Hi-lift jack - New! LM-100 Lift Mate

Submitted: Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 09:36
ThreadID: 18292 Views:5570 Replies:7 FollowUps:5
Greetings!

Just considering welding some brackets on the 80 series cruiser for the hi-lift jack. However I ran into what I think is a new product from Hi-Lift called the Lift-Mate. It is attachment that will jack up your 4x4 from the wheel rim with the hi-lift jack.

I can't seem to source them in Australia at the moment. Does anyone have one or seen one? Are they any good and would they work on the 80 series standard rims?

For $38.00 AUD it is looking like a better option than adding brackets to the Cruiser.

Link provided below:
link text

Reply By: Top Cat - Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 10:18

Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 10:18
I may be getting this all wrong but it looks to me like that is simply a manner of lifting the actual wheel.

Im not sure it is used to actually lift the vehicle off the ground.

And if it is meant to lift the vehicle off the ground then what is the point.........how are u going to get the wheel off if the jack is attached to it????

Or have i missed the point somewhere??
AnswerID: 87109

Follow Up By: Marko - Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 10:45

Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 10:45
I suppose it depends what you use your hi-lift jack for. I haven't had to change a tyre (yet) so thus far I have only ever used it for winching. But I imagine if you were bogged or needed to get something under your tire for extra grip or height it would work a treat. I dont know maybe i am missing the point??
FollowupID: 345791

Follow Up By: Jimbo (WA) - Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 20:50

Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 20:50
Top CAt,

Mate, the Hi-Lift is NOT for changing tyres - too unstable and dangerous.

It is only for use in a recovery situation - ie. putting stuff under your wheels for traction etc.
FollowupID: 345934

Reply By: eerfree - Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 10:31

Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 10:31
If the rear tyre is punctured then fit the Lift-mate to the front tyre and keep pumping till the rear lifts off!!! LOL.
AnswerID: 87113

Reply By: japmel - Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 11:37

Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 11:37
Marko

Take a look at at how that thing works.

I'm bloody sure I would not like my hi-lift jack leaning against my car when I'm triing to use it.

Just an observation

japmel
AnswerID: 87130

Reply By: Davoe - Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 13:31

Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 13:31
dont waste your money welding jack points to your vehicle they have to be quite low to the ground for maximum effectiveness. Hub lifters that fit over your hubs are the only way to go and they are cheap. I have one that is made out of machined pipe to fit over but you can buy them. To get the ute off of logs I have had to jack it rigth up at times - you cant get that kind of elevation with jacking points. I have used the jack when bogged on salt lakes to get boards under the back wheels and have had no problems with burried hubs(unless you are really stuffed how are you going to bury your hubs in mud - you would have to bury your diff first) you cant change tyres with hub lifters but imho you shouldnt use a roo jack for this anyway due to there instability. As for having the jack rest on the body - never had a problem when you start jacking you angle the jack away from the vehicle and as you jack it straightens up
AnswerID: 87147

Reply By: Clarrie - Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 14:26

Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 14:26
Here is a link to what you are talking about but it is in the USA and probably suffers from normal ex USA supply issues. On the face of it this product would make a Hi-Lift workable on most 4wd for "stuck" situations?
http://offroadrecovery.zoovy.com/product/HL_LM100
AnswerID: 87152

Reply By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 22:57

Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 22:57
Hi ,
When I went through the Great Sandy Desert with Murchison Safaris , Alick used a hub attachment on his Hi Lift jack to lift the car to a height where he could get the normal jack under the car .
I reckon it would work well in tandem with a jack stand . I use an exhaust jack in tandem with a stand , so it would work just the same .
Cheers ,
Willie .
AnswerID: 87230

Follow Up By: Davoe - Saturday, Dec 04, 2004 at 18:21

Saturday, Dec 04, 2004 at 18:21
????? I have changed heaps of tyres and never needed a jack to be able to fit the jack under
FollowupID: 346024

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Saturday, Dec 04, 2004 at 20:28

Saturday, Dec 04, 2004 at 20:28
Gee Davoe ,
I will have to take you along with me next time I stake a sidewall in the sand and the arse of the car is on the ground . You can show me how you do it .
Cheers ,
Willie .
FollowupID: 346031

Follow Up By: Davoe - Saturday, Dec 04, 2004 at 22:06

Saturday, Dec 04, 2004 at 22:06
I am talkimng bout cruiser utes. If you are having problems in sand then dig a hole to get the jack under, or if in rocky or wooden ground drive the flat up onto a rock/log and put the jack under it. other options are to be creative bout jackiing points. my last work trip out I had 11 flats in 5 days so I guess I get a fair bit of practice.
FollowupID: 346053

Reply By: Frshn - Saturday, Dec 04, 2004 at 18:28

Saturday, Dec 04, 2004 at 18:28
I think you can do much the same with chain. Slip the chain through 1 or 2 spokes, form a loop then hang it off the nose of the hi lift. Need to secure the chain onto the nose though... maybe with small shackle or long bolt.

I haven't tried this myself as I have no hi lift experiance whatsoever. If any1 game enuff to have a go, let us know how it went!
AnswerID: 87280