GU Rear Barn Doors

Submitted: Friday, Nov 19, 2004 at 14:09
ThreadID: 17929 Views:2538 Replies:3 FollowUps:5
Hello, i was wondering if anyone knows the position the rear doos on the GU like to sit, mine make a tapping sound and i can only get rid of it by making them fit tight together then the light wont turn off

any suggestions?

thanks

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Friday, Nov 19, 2004 at 14:57

Friday, Nov 19, 2004 at 14:57
not sure what you mean Brent, where does the tapping come from? Have you tried that stickon foam tape that may help?

I have upgraded to the GUIII rear door rubbers as they are thicker and actually exclude the dust from the rear of the patrol, unlike the originals, maybe that is a chance.

AnswerID: 85033

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Nov 19, 2004 at 16:00

Friday, Nov 19, 2004 at 16:00
G'day Brent,

I gave on the light switches in the rear doors, especially the big door. I'd be driving along and for no reason, the red indicator light on the dash would light up. I'd stop, get out and check the 4 passenger/side doors.....no good. Open the small cargo door and hold in the switch at the bottom; no good. Open and re-close the large cargo door, close the small door and bingo, red light would go off. My question (if I could speak to a Nissan engineer) would be..."what possible use is a switch on the large cargo door?" Think about it.....the only way you can get the large door open is to open the small door first.....and when you do, the interior light would come on if that is the way you've got the light switch/s set-up. Having a switch on the large cargo door serves no purpose.

In my case, I have removed the inner door trim on the large cargo door (and stored it away) and have screwed/bolted on a opening tray/table. This gives me easy access to the internal crap on the inside of that door and i unplugged the light switch. I also unplugged the switch on the small door as I figured that if i stop somewhere in the dark to get something out of the back, chances are my door or one of the passenger doors will be open and the back light will come on; hence no need for that switch either.

Nissan should revise their electrics in other ways......eg: the windows should be able to be operated for say 1 minute after the ignition has been turned off. Also, there should be an option to over-ride the electric windows individually on the other 3 doors. What happens with us is that i lock the windows so the kids won't put the back ones up and down all the time......then Annette (SWMBO) gets the poops with me when she trys to put her window down cos I've got them all locked. Just a small issue, but annoying.

Sorry, I'll get off my soap box now...
AnswerID: 85044

Follow Up By: Utemad - Friday, Nov 19, 2004 at 16:31

Friday, Nov 19, 2004 at 16:31
On my last car I had electric windows and the lock button stopped all the passenger windows. However I think Dad's old Volvos used to only lock the rear passenger windows. Better idea for kids I reckon.

However since I live in a kid free zone, I use the power window lock to stop people putting windows down when I have the air con on. For some reason it really annoys me when someone gets in my car and I have the air con on and the first thing they do is put the window down.
FollowupID: 343693

Follow Up By: Member - T-bone (ACT) - Friday, Nov 19, 2004 at 16:33

Friday, Nov 19, 2004 at 16:33
My Rangie just locks out whichever windows it wants, whenever it wants.... :)
FollowupID: 343694

Follow Up By: Brent.n - Friday, Nov 19, 2004 at 17:08

Friday, Nov 19, 2004 at 17:08
thats a tipical rangie they do what they want when they want that is why i have a patrol now, loved the rangie but was to tempromental
FollowupID: 343706

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Friday, Nov 19, 2004 at 18:02

Friday, Nov 19, 2004 at 18:02
Roachie, he of the 4WD Monthly cover pic, do you have a photo of the rear door table arrangement? Also do you happen to have the extended arm for the smaller door that lets it open to right angles? That would give more room to be at the table.

I await your reply.

FollowupID: 343719

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Nov 20, 2004 at 20:46

Saturday, Nov 20, 2004 at 20:46
G'day Bonz,

I haven't got any photos at present, will see what i can do with this new fangled digi camera i've got. Mind you, it's a VERY basic "table". You might be better off getting a professional one from the member on this site who makes them (not sure of his name, but pretty sure his "EO NAME" incorporates his little business. Anyway, if you remove the large plastic trim just below the glass on the larger door (there are 2 plastic plugs you need to remove to do so) and then remove the whole plastic/vynle trim carefully (the small white lugs tend to break easily). That will expose the workings of the inner door, after you also peel off the clear plastic liner....caution, doing this may allow allow dust to ingress, but doesn't appear to be of any noticeable volume as far as I'm concerned.

Using the 2 upper holes, I put an occy strap across the top. This is used to retain the table in the upright position. Using the holes that are exposed along the bottom of the door once you remove the main trim section, I bolted 3 x 3" hinges in place and secured the table (just a piece of partical board) to them. Once folded up, I used a lug on the underside of the table onto which I clip the occy strap.

To hold the table at it's horizontal position, I used 2 lengths of plastic covered clothes line. Once again, i used existing holes in the sides of the door which had been the home of the lugs holding on the main trim and then just secured the other end of each piece through a hole drilled through the table. You could use chain for this too, but it might rattle around.

On the small door i did a home made (bodgy) job too. If you can weld you would be better off doing it the way my mate (Member: Gerk) did his....but I'll explain that later.
With mine, I undid the bolt that holds the bracket to the body work. I took another 3" hinge and knocked the pin out of it. One half has what i will call 3 lugs through which the pin went...the other half has only 2 of theses lugs. I used the half that had only 2 lugs. I used a countersunk 3/16 bolt and attached it to the bracket so that the 2 lugs are facing rearwards closest to the door. The head of the bolt goes through the hinge and ends up sitting hard up against the bodywork near where the original bolt was located. A nut holds the 2 parts together and ends up being in the same spot on the bracket as the original bolt head was. Any excess length of bolt can be cot off...hence the bolt is only about half an inch long.

Now it's just a matter of holding the door as far open as you can without the black plastic cover (which goes above the number plate light) hitting the rear body work above the tail light. Once you have the position sorted out, I used 2 tech screws through the other 2 holes in the half hinge to hold it in place. Note the door only opens a fraction more than standard, but it helps a helluva lot. The location of the counter-sunk bolt is only about 1/2" or less from where the original bolt was.

Now, as for Gerk's idea.....much more professional looking..... He removed the small bracket all together by taking the bolt out (same as I did), but then also removing the hinging pin that holds that small bracket to the strut. He then took the small bracket to his work bench, cut off the the half section of the hole that the bolt had gone through, welded on another piece of steel to give himself more "meat" and then drilled a hole the same size as the original bolt's hole, but about 8mm further away than the original...Same result, neater finish. My tech screws may end up working loose with wear, but I still have the original captive nut there to re-use if need be. In the meantime, I try not to fling the small door open with any significant amount of force that might accelerate the wear factor of the tech screws.

Hope I haven't been too long-winded in my explanation.
FollowupID: 343794

Reply By: Member - Raymond - Saturday, Nov 20, 2004 at 08:41

Saturday, Nov 20, 2004 at 08:41
Hi Brent
Had the same problem with the 2001 Gu 3TD. The easiest solution was to undo the bottom clip that the door locks into and put two washers underneath it and screw it back down, problem gone, light no longer came on and the dust did not come in. No problem with the new GU
Ray
AnswerID: 85119