Ideas for keeping cool while camping in NT

Submitted: Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 15:12
ThreadID: 16918 Views:8840 Replies:13 FollowUps:9
We'll be heading further north in couple of weeks - towards Darwin. Fortunately we've got Air-con in the car, - however there's still those long hot nights in the touring tent to contend with!

Just after some ideas on how to keep cool and get some sleep on those 40+ degree nights. I've been toying with the idea of stringing a couple of 12V "power supply" computer fans inside the tent to get a bit of air flowing (only use 0.5amps each)- then combining this with a hand mist sprayer - however I'm not sure if this is the best solution.

Any advice is welcome!!

- Regards Myfourby

Reply By: Magnus - Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 15:22

Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 15:22
Spent 7 years in Lae, Port Moresby, Townsville and Darwin and one in Florida including a Summer working in the swamps. There is no answer to that sort of heat + humidity, except air con. If it is humid as well as hot, there is not much you can do in a camping environment. Cold shower before bed helps. Apart from that, motel!

Have fun

Magnus
AnswerID: 79495

Reply By: sean - Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 18:10

Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 18:10
Buy a screen tent, one where its all mesh and you can look at the stars. At this time of year its the only one you will be able to bear sleeping in. If it starts to rain just jump up and put the fly over.

Sean
AnswerID: 79505

Follow Up By: Well 55 - Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 18:33

Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 18:33
The only draw back is when its a full moon, but I just use a swag and mozzie net.
FollowupID: 338910

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Sunday, Oct 10, 2004 at 07:30

Sunday, Oct 10, 2004 at 07:30
The screen tent is an excellent solution, I use the Capricorn 4:

http://www.discountcamping.com.au/index/products/24persondome/tents#48

FollowupID: 338959

Reply By: Willem - Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 19:33

Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 19:33
I read somewhere that the station people up north have a drink of neat rum before going to bed....Not sure what that does but maybe it lowers your blood pressure and keeps you relatively cool.

Have taken an electric house fan with on occasions and run it off the gennie but that is a bit of overkill.....:o)
AnswerID: 79514

Reply By: Oil Drippa - Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 19:49

Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 19:49
I travelled extensivly thru the NT for 2.5 years from Alice to Jabaru and never ever in 2.5 years experianced a night of 40degs or really anything over 25 degs , that is thru the build up and dry seasons .Most days were around 34 degs but in the build up humidity was very high .
Drink lots of water before bed , and wear cotton clothing so it "breaths" Don't sleep near water and remove ALL rubbish at least 100m away from your camp site so as not to arouse the interests of the croc's .
Don't roll out swags or sleep bags untill your going to get into them .....snakes love hiding in them .Also heaps of sand fly repelant is a must !!!!
Miss it soooo much we are taking off up there again in July .
AnswerID: 79520

Reply By: Member - Jack - Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 20:18

Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 20:18
12v Aircondtiioners on eBay
No idea how well they work or any other details, but could be woth investigating.

Jack
The hurrieder I go, the behinder I get. (Lewis Carroll-Alice In Wonderland)

AnswerID: 79523

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 20:51

Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 20:51
They may be ok in a dry climate but these coolers will humidify the air even further in a humid climate making it more uncomfortable.
FollowupID: 338924

Follow Up By: paul - Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 21:41

Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 21:41
I've only recently come across the above type air cooling system. think coleman have one as well. They are not "evaporative coolers" which do raise the humidity, they actually use the frozen fully enclosed tubes or whatever to cool the air before expelling it, there is therefore no disbursement of moisture. Compressor type air con units and fridges use gas disbursed through cooling fins over which air passes to cool the air. The above are just rudimentary versions, but use air passing over frozen containers to achieve the same affect (with terrible efficiency ratios). I am thinking of it cause if brissy hits 40C days again and the power goes out it might useful to cool down my new bub a bit - at least down to the requisite 36C.

I had an evaporative cooler and found it did raise the humidity to a terrible extent so i gave it away and bought a true air con, but these don't work so well when the power goes. They have nothing in common with the above units. Though the Coleman unit i think runs a tube through an esky full of ice with a fan extracting it (or blowing it) through the tube in the esky so air cooled by the cold tubes comes out the other end into the hot space - like an air con core really.

