Business and travel
Submitted: Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 12:31
Austravel
Ok, there must be quite a few of you out there traveling that legally reduce your tax by having a business on the side that doesn't make money and is simple to operate. I'm about to start checking in to it but hope someone can give me some tips. You know the sort, something I can claim my fuel, rego, etc, etc on and not work full time. I know you maynot want to give me full details of what your doing but some hints, guide lines etc would be great. What about from accounts that use this site, what can I or can't I do???
Reply By: Rob! - Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 12:50
Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 12:50
What about photography.
You travel around take some snapshots, then return and display them all in a "gallery" or under the house (artistic licance). Have a gallery opening party. Sell one or two shot to your mates and ride it all off on tax.
I don't really know if that's possible, but it would be good to find out.
R.
Follow Up By: Utemad - Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 12:54
Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 12:54
That's what I was going to say.
How about a travelling salesman.
Sign up for something like Avon or some crap and sell it door to door...........state to state. While really just using it yourself or selling it to some mates or something.
Follow Up By: Austravel - Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 16:58
Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 16:58
Not bad ideas, thanks.
Reply By: Peter - Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 12:51
Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 12:51
contact the ATO
Reply By: GO_OFFROAD - Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 12:58
Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 12:58
mining lease,
allows you to leave it inactive, manage it, and be a primary producer, to buy equipment for the business tax exempt also.
But best you pay your accountant the big $ to set you up correctly.
Follow Up By: Austravel - Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 17:00
Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 17:00
Thanks, your right about the accountant.
Reply By: Leroy - Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 15:03
Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 15:03
You have to pay tax to claim tax.
Leroy
Follow Up By: Austravel - Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 16:59
Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 16:59
I know, but want to reduce the payable amount.
Reply By: flappan - Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 15:25
Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 15:25
You also need to prove its not a hobbie , and has the potential to actually earn money
Follow Up By: Austravel - Saturday, Oct 23, 2004 at 08:33
Saturday, Oct 23, 2004 at 08:33
True and I'd do this. Thanks for the advice.
Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 15:39
Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 15:39
You could try working for a 4WD tag-along company or start your own.
Follow Up By: Austravel - Saturday, Oct 23, 2004 at 08:33
Saturday, Oct 23, 2004 at 08:33
Not a bad idea, thanks.
Reply By: Lone Wolf - Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 16:02
Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 16:02
Get Accountant
Pay Accountant
Fill out forms
Fill out more forms
Paper trail
Argue with ATO
Pay Accountant to argue with ATO
Register Business Names
Set up Bank Accounts
Shall I keep going?
Business.......... either you are in business, or not, simple.
Wolfie
Follow Up By: Austravel - Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 17:04
Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 17:04
Naah wolfie, nothing is simple. Depends on your reasoning for the answer. The business could make enough to assist in travel, be a legit.. business and help with costs. Checking through a past post there's a great link to a firm that gives advice on this matter. So it's doable just need to think of that one service/product that will worthwhile.
Reply By: motherhen - Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 16:10
Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 16:10
Leroy sums it up. Lone Wolf brings in accountants into story. My advice to anyone setting up a business is to consult an accountant first, to ensure it is set up in the most tax effective way. If travel is only part for business, only some can be claimed anyway. Tax Office may not accept you as a business if what you set up does not eventually make a profit - then you pay tax anyway. No easy way out there - fall foul of the Tax Office and your in deep - - - -
Follow Up By: Austravel - Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 17:07
Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 17:07
Thanks motherhen, I will be speaking with an accountant but having a bit of info to start off with helps. Know what you mean about the tax office though.
Reply By: Willem - Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 21:36
Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 21:36
We did the following on a 5 year sojourn through Oz with a 4x4 and caravan. Bush camped 90% of the time.
Wrote for 4x4 magazine
Wrote for 4x4 book series
Took photos and sold them to publishers
Make craft items out of MDF and sold them to shops and markets
Picked fruit when the going got tough
Accountant looked after us legally and we minimised our tax. Never had an issue with the ATO but then again we weren't exactly in the big money bracket..........
Follow Up By: Austravel - Saturday, Oct 23, 2004 at 08:35
Saturday, Oct 23, 2004 at 08:35
All good ideas thanks, I'll have to follow them through with an accountant.
Reply By: Lyds - Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 23:06
Friday, Oct 22, 2004 at 23:06
Your answer is a novated lease, try smb novalease. They should be able to guide you on if this is applicable to your current employment.
