Compartments in car fridges

Submitted: Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 14:39
ThreadID: 18563 Views:3185 Replies:10 FollowUps:24
I havent got a car fridge @ the moment as most who where at Robe will know
I will be buying between an 80 & 110 litre fridge
now my question is do most of you use fridge /freezer or all fridge
Just want to know the pluses & minusses of weather i get a 2 compartment fridge or just a one compartment one like the fridge reaserch/reefer
ones
thanks in advance
warren

Reply By: Peter McGuckian - Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 14:57

Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 14:57
I use the Waeco CF50 and find this big enough for our needs. Always have cold beer and cider on the top. Run it cold enough to freeze the meat at the bottom. If you are going for a larger one then I would get one with 2 compartments.

AnswerID: 88686

Reply By: Leroy - Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 14:58

Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 14:58
I don't personally don't see the need for a freezer but some like to bring ice-creams for the kids. And unless you will be away from civilisation for a number of weeks an 80/110l fridge is pretty big and not just physically!

Leroy
AnswerID: 88687

Reply By: Member - T-bone (ACT) - Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 15:25

Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 15:25
I'm currently thinking about the same thing. I'm leaning towards getting a combo fridge/freezer - that is, running it purely as a fridge for weekends away (should be able to run it for a couple of days off battery without starting the car), and running it as a freezer for Big Trips where I'm on the move most days (then I can just swap blocks of ice between the freezer and the eskies). Maybe someone out there is using this sort of system and can let us know how it goes...

T-Bone.
AnswerID: 88696

Reply By: Utemad - Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 16:17

Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 16:17
I used to use the Engel SS80 Combo and it was fine as a permanent 2 compartment unit however the fridge is about 32L and is very narrow yet tall and the freezer is about 44L and square. So the freezer is much larger and useable than the fridge. When the freezer contents was used or if you had nothing to freeze in the first place you could just use the freezer compartment as the fridge and turn the dial down a bit. However this makes the fridge section next to useless. So you then have a 44L fridge and 32L wasted space.

I just bought myself a Waeco CF-80 and I find it far more practical to have the option of a small freezer and large fridge (opposite to SS80 Combo) or a big arse fridge (not possible in SS80 Combo).

AnswerID: 88708

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 18:47

Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 18:47
Agree totally with Utie. I to have just gone to a CF 80 from a 39 L Engel. As Utie says the CF 80 is versatile.

I have only used mine as a big fridge, but am happy in the knowledge that when I do the "big trip" I can pop the dividers back in and have a freezer compartment should I need it.

The other beauty of the CF 80 running as all fridge is that the cooling element is down one end which means it can be run as I like at around neg 1 C at the cooling element end to keep the beer icy, which results at pos 4C at the other end, with graduating temps in between. And there is the "dairy" compartment which is ideal for your lettuce, tomatoes and butter.

My 39 L Engel used to keep everything at one temp, so if I wanted icy cold beer I would freeze the lettuce (if I could find room for it).

FollowupID: 347591

Reply By: David Au - Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 16:40

Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 16:40
Aussichef firstly, do you really need an 80 or 110litre fridge. As others have pointed out they are large physically and take a lot of power in a day - like 84amps +++ and that is at 5°C on a 30°C day. If my mental maths treats me well, for every 1°C colder you make the fridge, that will be in the order of 9 amps more per day. Yes, a considerable amount of power.
The other issue with the two compartment fridges, their are neither a fridge or a freezer, and the temperature control in both sides is not easy to control. In the fridge part, to get even temperature, you really have to fit an air circulating fan. Those 40mm or 50mm 12vDC fans that switches on and off with the thermostat.
If you go for a 50litre fridge, and have a Sunbeam Food Preserver that will go towards storing meat etc. for an extended time. I have had an imported unit that I have used for many years and found it to be fabulous. While these type of thing have been available in the past in Australia in small automatic units like this model Sunbeam, they have been extortionate prices of around $400.00. We run our fridge at 2°C to 3°C and never had any issues with anything not lasting. The cost of a 50L fridge and a Sunbeam Food Preserver is a long way cheaper than a 80L or 100L fridge.

This is what I posted only yesterday on the MSN Senior Travellers Forum
Vacuum packaging can extend food life and the table below is from the excellent Sunbeam Instruction book (PDF File) available on their website for download.
I believe vacuum packaging to be a more cost effective and better option to those two zone chest type fridges - which are neither one or the other, and do not maintain the correct temperature for food storage - usually in both compartments. Once you have had a dehydrator and vacuum packaging unit, you would not be without either. I can highly recommend this method of food storage for campers and caravaner's. We also have a food dehydrator and vacuum pack all the dehydrated food.

