Chevy 6.5L V8 Fuel Economy

Submitted: Sunday, Nov 28, 2004 at 20:25
ThreadID: 18160 Views:31268 Replies:7 FollowUps:6
I'm interested in the Chevy diesel convesion for my 100 series LC (maybe not just yet but sometime in the future). Anybody know what sort of fuel economy they get?

Also, what's availability of spares and belts like - if I want to go round oz and a belt goes will I be stuffed?

Reply By: Mick - Sunday, Nov 28, 2004 at 20:44

Sunday, Nov 28, 2004 at 20:44
Mike, I suggest you take a set of belts with you. I'll guess at between 15 and 20l/100 for the economy question. You already know this I'm sure but economy can vary greatly according to speed, driving styles, road conditions, load etc. More thoughts on economy - probably closer to 15 than 20. The Toyota version in diesel usually returns 14-15 l/100, but don't expect that from a 6.5l V8 and particularly a Chev as they're not as refined or fuel efficient as the Japanese engines - you know what American engines are like - big, tough and thirsty! Good luck with your conversion.
AnswerID: 86276

Follow Up By: V8troopie - Monday, Nov 29, 2004 at 01:13

Monday, Nov 29, 2004 at 01:13
Heres a comparism of the 6.2 V8 diesel in a 75 series;
around town =14 litres / 100km
towing a 2500kg boat across the nullarbor =20 litres/ 100km

No starting problems - but it won't start with a dud battery :-)

No injector problems.

No overheating - they fitted bigger top and bottom tanks to the standard radiator to allow for the bigger hoses and they fitted an oil cooler.

Belts, depending on the installation, mine needed an extra long belt for the AC (~1600 long) and I had to ring around a bit for a spare - other 2 belts no problem.

Brunswick diesel installation.

Yes, watch that extra torque, my rear diff started whining on the return tow from east ( towing a heavy boat) and packed up completely some time after I got back to Perth.

Klaus
FollowupID: 344970

Follow Up By: Ferret - Monday, Nov 29, 2004 at 02:23

Monday, Nov 29, 2004 at 02:23
V8 Troopie, you don't live in Wellard do you?
FollowupID: 344971

Reply By: Oil Drippa - Sunday, Nov 28, 2004 at 20:48

Sunday, Nov 28, 2004 at 20:48
I would be more worried about the fuel pump $$$$ My mate got as far as Esperance and his died , then got to Alice and the injectors had dramas , got as far as Darwin fuel pump went again , rang up the company in WA where they fitted it .......and they didn't want to know about it , heaps of overheating drama's , new ally radiator didn't do much , too much torque stripped some sharft in his 5 speed gear box so he sold it and got another 80 series .......he still has it now and swears that he wouldn't do that operation again !
$15K conversion for his 6.5 $800 for each pump not inc freight $1200 for injectors dramas , $850 for ally radiator ,$2450 for gearbox ............one expencive boat anchor !
AnswerID: 86278

Reply By: V8Diesel - Sunday, Nov 28, 2004 at 21:38

Sunday, Nov 28, 2004 at 21:38
I've got a 6.5 in my 75 series. Haven't bothered to work out the fuel economy but it is pretty good. Much better than my GU Patrol. You will be very surprised - it wont be that different to the HZJ motor.

Re: belts etc - Everything I've needed is available from Coventrys. If it's not on the shelf, it it'll be there that day on the arvo run. The water pump runs two belts so your safer if one packs it in. I also have have a full Murphys engine monitoring system installed (oil pressure, water level, engine temp) which has big flashing red light and buzzers if anything goes haywire.

Re: overheating - mine just has the heavy duty Toyota radiator in it with a shroud and it keeps it well cool.

Re: injection - the mechanical pump is good from what I've managed to find out. The flasher electronic controlled unit is big trouble.

Re: injectors - I religiously put Morey's diesel additive through it and it runs sweet as a nut.

On another note, definately go a serious twin battery setup. They are a big diesel and require a fair bit of grunt (even with the reduction starter) to turn over quickly.

