CDMA aerials

Submitted: Wednesday, Sep 29, 2004 at 18:45
ThreadID: 16656 Views:5711 Replies:7 FollowUps:13
Think I'm going to install a car kit for the phone. I have the kit but not the aerial.

What do I need to look for in a CDMA aerial? I have seen black ones,white ones, short and long ones.

Can someone explain the difference and advise on what I should get and difference it will make.

I live 1/3 up the coast of WA.

Reply By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Wednesday, Sep 29, 2004 at 19:15

Wednesday, Sep 29, 2004 at 19:15
Gday Andrew,we use a RFI high gain 5db which came with everything to hook into the phone holder.Down here in the sticks in Tassie we double the signal strength on our phone when plugged in.(Nokia 6385)
Nick
AnswerID: 78260

Follow Up By: antenna guru - Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 13:41

Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 13:41
For your CDMA phone, the best antenna on the market would be the CD1795 from RFI - ph 1800 773 511 for you nearest dealer.

Expect to pay anywhere from $140 - $160

This antenna is a true 6.5dbi gain antenna, and is used by QLD Emergency Services and telstra.

This antenna will work on both GSM & CDMA

To get more details on this Phone go to
http://www.rfi.com.au/rfiproducts/mobileAntennas/CD1795.pdf

There is also a matching UHF Antenna - CD5000
FollowupID: 337892

Reply By: Croozer - Wednesday, Sep 29, 2004 at 21:21

Wednesday, Sep 29, 2004 at 21:21
Andrew,
I have just changed from digital to cdma and have to change my current GME aerial. I checked with GME and they tell me there is a new Dual band antenna part number AT6DB which will work for both GSM and CDMA. If it works as well as the digital one I'll be happy.
Check out the GME site for details at www.gme.net.au

Stu
AnswerID: 78270

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew(WA) - Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 00:38

Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 00:38
Thanks cruiser

I notice there are some 4db, 6db and a guy tried to sell me a 9db today.

Have you made inquiries into this side of things and if so what made you go with your choice?

FollowupID: 337853

Reply By: cj - Wednesday, Sep 29, 2004 at 21:53

Wednesday, Sep 29, 2004 at 21:53
I just fitted the GME Dual Band 6dB a couple of weeks ago and the difference was well worth it. I had been on Mt Skene in Vic and without the aerial, no service and with it a strong signal and that's with a passive connection which is not the best.
AnswerID: 78276

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Sep 29, 2004 at 22:02

Wednesday, Sep 29, 2004 at 22:02
I assume this is with a CDMA phone?

FollowupID: 337842

Follow Up By: cj - Wednesday, Sep 29, 2004 at 22:17

Wednesday, Sep 29, 2004 at 22:17
Yes, Nokia CDMA 3105
FollowupID: 337846

Follow Up By: cj - Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 09:04

Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 09:04
Got my aerial from Telstsat in Seaford.
FollowupID: 337864

Reply By: T-bone - Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 14:34

Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 14:34
Aplogoies to all if this is untrue, but I have a vague recollection of a mate saying that it doesn't matter what aerial you use to get mobile phone signal - your range will be limited by the phone tower you connect to. He claimed the base station is intelligent enough to work out the range at which you are trying to make the call, and if you are more than ~30km away it will not connect, regardless of signal strength. He also said that there is an automatic override on this limit for emergency calls... Anyone heard the same, or am I just helping to propogate complete BS?
AnswerID: 78352

Follow Up By: antenna guru - Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 19:08

Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 19:08
On GSM there is a signal timer system, which means that the signal will not go past 34 to 35km.

This means that you can have full service in one spot, move over that 35k line without another tower to pick up then you will have no service, regardless of your antenna.

This, however is not true on cdma. The CDMA signal wil just gradually fade as it gets further from the cell.

Essentially, this means that if you are using a GSM phone, then you really need no more than a 3db gain antenna, simply because you just get no benefit from anything else.

On CDMA, howvever, you will get a great benefit from a higher gain antenna providing that it is being used on good flat ground.
FollowupID: 337936

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew(WA) - Friday, Oct 01, 2004 at 17:23

Friday, Oct 01, 2004 at 17:23
Antenna Guru

So, the higher the number i.e. 9db, the better??

If so, whay doesn't everyone just get the highest when it comes to CDMA?

After all, we are all after phone reception for as long as possible. It seems silly to get a lower gain aerial when a higher one will operate further.

What's the story?

FollowupID: 338028

Follow Up By: antenna guru - Friday, Oct 01, 2004 at 18:35

Friday, Oct 01, 2004 at 18:35
Andrew,
Unfortunately the higher the gain, does not necessarily mean the best reception.

Probably the easiest way to explain antenna gain is to picture a Balloon.

When the balloon is blown up in a nice round shape, that is what we call unity gain or 0dbd. This would be a nice high signal that saturates, so if your antenna signal would get into the dips and around hills. If in the city it will get in and around the high rise buildings providing good saturation.

If you then take your balloon and squeeze it from the top and bottom, that would be the equivalent to your antenna gain getting higher. A 3 or 4 db gain antenna is going to give you a best of both worlds between distance and saturation. If you go to a 6db gain antenna you are going to have more distance on good flat ground but start to loose your saturation as you radiation pattern gets flattened out.

