Tick Tick Tick...To adjust, or to not adjust that is the question the 4.2TDI...
Submitted: Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 11:50
Member - Chris M (QLD)
Morning all,
I have just clocked over 8,000 k's in the GU in 10 weeks. So happy with all the work done (except certain stereo installs) and the best money spent was the powerup and airlocker. A pure pleasure to drive.
I've noticed a few posts in regards to attending to the adjustment of the tappets on a more regular basis when running the motor at a higher performance/boost etc.
What is your experience? Having just done 5,000 with the powerup, I was just wondering whether I should have this done every 10, 20, 30 thou k's? Used to be a relatively easy job, but the the intercooler and crap they run across the rocker cover, I'd reckon it'll be a couple of hours. What are the allowances etc?
Thanks for your help again!
Chris.
Reply By: sevo - Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 13:24
Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 13:24
Gday Chris,
They should have been set at 1000km and then every 20000k after that. I set
mine at 1000k and all needed adjustment, takes me 45min to 1hr from start to finish(but i have been doing this for 12years) hope this helps , i will check
mine at 5000k and see how they are.
Follow Up By: crayman - Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 13:47
Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 13:47
Servo I have a tdi4.2 GU about to tappets, do you do yours cold or hot my old GQ was 12 thou cold after 2nd adjustment didnt alter much there after, what clearance you useing also hot or cold
Maurie
Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 13:51
Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 13:51
Set at 1000 by Nissan or by the powerup mob?
Thanks mate!
Reply By: sevo - Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 14:21
Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 14:21
Gday guys,
I always set TD42 valve clearences hot(obviously use a cold setting after rebuild etc but always check them hot after. Set tappets as follows:
No1 top dead centre set 1,2,4,5,8,9
No6 top dead centre set 3,6,7,10,11,12
Set them all to 14thou or 0.356mm.
Chris your nissan dealer should check them at 100k as it is part of the service schedule.
Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 14:37
Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 14:37
Thanks mate.
The 1000k service happended before the powerup. I might ask them at 10,000, or 9,500 in my case to do this as an extra.
Chris.
Follow Up By: cokeaddict - Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 20:12
Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 20:12
Hey sevo,
You sure thats the right sequence for adjusting tappets on 4.2 D ?
Never done diesel ones myself, but no where near how I did tappet adjustments on cars. Not doubting you here ok just askin.
Used to do the old... 1-5-3-6-2-4 ( firing order) sequence on petrol cars, so i figured it would be same on diesels.
Cheers Angelo
Follow Up By: sevo - Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 21:20
Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 21:20
G'Day Angelo,
In relation to your question here are some of my credentials which enable me to answer this question for you accurately.
I am the workshop Foreman at a multi-franchise dealership and have worked on the Nissan product for over 12 years. As an apprentice I would set the valve clearances on TD 42 at least once a day. I am the Nistec (Nissan International Service Technical Contest) Northern Region Champion (Queensland/Northern Territory) and Runner Up at the National Final. I am a certified "A" Grade mechanic through ATA. I am a full member of the IAME (Institute of Automotive Mechanical Engineers). I am also a Hyundai Master Technician of which there are only 50 Australia wide. The information that I have provided is 100% correct. I thought I would give you this background information on myself as we don't know each other and you could be talking to any Tom, Dick or Harry who has an opinion on how to do things. So to answer your question, Yes the sequence is right.
Thanks again,
Steve.
P.S. I used to do pre-delivery inspections on your model vehicle. (Brings back memories)
Follow Up By: cokeaddict - Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 21:52
Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 21:52
Ok,
thanks for that sevo. I will try it one day soon. And YES....I love the GQ's. I am on my second one now, first one clocked 600,000 kms and still going strong today. I believe they are the best "all rounder" 4b in australia. Especially after the weekend we had. I found out just how capable she is, which was way beyond my expectations.
Thanks again mate,
Cheers Angelo
Reply By: Peter Guy - Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 18:19
Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 18:19
I have never touched the tappetts on my GU and its done over 200K.
I understood that the hydralic lifters negated the need for any adjustment??
Follow Up By: sevo - Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 20:51
Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 20:51
Gday Pete,
What engine do you have in you patrol? We are talking about TD series engines.
Follow Up By: Peter Guy - Tuesday, Oct 26, 2004 at 17:21
Tuesday, Oct 26, 2004 at 17:21
It ts a 2.8 TD.
Follow Up By: sevo - Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 07:30
Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 07:30
Gday Pete,
The RD28 series engine in your vehicle does have a valve lifter but also requires shim adjustment. Clearences are 0.28-0.38 intake and 0.32-0.42 exhaust this is the hot setting.
Follow Up By: Peter Guy - Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 18:22
Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 18:22
Thanks for the feed back servo. I will just leave them alone- usually I find if it ain't broke then don't touch it rule works
well for me!!
Reply By: Member - Paul- Tuesday, Oct 26, 2004 at 06:21
Tuesday, Oct 26, 2004 at 06:21
Do you have a Batman Badge as
well.
Follow Up By: sevo - Tuesday, Oct 26, 2004 at 07:19
Tuesday, Oct 26, 2004 at 07:19
Gday paul,
i actually have a batman badge , you wouldnt read about it hey!!
Reply By: crayman - Tuesday, Oct 26, 2004 at 12:18
Tuesday, Oct 26, 2004 at 12:18
Hi Servo
Thanks for your very informitive replys, I have a Coramal 17.6' full size offroad caravanwhich i am about to tow arround australia with my GU 4.2TDI ST Nissan .I have heard a few stories re rear coil spring towers leting go , i will be be going to
cape york(less the van) my question is should i have the towers strenghtened? if so what does this entail , ihave pit mig welder oxy lathe ect and do all my repairs ect
Thanks Maurie
Follow Up By: Austravel - Tuesday, Oct 26, 2004 at 13:25
Tuesday, Oct 26, 2004 at 13:25
Hi Crayman, had it happen to me in a GQ, very rarely towed but carried quite a bit of weight in the back of the wagon. Probably should have slowed down a little more on the rough sections but thinking back I'm pretty sure it was a combination of things. Fully loaded, rough roads, speed and poly airs. The vehicle was 13 years old when it happened, 250k with a bit of 4x4 work say in total 50k, had polyairs for 10 years and had just come back from the cape. If you intend staying on the black top I wouldn't bother bracing the tower. If you intend going off road or badly corregated roads with the van or with the car packed it's probably not a bad idea.
Mine split vertically up the tower on the back face. Basically the tower tried to tear off the chassis, the welds held so about half way across (middle of tower) it split up the tower to the top of the tower. Pushed the fuel and brake lines up into the floor pan and pushed the floor pan a couple of inches up. Very lucky I saw it when I did or it would have punched right through the floor. There's a couple of
views on the fix but the
suspension guy that did
mine pushed it altogether and just plated inside and out of the crack on both towers.
Follow Up By: sevo - Tuesday, Oct 26, 2004 at 19:35
Tuesday, Oct 26, 2004 at 19:35
Gday Maurie,
I have only seen 2 in 12years always high km and
well used off road. Unless you have a large load to carry and drive at speed on rough road i personally would not strenghten. The repair Austravel stated is on the money.