Durst Battery Chargers
Submitted: Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 15:33
Member - Roachie (SA)
I've just changed fridges in the Ultimate from a 3 way to a 12v/240v Engel 80 litre. I've also upped the ante with batteries on the camper from 1 to 2 Exide Orbital Blue Top Gel Cell type.
I have been advised by the blokes at the Ultimate (who advised me to stick with a 3 way fridge as the best option) that if I mount 2 batteries, especially gel cells, that i should upgrade to a 25amp Durst Smart Charger.
I've checked out their very comprehensive web site and they certainly make some damnfine looking gear. There is a list of battery chargers that a big
grey kangaroo couldn't jump over!!!
I've sent off an email enquiry to them, but noting that they might not necessarily have MY best interests at heart, thought it might be wise to ask the experts out there. I did a search of "Durst" before posting, but nothing came back.
Does anybody have any experience with Durst products and any opinions on whether my 2 gel cell spiral batteries would need 25amp of charger?
Thanks in advance for any and all replies.....please forgive me if I do not thank each of you individually.
Reply By: Wok - Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 16:50
Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 16:50
Hi Roachie,
These look like Mains Chargers only? Is that your intention?
rgds
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 19:48
Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 19:48
Yeh mate,
Need to get a proper charger for when the unit is tucked away in the shed (ie: most of the time , unfortunately).
Some of the other responses (below) seem to be fairly
well on the mark.
Cya mate
Reply By: Member - Captain (WA) - Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 16:52
Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 16:52
Hi Roachie,
I would have thought that 25 amp is perhaps a bit of overkill, but not a problem. I find typically when connected to 240V that you have at least all night to recharge so while a 25A would give a quick recharge for your gel cells (they can take that much, unlike a wet cell), does it need to be that quick? if a lower amp is cheaper, might save a few $$$
Its more important to have a smart charger (as this unit sounds like it is) to keep the batteries topped up when your ultimate is parked up (probably most of the time unfortunately if you are like me). That way you won't overcharge the batteries. I have a Bainbridge smart charger that puts out a max 15A, but up to 3 batteries at once. Its served me
well and also has a switch for wet cell, gel cell or (buggered if I can remember the third option), but basically it varies the charge and float voltage for the type of battery you have.
Don't know if any of this helps, but just my 2 cents worth.
PS. Nice article in 4WDMonthly, pity they didn't do more on your Ultimate.
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 19:50
Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 19:50
G'day Captain,
Yes, I must admit, the Ultimate bloke was recommending 2x N70ZZ's if I was going to a dual battery in the camper. Perhaps if I had done that, I may have needed to go for 25amps.
Cya mate
Follow Up By: Wok - Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 08:14
Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 08:14
Hello Captain,
Have the Hi-tec unit, do you notice that the fan runs continously @temp>35c? I think the frogs didn't consider tropical usage when they fitted the fan inside.
rgds
Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Monday, Nov 08, 2004 at 00:16
Monday, Nov 08, 2004 at 00:16
Hi Wok,
Yep, mines the Bainbridge Hi-Tec and the fan comes on regularly. I notice that if the battery is heavily discharged then the fan comes on, but not if its lightly discharged - seems like its doing its job to me.
Haven't noticed about the 35C as if its that warm and I have 240V available the A/C would drown out any fan noise:)
Reply By: Member - Collyn R (WA) - Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 18:08
Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 18:08
The advice to use a smart charger is very sound - in fact it's vital if you are intending to leave the batteries on permanent charge, as that is the only way, except for solar via a regulator, that you can safely do it.
A few comments:
Gel cell batteries hold their charge for hugely longer than conventional batteries - up to a year or so, but must be fully charged initially. So there is far less need for continuous charging - especially in temperate climates (the colder it is the less they lose).
Most smart chargers vary charging voltage to maintain a constant current initial charge.
In non techo-speke this means they will charge faster, safely and more deeply than conventional chargers. In practice a 10 amp smart charger will often outperform many a 20 amp conventional charger. I feel a 25 amp smart charger is
well and truly overkill for your needs.
Durst make good smart chargers - but so do many other who may perhaps prove more cooperative.
None of these chargers is cheap - but it is
well worth while with your new gel cells (which incidentally will charge happily at as low as 13.8 volts - they prefer 14.1 and must never, ever, allowed to go past 14.4 volts. Dont let a standard charger anywhere near them!
You can incidentally charge them at huge current if your really want to - like 100 amps or more.
For more info on gel cells and their charging - have a look at my website - and links re batteries on that site.
Trust this may help
Collyn Rivers
Trust this helps
Follow Up By: Shaker - Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 18:18
Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 18:18
Any recommendations re 'smart chargers' & what are they worth?
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 19:46
Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 19:46
Thankyou very much for your valued advice Collyn. I recall reading some of your posts and responses on the Camper Trailer
forum some time ago and glad to see you have "graduated" to the web's finest site for people like us; EO.
Thanks again.
