Bed extenders

Submitted: Saturday, Sep 11, 2004 at 08:34
ThreadID: 16197 Views:5207 Replies:2 FollowUps:8
I posted a while back about a bed extender for my ute. Tehy are aircraft aluminium and fold out onto the tailgate so you can carry a bike or longer load. they then fold in to keep small items up against the tailgate to stopp the flying around the tray. Most concerns raised were in regards to the legality of them, especially obsucring the number plate. Best I can find is out of the Australian Road Rules is:

292 Insecure or overhanging load
A driver must not drive or tow a vehicle if the vehicle is
carrying a load that:
(a) is not properly secured to the vehicle; or
(b) is placed on the vehicle in a way that causes the vehicle to
be unstable; or
(c) projects from the vehicle in a way that is likely to injure a
person, obstruct the path of other drivers or pedestrians, or
damage a vehicle or anything else (for example, the road
surface).
Offence provision.
Note Other laws of this jurisdiction may deal with the loading of vehicles
and carrying loads on vehicles

Seems to me it should be legal, no different to a trailer obstructing the license plat. You can still see it from below the tailgate, i.e. the height of a copper in a patrol car. I'll keep working it. Any one know a Copper who can shed some light on the subject?

Tried to contact the NSW RTA. No reply to date. As I understand it the use of these things should be OK; however, it will probably be worth purchasing one of those bike rack number plates to keep the coppers at bay. $30 is pretty cheap insurance. I'll keep digging and keep you informed.

Jolls

Reply By: Utemad - Saturday, Sep 11, 2004 at 13:56

Saturday, Sep 11, 2004 at 13:56
Perhaps another angle to look at is the fact that you are driving with the tailgate down. Perhaps it could be the fact the tailgate is open that could give legal problems? Not necessarily that you have a load on it or that it is blocking something.

If a trailer is blocking a licence plate then the cops can still see the trailer licence plate. Bike carrier licence plate would be a good idea.

My ute doesn't even have the front licence plate fitted at the moment. Hasn't for a while. Gets in the way of winch, spot lights, radiator and entry angle.
AnswerID: 76026

Follow Up By: jolls - Sunday, Sep 12, 2004 at 08:56

Sunday, Sep 12, 2004 at 08:56
Utemad,

Can't find anything in the rule book to say that you can't and nothing to say that you have to be able to see the licence plate at 45 degrees from all angles. I think I'll just fork out for the bike rack plate just to be on the good side.

FollowupID: 335902

Reply By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Saturday, Sep 11, 2004 at 20:39

Saturday, Sep 11, 2004 at 20:39
G'day Jolls,
my understanding is that a number plate must be visible at 45 degrees from any direction... This is supposedly to allow for road side and over head cameras. I've never been pulled up for travelling with the tailgate down though. Perhaps a bike rack plate is the go if you're really concerned.
Blue
AnswerID: 76051

Follow Up By: jolls - Sunday, Sep 12, 2004 at 08:56

Sunday, Sep 12, 2004 at 08:56
Blue,

Can't find anything in the rule book to say say that you have to be able to see the licence plate at 45 degrees from all angles; however, I think I'll just fork out for the bike rack plate just to be on the good side.

FollowupID: 335904

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Sunday, Sep 12, 2004 at 09:21

Sunday, Sep 12, 2004 at 09:21
Hey Jolls,
Nothing I read mate, just happened to be with a mate when he got his trailer registered. He asked the Vicroads bloke the best place to mount the plate and he was told anywhere as long as visible from 45. Vicroads blokes reasoning was the camera thing. I looked for it myself this morning and also couldn't find anything. You could always contact the customer service centre via email... john.grasso@roads.vic.gov.au this is the bloke in charge of vehicle standards, if he can't help, no one can.
Blue
FollowupID: 335908

Follow Up By: jolls - Sunday, Sep 12, 2004 at 09:54

Sunday, Sep 12, 2004 at 09:54
Blue,

I did the same with NSW, no reply yet. I'll try your contact and get a definitive answer. Thanks for the advice.

FollowupID: 335910

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Sep 13, 2004 at 12:12

Monday, Sep 13, 2004 at 12:12
When my car was engineered, the dude said lights and plate from 45degrees.

Why do you need to extend the tray? My rodeo carried numerous race bikes (sometimes 2x250proddy, and 1x600 at a time) round aussie for 8 yrs with the tray closed.

Numerous others carried 750's in dual cabs with the bike across the tray, and the gate tied 85% closed.

What do you intend to carry? The queen mary?
FollowupID: 335985

Follow Up By: jolls - Monday, Sep 13, 2004 at 21:23

Monday, Sep 13, 2004 at 21:23
Truckster,

You answered your own question mate. 750 in dual cab with the bike across the tray gate tied 85% closed. Imagine how much easier this is when you put it on straight and put the bed extender on.

As an aside I currently own a full sized Dakota twin cab, heaps bigger than a hilux and there are plenty of times I could have benefitted from the extender. For example this weekend I had to move goal post pads around for a rugby game. Had to have the tailgate down and tie them in, witrh the bed extender I could have just chucked them in the back.

I'm also in the construction game, again heaps of occasions. If I didn't need it I wouldn't be so interested in the legalities back in Oz. Doesn't have to be the Queen Mary to require one.

Thanks very much for your "advice" anyway.

FollowupID: 336046

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 15:19

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 15:19
It would be no real difference to have it open an inch or 2, I dont see what the issue with that would be?

You seem to have talked yourself into wanting to hand over your $ for one, so go for it. Others just use a plank of wood.

Again you can buy utes with std 'building material' length trays.
FollowupID: 336133

Follow Up By: jolls - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 06:30

Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 06:30
Truckster,

I'm not sure that we are talking about the same thing as I certainly don't understand how I could do the same with a plank of wood.

I have already purchased the bed extender as it allows me to stop smaller items moving around the tray and allows me to fit larger items into the back as it is a dual cab. I realise that they do make full sized trays; however, for my situation the dual cab is the best options so there is a compromise on load space and people space.

Having said that what I was keen to get from the forum was the legal issues associated with having the set up extended; therefore, the load down. My research indicates that you and Blue were correct, 45 degrees out to a distance of 20m. The overhang is no issue as it is less than 60% of the axle spacing. So in order to make it legal I must put a bike rack number plate on it in the extended position. Problem solved.

Can you explain this timber option you mentioned. May be time to go into business for my self as it is probably a little cheaper than aircraft aluminium.

FollowupID: 336217