So a 6 db Antenna is going to give you optimum performance on good flat ground where you can see for miles and miles, but is going to be pretty much useless in hilly country.

As a side bar to that. I have never seen a true mobile 9db cellular antenna. Reason being is to get gain, you need height in your antenna (in 99.9% of cases).

In all fibreglass bull bar mount antennas on the market (GME AT6AN and the like) except for the RFI CD1795 the antennas are built phasing together tuned lengths of coaxial cable. To get 3db of gain, you essentially need to double the length of your antenna.

If we look at the AT6AN Antenna from GME which stands at approx 750mm high. This antenna is rated at 4dbd of gain, which equates there about to 6dbi of gain. To make that antenna 9dbi of gain GME (orZCG Scala who manufacture it) would have to double it's length.

That would make it about 1.5m in length. I have never seen one that long. So all 9DB rated antennas on the market, just simply are not a true 9db rated antenna.

I hope that answers your question
FollowupID: 338032

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew(WA) - Friday, Oct 01, 2004 at 18:57

Friday, Oct 01, 2004 at 18:57
Guru

Thanks for that Guru, a lot of good info there.

Crowie mentions (In a thread below) not to mount your phone aerial next to your UHF.

I had intended on doing just that and have seen many who do.

What is your opinion on the issue.

FollowupID: 338036

Follow Up By: antenna guru - Friday, Oct 01, 2004 at 22:19

Friday, Oct 01, 2004 at 22:19
Andrew,
There is a school of thought that you should not mount your Mobile Phone Antenna next to your UHF Antenna.

The reasoning behind that is the two frequency would interfere with each other. By mounting yuur antennas futher apart then you would get greater isolation between the antennas.

I do not subscribe to that school of thought for two main reasons.

Your UHF Antenna is going to be Transmitting and Receiving at 476 - 477 Mhz and your CDMA Antenna (Lowest Cellular Frequency) is transmitting and receiving at 820 - 890 Mhz. The frequency isolation between the two frequencies is well over 120db (minimum isolation required to not get interference between the frequencies).

The other is that Horizontal Isolation between frequencies is very poor because the amtennas are omni directional in radiation pattern. The difference between 5cm and 2 metres (Well over the distance between two antennas mounted on the front two corners of your buulbar) is very minimal.

These two points mean that you are not going to get any benefit by mounting your antennas on either side of your bullbar to mounting them right next to each other.

My advise is to mount your antennas in a spot where you will be happy with the look and in a spot where it will provide the least amount of disruption to the driver.
FollowupID: 338055

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew(WA) - Sunday, Oct 03, 2004 at 16:28

Sunday, Oct 03, 2004 at 16:28
Thanks Guru

You info is much appreciated. Now i'm in the picture I can make an informed decision.

Many thanks

FollowupID: 338135

Reply By: wizzer - Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 16:05

Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 16:05
Last year I drove from perth to steep point at night. I have an aerial (6db) and basically didn't lose reception until about 40km before billabong. Then just past billabong got reception back as there is a tower at overlander. I camped at Tamala station (on way to steep point) and had reception there as well (made calls). My freind who has the cdma nokia that can't take the aerial, only had reception for about half the journey and never at Tamala.
We drove back to perth during daylight and i noticed that the reception was very poor compared to at night and my mates cdma only worked close to towns.
My phone is the nokia 6385 and the aerial plugs into the back (not passive).

wizzer
AnswerID: 78365

Reply By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 18:21

Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 18:21
I bought one from Dicksmith and plugged it into my Motorolla T730 car kit. It's a spring base 6db which cost me $136 inc GST. I tested it out (well kind off) and went from wanneroo to Lancilen on the weekend, out in the dunes and back again, I received one phone call half way to Lancilen and my mate didn't even realise I was in the car, and another one the way back. Both were as clear as anything even at 110km/h up and down the hills. I didn't loose coverage once.
AnswerID: 78382

Reply By: crowie - Friday, Oct 01, 2004 at 12:57

Friday, Oct 01, 2004 at 12:57
The RFI CDMA/GSM is the way to go. You can get them in White or black. Aussie made and they really do work well. New ones are 6.5 gain
AnswerID: 78503

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew(WA) - Friday, Oct 01, 2004 at 17:19

Friday, Oct 01, 2004 at 17:19
crowie

My electronics bloke in town tells me he has a 9db CDMA/GSM aerial for $105.

Excellent according to him. And the only one he stocks because of quality/price/performance.

How does that sound to you?

FollowupID: 338027

Follow Up By: crowie - Friday, Oct 01, 2004 at 18:50

Friday, Oct 01, 2004 at 18:50

There is a posting further up the thread which talks about so called 9db gain antenna. I still suggest that you stick to the RFI,(excellent quality) and a genuine 6.5db gain. Keep it away from UHF antenna and don't cut the cable. Andrew in the end the decision is yours. A 9db antenna sounds great but at $105 I just wonder. Go to the RFI website and check them out.
FollowupID: 338034