So i am gonna dig out an esky, buy some copper tubing, get some sort of extractor 12v fan - tube exits into box with fan inside and to outside, or the other way round. See how i go, if it fails i might buy one of these units and take it apart.

oh, and i'm not an air conditioner engineer or fridge mechanic so any comment welcome, i could be wrong after all.
FollowupID: 338927

Reply By: Davoe - Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 20:20

Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 20:20
travelled the top end april-may 03 and it wasnt the warm nights as I am used to them but it was the total absence of breeze through my campervan. A 12v fan which are widely available would have got the air circulating and made a big difference I am unsure of their power drain
AnswerID: 79524

Follow Up By: myfourby - Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 09:33

Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 09:33
What sort of 12v fan is the best? Where can you buy them?

-Myfourby
FollowupID: 339046

Reply By: Wok - Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 22:14

Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 22:14
Consider modifying your diet...........

No red meat (or its products eg sausages).shellfish (including prawns,crab etc)
Eat lightly ie small, lowfat meals.If you must indulge, drink lots of black unsweetened tea after the meal.Sleep in webed hammocks under a large (airy)mosquito net.................au natural
AnswerID: 79533

Follow Up By: Rick Blaine - Sunday, Oct 10, 2004 at 19:28

Sunday, Oct 10, 2004 at 19:28
Actually green tea is better... lowers the blood pressure so you dont feel as hot and has heaps of anticarcinegens and anti oxidents..a trick learned in Vietnam....
FollowupID: 339002

Reply By: troy35 - Sunday, Oct 10, 2004 at 00:19

Sunday, Oct 10, 2004 at 00:19
I have lived in Broome for 15 years so am all too well used to hot humid nights during the wet season. First of all as someone already mentioned it never gets to 40C at night here or in Darwin. In fact it rarely gets to 40C during the day. (Well it did here on Thursday but dropped to 33 an hour later when the sea breeze kicked in.)
I manage a transport company and one of our drivers had a portable aircon with a flexible pipe that carried away the heat. We used it in a tent once and it worked great but we had to run a gennie all night. if you going to be staying in caravan parks or have a good gennie then they would be the go. Otherwise I would use a 12v fan like a truck or car fan. You need to have the air moving around you.

I think your heading up there at the worst time. If you left it for a month or so the monsoonal weather would be here so you would at least get more cloudy rainy days. Then again you might get stuck or not be able to access many places.
A computer fan would be useless. You need to get air blowing across you not circulating in the tent. A mist sprayer would be uselss too because water wont evaporate when the air is already about 99% humidity. Thats why evap coolers don't work here either.
But probably the best advice I can give you is get up early so your that tired at night you just zonk it anyway. Station owners up this way are up at 4.00am when its cool and in bed by 7.30pm at night.
AnswerID: 79548

Follow Up By: myfourby - Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 09:30

Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 09:30
Thanks for your advice troy - yep - we're pretty aware that its not the best time to head up there! We've been working on a station for the past 3 months in the NT and have stayed longer then we thought we would - hence our bad timing!

The only reason I suggested a computer fan was that the power sonsumption would not mean my battery would be dead in the morning - a car thermo fan - I think - would be too hard on the battery running all night...

I was considering fixing the 12v computer fans on the inside of the flywire of the tent - so as to suck air from the outside into the tent. I'm guessing a 12v computer fan would be better than no fan at all?

-Myfourby
FollowupID: 339045

Follow Up By: troy35 - Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 10:15

Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 10:15
You would just be sucking hot humid air from outside the tent to mix with the already hotter and more humid air that is inside the tent.

Honestly the only way to keep cool in the tropics is too remove the humidity from the air with an aircon. The only way to make yourself feel a little bit more comfortable is too have air blow over your body such as with a fan.
I hate to say it but I dont think your computer fans will do diddley squat to the comfort factor.

It was 40C here last week with only 32% humidity. Yesterday it was 31C with 96% humidity and yesterday we had our aircons on. We didnt last week when it got to 40C as it was far more bearable without the humidity.
Remove the humidity from the air and your right.
FollowupID: 339052

Reply By: Member - Willie Sydney - Sunday, Oct 10, 2004 at 03:20

Sunday, Oct 10, 2004 at 03:20
Get a tent with four mesh sides which will remain cool during the day and will remain that way for when you go to sleep ( RELATIVELY COOL ! ).
Get a 12 volt fan for the bush and a 240 volt oscillating fan if going to any powered sites . You don't need mist sprays , the temperature loss when your body sweat evaporates will cool you .
When you get away from the coast , it gets quite cool at night . When I used to fish the Classic on the Daly river in April , it was so cold we had to wear parkers on the run down the river at 7.oo am .
Willie .
AnswerID: 79555

