Powering 40Ltr Engel Fridge

Submitted: Sunday, Dec 19, 2004 at 14:19
ThreadID: 18694 Views:17413 Replies:8 FollowUps:14
We have recently bought a 40ltr Engel Fridge and are going camping to an unpowered area. Can anyone give us an idea of whats best to use to power the fridge away from the car.

The Engel batt pack looks good but very expensive - there must be a cheaper alternative - Jump Starter pack? or Deep cycle gel battery? also, how long will these keep the fridge running, depending on the temp of course, before needing charging?
(We will probably use the Engel as a freezer.)

Reply By: Member - Gecko (WA) - Sunday, Dec 19, 2004 at 14:44

Sunday, Dec 19, 2004 at 14:44
Hi there I have a 50 litre waeco which is powered by a .95kva gen available at bunnings or most car stores for around 169-199.00 there is enough for the fridge and one light.
AnswerID: 89460

Follow Up By: Aandy(WA) - Sunday, Dec 19, 2004 at 19:57

Sunday, Dec 19, 2004 at 19:57
It's always a bad day in the bush when people are running generators Geeko. Ever heard of a second battery and a fluoro light? Or even moonlight or firelight? Or even darkness?
FollowupID: 348360

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Sunday, Dec 19, 2004 at 20:35

Sunday, Dec 19, 2004 at 20:35
Disagree with you Aandy,

A generator (and most are very quiet these days) used responsibly at appropriate times will cause less noise than flies.

The gentle hum of a four stroke generator or the rhythmic popping of a two stroke at the right time of day is far less irritating than the intermittent buzz of flies or the sound of some clown's blaring music.

I spend some time at Gembrook, Vic, which is a haven for motor bikes. They make plenty of noise but it is their bush to enjoy in their way as much as I enjoy it in mine.

Tolerance is the key. Allowing something else in the bush to spoil your experience just isn't worth it.

I don't use a genny because I have found my new love, solar. Not because it's quiet, just because it's convenient.

Anyway, each to their own.

Jim

FollowupID: 348364

Follow Up By: Member - Gecko (WA) - Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 00:42

Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 00:42
Just for the record, I do not use the genny around other people or in camp grounds although they really are quiet, and I do have two fluoro lights and a gas lantern, we like the quiet as much as anyone else, however I do not like the idea of a battery run fridge when in the thick of it, even on my two battery system, and when alls said and done I at least offered an alternative, and not just my own two cents worth.
FollowupID: 348386

Follow Up By: time waster - Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 07:56

Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 07:56
gecko i was told from bunnings not to run the the fridge or anythink sensitive off of the the generator direct as they give out spikes
FollowupID: 348392

Follow Up By: Aandy(WA) - Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 23:29

Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 23:29
Wrong jim. Tolerance is not the key. CONSIDERATION for others is the key. Blaring music, loud motorbikes or other inconsiderate behaviour do not make the sound of a generator any less intrusive. They only add to it! Caravan parks in towns and cities have strict limits on sound emissions but out in the bush where we are supposed to be able to "get away from it all" we have to put up with generators, motorbikes, chainsaws, and "heroes" trying to get through bog holes or 45 degree inclines. After my last trip to the Wonnangatta Station I was almost glad to get back to the peace and quiet of Melbourne. I am so happy that I have memories of being there in the sixties when the only people encountered there were true bushmen who enjoyed the simple pleasures of a yarn around the camp fire and the light of the moon and stars. Sad to say the modern vehicle has made it possible for all the sooks and softies who "must" have warm milk on their special high fibre, low cholesterol cereal and couldn't survive without a chilled chardonnay before dinner.
FollowupID: 348482

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 01:40

Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 01:40
Aandy,

Wrong is a very strong word. I think you mean wrong in your opinion.

The bush belongs to all Australians to use it as they see fit, that is as long as they don't destroy it.

How someone enjoying a glass or two of wine, or eating All Bran with low fat milk, affects your enjoyment of the bush eludes me.

Mate, settle down, it's not up to you to decide how life in the bush SHOULD be. It's a personal choice.

