Anyone know the flow rate of shower pumps

Submitted: Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 23:41
ThreadID: 17491 Views:3314 Replies:7 FollowUps:3
I'm looking at 12 pumps both for shower purposes and also for filling a 20 litre jerry in the back of the ute without removing it (it's permanently mounted)

My plan is to drop a filter on a 12 pump or the submersible pump head off one of those cheap shower kits into the river and pumping into the jerry.

Anyone know what flow rate the little submersible pump on the $30 showers is?

Priced a 12v 3.5ltr/min pump at an ag supplies joint today - $190. Bit steep. Any other sources that are more reasonable??

I don't mind if it takes a little while to fill. I'll just have another excuse to crack a cold can.

Reply By: Member - Bernie. (Vic) - Tuesday, Nov 02, 2004 at 01:20

Tuesday, Nov 02, 2004 at 01:20
Check out ships chandlers (marine supplies)
Try www.whitworths.com.au in Melbourne
I use a Whale inline pump, similar to the Niagara

AnswerID: 82677

Follow Up By: Vince NSW - Tuesday, Nov 02, 2004 at 07:45

Tuesday, Nov 02, 2004 at 07:45
Better still. A 500 gal per hr bilge pump for $36. Much faster than the in line and MUCH less in $.
I use them for all my water features at home and have had one running 4 hr per day for 2 years
Vince
FollowupID: 341731

Follow Up By: Member - Bernie. (Vic) - Tuesday, Nov 02, 2004 at 10:34

Tuesday, Nov 02, 2004 at 10:34
Depends what you want it to do
the inline pump is small in diameter & will fit through the jerry lid.

FollowupID: 341753

Reply By: Mike Harding - Tuesday, Nov 02, 2004 at 08:30

Tuesday, Nov 02, 2004 at 08:30
The cheapo shower pumps pass about 3lt per minute BUT only at a head of about 2m. As the creek will be (say) 2m below the bank and your jerry can is mounted 1.5m? off the ground you'll need to pump watt up to a head of 3.5m - maybe more? At that height the flow from those shower pumps will be close to stuff all.

As someone else said go for a marine bilge type pump which can reach a head of 3.5m and still be pumping a 3 or 4lt plus per minute. Additionally the marine pump is rated for long term operation the shower pumps are rated for 5 minute operation, if you’re lucky :)

AnswerID: 82691

Reply By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Tuesday, Nov 02, 2004 at 08:48

Tuesday, Nov 02, 2004 at 08:48
Dave,

As suggested above get a bilge pump.

I have the latest Whitworth's catalogue and they have the Rule 360 Gall/Hr on special for $19-95. If there's not one near you they do mail orders on 02 9939 1055.

I had one on the back of my boat to run water into a live bait tank and it happily ran continuosly for 24 hours time and time again.

AnswerID: 82693

Reply By: Member - Luxoluk - Tuesday, Nov 02, 2004 at 18:30

Tuesday, Nov 02, 2004 at 18:30
Hi Dave
Have you thought about getting a decent shower like the Glind or Twine and use the pump from that to do the topping up of water supplies? They will pump a good head of water and are a demand pump so you can have a tap at the end without having to switch on/off 12V etc. Just a thought! Besides that way we can all have a shower if you do the Canning next year LOL!! Cheers

AnswerID: 82752

Follow Up By: geocacher (djcache) - Tuesday, Nov 02, 2004 at 23:42

Tuesday, Nov 02, 2004 at 23:42
Hi Leigh,

Wondered a few times if that was your psuedonym. Was right.

Fitting a Twine to Gadgets new Navara at the moment. It's half done.

As for the Canning trip I'm still thinking about it. As is SWMBO as to how I compensate her for 4 weeks alone with the kids while I'm off playing, could be expensive.

Dunno which way to go on this one. The space under the bonnet is getting tight for mounting a heat exchanger anyway. Maybe the cheapy and a bucket of lukewarm water is all I'll end up with and we can abuse Pete's shower anyway. Still doesn't solve the jerry filling issue though.

Interestingly I can get the same Sureflo pump used on Gadgets Twine from the USA and land it here for about AU$110. Which is at least half what they retail here for from what I can work out. When you consider that that includes airmail that's ridiculous. But it may solve the problem.

FollowupID: 341863

Reply By: geocacher (djcache) - Tuesday, Nov 02, 2004 at 23:45

Tuesday, Nov 02, 2004 at 23:45
Thanks to the other posters. All good information, has anyone used the Helton Heat Exchanger with a decent pump?? Do they run too cool if you increase the flow? They are smaller from the look of it, though they put theirs in parallel with the heater and I don't know what that does to the amount of heat or control you have over it??

Heltons recommended a bigger HEU due to the fact that diesels run cooler so that doesn't solve my space problem either.

Anyone here fitted a Glind or Twine to a Courier or Bravo Turbo Diesel?? (2002) If yes, any pics of where you mounted the heat exchanger and pump?

I have seen HEU's mounted behind the bull bar but with the winch in there that won't be an option.

AnswerID: 82829

Reply By: Grinner - Wednesday, Nov 03, 2004 at 10:34

Wednesday, Nov 03, 2004 at 10:34
Hi Geocacher

I've had a Helton HE for about 18 months now. I started off with on of the cheap $30 pump & shower kits, water got into the pump electrics and it died after a few days. Next step was to a 500 gallon bilge pump from a marine shop, less than $40 for the pump. This setup worked OK, but at the camping show at Caufield Racetrack before Easter, I got one of the Flojet 10 L per Min pumps for about $120.

So far using the shower, we've only been pumping out of a bucket next to the car, but the Flojet pump should allow us to pump straight from the River (just haven't had time to try it yet).

I priced the Flojet / Shurflo pumps at Ag suppliers, and found them to be at least twice the price of anywhere else. Try Caravan suppliers or Marine shops for a better deal.

Grinner
AnswerID: 82863

Reply By: geocacher (djcache) - Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 09:57

Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 09:57
Thanks to all for responding,

Decision made and a GLIND Little Ripper purchased. I've worked out a spot for the HEU and think I'll leave the pump portable to allow the water tank filling option to be explored for a while.

I shouldn't take the credit card to the fourbie shop.....or Shep Outdoor Sports.........or Bunnings....................or the 4x4 show.......................

He who dies with the most toys wins! And if he's used them all as well he gets to take the 4x4 route to the pearly gates instead of hiking in.

DJ

PS I'll put some photo's on the web site when it's in. Click here
AnswerID: 82976