Brunswick will sell spares off the shelf too.
AnswerID: 86293

Follow Up By: Topcat (WA) - Monday, Nov 29, 2004 at 11:31

Monday, Nov 29, 2004 at 11:31
I agree with V8Diesel on the dual start battery set-up. I have had a 6.5 chevy in my troopy for 10 years now & run 2 Yuasa 700CCA start batteries in parallel & have never had any start problems. You may have to move them out of the engine bay because of the heat problems if you want to get longer life out of them.
The best economy I've had is around 13ltr/100km sitting on 2 grand on the tacho which gives me a cruising speed of 100km/hr. (High speed diffs fitted). Never had a problem with engine cooling. Got rid of the tojo radiator on installation & fitted a larger cored one with bigger top & bottom tanks.
Always carry a spare set of belts although I have never had to change one yet (100,000km). Also never had any fuel injection problems (touch wood!), but one word of advice: never run your fuel tank dry - they are a bastard to prime & take quite a bit of cranking over to bleed the injectors!!!!. Cheers
FollowupID: 345013

Follow Up By: sub - Tuesday, Nov 30, 2004 at 01:29

Tuesday, Nov 30, 2004 at 01:29
v8. just wondering if you fixed the steering problem in the gu.i have had the castor bushes done and it fixed mine up .
cheers sub .
FollowupID: 345098

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Tuesday, Nov 30, 2004 at 08:01

Tuesday, Nov 30, 2004 at 08:01
sub, still haven't had a chance to get the castor bushes done but they are number one on my hit list. Just need a day off to do it.

Keep you posted.
FollowupID: 345109

Reply By: Member - DOZER- Sunday, Nov 28, 2004 at 21:40

Sunday, Nov 28, 2004 at 21:40
Buy a factory turbo motor from a 80 series called a 1hdft, (95-98), it bolts STRAIGHT in where the 1hz was, and sell your 1hz for 3k. I suggest you buy one with gearbox, as the 100 has a prado box behind the 1hz (only the 1hz) but this is not essential...only if u intend heavy towing. This way it all stays Toyota, all fits, and all looks std...
AnswerID: 86295

Reply By: Niki - Monday, Nov 29, 2004 at 07:00

Monday, Nov 29, 2004 at 07:00
you want to put Chevy in a Toyota ?

Youbleeping nuts !
AnswerID: 86325

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Nov 29, 2004 at 11:23

Monday, Nov 29, 2004 at 11:23
Makes more sense than a Musso by a long shot.
FollowupID: 345012

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Nov 29, 2004 at 17:35

Monday, Nov 29, 2004 at 17:35
Grab the December issue of 4WD Monthly. It's got a great looking rig on the front cover (but I might be a bit biased)....

Anyway, in it there is an article about a bunch of blokes and shielas who went out raising funds for a bush fire unit or something. One of the blokes who was featured had a 100 series with a 6.5 Chev in it. Looked okay. Maybe you could track him down through the phone book etc.....I've had a few people do that with me from the article on my rig.

Good luck (I wanna do the same thing some day if the old 4.2 ever throws in the towel; but hopefully that'll be another 10 years/400,000klm).

AnswerID: 86431

Reply By: prado_95 - Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 23:42

Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 23:42
Couple of points;

The 6.5L chevy diesel came as mechanical and electronic controlled injection pump. The electronics are bolted to the back of the pump. they get hot & fry unless you relocate them form the valley to the inner fender or firewall. Cheap and easy to do. Electronic controlled pump version produces more power.

Many of these engines came with 3.55 or 3.73 diffs in the US. Toyota LC in Oz are mainly 4.1 diffs, so expect a higher fuel consumption than when fitted to original vehicle, and a reduced top speed (due to lower redline & diff ratio).

However the difference in torque is huge when compared to the Toyota offerings of the same year.

Also expect some additional weight over the front axle (about another 150lbs).

If its to go in a tow vehicle the results are worth while and economy may actually increase (over the Toyota 1HZ engine - definitely for any of the petrol engines).

Remember to keep off the throttle - lest the flash for cash boxes lighten your wallet some more!
AnswerID: 89839