TRADITIONAL STORAGE TIMES WITH
Refrigerated foods ( 5± 2ºC) STORAGE TIMES FOOD PRESERVER
Red meat 3-4 days 8-9 days
White meat 2-3 days 6-9 days
Whole fish 1-3 days 4-5 days
Game 2-3 days 5-7 days
Sliced cured meats 4-6 days 20-25 days
Soft cheese 5-7 days 14-20 days
Hard and semi-hard cheese 15-20 days 25-60 days
Vegetables 1-3 days 7-10 days
Fruit 5-7 days 14-20 days

Cooked and Refrigerated foods (5 ± 2ºC)
Purees and vegetable soups 2-3 days 8-10 days
Pasta and risotto 2-3 days 6-8 days
Boiled and roast meats 3-5 days 10-15 days
(full chart in Sunbeam Instruction book)
AnswerID: 88716

Follow Up By: Member - aussichef (SA) - Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 16:56

Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 16:56
Yes i read your post on the other forum & yes i know about these units & use a tefal one for over 10 years + i am a professional chef & know all about preparing & preserving food of all types lol
but i appreciate your reply
& yes if u knew my family i need a big fridge lol
i have always been told
get one size bigger of whatever yr after as u can be sure in 6 months u will have wished you had
thanks warren
FollowupID: 347550

Follow Up By: Utemad - Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 17:03

Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 17:03
Does it tell you how to preserve ice-cream ROFLMAO.
FollowupID: 347554

Follow Up By: Shaker - Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 17:14

Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 17:14
I had our meats 'cryovaced' for our recent outback trip, we were still using red meat after 5 weeks, fresh as the day we put it in the fridge.
We were using a 40L Engel running at around 2 degrees.
FollowupID: 347562

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 18:52

Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 18:52
Warren,

It is easier to outgrow a small fridge than it is to under utilise a large one. Go as big as your budget allows if you are like me and like to take plenty of stuff, and I know you are LOL.

Keep in mind a big fridge draws big power.

FollowupID: 347593

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 19:06

Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 19:06
In response to David's comments on 84 amps/day, this may be so running it as a fridge and freezer in hot weather. I don't doubt this is possible from my experience.

However running a CF 80 as all fridge, in 25 to 28 C ambient, on 3 lights with the power setting at low (draing 3 amps when running) it cycles on for 4 minutes, then off for 6. Thus it is cycling 40% of the time at 3 amps equals 28.8 amps per day. Put it up to 4 lights and it goes 4 on, 4 off, which is 50% which equals 36 amps per 24 hours.

This I know because I've sat and timed it ( bleep I need to get a life).

I have experimented with running it as a fridge and freezer briefly, and whilst I didn't time the cycles, my multi meter told me it had used a huge amount just running overnight.

Running as a fridge and freezer is only an option if you are travelling a fair distance every day and have a very good dual battery setup, preferably with a large cpacity AGM battery, or if you have a very good solar system.

FollowupID: 347595

Follow Up By: David Au - Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 19:53

Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 19:53
Jimbo the 84 amps a day is from the figures I have in print from Waeco in FRIDGE ONLY mode. The test was done at an ambient temperature of 30°C and a cabinet temperature of 5°C. From reports from users, the figures appear about right - all I can say, never tried one myself, but Waeco supplied figures have always proven to be pretty accurate. We all use them for calculating solar systems, and to date nobody to my knowledge has questioned them.
FollowupID: 347618

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 20:08

Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 20:08
David,

Interesting, your comments have prompted me to re-read my Waeco manual and it states that it draws 36 watts AVERAGE on the low setting. I had originally misread this to be 36 watts when running. That would equate to about 72 amps/24 hours, which mine does not draw according to my observations. Although at night it would obviously draw a lot less.

However 36 watts average would suggest possibly 84 watts when running which equates to about 7 amps. Now when I run it at home from a 4 amp power supply the "Error" light which is supposed to flash if it is not getting enough power never comes on. If I switch it to "turbo" the light starts flashing. Naybe the power supply is conservatively rated?

Now I'm really confused.

I'm going to call Waeco for some technical advice tomorrow.

