Ex mining vehicle ?

Would anyone here give thought to buying an second hand 4WD ute that had been used at a coal mine ? Im looking a 02' Nissan Patrol DX ute that i am judging ( by contents of the chassis rails ) may have been used at a coal mine. I imagine they would be worked pretty hard but wonder if this would be a major issue for a 2 year old vehicle ? Does coal cause any rust or other problems with vehicles ?

Michael

Reply By: Member - Alan- Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 17:57

Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 17:57
Be very careful with anything from minesites Michael.
They've generally been bashed about by yobs who don't give a stuff, then made to look OK by the dealers, but worst of all lots of mines spray salt water on the roads to keep the dust down!
They may well be only a couple of years old but have had a harder life than most of us will ever give them.
Beware.
Alan.
AnswerID: 79256

Follow Up By: Nigel (WA) - Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 15:07

Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 15:07
It is not salt water they spray, its under ground water which is more corrosive than salt water at the mines as the minerals they are mining for is down below like coal etc....

As i have worked at mines i wouldn't touch it as it has been used like bull rider in a rodeo, and no one cares about it coz it is not there own vehicle.
FollowupID: 338800

Reply By: mcgra - Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 18:00

Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 18:00
hi micheal

the problem as far as im aware with these mining vehicles tend to be rusted out due to the corrosive waters from mining.

they do also tend to replace them on a regular basis because of this even thought the do tend to have the under bodies sprayed with a bitumous product to protect them.

so in short i guess it depends on the price and how long you intent to keep it.

graham
AnswerID: 79257

Reply By: locallaw - Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 18:17

Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 18:17
Gidday,Might look good now but what about down the track you will end up with a bucket of rust.
dont do it
Seeya Locallaw
AnswerID: 79258

Reply By: Peter 2 - Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 18:56

Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 18:56
Run, don't walk away from any vehicle that has been used in or around a coal mine, coal dust and water is far more corrosive than salt water.
A friend bought a troopy from a coal mine when it was 1 year old, by the time it was 3 years old he had replaced all the doors, front guards and had major rust in the main body. The dust had penetrated every seam and when moisture got into it is just dissolved, he ended up selling the drivetrain and running gear for parts as it failed rego due to rust in the 4th year and was too far gone to repair.
AnswerID: 79260

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 19:17

Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 19:17
Forget the hype from above, check it yourself,, Nrma inspect. if the the price is right and all is ok, buy it, They wont be all bad. just take a very conservative look at it.. Judge it from there........... Michael
AnswerID: 79263

Reply By: Stew53 - Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 19:30

Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 19:30
I would suggest not buying the vehicle unless you know its history, rust and corrosion are the biggest killers in mines, all the above reply’s are close to the truth, a lot of water for coal mines is used once in the wash plant then onto a tailings dam then it makes its way to the lowest pit then its pumped back to start the process again each time picking up more sulphur etc, generally some of the water is used i.e. recycled as dust suppression and even used to wash the heavy mud of mine vehicle, vehicles used in wash plants do low KM but live their life in moist conditions and the copper in the wiring turns green and brittle a process that does not stop once it has left the mine if it was used as a general mine vehicle it would have seen a lot of loose dirt i.e. under body stone chips and mud which will in time promote rust, and if it was used at a dragline it has probably been used to tow dragline cable so could have potential drive train problems, I do know of people who have bought ex mine vehicle and have had a good run with them, but they were in a position were they new the history of the vehicle, I hope this helps.
AnswerID: 79265

Reply By: pin - Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 20:39

Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 20:39
Hi Michael, I have worked in coal mines as i fitter and had the previlage of picking up our brand new Crusier ute in 03,and by 04 i thought it must have been an 83 model.they do get punished ,but they did get serviced regulary.i guess at the end of the day its what you want to pay. Also if you can find out what part of the mine it can from eg in the mine or out of the washery, as i no our cruiser out of the washery was in much better condition cause of the different conditions it had to work under.
AnswerID: 79282

Reply By: Member Eric - Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 20:44

Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 20:44
Mate dont even think about it . Obviously some people in here have never looked at one up close . By the time you fix it ( never fixed ) you will be able to afford 2 of the same vehicle new lol .
AnswerID: 79283

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 21:44

Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 21:44
as eric says...

DONT GO NEAR IT.
AnswerID: 79291

Reply By: fatz - Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 21:48

Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 21:48
Micheal, bought a 100 series ex mine cruiser 18 m0nths ago and considering all things i would do it again. It cameout of the loy yang mine in victoria, 107,000K's and I paid 23k for it. As you said the chassis rails were full of coal dust and this does accelerate the rust issues. I was lucky as I knew the dealership who serviced the vehicle and was able to get my hands on a full service history. From my conversations with the dealership all vehicles they sell are serviced by them as part of the new car warrenty and are then sold when the warrenty runs out, not sure how tru this is but I know mine was as I know a couple of the mechanics who work there. At the end of the day the vehicle will cost you a bit more to maintain as they are usually fairly tired but you have to weigh that up against what you pay for it and what you may be able to do yourself. If you want to know if it was a coal mine vehicle or not there are two things that will give it away apart from coal dust in the chassis. Have a look at the brake discs, if it was in a coal mie it will have a strip of tin or alloy around the brake disc vents to stop coaldust building up and catching fire. It will also most likely have a new exhaust as all mine vehicles have a spark arrestor fitted to the front of the vehicle which requires the orignal exhaust to be replaced. it is then replaced when it is being on sold. I'm happy with mine and have done 40,000k's and have had no major issues so far. Just my humble opinion.
Mick
AnswerID: 79292