If you can get them working with your employer, it will come out of your pretax pay.
Just keep the KMs/year up, say over 25K to reduce your FBT and little Johnny is your Uncle.
Follow Up By: Muddy 'doe (SA) - Saturday, Oct 23, 2004 at 00:02
Saturday, Oct 23, 2004 at 00:02
Agree totally.
If you are getting a decent salary then see if you can sacrifice some salary for a novated lease. This way the leasing and running costs of your vehicle become a business expense for your employer that they pay for from your pretax salary! The employer even claims the input tax credit on the GST so there is 10% saved straight away.
I do this and it saves me about $6,000 a year on the purchase and running cost of the vehicle. (reduces my taxable income by $12.000 thus saving me $6,000 in tax).
Can be complex when FBT is considered (works best if you do more than 25,000km per year) but it can save you heaps. Best of all the km do not have to be business related in any way! See your accountant for details.
Muddy 'doe
Follow Up By: Austravel - Saturday, Oct 23, 2004 at 08:37
Saturday, Oct 23, 2004 at 08:37
Not much chance with my employor. However I'm thinking more of moving on from them anyway.
Reply By: kenny - Saturday, Oct 23, 2004 at 01:01
Saturday, Oct 23, 2004 at 01:01
I am an employee of a company who supplies me with a 4wd vehicle which they pay all fuel ,repairs , travelling expenses , etc etc . The company directors are real lousy b@#$&ards as they pay me a very small salary and nearly keep me
broke but while ever they keep supplying me with a vehicle free of any expenses , company clothes , food ,
fishing gear , boats and canoes and other bits and pieces I will stay with them , by the way the company has to have at least 1 annual general meeting ( ours has about 6 ) and if the directors decide that that meeting shall take place on the banks of Coongie Lakes in SA over a certian period then the company also cover the cost of directors etc getting to , staying and getting back home again , you do have to have the meeting and record the minutes etc etc.
Companies cost about $1,000 to set up and pay tax at a 30% rate , but you must of course have a legal business to use the company for as fraud is frowned on by the ATO but genuine companies operate with the ATO 's blessing . The company can also negotiate with its workers ( work place agrreement ) to say pay for a workers medical expenses , supply them with a company house , renovate that house for their employee's , supply food and drink through the company cafateria .
Done legally and within the ATO's guide lines companies are a good way to go but see a good accountant who knows companies inside and out and who also has good contacts with legal proffession who know company law etc and can set up family trusts etc if you wan't to go further along the way .
Your company is no different from say BHP , CBA ,TLS etc etc .
Damn lousy ba$%&@#ds I work for
Follow Up By: Austravel - Saturday, Oct 23, 2004 at 08:32
Saturday, Oct 23, 2004 at 08:32
Now your talking. Any chance I can talk with you off the
forum either by phone or email or......
Follow Up By: kenny - Tuesday, Oct 26, 2004 at 00:45
Tuesday, Oct 26, 2004 at 00:45
Austravel
You don't work for the ATO do you ?
There are some good replies here . A business you might think about is a realestate investment business where the company holds several investment properties and collect the rent ( 2 properties will probably put you above the $20,000 mark ) and you are activley involved with travelling
Australia looking for positivley geared properties ( negativley geared properties cost you money , positivley geared properties make you money ) how many negativley geared properties can you afford - answer depends on how much disposable salary you have got / how many positivley geared properties can you afford - answer as many as you can get . Its imperitive the business makes money as it does have to pay salaries /run vehicles /pay super etc etc / look after its long suffering employees . ( a director is also an employee of a company )
Yeah we can talk ofline but as suggested before I suggest you talk to an accountant ( not a tax agent ) as every ones needs are different .
Follow Up By: Austravel - Tuesday, Oct 26, 2004 at 15:24
Tuesday, Oct 26, 2004 at 15:24
Thanks Kenny,
Naah if I worked for them I'd know all the loopholes.
Thanks for your comments, now I've got a better idea of what I'm after I'll take the advise and have a chat with my accountant. Maybe in the next year or so I can shoot through.
Reply By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Saturday, Oct 23, 2004 at 10:42
Saturday, Oct 23, 2004 at 10:42
The "expenses" you incur in your side business are only decutable against income from that business.
That is to say that losses from your busness are not deductable against your salary.
The ATO put the kybosh on this trick long ago.
I'm not guessing here, I work for a salary and own a business.
