New Nissan Patrol 3.0TD

Submitted: Tuesday, Aug 10, 2004 at 09:39
ThreadID: 15444 Views:4759 Replies:9 FollowUps:17
Sick of Toyotas - have a 80 series 1HZ and a hilux before that and have had heaps of dramas so i'll give Nissan a go. Price is also one of the main factors and the 4cylinder TD also sounds great. Can anyone comment on the Patrol and what other accessories I may need. I have got a price of $51 850 drive away for a 3.0TD ST Patrol Wagon with Steel BBAR, Steel Side Bars and Steps, Driving Lights with protectors, Headlight & Bonnet Protectors, Snorkel, Turbo Timer, Rear Dust Deflector, Canvas Seat Covers, rear Polyair airbags. Other things I have just though of are: rear brake and indicators that work, cargo barrier, roof racks, extended warranty. I think they are introducing a new model with cosmetic changes and are running out the current model.

Can you move the cargo barrier from between the 2nd and 3rd seats to between the 1st and 2nd seats? Cheers

Reply By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 10, 2004 at 09:52

Tuesday, Aug 10, 2004 at 09:52
Justin,

Good on ya mate, just picked up my new beast (4.2TDI) and am really happy with it. I'm not sure, but I think road rules do not allow the lights to be in operation apart from the reverse lights???

Sounds like you've done your homework, 51 sounds pretty good for an ST 3L.

In regards to the seats, check with Nissan, there the only mob that'll give you a straight answer.

Chris.
AnswerID: 71989

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Aug 10, 2004 at 10:02

Tuesday, Aug 10, 2004 at 10:02
Try searching the archives on 3.0's...
AnswerID: 71991

Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 10, 2004 at 11:53

Tuesday, Aug 10, 2004 at 11:53
Another future blown motor post for the forum Truckster?
FollowupID: 332161

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Aug 10, 2004 at 14:02

Tuesday, Aug 10, 2004 at 14:02
As certain as corruption in the police force.
FollowupID: 332186

Follow Up By: Foss - Tuesday, Aug 10, 2004 at 19:57

Tuesday, Aug 10, 2004 at 19:57
good on ya bruce. The Vic Police have been corrupt since BEFORE poor bloody ned!
FollowupID: 332261

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Aug 10, 2004 at 21:36

Tuesday, Aug 10, 2004 at 21:36
They trained him!!!!
FollowupID: 332293

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Aug 10, 2004 at 21:36

Tuesday, Aug 10, 2004 at 21:36
How ya been Mick?
been doing much travelling? What you got now, Ute isnt it?
FollowupID: 332294

Follow Up By: Foss - Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 21:16

Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 21:16
haven't been to far lately mate. Set the ute up pretty well now though. I'll snap a shot and mail it to u. Glad I ditched the 3ltr thuough. 4.2 is much nicer to drive in the bush.
FollowupID: 332568

Reply By: Rob W. - Tuesday, Aug 10, 2004 at 11:13

Tuesday, Aug 10, 2004 at 11:13
Justin,
Sounds like a great buy, you'll be more than happy with it.
I have a series III DX with cargo barrier, and can move the barrier into either position, but am unsure if it possible in the ST,although I can't see why not.
Enjoy
Rob
AnswerID: 71998

Reply By: madcow - Tuesday, Aug 10, 2004 at 11:16

Tuesday, Aug 10, 2004 at 11:16
You can move the milford cargo barrier behind the front seats. Weathershields?, Tint the windows?

AnswerID: 71999

Reply By: Member - Captain (WA) - Tuesday, Aug 10, 2004 at 11:42

Tuesday, Aug 10, 2004 at 11:42
Hi Justin,

I previously had an 80 series 1HZ and decided to go the 3.0TD. You will not reget it, its a great vehicle and streets ahead on the 1HZ for power, particualrly when towing.

You seem to have a good price for all the extras you are getting. As for the cargo barrier, you can move it between the seats. I chose to remove my 3rd row of seat and install a rear draw system (check rig pic).

Good luck with your decision.

AnswerID: 72001

Follow Up By: Justin - Tuesday, Aug 10, 2004 at 11:55

Tuesday, Aug 10, 2004 at 11:55
Captain,
It's certainly a sweet Patrol you have setup! I am hoping to set mine up very similar. Dual batteries will definately be on the cards as will a TX3400 or 4400 and a MP3 CD player. I will certainly not be buying my dual battery isolator from Springers as I installed one in my 80 before my trip to NT 2wks ago and got half way there and realised that is was faulty, nothing a direct connection couldn't fix, but makes you cranky! Lucky the Barra are still OK in the Waeco!!! Was my 2nd trip and 1st Barra (caught 6) - yea ha!!!
FollowupID: 332162

Reply By: GO_OFFROAD - Tuesday, Aug 10, 2004 at 12:29

Tuesday, Aug 10, 2004 at 12:29
Well, just take one for a lengthy drive, if you cant pick any difference in road handling etc, and price is important, then go for it.

