New Landcruiser - petrol or diesel auto

Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 11, 2004 at 01:14
ThreadID: 15466 Views:5213 Replies:13 FollowUps:31
Thinking about a new Toyota Landcruiser, but it has to have an automatic transmission. What is the best choice for the engine, diesel turbo or petrol?

Uses: 80 - 90% city; highway towing medium van or light boat; medium four wheel drive work - no extreme stuff. However we could be doing a lot of towing of a fairly heavy medium van in the next couple of years.
We want comfort, reliability and robustness - I am not a mechanic, but I don't mind doing routine things like oil changes if necessary.

Thanks in advance.

Reply By: Steve J - Wednesday, Aug 11, 2004 at 01:34

Wednesday, Aug 11, 2004 at 01:34
ev700,
I have one of the v8 petrol 100 series, goes great both on and off road, the 5 speed auto is smooth but the v8 she is thirsty (approx 20l/100km), still you get a lot of petrol for the price difference between the two
Steve J
AnswerID: 72107

Follow Up By: Michael - Wednesday, Aug 11, 2004 at 07:19

Wednesday, Aug 11, 2004 at 07:19
Steve, i hear yesterday that petrol could triple in price in three years,,,, i know what will be good value then.. Michael
FollowupID: 332312

Follow Up By: GO_OFFROAD - Wednesday, Aug 11, 2004 at 09:23

Wednesday, Aug 11, 2004 at 09:23
Another internet urban myth maybe, given now common rail ultra high pressure fuel pumps and heated fuel to change its chemical make up are netting much better fuel economy and power, without the emissions, with current testing netting there is talk we wont be driving diesels in 10 years time.

The set up mentioned is currently being tested in Europe.
FollowupID: 332321

Reply By: fozzy - Wednesday, Aug 11, 2004 at 07:32

Wednesday, Aug 11, 2004 at 07:32
ev700
have td lc100 auto and uses about 10-15l / 100 depending on use
worst case scenario ive had is about 20l/100 fully loaded with gear,4 adults,roof rack loaded with tents/swags approx 3ft high and towing bike trailerwith 3 bikes and maintaining 110km coming back from thomson dam area to melb
v8 would probably be quieter and quicker round town as td is little noisier under acceleration.
for economy and ease of towing i would go td -by far better than 6cyl petrol in 80 and 100 series as comparison but havent done lot of km in current v8.
my opinion only
AnswerID: 72111

Follow Up By: ev700 - Wednesday, Aug 11, 2004 at 10:16

Wednesday, Aug 11, 2004 at 10:16
Fozzy
Substitute 2 adults + 4 teens and it sounds like us. Spouse loads the house into the vehicle (why we need a trailer).
FollowupID: 332323

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Aug 11, 2004 at 10:47

Wednesday, Aug 11, 2004 at 10:47
Then train the spouse NOT to load the house in the car when you go away..
FollowupID: 332330

Follow Up By: ev700 - Wednesday, Aug 11, 2004 at 11:03

Wednesday, Aug 11, 2004 at 11:03
Truckster,
Too late to do that.
You used to be married? ;>)
FollowupID: 332335

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Aug 11, 2004 at 12:02

Wednesday, Aug 11, 2004 at 12:02
I am still...

But to me camping is getting away from the Hairdryer, Tele, DVD's and crap like that, otherwise you may as well go to a motel...

Just say time to write down things you took last time and didnt use.. keep a track of them over 2-3 weekend trips, and then leave them at home from then on.

YMMV
FollowupID: 332342

Follow Up By: ev700 - Wednesday, Aug 11, 2004 at 12:27

Wednesday, Aug 11, 2004 at 12:27
Y'right.
It's like any travel, too much stuff and you spend your time dealing with it. With some it's a personality thing though. You do your best.
FollowupID: 332346

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Aug 11, 2004 at 15:21

Wednesday, Aug 11, 2004 at 15:21
Your missus isnt Mrs bucket is she?

[ View Image]
FollowupID: 332358

Follow Up By: ev700 - Wednesday, Aug 11, 2004 at 20:22

Wednesday, Aug 11, 2004 at 20:22
No she's not.

That was a great series though. One of my favourites was the program where they moved into a country house.

Meanwhile, back to Toyotas and accessories...
FollowupID: 332377

Reply By: Member Eric - Wednesday, Aug 11, 2004 at 07:59

Wednesday, Aug 11, 2004 at 07:59
If we knew what the V8 on gas would be like , I would give you a comparison . Problem is , I haven't seen one converted yet , so I cant comment . If your thinking of running the V8 , forget it with this fuel market . Since you are buying new , go the turbo diesel . Withought a dought , the better option today .
AnswerID: 72113

Follow Up By: ev700 - Wednesday, Aug 11, 2004 at 20:51

Wednesday, Aug 11, 2004 at 20:51
Thanks, I'll take that advice.