FollowupID: 347620

Follow Up By: Utemad - Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 21:09

Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 21:09
Jimbo,

We were talking about this in a previous thread. It might have been one of your solar threads. Anyway if you look on the bottom of your fridge it will have a sticker or label or something that says the fridge draws a max current of 7.x amps. I assume this is only when you press the boost button as my manual says when boost is pressed it cools quicker than on the high setting. The manual also says it draws about 3.5 amps or so per hour when running on a particular setting and a certain ambient temp. This means 3.5 amps every hour not just 3.5 amps when the fridge is running and nothing when it is not. So for example if you had a 50% on/off cycle then usng these figures that would mean the fridge is drawing about 7 amps 50% of the time and 0 amps the other 50%. These figures are obviously just a theory guess work thing but I hope you get what I mean.

I'm not at home atm (away for work til Chrissy) so I can't check my manual but just look in yours and all the info is there (plus the bottom of the fridge).
FollowupID: 347626

Follow Up By: ev700 - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 00:08

Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 00:08
I think the US Dept Health or whoevermaintains that a certain temperature must be reached to preserve meat. I am not sure whether food drying units reach the required temp.

I read somewhere drying can be effective in preserving meat if first a higher temp is reached to kill bacteria.

Anyone have any clues?
FollowupID: 347665

Reply By: Nudenut - Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 17:00

Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 17:00
yep 80 appears large for most instances.

fridge or freezer....depends on whether you take icecream and a few other delicacies with you not.

as above cryovac will hold meat for ages......

When we go away (4 blokes) we take a esky full of home made ice for cans and perishables such as marg and opened packet food stuffs....run fridge as freezer to keep icecream and prawns and cray for cunsumption later in week....works for us!!
AnswerID: 88722

Follow Up By: Member - aussichef (SA) - Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 17:11

Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 17:11
Now just a point but please dont think i'm having a go.& a little off topic
the Sunbeam product metioned above isnt a cryovac as a cryovac heats as it seals & thats why food last weeks & months in them just refridgerated
the product above seals out the air which will make the froducts last longer than wrapped in clingwrap .but again they are better frozen in these packs and are good for stopping freezer burn.
MY butcher crovacs my meat for me even if i cut it myself then again the hotel where i'm chef buys 100,000 dollars weorth of meat off him a year which i but into steaks & such
sorry just being a chef here lol
warren
FollowupID: 347558

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 17:22

Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 17:22
i assumed the sunbeam stuff they were refering to was in fact a cryovac.....but if it aint then just ignore any refernce i have made to it!
FollowupID: 347565

Follow Up By: David Au - Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 17:35

Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 17:35
The Sunbeam has a vacuum pump to evacuate all the air and automatically heats and seals the plastic while all the air is removed.
I thought that is all a 'Cryovac' unit did. I imagine a commercial Cryovac unit may draw a higher vacuum, but don't know. The European brand unit I have, in the handbook refers to "Cryovac process". I would say, this is based on the same principals of Cryovac which is a trade brand.
I think the major difference of Cryovac the bag is heat shrink plastic, where the Sunbeam and other domestic units remove all the air and seal the bag. I don't expect the Sunbeam to be as good as commercial Cryovac, however the basically identical European brand I have suits my needs well and gives me the desired storage times.
FollowupID: 347573

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 18:37

Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 18:37
To clear up the issue of vacuum sealing and cryovacing, this is the difference.

I have been to meat works where they cryovac meat. The process is that the meat is vacuum sealed, then dropped into a bath of water briefly at 80 C to kill all surface bacteria and then immediately into a cold bath to chill it down again.

When I owned a Steakhouse Restaurant we got our meat delivered that had at least 21 days of aging as it gets more tender the longer it ages. It will actually last, refrigerated, for three or four months in a good coolroom. I've known a large cut to last 6 months, but was a bit "gamey" but bloody tender.

Vacuum sealing on the other hand, is just that, vacuum sealing. Lasts longer than cling wrapping but is not the same procees as cryovacing. Some butchers have actual cryovac machines on their premises whilst others vacuum seal and masquerade it as cryovac.

Hope this clears it up.

