Which is the best second hand 4WD on the market?
Submitted: Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 17:38
Alex
Hello,
I'm looking at buying a second hand 4wd to take camping/4wding. My mate has a 2.8 Diesel Hilux that he swears by, but I want to get an idea of what's a tough 4wd that has good ground clearance and good value for money in terms of servicing and parts. It'll mainly be used for 4wd, and we won't be doing any heavy towing with it.
I'm looking at cars around the 10year mark, and under 10K.
Alex
Reply By: Davoe - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 17:47
Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 17:47
Ill stick my neck out for starters forget about the value for money with service and parts with a diesal - coz it doesnt happen - they break $$$ If I was after a vehicle in that bracket I would be looking 60 series cruiser bit older than 10 years but oh
well you asked
Reply By: Baz (NSW) - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 18:30
Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 18:30
Buy an old Landrover 110 county with the 3.9 isusu diesel in it, tough as nails.
Follow Up By: HILLI - Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 21:23
Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 21:23
AND A BIG TOOL BOX
Reply By: GO_OFFROAD - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 18:42
Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 18:42
a 96 Prado will give you alot of modern luxeries, and a good ride and handling, as
well as having good load space.
If wanting cheaper to service/run, stay away from diesel after 88.
Follow Up By: Utemad - Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 10:29
Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 10:29
Would you get one for under 10g? They seem to hold their value very
well.
Reply By: GRAEME - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 18:49
Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 18:49
A hilux would do the job nicely, fairly tough and quite capable with heaps of parts available if you get serious. And I hate to admit it but the same goes for a GQ patrol.
Reply By: manson - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 19:10
Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 19:10
Easy..........GQ TD42
Reply By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 19:25
Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 19:25
Yep...my money would be on the TD42 GQ!!
Reply By: theshadows - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 20:09
Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 20:09
Will someone please show me a td42 thats under 10 k thats not in the wreakers........ some one please. I'm not kidding . Post a link or something.
For under 10 k you not going to get much. Welcome to lada's, hilux 2.4 diesals, my favourite Nissan Terrano's / navara's and domestic 60 series landcruisers. Nissian MQ for about the same with the sd33 motors are perfect and as tough as they come.
If you can go to the 16k mark you can get old discoveries that are about to die. Old GQ patrols that are on the death beds with 750k's on the clock and the gearbox falling out. you will get good high mileage 60 series domestics, 75 series. At this price range some of the surfs make a appereance and import GQ's that have all the bells and whistles plus a 24 volt wireing in them.
2.8 hilux is also starting to appear that arent knackered.
the bad news is all of these cars are from 13 - 18 years old. if you want under 10 years start at 20 k min in cash
shadow
where is that 96 prado for 10 K?????
Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (WA) - Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 12:57
Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 12:57
Shadows by the sound of things you pay too much for your cars. I am currently in final negotiations for an 80 series 200k 1994 with all the important stuff winch, bars 2 spares gme 2 way for 13 I trawl the papers alot and the going price for 1/2 decent sounding hj75s troopys and utes is 8-12k. I looked at an hj75 with turbo with some rust for 6k a 1/2 decent diesal 60 should be between 6-8 k
Follow Up By: Mark- Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 21:12
Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 21:12
Actually, I have a GQ TD42 which I want to sell and I'm about to put it in the trading post. I'm asking 10k for it but am willing to negotiate a bit. Am getting a RWC on it this week.
Its done 279,000 km and drives like a dream. Defintly not on its deathbed. I'd drive it anywhere, its been incredibly reliable. I think it actually goes better as it gets older. Its just the basic no frills model, a DX, white with a bull bar and Hayman Reese towbar. Its pretty much standard apart from a 2" lift.
Follow Up By: patrol4ever - Wednesday, Jan 05, 2005 at 12:43
Wednesday, Jan 05, 2005 at 12:43
gq 4 under 10K? Try a 95 DX diesel (with air) for $6500 + trade-in XF falcon. This patrol has 487K's on clock, but condition is amazing. Evidence of gravel travelling underneath & paintwork, but no rust (not even in the usual patrol
places), and drives tight as a drum, uses no oil.
Really shows when some1 takes the time to maintain properly...
Reply By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 21:10
Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 21:10
Alex,
10 large will not get you a lot. Just by coincidence, today I saw a 93 3L GLS Pajero in a car
park with a for sale
sign, $13,000 ONO and whilst it didn't look like a dog, it wasn't pretty either.
Talk to Eric, he has posted his number here a few posts back. He trades in used cars and is a fine chap. He'll be able to guide you.
Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 21:12
Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 21:12
You'll get Eric on 0418 364781.
Reply By: Member - glenno (bris) - Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 00:23
Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 00:23
Get a troopy .
Follow Up By: theshadows - Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 08:13
Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 08:13
where are you going to get a troopy for ten thousand??? even good 45's go for 12 plus. be able to get a good 55 and drop drop a 2h motor in though but thats 30 years old
shadow
Follow Up By: Member - glenno (bris) - Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 11:02
Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 11:02
Ok, ok i will admit you wont get a troopy for $ 10 000 . The best i have seen for ten grand or under is a 60 series
well maintained with winch ,spotties etc for $7000
Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (WA) - Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 12:59
Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 12:59
Glenno as I mentioned above hj75 troopys go 8-12k so I woiuld say no worrys although it would take a fair bit of looking to find one that didnt need soime work
Reply By: Rhubarb - Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 21:42
Sunday, Dec 12, 2004 at 21:42
Have a look at the Suzuki Vitara and Sierra's. Look at spending $6 - 7k on the vechile and then speed $3 - 4k on bits.
You will have a very capable weekend warrior.
Reply By: JonnoC - Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 12:47
Monday, Dec 13, 2004 at 12:47
I bought a troopy 4 years ago for $9500. It was a 1989 HJ75 Diesel.
The only reason I sold the car was coz we're having a bubs. It was slow, and I must admit I've had smoother rides at the show, but it was bullet proof. It had 220000ish kms when I bought it and I sold it at about 298000kms for $7500 (prob could have got more).
I took the thing to
ceduna several times a year, usually with about 6 mates, towing a tiny and carrying everyones gear. Great car and yes, if it's just a fishing/camping mobile I'd say perfect.
You'll prob only get one under $10000 as a private sale mind you.
Jono