I'm new to this forum and I am very impressed with the informed support that is available.
FollowupID: 332392

Reply By: GO_OFFROAD - Wednesday, Aug 11, 2004 at 09:25

Wednesday, Aug 11, 2004 at 09:25
Given you can save about 15k on the V8 versus the TD, thats alot of fuel over the life of the car, and the V8 with 5 speed auto is one nice vehicle to drive around in.

Anyone remember the mag test on petrol/diesel, and which was cheaper to run, and for how long ;-)

Fitting of a Unichip [or dtronic for dieasel] will aid power, and economy also
AnswerID: 72119

Follow Up By: ev700 - Wednesday, Aug 11, 2004 at 10:43

Wednesday, Aug 11, 2004 at 10:43
dtronicmight void warranty although they are easily removed I believe
FollowupID: 332327

Follow Up By: GO_OFFROAD - Wednesday, Aug 11, 2004 at 11:01

Wednesday, Aug 11, 2004 at 11:01
10 minute job, and leaves no trace of being installed.
FollowupID: 332334

Follow Up By: ev700 - Wednesday, Aug 11, 2004 at 11:07

Wednesday, Aug 11, 2004 at 11:07
I did a search and the jury was still out on the likelihood of better economy, although some say they get more power.
Maybe there are independent reviews somewhere?
FollowupID: 332336

Follow Up By: GO_OFFROAD - Wednesday, Aug 11, 2004 at 11:12

Wednesday, Aug 11, 2004 at 11:12
Everyone on the www.lcool.org email lists [80/90/100/120 email lists] has reported better consuption, as well as more power, but of course you will use a little more fuel, if making full use of the extra power.

A good write up on how and why they work so well here

diesel performance chips and how they work
FollowupID: 332337

Follow Up By: ev700 - Wednesday, Aug 11, 2004 at 11:29

Wednesday, Aug 11, 2004 at 11:29
Thanks, read that and have more research to do in the email lists.
FollowupID: 332340

Reply By: ev700 - Wednesday, Aug 11, 2004 at 10:02

Wednesday, Aug 11, 2004 at 10:02
Thanks everyone for taking the time to comment. I appreciate the frankness and experience that is brought to this site.

Diesel it is!

To keep the luxury tax down a bit I will buy the add-ons afetr car purchase. Two questions though (but I'll probably have more later):

(1) Cost - I've been told to buy 'fleet' from a car buying service. These are white paint only. Anyone aware of any other differences? For instance do they have different complaince plates (could affect insurance, rego, re-sale), or different features to reduce price? Or are they just normal GXLs off the assembnly line

(2) Accessories - will add after purchase to reduce luxury tax a bit :>( but what accessories in what priority order? Any particular brands? I have read the site list but I'm interested in everyone's experience on the ground. Starting off new, I'd like to reduce the learning curve a bit.

Thanks.

Thanks again

AnswerID: 72126

Follow Up By: fozzy - Wednesday, Aug 11, 2004 at 10:17

Wednesday, Aug 11, 2004 at 10:17
what state r u in
FollowupID: 332324

Follow Up By: LPGPete - Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 16:24

Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 16:24
G'day ev700,

Just to throw a spanner in the works - so to speak - check out www.justcruisin.bigpondhosting.com and you'll find details of Sally & Mick who are currently in Port Headland on Day 40 (of 103) of "The Big One", via, Adelaide, Alice, Darwin, Katherine, Derby, Broome etc. pulling a 21 Ft van with an LPG converted Patrol GU 4500 with "duel fuel" - and you can see for yourself, having a great time and at worst purchasing LPG at 92c Vs ULP at $1.36!! I've just picked up the equivalent GU Ti at 88K Km for $31.5K plus $3K for LPG conversion (92L) including 75L long range petrol sub tank. The conversion will pay for itself in 28K Km of normal driving or about 17K Km of van driving with the option to switch to petrol for that little extra grunt when needed.

I imagine it would be similar for a Landcruiser if that's your preference.

Look at www.autotrader.com.au - there are 10,000+ 4WDS for sale Australia - plenty to choose from and most haven't been off the black.

Good hunting.