FollowupID: 347588

Follow Up By: Member - aussichef (SA) - Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 19:09

Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 19:09
That is right jimbo & thats what i was saying about cryovacing & vacume sealing lol
our local butcher has one that seals with a burst of hot air just like this chef lol lol lol
alot of people buy these vacume sealers thinking they can keep things out of the freezer that isnt the case as u & i both said just better than clingwrapping
hows yr new fridge you didnt put your 2 bobs worth in for me ???
warren
FollowupID: 347596

Follow Up By: Member - aussichef (SA) - Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 19:28

Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 19:28
David Cryovacing isnt just taking out the air & heat sealing the bag
cryovacing is breifly heating the product to get rid of bactiria before air is removed & then heat sealed so sumbeam is misdirecting their customers into thinking its a cryovacer its a vacum sealer & thats all
warren
FollowupID: 347602

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 19:54

Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 19:54
Warren,

I've put in followups all over this post. I'm extremely happy with the CF 80. Only cost me $980 from the Fridge Shop with a bonus 15 L thermo job.

FollowupID: 347619

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 21:57

Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 21:57
its all too hard...

Jimbo I want some of that gamey meat eh...just love tender steaks yum yum
FollowupID: 347637

Reply By: porl - Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 17:24

Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 17:24
I have an Explorer, its got a 30L fridge compartment and a 15L freezer with internal lid for the freezer. What do i put in the freezer ? Frozen bait. If you've ever had defrosted pillies seep into your food fridge you'd understand.

Makes a great work bench too, though probably not too good for the seal (which is dead easy to replace anyhow).

Also good for ice and frozen steaks and such. When I don't need the freezer I turn it all down and the freezer becomes my chiller on about 1 degree C and the fridge becomes the cooler on about 8 degrees C. As a chef i think you'd appreciate that.
AnswerID: 88726

Follow Up By: porl - Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 17:31

Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 17:31
And to David yes my Explorer has a real freezer that holds my thermometer (admittedly when its at the bottom) to minus 18 on setting 6 on a 30C day - you get a lot of those days in brisbane, its about 35C right now.

It has the Danfoss compressor.
FollowupID: 347571

Follow Up By: DiesAl - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 14:22

Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 14:22
Gday porl, only slightly off topic here. Does your Explorer have seperate controls for the Fridge and Freezer or just the one dial?
FollowupID: 347748

Follow Up By: porl - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 14:55

Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 14:55
Hi DiesAl

The Explorer has two separate dials, one for the fridge and one for the freezer. However, this is a bit misleading as it only has one compressor. Basically the freezer control overrides the fridge control. The set up is sufficient extra cooling coils around the freezer compartment to keep it at about minus18C when the fridge is at about 4C. So really i often wonder what the point is in having 2 controls but in any event it has two controls. I can have the whole thing as a freezer but i have never tried it at both settings on full, maybe on the weekend.
FollowupID: 347755

Follow Up By: derraux - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 17:57

Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 17:57
Just found this thread your explorer is set at -20 freezer and -8 fridge on the cooling panels, not air temp this is at max setting yes one does overide the other but not always freezer over fridge , being a retailer of this product the manufacturer old me that as you change each compartment individually it should only adjust the other by a couple of degrees, however have not done this test yet, good to see you bought a good fridge.
derraux
FollowupID: 347806

Reply By: ginga - Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 17:50

Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 17:50
The other thing to watch is that with the Engel MT60F Combi, if you run it as a fridge only (by removing the 'freezer compartment' lid you effectively end up with a fridge in the freezer comparment & a dairy compartment in the normal fridge area.

This is because the normal fridge area doesn't work until the freezer area reaches 2 degrees.

I'm pretty sure I'm accurately paraphrasing what Engel told me (or at least I think I am). :}
AnswerID: 88731

Follow Up By: Member - aussichef (SA) - Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 18:16

Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 18:16
Thank you ginga
this is the sort of thing i wont to know before i decide
most of the use will be one day trips to weekends or in my case a cpl of days during the week lol
but now & then weekly trips like when i go to murray sunset for the eo gathering in march
warren
FollowupID: 347584

Reply By: Des Lexic - Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 21:37

Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 21:37
G'day Warren, If you looked into my rig at Robe, you would have seen my trailblazer which is a 70litre unit. They are a very good fridge but a bit heavy cos of the insulation. (you may need to upgrade to a yota to carry it as the troll suspension could collapse under the weight LOL)
seriously, if you run the fridge at around the 4-5 setting, the bottom will freeze and the top stays cold. You can buy them up to 110+litres. They have a web site, try trailblazer fridges through google.
Can I order my meat through you for the next trip lol
AnswerID: 88757

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 23:19

Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 23:19
Al,

The only reason you need Yota suspension is because some big fat bastard sleeps on the roof LOL.
FollowupID: 347656