Front Diff Locks and Rear LSD - verses - Both Front Locks and Rear Locks

Submitted: Sunday, Sep 05, 2004 at 19:06
ThreadID: 16049 Views:3127 Replies:11 FollowUps:16
This is probably a tricky question to answer - I am reluctant to give up my rear LSD as I don't want to be spinning an inside rear wheel out of every wet corner. What assistance is fitting only a front locker likely to give me? Also, what am I losing out on not having lockers in the rear too (only LSD)?
Does a rear LSD put too much pressure on a front locker?
Is there such thing as a locking rear LSD ?
95 GQ.
thanks for info

Reply By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Sunday, Sep 05, 2004 at 19:26

Sunday, Sep 05, 2004 at 19:26
The mail I have read is that if you have an effective LSD, fit a locker to the front. Note, they apparently have a substantial (negative) effect on steering.

I can't say with any confidence as I don't have one. I will only state, and may be howled down, a bloke at ARB suggested, when I enquired about them, that they get you into more trouble than they get you out of. That is to say if you get stuck with lockers, you are really stuck. Better to not use them until you get into strife?

As I said, I can't comment from experience, there are others that know much more than me.
AnswerID: 75239

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Sep 05, 2004 at 19:45

Sunday, Sep 05, 2004 at 19:45
G'day mate,
Jimbo is right I reckon.
My truck has a air locker on the front and the standard (ie: excellent) LSD at the back.
We've just come back from a weekend away with other EO members and I found my rig was able to go over all the same obstacles the troopy with 2 air lockers went.
Being a 9 year old Patrol, yours may need the LSD checked.....I understand they do wear after a while. If it is past it's best, I would be replacing it with another air locker if i was you.
Before i bought my locker, I used to justify not having one by saying things like "a locker will only serve to get you 100 metres further into the shyte. Now that I have one and have used it to climb out of creek crossings on Cape York, where lesser vehicles (with no trailer) were struggling and had to have several attempts, I am now convinced as to their merits.
I like to think i still drive sensibly and won't tackle anything I don't believe i can get through (or over) etc. They are a very very important item to have IMHO.
Cheers, mate
AnswerID: 75242

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 00:15

Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 00:15
Roachie is being the ''consumate politician' ( you know , giving only half the picture)

The Troopy only had both lockers engaged on the odd occassion just to make sure that the 'blue blood' of 4WD's didn't find itself in an embarrassing position in front of the ''riff raff'.

Also, when ARB install them they set them up so that the rear locker has to be on/engaged before the front locker can be engaged. So it makes it virtually impossible to only run front locker in that situation.

Besides that, Roachies car/vehicle performed like a dream with his set up, including his quick release 'something or other' front suspension thingy's.

I use the front locker mostly on a 'when you need it basis' and when driving a straight line. It does make steering more difficult , but not impossible. Also, anything other than a straight line or as straight as you can get , it starts to increase stresses on the CV joints depending on how ýou are doing what you are doing'.

They are just a magic tool for the right occassions.

Ken Robinson

FollowupID: 335063

Reply By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Sunday, Sep 05, 2004 at 20:16

Sunday, Sep 05, 2004 at 20:16
And just for the hell of a comment.............. Last weekend i found a Clay Hill in the Flinders, raining heavily that i could not make it up for the life of me... (Front air locker and rear lsd).. my mate in his 3litre gq blasted up it with speed on his side.... I had to admit the petrol was better suited on the day which killed me...
AnswerID: 75248

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Sunday, Sep 05, 2004 at 21:21

Sunday, Sep 05, 2004 at 21:21
Interesting point Voxson,

We were up at Gembrook a few weeks ago in wet weather and I got up a greasy, steep hill in my petrol Terracan much easier than John in his diesel Troopy fitted with two lockers. I took two goes and he took 7 or 8. The diesel simply didn't have the grunt.

Whilst the Troopy is surely more competent off road, on this ocassion power let it down. He was revving his head off and going nowhere.

Different situations require different solutions.
FollowupID: 335044

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 02:07

Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 02:07
Jim I think you have some serious issues with the facts in this situation.

I reached the top on the 4th go after 10 trucks before me had slicked the track to a grease plate status, and I then took a longer run to gain enough momentum and with a lot more aggression on the right foot.
I would like to know were you got 7 or 8 from. Just sound's like exaggerated bull$hit to me.

The Allterains have issues with turning to slicks in sticky clay, no argument from me in this regard.

