My new GU has finally arrived!!!

Submitted: Tuesday, Aug 03, 2004 at 08:14
ThreadID: 15251 Views:2806 Replies:7 FollowUps:16
Morning All,

Well, I got the call to make my heart flutter last night, my new burnt silver GU (DX)4.2 TDI has arrived at Nissan. It was last night transported to another Nissan where the bar, the tow bar, my lightforce 240's, cargo barrier, all that rust/fabric protection crap, cargo mat, sandgrabber mats are installed and/or done.

I have pulled out of the existing beast my uhf and antenna, amp, erps, arb compressor and hand free kit ready for install when delivered. In storage, the new navigation system is ready to install. Over the next 5 months I intend on doing a set of installs per month. Here's my list:

Aug: Kinsley sidesteps, lamby seat cover front and rear, dash mat and general protection stuff, erps, tint.

Sept: 285's MT/R's with 3 inch heavy duty dobinson lift kit and new wheels. Not sure on type yet.

Oct: CD Player, speakers, amp and small removable sub, uhf install, handsfree, gps 12volt holder and navigation system.

Nov: Air Locker and Twine shower.

Dec: Rear drawer and fridge slide to throw the engel on.

So that's the list, bl$$dy expensive, but setup by end of year for my cape trip next year. Can you tell that I've been waiting for 10 weeks for my new truck???

Will announce my babies arrival as soon as information is to hand!

Chris.

Reply By: Rob W. - Tuesday, Aug 03, 2004 at 08:47

Tuesday, Aug 03, 2004 at 08:47
Congatulations Chris on your new arrival, I hope you have many, many years of happy offroading together. Your project list sounds great!!! Can't wait to see the pics.

Rob
AnswerID: 71019

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 03, 2004 at 09:43

Tuesday, Aug 03, 2004 at 09:43
Hi Rob,

Thanks mate, project list long and $$$, but enjoy building up a 4wd. Hope to have the new beast for 10 years I'd reckon, depending on my situation and what sort of techo 4wd Nissan bring out, like the mechanical donk, not the technical!

Chris.
FollowupID: 331227

Reply By: Muddy 'doe (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 03, 2004 at 09:01

Tuesday, Aug 03, 2004 at 09:01

I know what you are goin' thru. My Prado took 16 weeks to be delivered from the date of order.

The worst part is when it is sitting there all ready to go in the dealers yard and you are just waiting on some bit of paperwork. Mine was a leasing deal so there was a lot of paperwork! You can see it. You can even touch it. But you can't drive it.

Enjoy.
Muddy 'doe
AnswerID: 71023

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 03, 2004 at 09:40

Tuesday, Aug 03, 2004 at 09:40
Muddy,

Absolutely! My biggest problem at the moment is that I forgot to pay the residual on the loan on my current truck (keeping it as a tax deduction...gotta love em!) and it apparently takes 3 days to clear even if depositing cash. So I may not get the truck till Monday, hopefully Friday if I go and see the bank and try twist there arms!

Looking forward to another project, the other one is done and I wanted to do more but there wasn't all that much left to do...

Good line to mate, you can see, you can touch it, but you can't drive it! Dropped off the couple of things to Nissan last night and saw it, wanted to jump in it then and take it for a testy, but to no avail!

Chris.
FollowupID: 331226

Reply By: Member - Captain (WA) - Tuesday, Aug 03, 2004 at 10:22

Tuesday, Aug 03, 2004 at 10:22
Hi Chris,

Have fun fitting out all the goodies. I have now had my "new" GU for 10 months and still have a few things left to do, thought it would be all done within a few months!

AnswerID: 71033

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 03, 2004 at 12:16

Tuesday, Aug 03, 2004 at 12:16
Thanks mate, your probably right, I'm dreaming thinking it'll all be done by Christmas! Anyway, dreams are free... :-)
FollowupID: 331241

Reply By: madcow - Tuesday, Aug 03, 2004 at 11:50

Tuesday, Aug 03, 2004 at 11:50
Chris, I have a Twine shower installed in my 03 4.2 TDI. I will dig up the file tonight and if you could email me I will pass on my setup if that helps. I did pass on this info to the people at Twine showers who may possibly still have it. If required i still have the prototype bracket for mounting the heat exchanger on the exhaust manifold.

AnswerID: 71044

Follow Up By: madcow - Tuesday, Aug 03, 2004 at 11:56

Tuesday, Aug 03, 2004 at 11:56
dave.charlton@ap.effem.com
FollowupID: 331239

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 03, 2004 at 11:57

Tuesday, Aug 03, 2004 at 11:57
G'day Madcow,
I'd be interested in that bracket mate, if you could email me I'd be grateful.
My Twine is mounted off some very agricultural bracket work I cobbled together myself; it hangs off the firewall, but because mine has ABS there's a lot of pipes going along that area and I've had to suspend it out about 4" from the firewall. It's okay, but I do worry about the stresses and flex.
My email addy is:
broa7042 AT bigpond DOT net DOT au
Cheers mate.
FollowupID: 331240

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 03, 2004 at 12:17

Tuesday, Aug 03, 2004 at 12:17
Hi Madcow,

Will appreciate that!