I'm neither wrong nor right. Neither are you.

FollowupID: 348491

Reply By: drivesafe - Sunday, Dec 19, 2004 at 15:15

Sunday, Dec 19, 2004 at 15:15
Hi Paul&Cathie, have a look at the fridge specs and you will get an idea of the power consumption.

Next, you will need to have a rough idea of how long you will be requiring the fridge to be powered off the supplementary power supply.
This is a start.

Post those figures and there will most likely be a rush of options posted.

AnswerID: 89463

Reply By: Member - Brian (WA) - Sunday, Dec 19, 2004 at 17:24

Sunday, Dec 19, 2004 at 17:24
Hi paul&cathie. if useing your engel as a freezer it will be working most of the time.
Providing you DONOT keep going into it.get it down to minus at home and have it on freeze when travelling, then when you arrive at your destenation turn it back
to no2 and keep it in theshade. if its frozen in the fridge you can manage
longen on the batt. or vac pack your meat and just use it as a fridge
hope this gave you some help. brian
AnswerID: 89469

Reply By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Sunday, Dec 19, 2004 at 18:58

Sunday, Dec 19, 2004 at 18:58
Paul and Cathie,

So many variables such as how high you run it, the ambient temperature, how often you open it etc. Figures could vary from an average of 1 amp per hour to 5.

Here is an example. I went away for 4 days with my Engel 39L (which sold today) that is less efficient than your 40. It was in Gippsland in September and was cool. At the time I had a Falcon and just ran it off the 550 cca start battery and idled the motor 4 times a day for 15 min. I was running it on about setting 2. Had no problems.

Would be a different story running it on freeze in warm weather.

As for battery packs, there is much to consider. The amp rating of the pack is important and you should halve this if you want life out of it; it is not a good idea to run a battery below 50% as it shortens its life. The other consideration is how quickly will it recharge. it's not much use if you use the available power and then have to drive 6 hours the next day to recharge it. For that reason I use an AGM auxillary battery as it will recharge from 50% in around 45 minutes.

Then if you are planning to stay in the one spot for a few days you will need something to charge the batt eg a generator or solar panel.

Try the archives under fridge, batteries, dual batteries, generators and solar. It will keep you going for hours and will help a lot.

Hope I haven't confused you too much and if I can help with anything else please ask; not that I'm any expert. You might also saerch the archives for Collyn Rivers, he has genuine technical expertise.

AnswerID: 89472

Reply By: Aandy(WA) - Sunday, Dec 19, 2004 at 20:08

Sunday, Dec 19, 2004 at 20:08
Very simple mathematics P&C. The larger Jump start packs (Projecta) have a 17amp/hour battery,. It will provide 17amps for 1 hour or 1 amp for 17 hours. Thus I can ise my CPAP (antin-snore machine) for 2 nights sleeping 7 hours and drawing about 1 amp per hour. You do the maths yourself for the fridge. Using it as a freezer i would expect a draw of 5 amps per hour so 2 maybe 3 hours would see the Jump start out. I think you'll need the biggest deep cycle second battery you can get your hands on fitted to your car and go for a drive each day. There are gas fridges which are much more practical if you're not touring - all you need is a gas bottle to run them and they are very good. I use a Finch which cost me $100 second hand many years ago. Works well on 12volts, 240volts or gas.
AnswerID: 89480

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Sunday, Dec 19, 2004 at 20:18

Sunday, Dec 19, 2004 at 20:18
One other consideration. If the batt pack is 17 amps you should not drain it completely or it will be stuffed in no time. Keep it to 50% if you want it to last; effectively 8.5 amps, bloody near useless for a fridge.

FollowupID: 348361

Follow Up By: geocacher (djcache) - Sunday, Dec 19, 2004 at 23:39

Sunday, Dec 19, 2004 at 23:39
Sorry to rain on your parade here but the maths above is not quite right.

A 40 litre Engel draws about 2 amps when its running.

Whether it's on freeze or chill won't change the current flowing in the circuit, it will remain around 2 amps.

What changes the length of time the battery lasts for is how long it draws 2 amps for.