Far from having no grunt I purposely kept the vehicle in 2nd low and revved it high to ensure that I throw the mud from the AT's as best I could to give me some sort of tyre traction.
Lets not even consider the weight difference between the vehicles.

The statement you make "He was revving his head off and going nowhere" shows you how slick the surface was, it was not caused by a lack of power and to attempt to apply that theory to the situation is just plain stupid.

As to the issue of lockers they also made the final difference by ensuring they maintained power to each wheel without loss taking this variable aspect out of the situation.
With out them I would have been winching up no argument.
On this day the primary issue was tyres, Kelvin (2ndlow) did the job well with his MTR's as they worked superbly in the mud on the day.

In Voxons case if he had taken a longer run or perhaps held it in 2nd low as perhaps opposed to 3rd or perhaps his Friend had different tyres or perhaps Vox's were worn more than his mate's, maybe if Vox had a turbo diesel it could have made more difference or lets consider that his mate may have just been more aggressive in his driving on the day or what about tyre pressures or even tyre widths, hey what about the fact that Vox's LSD may have been worn and not working as it should.
The variables in each situation are wide.

One final point I would add is that I have owned 2 Troopy's before this one, both of them were 4.5 litre petrol and after now having a Turbo Diesel I would not go back to a petrol for serious 4 wding, the diesel has far more low down torque in a low range situation than the petrol ever had not to mention better engine braking in a down hill situation so I feel well justified to make judgment between like vehicles with different power plants.

Your constant need to try and publicly justify the capabilities of your vehicle to yourself does not become you.

FollowupID: 335065

Follow Up By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 08:06

Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 08:06
Well just for the record,,, There was no run-up and the petrol patrol seemed to take off like a jet.... I could'nt match the pick-up needed to make the climb..... Needed faster entry and faster wheel spin.....
FollowupID: 335067

Follow Up By: Uppy - Member - Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 17:49

Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 17:49
Hi John,I was just wondering what serious 4x4 was ,as I drive a petrol patrol,Ive also had desiel patrols.In the 4x4 comps that ive seen there are alot of petrol wagans,is this not serious 4X4 driving, I feel that you got a little confused with what 4x4 driving is ,did you mean remote travel in the out back,please in lighten me.Also Ive meet Voxson, and if he said what happen , would have happen.regards uppy
FollowupID: 335117

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 20:37

Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 20:37
Uppy no dispute as to what Voxon said, I have also met him. (EO Little Desert)
If you read what I said I was commenting on the possible variable's that all combine to make each situation different.

I never said he was right wrong or indifferent, How could I, I was not there.
In fact the other variable that could be applied in his situation is the issue of acceleration from a standing start, In a diesel V petrol comparison depending on how the vehicles are geared etc the petrol would be the more likely to win, no issue, just another variable.
I did not dispute anything he said I was just using his situation as an example that no two situations are the same.

As to serious 4 wding, that to is up to individual interpretation, but I don't mean cruising around the outback on the black stuff.
No confusion here.

Competition vehicles are different situation to what most of us do here, the engine plant and general make up of the individual vehicle is also subject to a lot of variables, For example one competitor may have larger sponsorship and can afford to use a diesel as opposed to a self funded enthusiast who may have to use what he can (cheaper petrol engine) to be able to enjoy his chosen sport.

FollowupID: 335136

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 21:58

Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 21:58
Geez John that was a bit harsh. I'm a liar, stupid and try to justify my vehicle choice?

I will not get into personal insults. I never criticised you personally and still will not.

Enjoy your vehicle and your life, after doing a trip with you a few weeks ago I considered you a friend; I'd prefer to keep it that way.

FollowupID: 335153

Follow Up By: Uppy - Member - Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 17:54

Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 17:54
Hi John ,Thanks for the very informed reply.But I well rephrase my question,so I can become enligthen.Why do you think that petrol wagans are not for serious 4x4 driving.
kind regards uppy
FollowupID: 335327

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 13:00

Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 13:00
Hi Uppy
Thanks for the reply.

I did not say that and I certainly don't think that.

If you read my answer carefully you will understand what I said.