Follow Up By: troy35 - Sunday, Oct 10, 2004 at 15:36

Sunday, Oct 10, 2004 at 15:36
The problem is your body sweat doesn't evaporate when the humidity is almost 100%, thats why its so hard to keep cool during the "SWEAT" season, and why evap coolers don't work.
Your right about heading inland though, a little cooler and also less humid than the coast, but you will get more of a breeze at night on the coast comapred to inland. Im not looking forward to another wet season as its already getting humid now and we have 6 months to go.

Troy.
FollowupID: 338988

Reply By: Member - Melissa - Tuesday, Oct 12, 2004 at 12:04

Tuesday, Oct 12, 2004 at 12:04
Strongly recommend you get yourself a 12V fan (the type that can be purchased from any auto shop) and make up an extension lead which can run from the car battery to your tent. The current draw is virtually negligible. Don't buy a real cheap fan though as they don't last and quickly develop an annoying knocking sound as they oscillate which can drive you mad when trying to sleep. Then you need to figure out a way of mounting the fan in your tent so that it blows air over you and not just at your feet. We fitted the foot of our fan to the bottom of a small bucket which we simply sat on the floor in the corner of the tent. This raised the fan about a foot above ground level. When packed up, the fan and the lightweight power lead all went into the bucket for easy storage.

We managed a busy hotel resort in Darwin and consequently had to do most of our camping during the low season which was the easiest time for us to get away. This meant a lot of very hot, humid nights in the tent. After a particularly hidious weekend trip my husband refused to go camping at this time of year again unless we could figure out some sort of cooling system. The fan proved to be a very effective option because the biggest problem is actually the humidity more so than the heat. Inside a tent, the humidity is so heavy it becomes very stifling to breath...the fan moves the air and overcomes this problem. All our camping buddies soon followed our lead.

Another tip too, a heavy canvas touring tent may not be the best solution. We copied a lot of locals who use the dome type tents, minus the outside fly. The lightweight nylon fabric of the tent proper breaths much better than anything else on those humid nights. A good quality silver tarp erected over your tent will provide daytime shade without compromising ventilation. If you go down this road, make sure you get a tent with plenty of windows (usually front and back opening).

Hope this helps. Once we perfected our set-up in this way we enjoyed many pleasant wet season camping trips and even found we could enjoy a comfortable afternoon nap even on 40 degree days.

:o) Melissa
AnswerID: 79898

Reply By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Tuesday, Oct 12, 2004 at 12:15

Tuesday, Oct 12, 2004 at 12:15
The 12Volt Shop have a large range of 12v fans (they look like computer fans but are bigger).
And don't be to strayed from the computer fan idea, some of those really pack a punch. Our guys use them in the workshop here to keep cool, when you have a small room with 15 or 20 computers generating heat and three blokes working on a humid 38c day you need all the help you can get. If you have 3 or 4 of them you will feel a breeze in a confined place like a tent. But like all cooling you will need somewhere for the air to go. Possibly setup a couple of fans on one side of the tent sucking the air into the tent, then a couple on the other side blowing the air out of the tent through a window or somthing.
AnswerID: 79899

Reply By: Caren - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 16:59

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 16:59
All I can say is I spent from March to June travelling from Exmouth to Cairns and it was hot. For all those who say it's not that hot at night in Kakadu we had 36 degrees 95% humidity at 2.30am and it's the hotest I've ever felt. We never found anything that really helped except a good dose of patience... and wearing ourselves out til we passed out.
AnswerID: 80093

Reply By: Rod W - Monday, Oct 18, 2004 at 15:01

Monday, Oct 18, 2004 at 15:01
Don't know where you got the idea of 40 degree nights in Darwin. I lived there for 20 years and only once on one day did the temprature struggle to get to 100 degree F (37 degree C). The nights are usually quite plesent. In fact night out bush can be quite cool.

You are going at the worst time. When I first arrived in Darwin (1971) an old bloke said to me you never get use of the humity, you just bear it. When we drove out 20 years later I remembered what he said and thought to myself that he was 100% wright.

Enjoy your trip.
AnswerID: 80706