Advice on buying FJ/BJ 40/42 Landcruiser

Submitted: Friday, Sep 03, 2004 at 23:47
ThreadID: 16014 Views:5864 Replies:4 FollowUps:1
Hello,

Wanted some advice on what to look for in the FJ40 and BJ 42 series of Landcruiser.

How much is rust a major issue?

The old question of dual fuel v Diesel, which is better, economy?

Soft top pros and cons.

Looking at doing some long km's heading up the east coast (Melb-Townsville) how will the LC handle?

Any advice or links to pages with advice would be greatly appreciated.

Matt
casillyfilms@yahoo.com.au

Reply By: Utemad - Saturday, Sep 04, 2004 at 10:47

Saturday, Sep 04, 2004 at 10:47
I have never seen one without rust. They are old and you would have to be doing pretty bloody well to find one that hasn't seen a beach or hard off roading.
I'd get a hardtop for your big trip. Although a friend of mine did a Brisbane - Melbourne trip in a soft top petrol Cruiser. Another mate had a hard top shorty dual fuel and it wasn't economical on petrol or gas.
AnswerID: 75118

Reply By: fateddie54 - Saturday, Sep 04, 2004 at 14:16

Saturday, Sep 04, 2004 at 14:16
Gday casilly,
Rust is very common in these older landcruisers, expecially around the rear corners, and the bottom of the doors-theyre a double skin production which is prone to rusting out. You'll be luck to find one without rust! Its just a matter of how much your willing to put up with or remove...
As for fuel efficiency-well youre looking in the wrong place if $$$ are of concern-theyre very thirsty. My 2f (standard petrol motor) was getting about 5 k's per litre on petrol, and a little worse on gas. If youre planning on doing a longer trip, I think you should really take this into consideration...Definitlely try and find one with a five speed box for the freeways..
As for soft top or hard, its a personal preference, the soft top is quieter for passengers, and assuming its fitted correctly will shelter from the elements. Obviously security becomes and issue, especially with no lockable glove box etc.
It sounds like I'm condemming the old L.C's but thats hardly the case-I drive one myself! and i love it. Theyre basically indestructalbe, and with the correct maintenance very reliable. They are a very competent off road vehicle, and are tolerable in the city. With the right setup ie. five speed box, disc brakes, and some comfy seats, possibly a V8?? the old girl should treat you pretty well.
Hope this has helped!
AnswerID: 75138

Reply By: Phil G - Saturday, Sep 04, 2004 at 17:46

Saturday, Sep 04, 2004 at 17:46
Get the 1981-1984 models because they have power steering, disk brakes and 5 speed box.

Old diesels are expensive to fix; old petrol motors are not.
Old petrol motors use a fair bit of fuel, so its six of one.............

AnswerID: 75163

Reply By: casilly - Saturday, Sep 04, 2004 at 21:20

Saturday, Sep 04, 2004 at 21:20
Thanks very much everyone, your information has been very helpful!

matt.
AnswerID: 75173

Follow Up By: CruiserHead - Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 10:38

Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 10:38
I run a '82 60series cruiser with a 2F motor on dual fuel. I get 300km out of my 60l petrol tank (20l/100km) and about 24l/100km or 375km/100km out of my 90l LPG tank. I usually run LGP around town and on highways, and petrol for offroad only (more grunt). I find running on LPG of cheaper than my wife's Magna on petrol! (compare 38c/l against 1.08/l in Adelaide at the moment!

I would go for a dual fuel, maybe even a 60 series? Not as "cool" looking, but heaps more storage, and you can sleap in the back, too!

cheers,
Cruiserhead!
FollowupID: 335079