FollowupID: 335433

Reply By: ianmc - Sunday, Sep 05, 2004 at 20:38

Sunday, Sep 05, 2004 at 20:38
Seems to me from a lot of posts I have read about front lockers is that they are a very good way to chew up expensive CV joints/shafts.
The wheels on a turn revolve at vastly different speeds but with a locker they
cannot so "snap", something has to give, maybe on sloppy surfaces you get away with it. Also the steering effect of want to pull forwards when a corner approaches
is a bit spooky & dangerous.
AnswerID: 75253

Follow Up By: awill4x4 - Sunday, Sep 05, 2004 at 21:16

Sunday, Sep 05, 2004 at 21:16
Sorry Ian, I don't agree that your more likely to break your cv's with a front locker. The usual cause of cv breakage is with an open front diff where one wheel lifts off the track. This lifted wheel immediately doubles its rotating speed and when it comes back down is usually when you break a cv. On a locked front, both wheels rotate at the same speed even if one is in the air, the shock loading is nowhere near as great as that of an open diff when the wheel returns to ground.
Also the supposed straight on effect is a bit of a furphy, you just need to use more steering input to negate the effect. I have a rear air locker in my Patrol but if I was doing it again, I would be putting in a front air locker 1st for sure. I've been in cars with twin lockers and they are absolutely awesome.
Regards Andrew.
FollowupID: 335043

Reply By: Member Eric - Sunday, Sep 05, 2004 at 21:40

Sunday, Sep 05, 2004 at 21:40
you can get a lockright in the rear , this gives good LSD in the rear , and great locker for off road . I run one in my Cruiser
AnswerID: 75265

Follow Up By: schevchenko - Sunday, Sep 05, 2004 at 23:04

Sunday, Sep 05, 2004 at 23:04
Do ARB do one? Are they very common, as I don't think I've read much about them here. Any probs with them?
FollowupID: 335059

Follow Up By: Member Eric - Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 07:55

Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 07:55
only supplied by oposite lock and 4x4 systems in Adelaide .

I prefure the one from 4x4 systems . They make a clicking sound on normal roads as the locker disingages to allow for turns . Thats the only down side . They need to be set up spot on to spec. or they wont work or break a axle , all the one's we set up have been perfect . I had a bloke tell me he hated it because it snaped its axle , but when we looked further , we realised he fitted it in himself withough setting it up as per spec.
FollowupID: 335066

Reply By: Member - Cocka - Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 11:04

Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 11:04
Interesting positive points of view on this post. Just goes to show with 10 different vehicles, 10 different drivers and countless aftermarket options to fit you will get a thousand scinarios that are right or wrong. I have and still do procrastinate over my need for lockers, I tend not to throw options onto the 4by unless I can see the real "need", it's not a matter of "want". I'm primarily interested in safety and a degree of comfort in my pursuit of adventure and can't see the point in fitting items that just hang on the vehicle day after day and only get used once in 5 years. But that's for the individual to decide what's right for him and where he wants to go.

Here's my little story which adds another dimension to this debate. Three time I have had situations where I thought it smart to give my MTRs some added "balls". I carry chains for such situations, which are left stowed in the garage if I'm not in the bush, as is the winch. Two occasions the chains were fitted to the rear wheels for a long uphill greasy and once to the front for a down hill. It takes 5 mins /wheel, but what's the big hurry I say. At the down hill occasion, two other vehicles (one with front lockers) lost it on the slide and had substantial damage, one finished up on it's side. We made the decent in a more orderly manner and did less damage to the track.

So what's right ? Was it the drivers fault or their option and application. I might have been the smartie on this occasion but next time who knows, I might have yolk all over my dial. Hope not.

I do know that I don't place stress with a rip-tear-bust approach and spinning wheels, on my vehicle.
AnswerID: 75303

Reply By: GO_OFFROAD - Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 12:40

Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 12:40
One point that seems to be lost in most posts here, is that drive to all wheels is equal when on reasonably level ground, betweent he wheels, and drive is only transmitted to the tyre[s] with the least traction, when the suspension travel of the vehicle prevents close to equal traction being achieved on all wheels.

This being the case, an LSD wont be a saviour either, given it requires both wheels to have some traction, and only transmits drive across the diff when under power.

A rear locker is a great solution, especially on slippery hills, for going down, where it stops opposite wheels front to back becoming undriven, free wheeling through the spider gears as the car takes off down hill, something an LSD will not prevent, as it isnt under power in this situation. When you are climbing something, the rear also has the weight situated apon it, which makes for better traction with a rear locker, where unequal traction prevents drive going to both rear wheels.