Thanks.
FollowupID: 331242

Follow Up By: Member - Ivan (ACT) - Tuesday, Aug 03, 2004 at 12:44

Tuesday, Aug 03, 2004 at 12:44
guys, quick question on the Twine... Is the water hot enough at idle, or do you need to increase the revs to get the water flow through the heat exchanger to up the temp on the output????

Ivan
2008 D4D Prado

FollowupID: 331249

Follow Up By: madcow - Tuesday, Aug 03, 2004 at 13:55

Tuesday, Aug 03, 2004 at 13:55
We pull water out of high country streams which are bloody freezing this time of the year and we do need to increase revs to get warmer water. Recirculating out of a drum does help heat it up though.
FollowupID: 331267

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 03, 2004 at 13:57

Tuesday, Aug 03, 2004 at 13:57
usually rev at 1000 to get operating temp up, then all good at idle for us, but that is out of a tank in the camper.
FollowupID: 331268

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 03, 2004 at 13:58

Tuesday, Aug 03, 2004 at 13:58
G'day Ivan,
Mate, it depends on a few factors.....
1). temperature of the water going in is the biggest one.
2). what temperature you want the water at when it comes out
3). what pressure you want it to come out.

Now, let me explain.....

The ambient temp of water in the high country is bloody cold. If this is where you are, your best best is to not be in a hurry to shower etc and be prepared to re-circulate the water through the heat exchanger for 10 to 15 minutes with truck idling @ 1200 to 1500 rpm

If you want the water for washing up dishes, it's gunna need to be hotter than if you want to shower.

You can adjust the water output pressure using the small button-type regulator on the shower rose. The more you restrict the flow, the warmer the water temp will be cos the water is spending a bit longer inside the exchanger unit.

Hope this helps a bit
FollowupID: 331269

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 03, 2004 at 14:00

Tuesday, Aug 03, 2004 at 14:00
Good answer Roachie! That will most assuredly work if the weather is tending to be a little nipply...
FollowupID: 331270

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 03, 2004 at 11:52

Tuesday, Aug 03, 2004 at 11:52
G'day Chris
Congratulations on the arrival of your new baby. I hope dad and bub are both doing well. You'll find that all new borns can be a handful at first and there will need to be a few changes around the house. Certain other household members may display jealous tendancies.
You'll find yourself getting up in the middle of the night to just go and watch the new arrival sleep. There will be an urge (almost uncontrollable) to stir her up and get out and about. Never mind, it starts to wain after about 4 years.
In the meantime, you'll get lots of pleasure out of going to the shops and buying all the new toys to throw at her and make her into the street-wise, bad-ass, yota-beating, son-of-a-beach that you've dreamt of.
Well, that's how it is for me anyway....LOLOLOL
AnswerID: 71045

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 03, 2004 at 12:21

Tuesday, Aug 03, 2004 at 12:21
Roachie,

I do that now, and I'm driving a GQ, imagine what'ill be like with the newborn.

I've heard of after birth jealousy from certain household members and they do tend to display great disdain when large amounts of time are spent alone with the baby in the shed. I will draw up a schedule so time spent with the newborn equals that spent with other household members.

Will post a pici once in my hot little hands. I'm sure all are keen to see if it looks like me, the missus, or the milkman!

Chris.
FollowupID: 331243

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 04, 2004 at 07:08

Wednesday, Aug 04, 2004 at 07:08
No I haven't. Is it a reasonable system?
FollowupID: 331402

Reply By: rolande- Tuesday, Aug 03, 2004 at 17:25

Tuesday, Aug 03, 2004 at 17:25
Chris,
With all those goodies, you forgot the main one, "upgraded alarm system and safe in the house to hide keys", to keep those slimy crim hands off your ney toy.
There have been several posts letely about others pride and joy going missing.
Rolande
AnswerID: 71096

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 03, 2004 at 17:28

Tuesday, Aug 03, 2004 at 17:28
True that mate, will be fitting alarm when stereo goes in, can't remember which month! Thanks for the hot tip!
FollowupID: 331313

Follow Up By: rolande- Tuesday, Aug 03, 2004 at 18:39

Tuesday, Aug 03, 2004 at 18:39
Chris,
Let us know which one you go for and how it is, will save me a bit of a headache trying to sort through good from bad
Rolande
p.s Piranha make a waterproof one, have you seen it?
FollowupID: 331340

Reply By: Member - Cookster(VIC) - Tuesday, Aug 03, 2004 at 20:09

Tuesday, Aug 03, 2004 at 20:09
Chris,

It looks as if you will have a lot of fun shortly. Good luck with your new truck and all your projects.

When you change your stereo, go for one with an MP3 player that reduces the quantity of CD’s you have to carry enormously. We opted for one instead of a cd-changer and it is great – one CD gives hours of entertainment.

AnswerID: 71132

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 04, 2004 at 07:09

Wednesday, Aug 04, 2004 at 07:09
Cookster,

Thanks mate, looking forward to another challenge.

Thanks for the tip mate, does make sense, have about 200 CD's in the car and it does wreck them quite quickly!

Cheers!
FollowupID: 331404