Nissan Patrol 2.8L Diesel

Submitted: Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 05:51
ThreadID: 15939 Views:44358 Replies:11 FollowUps:3
Is a 2.8L diesel engine in a large 4wd such as the Nissan Patrol sufficient? I am considering buying a Patrol but am not quite convinced that a relatively small engine in a large vehicle such as the Patrol has enough power for touring etc. I am not towing anything but our current 4wd is usually pretty heavy with all the extra fuel, water, gear, etc.
Any help from current Patrol Diesel 2.8L drivers would be greatly appreciated!!
Cheers, Stefan

Reply By: Lone Wolf - Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 07:25

Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 07:25
Don't own a Nissan, but got a BIG Mitsubishi Delica, with a 2.8 intercooled....... it flies......really!
We load this thing up to the MAX, and hightail it over to the west coast regularly..... never a problem.

Wolfie
AnswerID: 74613

Reply By: Michael - Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 08:05

Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 08:05
I think you have answered your own question!!!!!
AnswerID: 74614

Reply By: locallaw - Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 08:33

Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 08:33
Gidday,Buy a 4.2 Toyota or Nissan and you cant go wrong.500.000 ks is common with the 4.2 and they are still going but they have to be serviced regulary ie every 5.000 ks.Time will tell with the2.8.
Seeya Localaw.
AnswerID: 74622

Follow Up By: Michael - Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 13:41

Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 13:41
Locallaw,,,,, What do you mean,"time will tell"? Time has told, they were fairly ordinary....
FollowupID: 334540

Follow Up By: locallaw - Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 13:56

Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 13:56
Gidday Michael,Not fairly ordinary but the biggest heap of junk I ever owned.I spent $10.000 trying to fix eng vib front susp vib plus a heap of other problems.The turbo actuall blew up (what a sight huge clouds of blue smoke)I would like to see what the power plant will be like at 500.000 ks.I sold IT for $15.000 just to get rid of it.Fixes were suggested by Nissan dealers.Spent all that money and problems were still there.When I queried Nissan their reply was "we didnt do the work, STIFF"but they told me what to replace at that time.
Like I said earlier BUY a Toyota.
I will now get down off the box
Seeya Locallaw
FollowupID: 334543

Reply By: Baz (NSW) - Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 10:41

Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 10:41
No substitute for cubic inches !!!!!
AnswerID: 74640

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 16:23

Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 16:23
It depends on your intended use and what you expect, and what you call a slug.

Luke that used to hang here until he sold his 4b, (and pregnant), had a 2.8 GU..

It was a dog, so sold it got a Petrol GQ shorty. He was happy until the head went on it. he then sold that too.

What comes into the brains of manufacturers putting tiny donks in massive heavy vehicles is beyond me.

Also theres a search function above, try there, its been asked about a gazillion times b4.

YMMV
AnswerID: 74687

Reply By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 16:40

Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 16:40
They go alright, have been out with two different guys who had them, the 3.0LTD surf with a tonne less weight absolutally slaughtered on the highway but off road they didn't fend too badly, however I could imagine clutches would wear quickly as you would probally have to "use" the clutch in sand etc.
Certainlly wouldn't buy one for towing regulary. The 4.2 naturally aspirated diesels IMHO are almost as gutless as the 2.8TD but will probally outlast the 2.8.
The only probalem I can see with the 2.8's reliability is that you would probally flogg the guts out of it a lot of the time, hence it lasting less time. If the two engines were on blocks and run 24/7 at the same RPMS I can't see why extra cubic inches would make any difference to reliability.
AnswerID: 74691

Reply By: Peter Guy - Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 17:02

Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 17:02
Ritschi I have a 98 GU Patrol with a 2.8 litre turbo & intercoolled diesal and once underway it flies.
Accelleration is terriffic and I have done over 200,000 ks in 6 years.
It is slow to get going - but most 4WDs drives are irrespective of the motor type.
We have towed a very heavy off road camper on numerous trips around Australia with out any issues. The only concern is steep hill starts mainly in Qld & NSW. At home in WA it pretty flat!! So no worries!
The 2.8 is just slow to get going.
It is however cheaper to run and maintain than the 4.2 as it uses less oil,less fuel & only 1 oil filter to change instead of 2.
AnswerID: 74698

Reply By: Member - Hugh (WA) - Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 18:14

Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 18:14
Hi Ritschi,

I have a 2.8TD GU and it has given us good service so far (almost 140,000 kms). Whether or not the 2.8 is for you depends on what you want out of your car. Certainly might be a better option than Series 2 3.0 due reported engine problems, though seems like Nissan is batting up with replacement if pushed hard enough.