AnswerID: 72013

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Tuesday, Aug 10, 2004 at 18:07

Tuesday, Aug 10, 2004 at 18:07
hahahahahahahaha

FollowupID: 332228

Reply By: DARREN - Tuesday, Aug 10, 2004 at 13:38

Tuesday, Aug 10, 2004 at 13:38
Cruise control! another thing that will cost you about $500 before you sign or else they will try to sell it to you for $1,000 5 mins. after. If you get it make sure the LED is put in the blank spot provided on the right hand side of the dash where you can see it rather than the left where it is blocked by the steering wheel. Also a tyre swap, I paid about $500 more and told the dealer to swap the standard ones for 285/75/16 Cooper ST's.
The Nissan cargo barrier is a milford and the one I have does have dual mounts but the forward position is annoying in that it is right in the middle of the rear side doors which makes it hard to get stuff in/out of the back. I am not sure but have heard that you can get ones that have the second mount further forward and if doing it again i would suss this out.
If you are considering upgrading suspension to say OME you also might consider doing this via the dealer and paying around $1,100 for the job rather than $1600 or so from ARB after the purchase.
Also didnt see Towbar mentioned.
AnswerID: 72028

Follow Up By: Justin - Tuesday, Aug 10, 2004 at 14:22

Tuesday, Aug 10, 2004 at 14:22
Silly me, that price includes a towbar and cruise control. They offered the cruise control controller either mounted on the steering wheel or stork mounted. I said steering wheel is the way i'd prefer - any comments? As for the tyres I may see if I can play the game as I have the Bridgestone AT Duellers on my Cruiser, about 30k old and just destroyed one on the hells gate gravel last f/n. I thought they'd be tougher than that - but no. I am a fan of coopers. The suspension I think i'll leave until it's worn, what's your thoughts about the std nissan suspension? I have OME on my cruiser and it's good.
FollowupID: 332190

Follow Up By: DARREN - Tuesday, Aug 10, 2004 at 14:34

Tuesday, Aug 10, 2004 at 14:34
I am no expert on cruise but advice to me was the one on the wheel is the go, and after 35,000k s I am happy with mine like that. I upgraded the suspension to OME and got dual battery shortly after purchase (and got belted by ARB on price as you do) , but know that fellow poster Leroy got a great deal on suspension as part of purchase. I dont normally carry heaps of weight other than a 60l engel in the back but got the suspension for the lift and also to avoid sagging when I do have a bit of stuff in it & trailer on back. I only drove on standard suspension for a month but the difference (aside from lift) with a bit of weight or a couple of blokes in the back is pretty significant. No sure what you are planning to do, but if you are to do trips I think you will end up upgrading susp.
FollowupID: 332192

Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Tuesday, Aug 10, 2004 at 15:06

Tuesday, Aug 10, 2004 at 15:06
Hi Justin,

If going the cruise control, make sure you get the Autron as its the only "fly by wire" that I know of for the GU. Other types eg. AP50, use an actuator on the accelerator pedal. As for the controls, I have mine on the wheel and reckon they are great (and have my LED on the RHS in the switch blank too).

I also have the Cooper ST 285/75, a must have IMHO. I only have stock suspension (so far ;-), but have recently added the airbags for when loaded. I got them via the US mob trucksprings.com. Only cost $170 delivered to my door and took 2 1/2 hrs to install (very easy - most time taken to protect the airlines).

FollowupID: 332196

Follow Up By: Leroy - Tuesday, Aug 10, 2004 at 21:23

Tuesday, Aug 10, 2004 at 21:23
That wacky leroy stuffed up on one thing though. I should of got an Autron cruise. Cant think of the brand I got but it's a cable pull job and the controls on the sterring wheel fowl the indicator stalk when you flash high beam. Also the controls are recessed more than the autron makingit hard to turn the controls on and off

Leroy
FollowupID: 332285

Follow Up By: crowie - Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 09:46

Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 09:46
Nothing wrong with the standard Patrol suspension unless your carrying or towing very heavy loads. Provides a compromise of comfort for on road travel and good (not outstanding) off road handling. Good for 70/80 thousand before you need to look at it. Springs usually go first. Try it first loaded and work out for youself whether you need an upgrade.

