Securing UHF aerials

Submitted: Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 13:15
ThreadID: 18272 Views:4968 Replies:12 FollowUps:10
I've just had my third UHF aerial nicked from my Patrol.

Unscrewed and gone...

Any of you wise monkeys know a way of securing this one so I don't lose another???

Reply By: Peter McGuckian - Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 13:19

Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 13:19
Michael,

I use a GME 4018 antennae on a screw base and I unscrew the whip when I'm around town and not using the radio. I keep it under the back seat ready to put back as needed. This was initially so I can park at work but also as a secirity measure.

AnswerID: 86962

Reply By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 13:23

Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 13:23
Drill and tap a hole thru the antenna base and mount, secure with a grub screw.
AnswerID: 86964

Reply By: Flash - Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 13:27

Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 13:27
Wouldn't you like to castrate these bastards.
That's precisely why I now have cheap (Supercheap) spotties. Had my good Cibie Super Oscars nicked. They DID have grub screws.
I suppose I can look forward to losing my CDMA and UHF antennas too.
Grrrr.
AnswerID: 86965

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 13:32

Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 13:32
Screw the grub screws below the surface and fill with filler so it has to be drilled to be removed. Gotta make it hard for these bastards.
FollowupID: 345608

Follow Up By: James M - Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 16:25

Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 16:25
problem with that is the bastards mentality would be to snap the antenna if they cant flog it.
FollowupID: 345655

Follow Up By: Member - Alan S (NSW) - Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 17:01

Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 17:01
I think I'd prefer to see it broken than stolen....
FollowupID: 345659

Follow Up By: James M - Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 17:50

Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 17:50
The crazy thing is that they probably wouldn't even use it or sell even if they did take it.
I better stop here before I get on my soap box.
FollowupID: 345680

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 19:50

Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 19:50
To remove more risk take it off and leave it in the vehicle but you may then find they take the vehicle or kick in some panels, run a key down the side, pour paint stripper or brake fluid over it...damn it leave it in the garage and take a bus :)
FollowupID: 345709

Follow Up By: James M - Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 07:07

Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 07:07
Thats funny.
Unfortunatly its probably true...
FollowupID: 345755

Reply By: bushfix - Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 13:36

Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 13:36
G'day Michael,

For your situation, if you never remove the antenna yourself then loctite may be an option?

I use a flexible dipole design (stubbie whip) gutter mounted. For a start, it is not a fancy antenna and is only $28. It is also "one piece" where you have to chop the cable and unscrew it from the gutter. Although it is pretty inconspicuous when upright, the mounting hardware allows me to lower it into the gutter when parked so it does not catch the eye. Check the link below, 2nd last antenna on the first page.

Prestige Comms

cheers,

Jeremy.
AnswerID: 86967

Reply By: Member - Alan S (NSW) - Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 14:06

Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 14:06
Hi Micheal,

That just happened to a mate of mine the other day too. They took the top part of the antenna, screwed it off etc. Did they take your entire antenna or just the top part?

The base of my anetnna will need tools to have it stolen but the top part just screws right off. I was wondering if there would be any adverse effects if I just superglued the two parts together, any opinions out there????

AnswerID: 86976

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 14:22

Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 14:22
No problem as long as electrical continuity is maintained.
FollowupID: 345620

Reply By: phantom - Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 15:02

Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 15:02
Michael,
I have a connector for joining coax cable (from Dick Smith's) and filled it up with araldite to keep it waterproof and just screw it on instead of the aerial when driving around town. Works a treat.
AnswerID: 86985

Reply By: Member - Clive G (WA) - Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 15:15

Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 15:15
I had my aerial secured grub screw filled hole , everything,, they couldnt take it, so they broke it, wouldnt you love to be in a locked room with them for just 5 minutes,

Clive
AnswerID: 86988

Reply By: Banjo (SA) - Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 16:25

Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 16:25
You can make a small cheapy antenna for about $5 out of bits - will do ok for around town - being obviously home made and very basic, might also be un-attractive to the dirtbags - whatever type of mount you have, get a suitable female connector and build in a 150mm bit of straight wire. Works for me in the metro area - this length is close to 1/4 of the wavelength for channel 20. My connector is the same as the coox end plug - I did have a page explaining my build ... will see if I can find it and publish it soon at http://homepages.picknowl.com.au/darian
AnswerID: 87000

Follow Up By: Banjo (SA) - Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 11:30

Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 11:30
Published a page here. May be of interest....might not. Whatever.
FollowupID: 345806

Reply By: Rosco - Bris. - Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 17:54

Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 17:54
Around town I use a unity gain stubby job. Only about $10 so no great loss .. and probably not so attractive to the mongrels. Also works well in convoy or hilly situations. Keep the long one under the back seat for when needed.

Make it too hard and they'll probably do some damage out of spite.

AnswerID: 87013

Reply By: Muddy 'doe (SA) - Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 20:08

Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 20:08
Agree with others. I keep a $14, 6 inch rubber "stubbie" antenna on while in town. If it gets flogged then you just replace it, mutter some words uncer your breath, and move on with your life. The dirtbags are not worth the stress!

I have a good $70 6db 1 metre antenna that lives in the car and this is put on when on a trip - a 30 second swapover. Good for out in the plains.

Having said that, the 6 inch rubber ducky is quite adequate for convoy work or around town and is not so prone to being wiped off by low branches so it stays on most of the time anyway.

Muddy
AnswerID: 87031

Reply By: Member - Jim M (NSW) - Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 21:01

Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 21:01
i soaked mine with locktite. But i caught a parrasite trying to pinch my bull lights a few year ago. being a truckie i sleep lite. snuck outside baseball bat in hand. got about ten feet away from him sitting on the ground with his legs under the front of the car. as i stepped on the gravel he tryed to get up. i took a big step forward and aimed for the suckers head but with him gettin up i got him between the shoulder and the elbow. i could still hear him squillen two houses away. thinken back a head shot would of took his head rite off. LOL, EVERY DOG HAS ITS DAY. good luck with ya arials mate.
AnswerID: 87044

Follow Up By: Member - Sparkie (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 21:47

Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 21:47
ROFLMAO. Well done. I really laughed hard at that one. A pity you missed or else NASA would have to send a probe out into space just to look for his head!

Sparkie(IE not Y) ;-)
FollowupID: 345730

Follow Up By: Anthony - Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 12:43

Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 12:43
Excellent ... lets hope he tells all his mates how much it hurt!
FollowupID: 345837

Reply By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 13:20

Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 13:20
RFI make a flat "patch" aerial that just sticks to the inside of your window glass. Gain is only 3-6dB, but that's fine for convoy duties.

Can't be stolen without ripping off the entire window or car......

Just a thought.

Chrispy
AnswerID: 87146