Reply By: Michael N - Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 22:42

Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 22:42
Looks like extreme caution is the suggested path here. I will take another look though as the price does seem quite good to others ive seen. Does $35200 for a 2002 DX ute with 55000kms on it sound good, bad or average, given its potential history. It may be worth an RACQ inspection, depending on reactions to the above price. I'll also check for those give away signs such as the tin strips around the front discs and the corroded wiring. Uggh .. id forgotten over the past few years how much buying a second hand car sucks !!! Thanks for all the replies everyone.
AnswerID: 79299

Follow Up By: Bundyman - Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 08:17

Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 08:17
Michael,

I work in the mining industry and in 2000 I bought a 97 cruiser trayback by tender from a BHP coal mine I was working at for $10000. It had 185000km on the clock and was still covered in mud andbleepe. I got the full service history (which included replaced diffs, transfer cases etc) and was just going to clean it up and make a few dollars on it selling it in the city. Well after I cleaned it up I got a compression test done and the motor was fine so I decided to keep it and sell my Rodeo. I spent a whole week completely stripping it down and removing all the coal dust and mud from the chassis rails and then rust proofing it myself. I then spent $1000 getting some minor rust cut out of the window and door sills. I had this vehicle for 4 years and had done some huge trips (it was completely set up for touring) until it was stolen last month (by some lowlife gutter trash!!) with 260000km on the clock. I had absolutely bugger all problems with it in that time. The electrical wiring was a nightmare as everytime something stuffed up electrically the mine must have just run a new wire - so that took a while for me to sort out. Now I have just bought another ex-mine cruiser to replace my stolen one.

The biggest advantage to an ex miner is the price. If you get it for a song (and by the way the one your looking at is far to expensive!!) then you have plenty of spare cash to fix up any rust/mechanical problems and then set it up (the market value of my $10000 cruiser was $28000). BUT you must know what your looking at!!! Yes mining vehicles cop an absolute flogging but they are serviced more regularly than any normal vehicle. Ensure the engine and drivetrain is sound as they have big $$$ replacment costs. And as mentioned earlier by someone else the dealer would have cleaned it up big time so its hard to see what condition it was in before hand and what it was doing on site (don't get a dragline ute!!).

The other advantage I found is that because the general condition of the body and cab isn't that flash then your not as padantic when it comes to driving down overgrown bush tracks.

Don't buy an ex underground vehicle as they will be absolutely rooted unless you can get it for maybe $3000 (and then the parts are usually worth more than that), and remember that the vehicle might have very low Km's on the clock but they spend their whole lives in low range and no higher than 3rd gear and many hours idling (to keep the A/C going)!! Generally you can tripple the shown km's to get an indication of the real km's. Underground = rust rust rust!!

So beware beware!! But if you know what your looking at then you can pick up a real bargain. Some people might call me lucky.....

Good luck champ,
Hughesy
FollowupID: 338748

Reply By: Rowler - Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 22:54

Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 22:54
Sounds bloody awfull!

I have a gu st 2002 4.2 td cab chasis, brand new tray included at gov auctions 59000 km $33000 incl gst.

Great car, very clean. I have had it for nearly a year now & have had no trouble at all

Check em out at auctions.sa.gov.au/

Cheers Rowler (dave)
AnswerID: 79301

Reply By: Rowler - Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 23:06

Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 23:06
Hi again I just dragged this off the gov auctions price history site, they have the last 8 weeks sales history & an auction every wednesday

PATROL DX TRAY TOP GU III MY2002 OCTOBER 2002 MAN Kms: 38898 $32200.00
Engine: 4.2L (Diesel Turbo) Colour: WHITE Ex: SA WATER
Options: Bull Bar, Tow Bar, Air Conditioner, Aluminium tray

Cheers rowler (dave)
AnswerID: 79304

Reply By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 06:41

Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 06:41
A mate bought one and had nothing but trouble it was all shinny when bought and on closer inspection after he got it was a heap of sh-it.
People told him not to buy it.
Cost him a lot in the end to get rid of it.

AnswerID: 79322

Reply By: Coops (Pilbara) - Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 08:03

Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 08:03
After over 20 years of being around mining vehicles in the Pilbara I would categorically state that you shouldn't go within a kilometre of one for all of the reasons stated above.
Here in the Pilbara you've got Salt Mines, Iron Ore Operations and remote off-shore locations to begin with and the vehicles are hardly ever washed. They have to drive thru some awful stuff and are driven with reckless abandon. No regular servicing can help that.
I have a Hi-Lux that my crew have to use that has currently done under 20K, is less than a year old and looks like it's about ten. The guys are pretty good with it but it's still as rough as guts.
AnswerID: 79329

Reply By: Michael N - Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 16:20

Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 16:20
Well .. i took another look but im going to leave it. I just dont know what sort of life its had. My compliments to the car detailer who cleaned it though, cause if its from a coal mine, ill be dammed if i can find evidence of coal anywhere else. I spent 45 mins going over every inch of it. I removed the rear left hand vent on the back of the cab and looked in there. Nothing. I poked damp cue tips in every hole i could find and none of them came out black or dark brown. The wiring looked ok (im no autoelectrician though) and I could'nt see and modifications to the brakes.

Im spooked enough to pass on it though :)

For future reference, are there any other give away signs to a ute coming from the mines.

Also, to the couple of people who commented on some utes being used to tow drag line cables, where would they be attached ? Front or rear recovery points or is there an attachment for the towbar ? Thats got to be heavier then 3.5 tonnes.
That sort of truck sounds like about the biggest lemon 4WD you could buy.
AnswerID: 79378

Follow Up By: Dennis (Mackay) - Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 19:34

Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 19:34
They tend to hook the cable on anywhere really, tow bar is always popular.

And to add to the other comments above, most coal mines have high sulphur and acid contents in the waste water they use to dampen down the dust, hence the rust problems.
FollowupID: 338824