Ute Bed Extenders

Submitted: Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 14:57
ThreadID: 15953 Views:6293 Replies:3 FollowUps:2
About to return to Oz from the states and will pick up a hilux on return. I have seen some excellent bed extenders that fold out to allow a load to sit on the tailgate or fold in to hold things up against the tailgate and stop them moving around. Are they available in Oz or should I purchase one over here? Are they legal in Oz, surely when the tailgate is closed yes; however, with the tailgate open? Thanks in advance for your help. Cheers Jolls.

Reply By: Utemad - Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 15:13

Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 15:13
I have seen what you're talking about and I am sure I have seen them for sale in catalogues in Australia. I have often had loads in my Rodeo that I have had to leave the tailgate open due to length (dual cab) although I don't know if it is legal or not. It does tend to obstruct the licence plate and to some extent the tail lights.

With the tailgate closed you can do what you like (within reason).

I have never actually seen one in the metal though let alone being used.
AnswerID: 74679

Follow Up By: jolls - Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 20:48

Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 20:48
Utemad,

They're everywhere here, made of aircraft aluminium and just fold in and out over the tailgate. They just lift out when you dont need them. My mate reckons that they are excellent for stopping small items from sliding around the bed, like shopping bags or footy gear, and then extend out to allow you to carry a motorcycle, etc. I have purchased a dual cab as well and know how limiting that can be trying to pick up some building supplies etc.
There doesn't appear to be any law over here regarding having the tailgate down at all. In fact with the size of the trucks here amny people drive around with the tailgate down just for the fuel economy it provides. Go figure, purchase a 5.9l V* and then worry about fuel economy.
I currently own a twin cab Dodge Dakota and can remember lots of occasions that the extender in both configurations would have been handy over the last 18 months. At around USD 150-250 for (aftermarket to genuine Toyota) I want to make sure I can use it before I lay out the sheckles. I'll hit the RTA sites and see what I can find.
Thanks for the help.

Craig
FollowupID: 334598

Reply By: Davoe - Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 17:05

Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 17:05
dont know how much you intend to carry but beware of heavy loads behind the back wheel. We had a duel cab hilx with a tray that extended behind the back wheels and we bent it in 1/2 within a week
AnswerID: 74699

Follow Up By: jolls - Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 21:02

Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 21:02
Davoe,

Thanks for the advice. I understand what you mean. I think it would be strong enough to hoold a heavy load as it is made of aircraft aluminium; however, the weight past the back wheels is a great concern. Just the uneven loading would create a handling nightmare I would have thought. Great to be wise to the "strength" of the Hilux "unbreakable" tray though. Thanks for the advice, I'll keep digging on the legality side.

Jolls
FollowupID: 334600

Reply By: jolls - Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 20:51

Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 20:51
Davoe,

Thanks for the advice. I understand what you mean. I think it would be strong enough to hoold a heavy load as it is made of aircraft aluminium; however, the weight past the back wheels is a great concern. Just the uneven loading would create a handling nightmare I would have thought. Great to be wise to the "strength" of the Hilux "unbreakable" tray though. Thanks for the advice, I'll keep digging on the legality side.

Jolls
AnswerID: 74740