Ampere Hours is a measure of current over time.

If the fridge is on freeze and it's a hot day and you forgot to close the lid so it runs for the whole hour it will use 2 Amps x 1 hour for that time.
This equals 2 Ah or Amp hour. At 2 Ah it will run of a 20 Ah battery for a bit under 10 hours (20/2 = 10) as the process isn't 100% efficent.

If the fridge is on chill with the lid closed and runs for 15 minutes in the hour (0.25 of the hour) then the usage will be 0.25 x 2A x 1 hr = 0.5 Amp hour.

In the second case it will run off a 20 Amp hour battery for 20/0.5 = 40 hours (a bit less again due to efficiency)

My Engel 40 running at about 4°C will run off my 75-80 Ah secondary battery for 3 days up the river without the vehicle running. Therefore it's easily going to last for 24 hours off a 20-25 Ah battery.

Lastly it is not the remaining Ah capacity that stuffs batteries, it is the voltage that they are discharged down to. And then it depends if they are deep cycle or not as to whether that's a problem.

A 20 Ah battery will give you 20Ah (or more usually off a new battery as they rate conservatively generally) before it gets to the stage where the voltage is getting low and you can go a little past that point before it gets to battery stuffing stage but not much, otherwise they would call it a 10Ah battery (and it's case and price would be half the size).

Now a suggestion. Your vehicle battery is probably between 60-80Ah. You probably have an 80 Amp alternator on it. Until you can afford to buy a dual battery setup you could run your fridge at around 1 - 2 on the dial or 4°-6°C and use about 12-18Ah of your capacity each day depending on duty cycle of the compressor (ie how much it runs in the hour) and top up by running the vehicle for a while each day.

Let's say conservatively without anything else (lights, stereo, air con fan) running at idle or just above you can probably get 10-20A of charge from your alternator. If the battery is being drained 20Ah per day, an hour running would top it up. But realistically the if you ran your vehicle for 20 minutes a day and camped in the same spot 3 days you won't have a problem starting it on day 3 to move on. THAT IS PROVIDING YOUR BATTERY WAS IN GOOD NICK TO START WITH! Get it checked before you go.

A good solar panel on the roof (pack it up before you drive off) will just about run the fridge on a sunny day and use nothing from the battery too.

FollowupID: 348384

Follow Up By: Aandy(WA) - Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 23:14

Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 23:14
Quite wrong geo. the fridge may be drawing 2 amps when it is running but the important figure is amp/hours. As a fridge on a very cold day it may consume 1amp per hour. As a freezer on a hot day it may consume 5amps per hour. This was the original question as to how long it would run.
FollowupID: 348480

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 01:23

Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 01:23
With all due respect Geo,

Your post is grossly innaccurate on many grounds and is no way to treat any battery that you may expect reasonable life from.

As for your theory of current draw, I would seriously question that. There are many sights on the net that would differ from your views.

They are written by farmore knowledgeable people than you or me.

As I said, no disrespect intended.

FollowupID: 348490

Follow Up By: geocacher (djcache) - Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 17:37

Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 17:37
Quote:It will provide 17amps for 1 hour or 1 amp for 17 hours. Thus I can ise my CPAP (antin-snore machine) for 2 nights sleeping 7 hours and drawing about 1 amp per hour. You do the maths yourself for the fridge. Using it as a freezer i would expect a draw of 5 amps per hour so 2 maybe 3 hours would see the Jump start out. End Quote.

Aandy, if you draw 1 amp per hour you are using 1 Ah of your batteries capacity. If you do it from a 1 Ah battery it will be flat in an hour. You will take 20 hours to flatten a 20 Ah battery.

A fridge (or any device for that matter) that only draws 2 Amps with the compressor on can never use 5 amps per hour.

Jim,

Without getting personal you have no idea what I am qualified as so please don't imply I have no idea what I'm talking about.

If what I have described is unclear or you have criticism to make, please provide the figures or detailed explanation to explain to all the others on this very public forum just exactly why I am wrong, as opposed to criticising without any suggestion of what is correct.

