 19, 2026 at 13:15

Sunday, Apr 19, 2026 at 13:15
My thoughts are that the little wire is supplying power to the head end amplifier and without the 12V, you are seriously reducing the strength of the signal getting to the head unit.

Try running a temperary fused power supply to the external antenna and see if that increases the range.
FollowupID: 930850

Follow Up By: Allan B (Sunshine Coast) - Sunday, Apr 19, 2026 at 15:12

Sunday, Apr 19, 2026 at 15:12
Garry said… "the new antenna I bought does not have this small cable " so I don't see how he could connect a temporary power supply to it.
But of course, the original antenna may well have employed a power supply and may explain the wire going to "to what appears to be another antenna inside the B pillar " which is possibly a regulated power module.

Where are the experienced car radio experts when we need them? Oh wait, it's Sunday and not many Members viewing. Only those of us with little else to do! lol

FollowupID: 930852

Reply By: Allan B (Sunshine Coast) - Sunday, Apr 19, 2026 at 12:46

Sunday, Apr 19, 2026 at 12:46
Garry, You have approached the problem as many unskilled persons would….. "Maybe it is a faulty antenna"….. and installed a new one. That did not solve the issue so now you are proposing "if I source another antenna". What evidence caused you to identify an antenna fault? How many antennas will you purchase before concluding that maybe it is something else and having another stab in the dark?
This is not the way to go about trouble shooting an issue. Maybe you will have less pain and cost by engaging a professional car radio technician.

And what did you do about repairing the "small connector" that you broke? Being on a coax cable it needs to be repaired correctly. Coax connections on RF cables are not the same as 12 volt connections. They need to be done right in order to perform correctly. As you can receive only your local radio station it suggests that your radio is not receiving an adequate RF signal from the more distant stations and that signal loss could be anywhere along the signal path. Assuming of course that the problem is not within your new head unit. Keep fiddling and you may achieve a cure but it is unlikely and costly if you keep purchasing speculative components.

AnswerID: 649139

Follow Up By: Garry L - Sunday, Apr 19, 2026 at 15:16

Sunday, Apr 19, 2026 at 15:16
Howdy Allan

Firstly, you are correct - I am unskilled in this field !

I didn't think the antenna was faulty just that the coaxial cable was damaged/cut when I removed the factory head unit so I bought a car radio aerial antenna male plug adapter, removed the factory cloth outer on the cable, then stripped the plastic outer exposing the metal braid, stripped the white plastic insulation exposing the hair thin copper conductor wire. Soldered that wire into the new male adaptor and finished the same way as UHF Aerials, plugged it into the new unit and no change to radio reception.
Then with my unskilled way of thinking, thought I would just get a new antenna and cable and bypass the old factory cable all together but removing the factory antenna exposed that extra little cable to what looks like another sort of antenna inside the B pillar hence me posting here.

Re: professional car radio technician - yes that is my next step if I can't get this sorted with help on here !

Appreciate you reply

Gazz

FollowupID: 930853

Follow Up By: Allan B (Sunshine Coast) - Sunday, Apr 19, 2026 at 16:18

Sunday, Apr 19, 2026 at 16:18
Gazz,
a) When you fitted the new coaxial plug and soldered the "hair thin copper conductor" did you also correctly connect the coax braid to the body of the plug? These coax connectors can be difficult to wire up.
b) Are the two antennas of the Shark Fin type or the Whip type?
c) If the factory antenna had two cables, one being the coax and the other being a "small wire" it is a safe bet that the small wire was a power supply to an incorporated signal amplifier within the base of the antenna. If your new antenna does not have this booster feature then the signal being delivered to the head unit would probably be insufficient for all but a local station.
The object in the B pillar would not be an antenna but was probably a power supply module for the factory antenna.
d) Did the old head unit deliver adequate radio performance before removal? If so it is likely that the factory antenna was performing as it should and it may be best to re-install it. Then look for other reason why the new head unit is not delivering adequate performance.

FollowupID: 930854

Follow Up By: Garry L - Sunday, Apr 19, 2026 at 17:16

Sunday, Apr 19, 2026 at 17:16

Thanks for the reply.

Fitted the braid properly.
Whip type antenna ( factory )
Old factory head unit had very good reception and worked well on all stations.
Everything else on the new unit works well and even without any antenna plugged in it picks up the local station albeit faint and very crackly.

" it is a safe bet that the small wire was a power supply to an incorporated signal amplifier within the base of the antenna."

This in my unskilled way of thinking this is where the problem lies !
So I will re-fit factory antenna, connect the small wire back to where I unplugged it then I will need a cable only to plug into factory antenna then into the new head unit. Hopefully this fixes the problem because if the local auto electricians here in the Bridge can't do it or aren't interested then it is a trip into Adelaide which I'm not keen on doing !

Appreciate your help with this

Gazz
Ps did you hear about the two antennas that met on a roof, fell in love and decided to get married.
The wedding was crap but the reception was good :)

FollowupID: 930855