LPGPete
FollowupID: 332527

Reply By: ev700 - Wednesday, Aug 11, 2004 at 10:44

Wednesday, Aug 11, 2004 at 10:44
Qld
AnswerID: 72133

Follow Up By: ev700 - Wednesday, Aug 11, 2004 at 10:51

Wednesday, Aug 11, 2004 at 10:51
Not used to forums, maybe I should have posted my additional questions as a new thread. Might do that.
FollowupID: 332332

Follow Up By: fozzy - Wednesday, Aug 11, 2004 at 10:52

Wednesday, Aug 11, 2004 at 10:52
OK
price i got in melb was 67k drive away for 04 production for td auto
FollowupID: 332333

Follow Up By: ev700 - Wednesday, Aug 11, 2004 at 11:15

Wednesday, Aug 11, 2004 at 11:15
Been told $65k GXL TD auto but not siure if it is drive away price. Will check.

Could you get any colour? The light silver is good looking, but I believe white shows scratches less in any case.

Was it a national buying group or only local?
FollowupID: 332338

Reply By: fozzy - Wednesday, Aug 11, 2004 at 11:23

Wednesday, Aug 11, 2004 at 11:23
any color i wanted and just went in off street
had shopped around getting better and better price and they kept giving better price. did this till couldnt meet price i wanted so assumed that was lowest price.
be ready to sign up when price is right
AnswerID: 72136

Follow Up By: ev700 - Wednesday, Aug 11, 2004 at 11:37

Wednesday, Aug 11, 2004 at 11:37
Didn't think they had that room to move! You live and learn.

Wonder why I'm getting this story about 'fleet' discount?
FollowupID: 332341

Reply By: fozzy - Wednesday, Aug 11, 2004 at 12:44

Wednesday, Aug 11, 2004 at 12:44
for all i know it probably was fleet discounted-they can do what they like on paper
all i care about is bottom dollar.
AnswerID: 72142

Follow Up By: ev700 - Wednesday, Aug 11, 2004 at 20:56

Wednesday, Aug 11, 2004 at 20:56
me too
FollowupID: 332394

Reply By: lule - Wednesday, Aug 11, 2004 at 15:49

Wednesday, Aug 11, 2004 at 15:49
ev700,

I've had both 80 series petrol and current LC100 TD. For me, towing, economy etc TD is the go, though I've had no experience with the current v8. Ran into a bloke with one at Uluru, and all he did was complain that he should have bought a TD (grass is always greener?). The TD is a bit slower on the uptake, but with the new 5-speed Auto, once up and running it flies. Even towing the van at 110k, the pick-up to overtake is outstanding. Knock it back to 4th on a steep hill and you don't lose a thing. I consistently get 10 to 11 lt/100km when cruising at 110k. Off road and towing varies a great deal, but average around 18 on a mixed trip, ie towing all the time mixed in with some low-range stuff.
A word about the comments that the extra money for the TD buys a lot of petrol. I find that argument a bit short sighted, as you recoup most, if not all, of that difference at resale time. IMHO, if you have the money up front, TD is the way to go. I live in the country, by the way, city dwellers may have a different opinion.
Lyle
AnswerID: 72155

Follow Up By: ev700 - Wednesday, Aug 11, 2004 at 20:48

Wednesday, Aug 11, 2004 at 20:48
Lyle
Thanks for giving me the benefit of your first hand experience. I think the TD will do me and the $12K extra when you're already up for over $55 k isn't that much really.

I was told by Toyota dealers that TDs are rare in the re-sale market and there is always a strong demand for them.

How do you get on with maintaining the batteries for your accessories, assuming you probably run a fridge,lights and so on when camping? I'm wondering how the batteries handle the loads or whether additional charging is needed.
FollowupID: 332389

Follow Up By: GO_OFFROAD - Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 00:06

Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 00:06
You may get the money back at resale time, of course, if you re sell it when it counts, if you dont keep it long term, and if you dont, you have paid interest on that extra 15K plus for the term of the lease, which also buys alot more fuel, when the petrol V8 is cheaper to run for the first 100k km anyway,[when compared] which is about when you would trade it if leased, so in the long run, cost is marginal if trading at 4-5yr, 100k km, and you get the benifit of driving the V8, not smelling like dinosour fuel when filling, or getting it on your shoes from around the bowser, and not as much of a worry about injectors at 100k km and inj pump at 150k km, or, worse still, the engine gets water in it, or has a failure out of warranty, which is a 8-12k exercise to rebuild in a diesel, compared to less than half that for the petrol.
FollowupID: 332435

Reply By: Croozer - Wednesday, Aug 11, 2004 at 20:21

Wednesday, Aug 11, 2004 at 20:21
I paid 68k on road for an 04 plated TD auto (pewter) with a few extra bits thrown in from country NSW.
When comparing the extra up front cost for the TD remember that the TD will also be worth more than the V8 when you sell it.