Reply By: peter in sa - Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 19:26
Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 19:26
Hi Roachie it looks like you,ve got a few fans out there mate i cant get hold of a 4wd monthly any were it looks like i,ll just keep lookin around . I seen you one day out side woolies in kadina a i was going to say hello but you left to quickly i,m allways up that way seeing my sisters any way mate
well done on making the mag cheer,s GREENDOG
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 19:54
Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 19:54
G'day Peter,
Sorry I was a bit too quick off the mark when you were here.
Maybe next time you're here we can catch up.....
Cya mate
Reply By: GOB & denny vic member - Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 21:37
Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 21:37
goodday roachie
2 suppliers Hybralec & solarforce both supply smart charger both have site under these names
solarforce 15 amp $272 inc gst
30amp$416 inc
hybralec 30 amp 395 +gst
15amp 262 +
prices on net at sites
seems to be a reasonable unit had to replace unit due to other problems with van so put second battery in and upgraded to 30amp but it hasnt really had a workout yet
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 21:54
Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 21:54
Cheers Steve,
More bloody trade names than I've ever heard of....LOLOL
I'll check 'em out. Probably all use the same internal gadgets to achieve the same result.
Cya mate
Reply By: Member - Collyn R (WA) - Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 16:06
Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 16:06
Be vary careful when buying a 'smart charger'. It 's better to seek ask for a three-stage' charger as there's a lot of stuff out there trying to cash in on (a) the term 'smart charger' and (b) people seeking to buy Mercedes performance at Lada prices.
A three-stage charger has a complex charging sequence that effectively charges a battery at the highest rate and as deeply as possible - yet keeps within the safe limits for that battery.
Unfortunately there's a heap of so-called 'smart' chargers out there that are simply conventional chargers that have a circuit that turns them off when the battery approaches full charge. These charge at the same rate as normal chargers - ie it take them a b-y long time.
By far the best guide is price. Good 10 amp three-stage chargers still start at several hundred dollars, 20-30 amp units cost around $1000. If it's much less than this it's odds-on it's as described above.
Thgree-stage chargers ARE expensive but they really do a very good job indeed. Virtually every battery maker in the world recommends their use - and professional quality chargers have been using the principle since the early 1900s.
For those with some electronics background - you can do it for nothing if you have a solar regulator. These do not know or care if the dc input is from a solar module - or a battery charger. If the charger output is high enough that solar reg will work just fine as a smart charger.
Trust this helps
Collyn Rivers
Reply By: Will - Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 23:30
Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 23:30
Roachie, have a look at these.
k text
Will
Follow Up By: Will - Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 23:32
Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 23:32
Well that didn't work,
www.jaycar.com.au and look at there battery fighters,
Battery Fighter® Super Smart 12V SLA Battery Charger - 1.25A
Will
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 11:36
Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 11:36
Thanks Will,
I've checked out a few different
places on the net. Durst, Hybralec and Solarforce all sell the exact same unit (if the photo's and description are anything to go by). Hybralec is the cheapest one @ $288- inc GST, so that is the one I will go for.
My experience with Jaycar stuff is that it tends to be a bit cheap and nasty; but then again I've only had a couple of small things from them.
Thanks for your input Will..
Cya
Follow Up By: Member - Collyn R (WA) - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 20:19
Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 20:19
Be cautious with the suggested unit.
The specs show that it is not a three-stage charger. It is simply a conventional battery charger that switches to 'float mode' at 14.4 volts - ie when the battery is about 70-75% charged. Fine for a starter battery but it will only chare a deep cycle battery to the same percentage.
It's not a bad unit but it's only real benefit is that it will not overcharge the battery.
The main point of a three-stage charger is that it charges deeper and faster. These things do not do this.
You will not buy a good quality 15-20 amp three-stage charger for the prices suggested. If you have some electronics background - see the current issue of Silicon Chip magazine. This has constructional details for a 16.6 amp three-stage charge (I had some initial input re charger).
Collyn Rivers
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 22:34
Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 22:34
G'day Collyn
Sorry, but when you caution me about the "suggested unit", am I right to assume you are referring to the Jaycar unit recommended by Will? If so, I have already discounted it. The ones from the other 3 companies all seem the same and are apparently 3 stage units.
thanks again
Cya
Follow Up By: Member - Collyn R (WA) - Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 18:04
Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 18:04
My response refers to the Durst 315, 1225D and others in that range.
All operate as I outlined in my posting. They have two states of working (apart from off!). Boost at a fixed 14.4 volts and float at 13.8 volts. In other words they almost exactly mimic the action of a car alternator/regulator and will therefore charge in that manner.
I am not suggesting they are good - or bad. Simply that they are not three-step chargers in the generally accepted usage of that term.
I reiterate, there is no such thing (as far as I am aware) as a low priced three-step charger. For trade help ring any of the following Fridge & Solar Springer Electrics, Power Protection Solutions, Outback Marine, Bainbridge Technologies. All have good products. All are on the non-WA side of Oz (but are still OK).
Trust this answers the query.
Collyn Rivers