The engine does not produce as much power - no disagreements on that front. Performance offroad is quite OK in my opinion, perhaps because power is not the limiting factor i.e. other things such as suspensions, tyres, drivetrain, etc which are pretty much the same. Do a bit of sand work over here in the West as well and I don't suffer the clutch slip issues others have - perhaps I just take it a bit easier, let tyres down, etc. Sure acceleration is not great but once you get used to that then no need to feel like it needs to be red-lined every gear change. I have 265/75R16 tyres and even with those it crusies on the highway well with no trouble holding speed. We tow a camper trailer when going away for w/ends, etc and again it performs OK, though with the trailer on board hills become more of challenge with speed wash off and down to 3rd for some inclines.

Have driven other 4-cyl diesels of same displacement, I find the 6-cyl to be smoother in comparison. There are reported issues with vibration, which I think may be related to the two piece clutch, however I have not suffered any problem in this regard. It gets serviced regularly (oil every 5000 km) and I am hoping keeps going strong for another couple of years yet.

Fuel economy has been ~ 13L/100km with 265/75/R16 tyres. On recent trip of 6500 km (incl GCR, some off-road work) with camper trailer and vehicle fully loaded, we averaged 16.5L/100km.

I've been happy with it so far, will likely buy another GU end next year - the question then being 3.0 or 4.2. I am leaning toward 4.2 pending details of the forthcoming new model.

Hugh
AnswerID: 74704

Reply By: floyd - Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 18:52

Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 18:52
I have a turbo 3 litre in a hilux without an intercooler and it is more than adequit for the job. The only time it is slow is when I tow 2 tonnes of redgum home from Mansfield on a couple of hills. I reckon the 2.8 in a full sized wagon loaded up with gear for a trip would be a different vehicle to drive than my Hilux as the Patrol is quite a lot heavier. I would go the 6 cylinder in a full sized wagon. I had a Turbo 6 in a landcruiser wagon and that was fine when loaded. I would not buy a full sized wagon with anything smaller than a 6 cylinder ever. If you do not want to tow heavy things regularly then try a duel cab ute either nissan or Toyota. Put a canopy on and they will carry more than the wagon, be better on fuel and have the same interior room. My Hilux is the same inside as a Cruiser wagon. I measured them both before I bought. I get 1250 kms out of my 115 litre tank whickh is heaps more than the wagons get.
AnswerID: 74713

Reply By: Jim - Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 19:17

Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 19:17
Stefan, I have had a 2.8 from new. 130,000km. Been round Australia.
Recently took 4 adults and off-road trailer down the Darling.

Sure it isn't quick off the mark but it has not let us down. It cruises at the speed limit .

Crossed the Simpson with 2 cruisers. Who got up Big Red the greatest distance on the day? Yes, the 2.8!!!!

There are some good bargains around and so value for money....

Jim
AnswerID: 74719

Reply By: rolande- Wednesday, Sep 01, 2004 at 08:14

Wednesday, Sep 01, 2004 at 08:14
Stefan,
My 2.8 has 190,000 on the clock, only problems have been leaking tappet cover seal and starter motor repair. Other than normal servicing, (around $200 each 10,000k's), has only required fuel. Lots hate it but I have towed tandem trailer with 2 tonne dirt at 100k's on the highway. Slow start but when it gets going then O.K. When loaded but no trailer I don't notice the difference, and have cruised at 110km/h all day loaded up with no noticeable increase in fuel usage. In Vic' especially the 4.2's carry a price premium so the 8-odd grand saved on purchase price has bought a lot of goodies. I also don't have to worry about going out on a trip and having the engine blow half way there! (ZD-30). Have seen 2nd hand import engines for $1800. Cheap diesel replacement if it does eventually expire.
Rolande
AnswerID: 74773

Follow Up By: Gossy - Thursday, Sep 09, 2004 at 13:13

Thursday, Sep 09, 2004 at 13:13
Stefan,
I have a RX 2.8td LWB. I have done the Robe beach run and Googs Track and the Flinders (and heading up to Birdsville next month). It's not sports car (but what diesel is). It has done every trip without a problem. My mate has a petrol landcruiser and we use half the fuel (therefore half the cost to go away) and do exactly the same things. If you are wanting to tow then it may be a bit small (I have been told the gear box is the weak link in the 2.8td). But if you are not towing 1tonne of trailer behind you then why have all the extra power (and fuel usage!) under the bonnet! I load mine fairly heavy as I want to camp in style and it has done very steep sand dunes etc with no problem. It all comes down to the driver.
I can't rave about mine enough. Good luck.
FollowupID: 335617