Now if you had a front locker to prevent this, then you would be unable to steer the vehicle in these conditions, and a front locker will bind up the cv joints across the axle, and if having locker in and wheels on the lock, keep your tools for changing front cv's handy, as you may need them to get home.

Now as with all things, there are also down sides to lockers, one being, if you have your locker in, and you need to turn, you need one wheel to break traction, for the car to turn, where as spider gears in a normal diff will still transmit drive across the axle when turning.

Driving in snow is also very difficult with lockers, and given the snow compresses, when you drive over it, the vehicle will go much better with lockers out, rather than digging in if trying to drive with lockers engaged, and I only put the locker in as I drive over an uneven section, like a snow drift, or in/out of the main wheel ruts.

Lockers will also prevent the engine from revving or picking up in the gear you require to climb some things, if all the wheels are locked at the same speed, and some drive cant be transmitted through the spider gears, to help keep engine revs up. [like a standard diesel/petrol patrol/cruiser trying to hold 3rd low on a slippery hill, and needing to slow down for a rock ledge, or woopdy do, and need to accelerate again once over it]

I have found running 2 lockers, with rear being used when required, [you will be amazed where the car will go before you need to engage it] and the front for the rare time you may need it [probably used a front locker 5-10 times in all my cars, over 20 years] and my current car I havent bothered to fit a front locker, just the rear.
AnswerID: 75313

Reply By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 13:30

Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 13:30
If I had the choice of fitting only one locker it would be in the front, as that's the first bit to get over the hard stuff, plus I already have an LSD in the rear, it's better than nothing (like in the front).
AnswerID: 75316

Reply By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 18:19

Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 18:19
I have a 95 GQ.... they have arguably the best LSD in the business... but sooner or later it will probably wear and need re conditioning. I have already given this much thought! As most of us probably do at some stage or another, I originally had front and rear air lockers on my "wish" list. These days, after seeing how good my LSD is, I have moved the lockers right to the bottom of the list! And then I would probably only buy a front one! Why??? The LSD usually has us rolling again before my sorry addled brain figures out we're stuck...... :-( And the front locker, IF I ever buy one, would simply be to compliment the LSD anyway, that is, if the LSD doesn't get us going, I'd have one more trick up my sleeve!
AnswerID: 75361

Reply By: ladas rule - Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 19:11

Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 19:11
How do you know if your LSD is ok ? (GQ)
is there a definate way of testing them?
You would then be able to know when for sure to buy the locker
or shim the LSD!
AnswerID: 75371

Follow Up By: Lone Wolf - Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 19:54

Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 19:54
"How do you know if your LSD is ok ? "

When you take it, and you have a wild trip for 8 hours!

Sorry......... I just simply couldn't resist.......... it's a 60's thing.............

Stoned Wolf
FollowupID: 335126

Follow Up By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 22:07

Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 22:07
Normally there is a pressure test for the clutches to what force it takes to make the clutch plates give... In foot pounds, which there is a measure for in your orig vehicle specs...
The rough ol way i check mine is to put bull bar against a large gum tree with one rear wheel on dirt and the other on bitumen and if the wheel on hard surface gives way i feel the diff is still good...As stupid as that sounds....
Everybody has there ways....
FollowupID: 335154

Follow Up By: s-niper73 - Sunday, Sep 19, 2004 at 21:53

Sunday, Sep 19, 2004 at 21:53
Gidday, First post on here, hopefully not my last. To check if your LSD is still working, first find out what the torque measurment is get a Torque wrench jack up one rear wheel and try and turn it with the torque wrench. If the wrench clicks off near the specification it is working fine. (or just try to turn it by hand, it should be very hard to turn if you can turn it at all. If it turns freely, its stuffed. I have a 94 Hilux with a rear ARB Air Locker. It is totaly amazing the difference it makes. Crawles up hills no worries. (dry)Use your locker before you need it and it should get you through most anything. I believe that prevention is better than cure. FI unsure lock it. Lockers don't work best round corners. Especially front ones. a friend of mine has front only on his Patrol (with rear LSD) and he does very well with it, rarely having to lock the front.
FollowupID: 336741

Reply By: GO_OFFROAD - Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 21:07

Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 21:07
you know your lsd isnt working any more when your rear tyres start lasting longer, and they dont "chirp" on the bitumen when doing a U turn or sharp right hand turn with power down ;-)
AnswerID: 75398

Follow Up By: Utemad - Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 08:28

Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 08:28
145k and my Rodeo still shirps out the driveway :-)
FollowupID: 335199