No disrespect taken, but I wasn't always an Ambo & I've got no idea what you are qualified as either.

FollowupID: 348570

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Wednesday, Dec 22, 2004 at 08:39

Wednesday, Dec 22, 2004 at 08:39
Geo,

A lot of what you have said is at complete odds with what the likes of Collyn Rivers have to say.

Also different to what is said on sites such as this;

http://www.windsun.com/Batteries/Battery_FAQ.htm#AGM,%20or%20Absorbed%20Glass%20Mat%20Batteries

Cheers Mate,

FollowupID: 348647

Follow Up By: geocacher (djcache) - Wednesday, Dec 22, 2004 at 10:07

Wednesday, Dec 22, 2004 at 10:07
Hi Jim,

Great site, I've bookmarked it. Bit complex for some people but I found it quite good.

This only leaves me with one question; it says what I said. The maths used for calculating Ah rates is exactly the same. I didn't specify 20hour rates for Ah cap of batteries as I was trying to give a reasonably simple explanation for a stop gap solution until they get a dual battery system but regardless of that; what I suggested is that 20Ah (be it 2 A for 10 hrs or 20A for 1 hour) for approx 20 hrs will flatten a 20Ah battery to it's safe end point. (Not as has been previously suggested kill the battery by taking it past the safe end point, which incidently is about 10.5 to 10.75 volts depending on battery construction.)

In previous posts recently I have recommended float charging as does the site referenced, and discussed uses and supply sources of cheap gel cells.

I didn't get into specifics of different constructions as it wasn't necessary.

What I have said in my original post is reinforced by the web link you have posted.

I'd be happy to help you solve any differences you may feel exist between the three (mine, yours & theirs) I'd be happy to help but maybe this is now best taken off line by sending a PM. I would even give you a ring if you PM a phone no. and suggest a time.

If you find something that I have overlooked I will happily print a correction or retraction.

FollowupID: 348658

Reply By: muzzgit - Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 02:32

Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 02:32
A mate of mine bought a generator from bunnings a few weeks back for $99.00 !

Can't beat that.

Just be thoughtfull of others when you use it and be carefull how you handle the fuel. My genny (750 watt) can run two fridges, top up two rechargable lanterns and recharge the second battery in the forby all at once !! (two groups with gear, using one genny)

We only need to run it during the day, usually after lunch when everyone is off doing things.

Also, meat-heads will steal it from under your nose if its not chained to you car or something big and heavy.

Not as convenient as a solar setup but when your'e on a budget, you do what you can, right ?

Muzz
AnswerID: 89521

Reply By: Patrol22 (Queanbeyan - Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 08:15

Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 08:15
Paul and Cathie
Like some others have said I would go for a second battery in the car. I run a 120 ah deep cycler for the fridge (Waeco CCF45) and lighting (2xversalites) and from experience I can get at least 3 days without recharging (haven't camped in one place for any longer without going for a drive) - and I leave the fridge on at night as well.
This can be a bit of a bugger when you have to carry you gear past some of those obstacles that some parks seem to be setting up to keep vehicles away from the camping areas. I tend to avoid these types of campgrounds but the jump start would be OK to run the fridge for one night in these circumstances.
While each to their own I don't use a generator even though they are much quieter these days. There is always someone who has super-sensitive hearing and starts bitching so I leave the genny at home and just use it for power tools these days.
Pete
AnswerID: 89529

Follow Up By: drivesafe - Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 11:31

Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 11:31
Hi again Paul and Cathie, I agree with Patrol22.

If your not planning to stop more than 3 or 4 days in one spot, one large deep cycle auxiliary battery or even two small deep cycle batteries will probably meet most of your requirements and works out much cheap that most other options.

Solar panels can be beneficial for longer stops but cost heaps more than an extra large battery.

From reading through different forums, generators are band from a lot of parks now so this could be a problem.

It still all comes down to your intended use.
FollowupID: 348409

Reply By: Paul&Cathie - Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 19:13

Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 19:13
Thanks everyone for your replies, food for thought. Will post another reply when we've made the decision. Cath
AnswerID: 89627