Stu
AnswerID: 72189

Reply By: dp - Wednesday, Aug 11, 2004 at 21:28

Wednesday, Aug 11, 2004 at 21:28
One thing that is worth considering before your choice is the service intervals Petrol v Diesel Be aware if you are thinking of doing your own oil changes that you will probably void your three years of warranty in the unlikely event of a major problem. I went for the v8 and in a year have done 60 000 kms (ie 6 services) A Turbo Diesel would have required an oil change at 5000 km intervals, Although minor changes cost is negligible it is a major pain in the behind having to have your car in to keep the service history/ warranty up to date. As far as fuel economy goes on a highway taking it easy 13l/100k is achievable in the petrol and the worst I have ever done was 20l/100k towing to horses city / country and flogging it. For me Petrol was the right choice although once out of warranty I would consider looking at gas. I am not anti diesel as I also have a farm ute 20 year old 4wd Hilux 2.4d It does sod all miles but a tank wouldn't stop it (although perhaps a tank would out run it up hill) dp
AnswerID: 72200

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Aug 11, 2004 at 22:51

Wednesday, Aug 11, 2004 at 22:51
" Turbo Diesel would have required an oil change at 5000 km intervals, "

they do? GU's go 10,000.
I think most people just do them at 5000klms
FollowupID: 332424

Follow Up By: ev700 - Wednesday, Aug 11, 2004 at 23:34

Wednesday, Aug 11, 2004 at 23:34
Maybe petrol engines in extreme use should be minor serviced more frequently than 10 000km as well. However some makers have increased the interval to 15 000km.

The Toyota DT minor servicing is 10 000km or six months. Extreme use is 5000km changes.

If you elected to change the oil in between (ie 5000 changes) yourself that would not void the warranty.

What constitutes extreme use and why have more frequent oil changes than might be necessary?
FollowupID: 332432

Follow Up By: ev700 - Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 00:14

Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 00:14
I googled around and found an interesting comment by an American oil company that in IDEAL conditions (listed as highway running no frequent stopping, light loads, dust free environment, perfect engine performance) an owner could EXTEND the oil change to the NORMAL interval suggested by the vehicle manufacturer.

Quote: "We emphasize severe service since the majority of motor vehicles are operated in severe driving conditions such as short trips (under 10 miles), dusty or sandy conditions, cold weather, extended idling periods, trailer towing or other harsh conditions."

I guess I will usually be obliged to change the TD's oil at 5000 km because it would be unusual for most Australian passenger vehicles to operate in ideal conditions.

FollowupID: 332436

Follow Up By: dp - Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 08:29

Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 08:29
I was told by Toyota (year ago) that for TD services/changes were 5000km, and doing it yourself voided our service history . For Petrol 10000km Toyota actually recommend under severe use 5000km changes for petrol!!!
FollowupID: 332450

Follow Up By: isaac - Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 13:37

Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 13:37
dp is correct, Hilux, Prado, Cruiser diesel services need to be done every 5000km and petrol every 10000km, if you want to keep your warranty that is. Our diesel lux has come out of warranty (on time,not km) not long ago, cost about $2750 for services up to 60000km. Would imagine the Cruiser being a lot more than this. Just something to think about. Cheers Isaac.
FollowupID: 332508

Follow Up By: ev700 - Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 18:29

Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 18:29
dp & issac
I'm convinced and thanks for your comments. I got a surprise on discovering that minor service intervals are maximums under ideal conditions.

5000 it is.

I'll still go for the diesel, but having the truck off the road so often is a pain.
FollowupID: 332538

Reply By: lule - Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 19:35

Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 19:35
G'day ev700,

I only run lights off the dual battery system, as I have a three-way portable fridge. As you know, the batteries are connected in parallel, but I've not had a problem at all. If I was running a fridge full time I would think about extra charge. Maybe a portable 'thumper" or "fridge pack" would be sufficient to run overnight, then charge it up when driving the next day.

I notice all the advice on LC100 oil changes. The latest series TD (2002) is a 10000k interval under normal conditions (ie cruising). Severe conditions are such things as : constantly towing a van, heavy off-road driving, severe dust (eg Birdsville, The Gibb etc), constant city driving. I vary my oil change intervals in accordance with the type of driving I'm doing.

Lyle
AnswerID: 72345

Follow Up By: ev700 - Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 22:59

Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 22:59
Lyle
Thanks, noted. All the best
FollowupID: 332583

Reply By: lule - Sunday, Aug 15, 2004 at 17:34

Sunday, Aug 15, 2004 at 17:34
EV700
G'day again. I bum-drummed you on consumption figures towing a van full-time mixed in with some low-range stuff. I actually average around 16L/100km, not 18.
The 18 was mpg.
Lyle
AnswerID: 72694