Some owners upgrade suspension because they read the publicity blurbs or want to keep up with everyone else.
FollowupID: 332463

Follow Up By: Leroy - Friday, Aug 13, 2004 at 21:37

Friday, Aug 13, 2004 at 21:37
ome cost $980 though nissan dealer. Cost $1500 bucks roughly at ARB. Sold old supension for $200 bucks.

1500 (rougly)
-----------------
500 (round figures are easy for me hehe)
+200 (for old supension)
----------------
$700

Which means I paid roughly $300 in real terms for my suspension. Silly not to do it staight off the bat!

Leroy
FollowupID: 332704

Reply By: crowie - Tuesday, Aug 10, 2004 at 13:57

Tuesday, Aug 10, 2004 at 13:57
You can get a legal rear light kit from Nissan for around $300 + fitting. I did have the part number but seem to have lost it. therwise an auto-electrician can make something up. By the time they do though your probably better off buying the kit. There are several threads on this in the Forum. Don't know whether the dealer would add those as part of the deal though.

You didn't mentioned a dual battery or towbar.

Sounds like a great deal at that price particularly if you also have the safety pack (passenger airbag and ABS), normally a $2000 option. Enjoy.
AnswerID: 72033

Follow Up By: Justin - Tuesday, Aug 10, 2004 at 14:29

Tuesday, Aug 10, 2004 at 14:29
Not keen on the ABS crowie for gravel road driving, and the airbags I am a little concerned about them going off when I bust roos with the bbar, however I asked about the passenger air bag option but I think it only comes with the ABS. I need to do a little more research about the airbags and hitting animals
FollowupID: 332191

Follow Up By: Alex Callaghan - Tuesday, Aug 10, 2004 at 14:55

Tuesday, Aug 10, 2004 at 14:55
RE: Airbags and ABS

Mate, let me usure you that your airbags will only go off if they need to (Ie, a reasonable collision). For ya bags to deploy if ya collected a roo the impact would have to be very reasonable and probably the type of impact that you would want a bag of air seperating your,mrs, kids head from the dash, wheel.
I've hit a few roos in the 100series and never had an airbag go off. I made sure that my bags weren't stuffed at the yota dealer and he told me that that the bags only deploy if you have a considerable colision and my bags were fine.
I would imagine the Nissans Airbags work on the same princible?

As for ABS I have it and have only noticed it being a PITA a few times on gravel roads. I've learnt to deal with it and it's not a big deal for me in anyway these days. It's saved me from running into a few plonkers that hve pulled out in front of me on the black stuff so I would say it's a bloody good thing!
Too many whackas out on the road these days not to have Airbags and ABS in my opinion. Great piece of mind for me and particually for my famialy.
Just my opinion.

PS: So ya going over to the dark-side mate?
FollowupID: 332195

Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Tuesday, Aug 10, 2004 at 15:35

Tuesday, Aug 10, 2004 at 15:35
TOTALLY agree with Alex re: airbags and ABS. It should be compulsory for all new vehicle IMHO. I took that option purely on safety grounds alone, and if worse off-road, was a compromise I was happy to make for my families safety.

However, I find the Nissan ABS to be very good on gravel. Don't think I could stop any quicker without it. But have not tried it on greasy muddy clay on a downhill slope, look forward to that day!!!!

FollowupID: 332199

Reply By: Member - Martin- Tuesday, Aug 10, 2004 at 22:17

Tuesday, Aug 10, 2004 at 22:17
Justin
Welcome to the Nissan family do not listen to some of the comments from other members as long as you are happy that is what counts.

You asked about the standard suspension, if you are a serious off road person and plan on using your suspension to its limits then with the Cooper ST285/75 16s you are going to have to fit at least a two inch lift kit this is what i have and the tyres still sometimes rub the inside of the rear guards on full travel especially if you have got a full load on board and the vehicle handles a lot better on the road i am on my third GU and as soon as i drive it from the car yard it goes to my suspension shop. My extras list is as follows:

Two inch lift kit with Bilstien shocks and lovell springs.
Nissan steel bar.
Warn winch.
Dual batteries.
285/75 16 Cooper STs.
Snorkel.
Hella 4000 spotlights.
Cruise control.
Stone guards and weather shields.
Tinted windows.
Fitted seat covers.
Lap top with GPS and moving map.
Cargo barrier.
Draw system.
2x Engel fridges on slides.
Arb roof rack.
Dual rear wheel carrier.
Nissan tow bar.

And behind the Patrol i tow a 2004 Camprite off road camper with tinnie on top.

We love to travel.
AnswerID: 72098