Follow Up By: Austravel - Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 10:17
Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 10:17
Hi Jimbo,
Thanks for the info. I'd be quitting my job and starting the business so the only income would be that from my invested money and the business.
Reply By: Andrew from TrekTable - Saturday, Oct 23, 2004 at 17:03
Saturday, Oct 23, 2004 at 17:03
As Jimbo points out, costs can only be offset against income from the same business. Kenny's structure is entirely sound and legitimate. But the costs of his vehicle and extras can only be offset against income derived from the business he is a director in.
Austravel's original request was for a 'business on the side that doesn't make money and is simple to operate'. The business would need to generate an income, which his travel costs could be offset against thus reducing any tax payable on the NETT income of that business.
But the ATO would expect that the intent of the business is to eventually make money (and hence pay tax). If the business exists simply as a means for generating a tax loss, then the ATO would deem the business not to be real.
The charter boat industry has been thru a real ordeal over the last few years on this very topic. It used to be OK to own a charter boat, which was rented out for a a few weeks (or even many weeks) of the year to help generate some income. Generally the rental income was less than the running costs. The boat's owners would then use the boat for a few weeks of the year during their holiday, but the whole cost of the boat would be offset against their entire taxable income. Unfortunately, the ATO ruled that this was not a true business and that the boat's running costs could only be offset against it's income (ie the boat owners could no longer offset the boat's operating costs against their total income including any external salary).
This of course had a major effect on the charter industry but that's a different story.
So the summary is, Austravel's business on the side, would need to generate an income, which he can legitimately offset the costs of the business against. But the plan for the business must be to eventually be profitable and pay tax.
Unfortunately, the ATO works hard to ensure no-one gets a free lunch.
My 2.2cents worth (inc GST)
Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Saturday, Oct 23, 2004 at 21:05
Saturday, Oct 23, 2004 at 21:05
Accurate.
Follow Up By: Austravel - Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 10:30
Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 10:30
Thanks guys the info allows me to review my idea and ask further questions. Your right my initial comment was for a business that didn't make money. Now that I've put more thought into it, it's not really what I mean. I want to travel, if I can start a business that helps with that then great. Why start the business? It's a way of generating income to help me travel and allow me to write off costs against income. Now I know very little about this subject at the moment hence the questions. Let's say I have money invested in shares, no job but have a small business (very small) that I can run while traveling. The business makes some money and has the potential over a number of years to increase. I assume my income from the shares and the business are combined to be my total income that I can then offset tax with from my costs including fuel,
accommodation etc. Is this correct????
Reply By: Moose - Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 13:13
Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 13:13
Mate - get the accountant to explain the "non-comemercial losses" provisions of the tax act.
Reply By: Wombat - Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 15:01
Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 15:01
Austravel,
I suggest you spend a bit of time on the ATO web site and if you then believe you have a viable business plan discuss it with an accountant who is Tax Office savvy.
In the mean time this might help you:
"When can you deduct a loss?
You can offset a loss from a business activity against other income if the business activity passes at least one of the following four tests. It may:
- have assessable income from the activity of at least $20,000
- have produced a profit in three out of the past five years
- use real property or an interest in real property worth at least $500,000, on a continuing basis, or
- use other assets worth at least $100,000, on a continuing basis.
If an activity does not pass any of these tests, you may still claim a loss if the Commissioner decides to exercise a discretion to allow the loss to be offset against other income.
You may also offset a loss if your business activity comes within the exception to these rules, which may apply to primary production and professional arts business activities in certain circumstances.
If your business activity qualifies for the exception, passes one of the four tests, or the Commissioner exercises the discretion, you can offset the loss from that business activity against other assessable income for the current year."
Good luck.
Follow Up By: Austravel - Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 15:12
Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 15:12
Thanks Wombat, I'll check out the ATO site and as you suggest see an accountant. I know a pretty good one but want to be forewarned with a bit of info to start with.
Reply By: G.T. - Tuesday, Oct 26, 2004 at 12:01
Tuesday, Oct 26, 2004 at 12:01
Contact BANTACS (Beachmere and Ningi Taxation Accounting & Computer Services ) at www.bantacs.com au They have an article that tells you how to claim your trip around Aurtralia as a tax deduction. Regards G.T.
Follow Up By: Austravel - Tuesday, Oct 26, 2004 at 15:25
Tuesday, Oct 26, 2004 at 15:25
Thanks G.T. I've had a read of there article, not bad, I'll certainly take it along to my accountants.