Prado Brakes

Submitted: Monday, Nov 08, 2004 at 13:47
ThreadID: 17633 Views:12008 Replies:8 FollowUps:2
I have had my Prado brakes machined three times and rotors replaced once in 100000 kms, I am told this is about normal but it seems excessive to me. I have a tralier which I pull infrequently, I do drive off road (including water). I use the vechile daily to commute to work in traffic approx 150km per day. Any insights are appreciated.

Reply By: Member - Bradley- Monday, Nov 08, 2004 at 13:58

Monday, Nov 08, 2004 at 13:58
Not sure of the exact set up on the prado, but i do know that a lot of new cars have a lot of trouble with the brake rotors, especially the floating rotor designs, Falcons and commodores are always getting the discs machined due to brake shudder. But i reckon that your case is pretty bad, especially for a 4x4. Jackaroos do about 200k before you need to change pads, Rotors are indestructable. Only thing i can think is if you are hitting deep water when the brakes are really hot and warping the surface.
AnswerID: 83495

Reply By: Kiwi Ray - Monday, Nov 08, 2004 at 14:13

Monday, Nov 08, 2004 at 14:13
hi Mike
Is you Prado one of the models fitted with traction control?
My experience with some trucks with traction control is a high wear rate on the pads if they are working hard in adverse conditions
Hope this is of some help
Ray
AnswerID: 83498

Reply By: Outnabout David (SA) - Monday, Nov 08, 2004 at 15:53

Monday, Nov 08, 2004 at 15:53
Mike,

Seems excessive to me if you are talking all 4 discs. Depends on the way /conditions you use it and whether manual or Auto.

My previous Prado's both petrol and diesel Auto's usually were getting low on the front at about 30K. I go up and down a lot of hills each day and the freeway I use has a 7 degree incline for about 5 km. The rears usually got me about 50K.

The current diesel auto 120 has just notched up 47K and the brakes are still fine. Bigger brakes on the 120 probably have something to do with that as well as using the gated transmission shift a bit more for engine braking.

Have the pads been relaced with genuine?

What we find is that the original pads rotors are matched for hardness/efficiency and when "hard"pads are fitted it tends to prematurely wear the disks out.
AnswerID: 83516

Reply By: Mal58 - Monday, Nov 08, 2004 at 16:31

Monday, Nov 08, 2004 at 16:31
Mike,
My 98 Prado (manual - no ABS) has just notched up 90,000 Kms. Not much really, for it's age. The front pads were replaced at approx 20,000 kms by the dealer (in retrospect, I think over servicing), and I have only just had all the pads (Front and Back) done now at 90,000 (by my mechanic) as they had worn out. I have had no problem with warping or pulsing etc at any time.

I had the disks machined when I had the pads done at 90,000 just to remove any glazing etc that developes over time, plus I think it is good practice to help with the seating of the new pads.

I have towed an off road tent camper trailer for approx 25,000 km around QLD, Flinders Ranges, Tassie and parts of Victoria.

Apart from the tours with the camper, I probably get some 4wd'ing in 4 or 5 times a year (not enough really). Most of the tracks I drive would be classed as dry, with the occasional creek, bog hole or muddy patches.

So based on a comparison, I would say that your experience is probably a bit out of the ordinary, but a lot really depends on the conditions you drive the vehicle (stop start traffic, lots of water crossings without waiting for the car to cool before entering the water etc).

Best of luck,
Mal58
AnswerID: 83518

Reply By: Member - Paul- Monday, Nov 08, 2004 at 20:23

Monday, Nov 08, 2004 at 20:23
Most Modern cars have brake pads that have a hard compound friction material. As the manufacturer of the car has no idea of the ability of the drivers who purchase these vehicles hard compounds are used for resistance to fade ( riding the brake pedal downhill )and long pad life( elimimates pad change during warranty period ). Changing the pad compound to a softer one will be kinder to the rotors and have better pedal feel. Trade off is dirty wheels (brake dust ) and reduced pad life. Average pad life in manual cars with factory pads could be as high as 78 - 80K, this will reduce to about 40K with soft pads. I remember changing my LJ Torana pads every 20K. Don't foget to replace brake fluid every 12 months.

AnswerID: 83547

Reply By: 80scruiser - Monday, Nov 08, 2004 at 21:10

Monday, Nov 08, 2004 at 21:10
Gday mikel
I have a few prados come through the workshop.
Most get around 80K on the genuine pads.
We change to softer pads ie:4wd compound in either Bendix or we prefer Ferodo Excel. I have just machined a Prados rear discs for the first time - 246 000 K.
We had alot of trouble when the asbestos was taken out of brakes late last year and consequently machine all brakes unless the customer requests not to. We started this 155 sets of brakes ago and have not had 1 warranty claim on squeeking, grinding or shuddering.
We get alot of the floating discs warping and therefore giving a pedal shudder. The reason ??????? IMHO I don't think they can disipate the heat as efficiently and then when they can cool down they do it too quickly. I do get a few solid bearing mounted rotors in mainly Falcons shuddering as well. I can't answer why they do, maybe driver technique ???????
In your case I think it is excessive. I have had it when the hand brake is adjusted up to tight can give rotor problems in the rear but you would notice this as the back of the car tends to vibrate whilst driving.
I would research as to the brands of pads being used and stick with the bigger brand names and stipulate the 4wd compound. I have had great success.
Cheers and good luck
Scott
AnswerID: 83560

Reply By: AndrewX - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 00:05

Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 00:05
I'm on my 3rd Prado and have never had the brakes machined - including the last one which I sold at 130,000 - it passed the roadworthy no problems. IMHO the cause is 150km commuting per day. Off roading is not hard on brakes as it usually doesn't involve high speeds and infrequent towing should have little effect. Brake wear also depends a great deal on the driving style of course...
AnswerID: 83602

Reply By: timmy g - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 14:00

Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 14:00
I have a 2000 TD Prado Manual with 167,000km on the clock. I have had the car since brand new and tow a 2t camper trailer for about 10,000km each year with it.

I am still on the origianl brake pads on the front, and had the rear brake pads changed at the 140,000km service.

My normal daily driving is 100k of mixture freeway and highway.

My boss had the auto version, and he found he was replacing the brake pads every 60,000kms.
AnswerID: 83683

Follow Up By: AndrewX - Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 09:25

Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 09:25
Timmy that's most unusual for the front to outlast the rear .. or maybe it was a typo! You see the braking force is automatically weighted in favour of the front. If the rear received more force the rear wheels would constantly lock up due to the forward thrust of the vehicle weight. Or maybe you stop on your handbrake LOL
Also, before you jump to any conclusions about manual v auto brake wear, the only way is to have the brake wear on the two vehicles measured after a period of same or at least very similar driving. A mate of mine had to replace the front pads on a manual V6 Prado at 49,000kms. He thinks he's a racing driver when in city traffic and commutes to work each day. But that proves nothing other than compare apples with apples if you want useful data. Still I think there's something fishy about your frony v rear figures. Check them and let us know!
FollowupID: 342710

Follow Up By: timmy g - Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 10:55

Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 10:55
Definetly have not had the front pads changed (unless Toyota did it for free, which I very much doubt). I agree with you though it is strange that the rear were replaced before the front, but that is what has happened.
FollowupID: 342719